• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Bangkok Runroaders, are you ready for the worst flood come next week ?

"MWA tells city folk to store tap water
Published: 25/10/2011 at 12:00 AM
Newspaper section: News

The Metropolitan Waterworks Authority has urged Bangkok residents to store tap water for use during the flood crisis.

MWA assistant governor Vikrom Suwanchomphoo yesterday said the agency had successfully reduced the water level at the entrance of Khlong Rangsit canal. If the water does not rise further, the situation in the canal will return to normal.

The dyke along the MWA's Khlong Prapa canal had broken, allowing overflow from Khlong Rangsit to flow into Khlong Prapa, which supplies city drinking water.

"Still, Bangkok residents should store tap water for use as the flooding this year is worse than expected," he said."

BKK Runroaders, this time is a little serious liao. Time to stock up fresh water.

OK signing out for now. For BKK runroaders, please be prepare as this flood will still be around for another 4-6 weeks. For those who intend to short time runroad to BKK for holiday, it's better to check the situation first as some places might only be accessible with boats.

Can always fly back to Sg. Don't forget you're a Sinkie.

Shit why did you remind me?

Bro I no more house liao may have to join those at east coast park. No la jokes aside I will not get back to Singapore la. Thailand is now my home, my investments are there I must lead by example to be at the frontline with my soldiers. I already feel bad holidying here now. No choice la.

Khun Ying Pojaman

Bro I no more house liao may have to join those at east coast park. No la jokes aside I will not get back to Singapore la. Thailand is now my home, my investments are there I must lead by example to be at the frontline with my soldiers. I already feel bad holidying here now. No choice la.

You can stay with your parents.

HedgeTrader

How do you renew your passport? At Singapore Embassy?

You can stay with your parents.

Of course I do, always. Then can also makan mama's delicious cooking and also long talks with mama and brother. Always do that when I back. Also mama's home in Tanglin Halt near near Dempsey my regular wine and makan place.

HedgeTrader

Of course I do, always. Then can also makan mama's delicious cooking and also long talks with mama and brother. Always do that when I back. Also mama's home in Tanglin Halt near near Dempsey my regular wine and makan place.

I always wonder whats going on at Dempsey now. Converted to wine and dine place? My time CMPB was already at Bukit Merah.

How do you renew your passport? At Singapore Embassy?

Everything online: apply ; submit photo ; payment.

Then can get some one to collect or collect when one is back. I am not sure if they can courier to applicant.

I always wonder whats going on at Dempsey now. Converted to wine and dine place? My time CMPB was already at Bukit Merah.

Only 2 joins I will go: The Wine Company for wine and Long Beach for seafood which I had followed for more than 10 years since it was at Marina South. Others I don't really patronize.

cass888

You stupid orange jersey rubber dinghy. I've lived through a real flood in Thailand before. Half a storey high flood at street level, can row sampan. Those you saw at Orchard Road and KPKB were just water puddle in comparison.

So what? You ever row Sampan at Potong Pasir before or not? :smile:

Don Muang is occupied by flood waters

Authorities have said floodwaters in Thailand have begun entering the north side of Bangkok's second airport used for domestic operations, forcing at least one airline to suspend flights.
Patee Sarasin, Nok Air CEO, said on Tuesday his budget airline was halting operations until November 1 at Don Muang airport.
He said flights that have already departed other cities will be directed to Bangkok's Suvarnabhumi Airport, the country's main international gateway.
A spokesman at Don Muang confirmed water had entered a northern section of the airport, which also houses the government's Flood Crisis Centre. But he said runways were not affected and other flights are operating normally.
Earlier, Yingluck Shinawatra, Thailand’s prime minister, said that the crisis centre may have to be relocated.
"We are thinking of moving it. Although there is no flooding inside it, we are still facing transport disruptions out there. We will discuss this issue at the cabinet meeting today," she said.
In another decision, the Thai government declared October 27 to 31 to be a special holiday in parts of the country.
Chumphol Silpa-Archa, the minister of tourism, said after a cabinet meeting that there would be a holiday in 21 provinces including Bangkok.
This means schools, businesses and government offices will be shut creating a five-day break.
Thousands evacuated
Thousands of Bangkok residents have been moving to higher ground, as floodwaters threatened more areas of the capital closer to the commercial heart of the city, a day after three northern districts were partly inundated.
Late on Monday, Suhumbhand Paribatra, the Bangkok governor, warned residents in the northwestern Bang Phlat district to move their belongings to higher ground after water in the Chao Phraya river crept in through a subway construction site.
"I would like to ask people in Bang Phlad district to move your valuables and other belongings to higher ground for your own safety," Paribatra said.
The Flood Crisis Centre said water levels in provinces north of Bangkok are stable or subsiding, but the massive runoff is still bearing down on the city as it flows south toward the Gulf of Thailand.
Authorities have declared seven of the capital's 50 districts, located in the north and northwest, at risk and those zones are experiencing minor flooding.
To the north of Bangkok, whole provinces have been inundated, knocking out a series of huge industrial estates and putting at least 640,000 people temporarily out of work.
Big Japanese firms such as Toyota Motor Corp , Sony Corp and Nikon Corp have had to close down operations.
According to many estimates, the floods have caused economic damage worth $6bn.
Thailand's worst flooding in five decades has killed at least 356 people and affected nearly 2.5 million, with more than 100,000 people living in temporary shelters and about 700,000 seeking medical attention.

Runroaders might want to consider making alternative plans soon. In some affected areas, you will not be allowed to re-enter your Moo Baan if the place is classified as critical zones. Will get accomodation/food at the temporary disaster relief centres.:*:

I don't mean that KYP. Suvarnabhumbi Airport is still ok. What I mean is my house is just 5km from the airport. Also airports is supposed to be well protected place right?

Oh I like to share a cool link and I think this is the best place to seek update of the flood contributed by common people. I had updated in it too.

http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?msid...&ll=13.73605,100.591164&spn=0.178424,0.338173

You can fly to Okinawa and catch a ferry back to Bangkok.

I don't mean that KYP. Suvarnabhumbi Airport is still ok. What I mean is my house is just 5km from the airport. Also airports is supposed to be well protected place right?

Let assume murphy laws, worse case you cannot get back to thailand. You can always extend your Japanese holiday right? Better to stay broke in Japan then wet in thailand. Correct?