• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

bak chang festival

The simpLe bak chang have too many variations nowadays.Gone are the days when it was the reaL pork-beLLy fats
stuffed in a chang, now what you getting are mainLy minced meats; and even that sometimes we dont even know
what meat were they made of ! ! :eek:

There are Bayi's in HK that speaks Cantonese better than any of us...HK is a place of racial intergration, long time ago...we shouldn't be surprised & their governing body, don't need to tell the people to integrate the 'foreigner's for they come, they have to adapt!

There's an Indian chap working for RWS. Datuk something is his name. His Cantonese very power. If never look at him speaking, you will think it's a Chinese speaking the dialect.

The one next to "mee Siam mai hum" is smiling in glee, for his elbow is rubbing the auntie "bak chang", and afterwards he will say, : "auntie, your 'bak chang" very firm & hard", "hou suan"! "sarap"!:D

fattie yeo the ball-carrier does look androgynously AUNTIE. it would take a discerning to see that he was one ulgy braless auntie .

someone just gave me bird's nest bak chang. honestly, whether got bird or nest, it doesn't make much difference. u really can't tell! perhaps maybe when i look at the pricelist then i see the great difference. other than that, it's another ghee chang or the sweet version of chang usually with tao sar filling.

There's an Indian chap working for RWS. Datuk something is his name. His Cantonese very power. If never look at him speaking, you will think it's a Chinese speaking the dialect.

The Chinatown of old all the Malays or Indians working amongst the chinese there can speak Chinese dialects like a native.
Even you got to the businesses in serangoon road especially the goldsmith and see them speak fluent Tamil.

I know one of the aunties working in a famous bak chang stall, the brand has many outlets in shopping mall. I was told that the dumpling are done up to 2 or 3 months in advance and frozen. They will defroze and steam it for sales later. So dun expect the dumplings to be fresh. not fresh means taste lousy. The name is "dong" something.

The simpLe bak chang have too many variations nowadays.Gone are the days when it was the reaL pork-beLLy fats
stuffed in a chang, now what you getting are mainLy minced meats; and even that sometimes we dont even know
what meat were they made of ! ! :eek:

I agree, I missed the 'sinful', ones with a thick cube of fat & lean pork, with "gau luck" ( chestnuts), shitake mushrooms & a hint of star aniseed for taste, dark brown in colour ( deeply brown) & smell wonderful when you peel open the leaves. Even the leaves have that organic smell you could recongnize with your nose, all these combination makes you mouth water & eat that "bak chang" an two more. Aftwerwards suffer from indigestion even drink black tea doesn't help...as in "tik goon yum" etc...but worth it. Heart attack food with high cholesterol...we only live once, so eat to live & live to eat!

But nowadays, the dumplings aka "bak chang", doesn't taste or smell that wonderful..even the best is not ok!

I want to ask, is this dumplings festival a Southern Chinese thing? people south of the Yangtze River that is? does the Northern Chinese, people in Shanghai, Peking etc...have dumpling festival??

Last year when I just moved into my new home, my next door neighbour a Chinese Muslim convert chap and his wife gave me and my wife a few pieces of Bak Chang.. They told me that they bought the Bak Chang from this Halal Chinese restaurant at Upper Changi Rd.. The stall belongs to a Chinese Muslim couple from HK.. Taste quite good..

i think u refering to Changi Road..name of Stall is Razack opposite Kampong Chai Chee Seafood Restaurant which is further down the SPC Petrol Station along Changi Rd..he close quite early one ...

This one with chicken.. What I find it interesting is that the HK guy who owns the bak chang stall is a Muslim.. Rarely heard of HK Chinese Muslims.. Its taste good too.. Will try to check out on the place again..

bro..HK and China got many Chinese Muslims..my Mat friend married one..i must say she damn hot..she from Kowloon...she look a bit like..Karen Mok..now they settle in KL..

I agree, I missed the 'sinful', ones with a thick cube of fat & lean pork, with "gau luck" ( chestnuts), shitake mushrooms & a hint of star aniseed for taste, dark brown in colour ( deeply brown) & smell wonderful when you peel open the leaves. Even the leaves have that organic smell you could recongnize with your nose, all these combination makes you mouth water & eat that "bak chang" an two more. Aftwerwards suffer from indigestion even drink black tea doesn't help...as in "tik goon yum" etc...but worth it. Heart attack food with high cholesterol...we only live once, so eat to live & live to eat!

