• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Breaking News: Erections Are Coming. Erections Are Coming.

eeoror88

Greatest joke is that there simply no qualified opposition candidates to fight the PAP at all fronts. What a fucking joke.:confused:

Based on 33% of Singaporeans who voted against the PAP in GE 2006, the bigger joke is that most opposition supporters want to vote, but don't want to stand or even help. 33% of Singaporeans are almost a million people. 33% of voters in contested constituencies are almost half a million. The joke is on who, let's go figure it out ourselves.

2lanu

The election is swing to the white scum favor as usual. Before election, a lot of freebies and angpows given to sweeten the ground. Those lackeys would also spell out their terms as when their masters win, all would get reward handsomely. Otherwise who would want to lag tails behind the scum?

May 6, 2006 election was the last election. So within 5 year the most they can drag is till May, 2011. But I guess something is going to happen and depress the market further so they would hold the election 3rd quarter this year.

eeoror88

The election is swing to the white scum favor as usual. Before election, a lot of freebies and angpows given to sweeten the ground. Those lackeys would also spell out their terms as when their masters win, all would get reward handsomely. Otherwise who would want to lag tails behind the scum?

May 6, 2006 election was the last election. So within 5 year the most they can drag is till May, 2011. But I guess something is going to happen and depress the market further so they would hold the election 3rd quarter this year.

To extrapolate the results using economic standing of voters, following rough scenario:

Top 50% = 1/5 oppo = 10%
50 to 75% = half/half oppo = 12.5% oppo
75% to 100% =3/4 oppo = 18.75% oppo

Result: PAP win with majority 58.75%

What you think ??

Sideswipe

Based on 33% of Singaporeans who voted against the PAP in GE 2006, the bigger joke is that most opposition supporters want to vote, but don't want to stand or even help. 33% of Singaporeans are almost a million people. 33% of voters in contested constituencies are almost half a million.

That's why "first past the post system" must be combined with a second vote for favored political parties.

In a small country like us. proportional representation is the best parliamentary election method

a combined 33% opposition support is not small. That's why I can't accept we have just 2 opposition MPs in parliament.

It's not the total lack of opposition support. It's the election system that need tweaking for more accurate representation of our votes.

oli9

GST hike is a certainty. The govt is not wiling to touch the reserve (if any is left) to help the poor. More budget deficit because of mass civil servants recruitment. Ministers salaries increment are deferred and likely to restore again soon (which is another reason they need such mandate). God knows how much investments they have loss in this crisis. Marina Sands need our govt support financially, there is urgent need to push CPF annuity through, ERP gantries need to be extended to other roads, MRT fares are likely to increase again this year despite oil falling. All these unpopular issues need fresh mandate from Singaporean.

Given all the above scenarios, the bulk of money need to come from somewhere and that is either through corporate tax increase or GST increase. And we know the govt fancy the latter action because they make it clear that corporate tax will not be cut.

Will we get free public transport if GST is increased? I hope LTA's Demon Lim will make good his "promises"

2lanu

To extrapolate the results using economic standing of voters, following rough scenario:

Top 50% = 1/5 oppo = 10%
50 to 75% = half/half oppo = 12.5% oppo
75% to 100% =3/4 oppo = 18.75% oppo

Result: PAP win with majority 58.75%

What you think ??

It's pretty close but the OLD white scum dun want more opposition in the parliament to trouble his pinky son, so he introduced the constituency group. That again skewed the parlia seating to their favor.

Another trick being used before was to redraw the electoral boundaries. Again white scum being in position for so long had their advantage of pull out some stunts as and when needed.

DrPanacea

Heard that part of Joo Chiat GRC, where Sylvia Lim and her team gave a close fight, had been transfered to Marine Parade GRC.
And some Potong Pasir flats are being demolished? Some one please comfirmed this.

The PAP has truly excelled in the art of gerrymandering.

2lanu

There are plenty of cases around being told during election time. Like Yishun South is drawn into AMK GRC, Hillview issue by Seet Ai Mei, and Serangoon linked with Marine Parade.

Last but not least, Anson previously held by JBJ was swallowed up into Tanjong Pagar which I think by now only have 3 blocks in the ward leaded by LKY.

Sideswipe

The opposition must reduce PAP nationwide votes to less than 60%.
60% is the psychological barrier for PAP and the oppositions.

once the combined oppositions gathered 40%+ votes, I believe at least 1 GRCs will fall ( law of average apply )

unless gerrymandering work to perfection. No way can PAP lose just 2 seats with 59% votes.

sgczar

That is not the reason.

The real reason is the more than $10,000 ( am quite sure its this amount now) election deposit that EACH candidate has to fork out meaning if it is a 5 man GRC, total will be $50,000. How many political parties can afford that? On the top of it all, the FEAR of losing the deposit; and it has happened to some candidates before.

If the PAP wants to be fair, bring back the old deposit abount of $300.00 per candidate THEN you will see the difference but, they are too chicken to do that for fear of a FREAK result as LKY had mentioned then he would have to send in the Army.

Char_Azn

Isnt it a bit early for elections. I thought the last elections was in 06. Its not even 3 yrs yet. IIRC most of the elections are held during the 4-5 year mark

Super_Hypocrite

IF the elections are coming,,and from the various posts,,,the time line is from this year,,,2009 to 2011 or 2012. Which is about a roughly 2 year time frame,,,than the opposition should band together and start doing the groundwork now. From all the news coming in from BBC etc,,,things will have to get worse before it gets better hence this is the time to do groundwork.

The groundwork includes which party contest which seats,,,and please contest all the seats if necessary...this way the voter sentiment will be more accurately measured. From the forumners 33% vs 66% etc is not an accurate count as only about 50% of the population voted. If all seats are contested this will be a true measure of the PAPs voter support.

However, from what i realise about singaporean voters,,even if they vote they might not cast their vote 'wisely'. I have heard of voters saying,,'I vote for PAP but i hope Opposition win'!,..does this sound far fetch?

I urge the opposition and Singaporeans to make a difference in the next election,,,opposition please work together to promote for the betterment of Singaporeans,,,,contest all seats,,,,have good policy agendas...etc and no 3 way fights etc and Singaporeans,,,the future is in your hands...vote wisely,,,if u feel that the PAP has done wonders than vote for them,,if u are a PAPPY dog,,than vote for them,,,but if u are suffering under the weight of the PAP policies and sick of seeing yourself suffer and the country going down the drain..than use your vote wisely...that is if your constituency is contested

ahleebabasingaporethief

My Reputation: Points: 10 / Power: 0
commoner is on a distinguished road
Default $29mil for preparation of erection
PMO is setting aside $29mil for election, according to zao bao today but Straits-jacket Times no report le.

Sure or not. This ReSiMi Budget also dare to call for erection meh? think we damn hardup for the extra $200-400 rebates huh?

kakowi

That is not the reason.

The real reason is the more than $10,000 ( am quite sure its this amount now) election deposit that EACH candidate has to fork out meaning if it is a 5 man GRC, total will be $50,000. How many political parties can afford that? On the top of it all, the FEAR of losing the deposit; and it has happened to some candidates before.

If the PAP wants to be fair, bring back the old deposit abount of $300.00 per candidate THEN you will see the difference but, they are too chicken to do that for fear of a FREAK result as LKY had mentioned then he would have to send in the Army.

If the intention of the PAP in increasing the election deposit is to helm the opposition, then asking them not to do so will not do any good.

If the election deposit is stopping the opposition from contesting in all seats, then the opposition should sell that idea of why all seats should be contested, how they will provide value and perform as all good oppositions should perform and finally ask for donations to make this a possibility.

If the opposition can convince each member of the 33% to contribute $1.20, they will have more than enough to contest in all the seats.

#####

But then the opposition will hit practical difficulties:

To the public, it is PAP vs Opposition

To the opposition, it is PAP vs WP; PAP vs NSP; PAP vs SDP; PAP vs SDA; PAP vs RP; PAP vs independents

So when the public decided to help the opposition along, there is the added question: "which opposition?"

Then the opposition will have to sell two ideas to the public
(1) why a one-party state is not good and

(2) why they and not the other opposition should receive your money

leading to numerous arguments.

Super_Hypocrite

That is not the reason.

Yes...I agree that the deposit is nothing more than an excuse to hamper the opposition,,,however to mitigate this.. a 3 way fight must be avoided,,if its a strictly 2 way fight...its next to impossible to lose the deposit,,,look at Slipper Man,,,,no matter how the gerrymandering,,,20% vote is very likely.

In addition, by contesting all seats,,all the gerrymandering will be mitigated as the 'opposition areas' transferred to another GRC will still be there and they will vote opposition accordingly..imagine if Marine Parade garners 50-60% of the vote...it will keep the PAP on their toes...

The time to fight the next election is now!!!! and the opposition has to go the work now!!!!