But nowadays, the dumplings aka "bak chang", doesn't taste or smell that wonderful..even the best is not ok!

I want to ask, is this dumplings festival a Southern Chinese thing? people south of the Yangtze River that is? does the Northern Chinese, people in Shanghai, Peking etc...have dumpling festival??

Bro, me drooLing now by the way you tastefuLLy describe them..not too sure about it's origin tough, but i read about the soLdiers' wives pre-packing these Kee-chung for their men prior to Long route marches..

Kee Chang the one yellowish in colour , very sticky & dip in powdered sugar, very good for diabetes ha ha ha. Different dialects have their bak chang different way, the Cantonese love their plain yellowish tan dumplings with soya beans crushed insides, where you dip that also in powdered sugar. The Hokkiens ones are the darker ones with dark sauce..the nonyas with their fillings of mince pork with I think crush lemon grass?? some with blue colouring...

Nowadays...we don't know what they are? no tradition & no heritage...just any old how, stuff food inside & call it creative!:p

Kee Chang the one yellowish in colour , very sticky & dip in powdered sugar, very good for diabetes ha ha ha. Different dialects have their bak chang different way, the Cantonese love their plain yellowish tan dumplings with soya beans crushed insides, where you dip that also in powdered sugar. The Hokkiens ones are the darker ones with dark sauce..the nonyas with their fillings of mince pork with I think crush lemon grass?? some with blue colouring...
Nowadays...we don't know what they are? no tradition & no heritage...just any old how, stuff food inside & call it creative!:p
Guessed each diaLect/race have their own's version, aLways something for them to associate themseLves with.
Now it's aLL about profits and profits.Dont be surprised come that day when pLastic trianguLar mouLds are going
to repLace those bamboo Leaves ! ! :eek::cool:

i think u refering to Changi Road..name of Stall is Razack opposite Kampong Chai Chee Seafood Restaurant which is further down the SPC Petrol Station along Changi Rd..he close quite early one ...

Ok Bro.. Kum sia for the info.. Bit lost when I was driving there to find the place since there were many coffeshops there.. Will check out that place again soon..

Guessed each diaLect/race have their own's version, aLways something for them to associate themseLves with.
Now it's aLL about profits and profits.Dont be surprised come that day when pLastic trianguLar mouLds are going
to repLace those bamboo Leaves ! ! :eek::cool:

During my time, the bak chang you get from your friends reflect not only their heritage roots as in dialect, but their economic status as well, the richer ones have better, ingredients, even the sticky rice they use whereas the poorer ones makes simple, bak chang aka the dumplings...cannot afford, just make those with no ingredients..

Ok Bro.. Kum sia for the info.. Bit lost when I was driving there to find the place since there were many coffeshops there.. Will check out that place again soon..

bro also try Glory if u want to go Kosher...:D its along East Coast Road opp Holy Family Church...in direction towards bedok..

Ahh Yes.. drove past the Glory shop before back then when I used to come back from Katong and Joo Chiat during night time.. Will try goin there during the day soon..

try their laksa but only on Sundays bro..go in morning cos finish quite fast..

I have classmates who used to live in Naval Base, if you know which I am talking about. They speak perfect TAMIL & I have been to their place, the Tamil boys, there speaks perfect Cantonese, Hainanese & Hokkien. I remember vividly meeting him after many years on the train many years back, this ah neh was speaking to another in Tamil, my friend said "wait"! and then proceeded to fark that ah neh in Tamil, till he from black became white!. He told me that he was saying something degratory about Chinese in Tamil...ha ha ha ha

I was in Bricksfield KL, there was this road side stall that sells "tau fa sway & tau fa" ( Soya bean drink & soya bean whatever), I heard from the distance " tau fa sway" "tau fa" in Cantonese ( perfect accent), when I neared the stall...there was this two Very Dark Coloured Indian man, saying that in Cantonese without a hint of Indian accent... I bought a drink from them and spoke to them in Cantonese..

So, be careful some of us just pretend we don't understand you... ha ha ha