• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Association of Muslim Professionals finally wake up and take their PAP partner.

Here are some HARD FACTS of life:

1) The Muslim colleagues of my son went to his home birthday party armed with not only their plates and cutlery, they actually brought along their own detergent too!
2) The gahmen should not have pandered to the opening of BANQUET food courts which serve only halal food. How to integrate, like that?
3) Decades ago, my best drinking buddy was a Muslim. On Friday nights after office, he became a MUST LIM. We used to drink openly at ANYWHERE down in Tanglin. Then, he resorted to sitting with his back "facing" the entrance, to make it less obvious. Then his wife became a religious teacher and now he is Muslim full time. BUT he still sends the best decadent pics via the internet.
4) A friend told me that his office colleagues are getting sick of attending office functions at halal restaurants and without liquor - notwithstanding the fact that Muslim staff account for less than 5% of the total staff strength. So the Chinese go for Part Two of program drinking themselves silly. The bosses are just being politically correct.

And so on and so forth. But the real issue is: what are we going to do for the next fifty years, when the last 50 years have actually made us more race conscious.

Guess what you're actually supposed to suck it all up. Some weaklings in here even support this saying hey the chinese have always been sucking it up they should continue to do so and pander to the sensitive crybaby malays.

Oh yes you're also a racist for bringing this up. Just ask screwball. According to that asshole it's okay for the malay muslims to do all that shit you have typed and if you even dare to complain you're a racist.

Like i have always mentioned and somehow nobody says anything or they just enjoy being screwed. Social integration in sg is all about the majority bending over backwards to accomdate all these minorities culture, religion, feelings and etc etc. You're also not supposed to state these facts out openly, if not you're a racist. :rolleyes: Hence therefore you need to say all malays are nice, polite, good football players and singer. :rolleyes:

Social integration in sg is all about 1 hand doing all the clapping.

Muthukali

ok lah, madrasahs are the best. they have helped singapore produced a generation of mat delivery workers and mat receptionists. like that say you happy:biggrin:

not forgetting nurse, admin, cargo, airport service, PSA, civil servant, driver, technician....etc

Porfirio Rubirosa

perhaps 2 wrongs do not make a right...

Suffice it to say that I would argue that even without SAP schools , speak mandarin campaigns or any of the perceived issues raised by AMP as a counter, all it takes is for a more austere or more conservative form of Islam to take root and we will still end up with intolerance between the communities.

Porfirio Rubirosa

this reminds me of the historic thomas cup competition held in s'pore between indonesia n china many yrs ago...where a large sector of the s'pore crowd cheered loudly wif relish for china...in mandarin no less...made me wonder whether i was in northern asia or in sea...n mind u this was decades ago...

The football team was a real unifying force. All races going to national stadium for the games. /QUOTE]

And when Chin Aun tackled Dollah recklessly, S'porean Chinese fans cursed Chin Aun and his family, especially Chin Aun's mum. But the S'porean Chinese fans applauded Samad when he sent Choon Wah crashing to the ground. Non-Chinese S'poreans applauded when Teng Sai elbowed Mokhtar Dahari and kpkb when Santokh accidentally tripped Kim Song.

Those were the days. We were united, definitely at the National Stadium during Malaysia Cup matches. Even before, and after matches, S'poreans of all races will be eating, walking and commenting on the match.

Same things happened at away matches, be it in Larkin, Kubu or Merdeka stadiums. Race was never a factor. S'poreans united as one. Same for the M'sian teams.

Yes, kelong existed way back then. But, what the hell, it got S'poreans of all races to unite as one. And no invisible hand was present. It came about naturally through just a soccer game.

this reminds me of the historic thomas cup competition held in s'pore between indonesia n china many yrs ago...where a large sector of the s'pore crowd cheered loudly wif relish for china...in mandarin no less...made me wonder whether i was in northern asia or in sea...n mind u this was decades ago...

What's your point? :rolleyes:

It's indonesia which isn't a part of singapore vs china.

It's gotten so riddiculous that you're actually getting offended if one foreign country gets cheered more than the other simply cos it's not in the region.

Porfirio Rubirosa

perhaps, but Harry did insert Art.152 in the Constitution:rolleyes::biggrin:...oh no i may now hv given ammo to Poppy M.(u know who u r abang!!):p...

hving just finished reading the book...my perception of harry's major fundamental flaws as a political leader remains unchanged...

1) overwhelming arrogance...which inevitably leads to hubris(i almost fell off my seat laughing when i read his glowing assessment of wong kan seng's so called skill sets and abilities("imaginative"!!) that apparently make wongks an able minister, now deputy prime minister no less, thus 'justifying' wongks' whopping obscene ministerial salary)...fortunately for s'pore he has probably been on the right side 60% plus of the time in the last 51 yrs...

2) family will always comes first...it is perhaps noteworthy that harry has never criticised his own family members...

3) pseudo "inverted snobbery"(those who read the book shall know what i am alluding to!!)...

4) "tribal" roots coming out in his later yrs in life...

that said...the book was n still is a good read...harry is a worthy disciple of both machiavelli n sun tzi...u gotta respect him for hving those qualities...perhaps not admire but definitely respect...

I The reality is that if he truly wanted an integrated society and a true nation state, he would have gone for affirmative action. It may have been politically suicidal for him as he and his wife are pernakans and Lim Chin Siong's support base was what he was after. The other simple approach was to make conversational malay mandatory for all Singaporeans. The Chinese Chamber of Commerce will then stop supporting his political campaigns.

This guy has immense power and the legislation is there. He did not use it but to secure his own tenure.

Our claim to fame is nice MRT, nice airport, clean streets and a divided nation.

Porfirio Rubirosa

Insightful POVS

insightful povs bro...

btw hv u read "The Singapore Dilemma..." by Dr Lily Zubaidah Rahim?...it may be of interest to u if u hv not...also to those out there who r trying to be objective when taking a view on our fellow singapore malay community...

PS...i too hv fond memories of the likes of roy, archie, dave, charlie, kevin n colin...not forgetting the biggest head n mouth who was probably the most successful english football manager never to hv been given the chance to manage the england football team!!

I've read through some great observations and comments on both sides of this debate and its been generally quite civil with some obvious exceptions, as usual.

First of all, let me state my stand. I agree with LKY's comments on this issue 100%. Before anybody blasts me as anti Malay or pro PAP, let me say that this is the first time in years that I've agreed totally with the old man's opinions.

However, I totally disagree that he should have brought this out in the open like this. When LKY says something, it is perceived as official government policy or thinking. Being who he is and his position in the Govt, he should have been more careful. He should have worked behind the scenes with his Malay MPs and Malay/Muslim groups to address this issue. Maybe he has. And maybe he feels frustrated at the progress of this dialog. But you don't try to build racial tolerance and integration by publicly screwing the very people you are trying to reach, no matter how unreachable they appear to be. Racial integration is not a zero sum game. You are never going to achieve perfection. This is one time when Singapore need not be No 1

Porfirio Rubirosa

perhaps u hv finally raised a gd pt...however i dont think it is just limited to the minority races like the indians n eurasians...also includes the english educated chinese...in this regard not just the peranakans but other clan grpings as well who hv become english educated...

Your Mandarin language are your Chinese tudungs. It has hindered Chinese integration with not only us but the Indians and Eurasians as well. Ask the Indians and Eurasians. I know many Indian and Eurasian friends who have left our Malay land on account of the rise of Chinese chauvinism and SAP Chinese ultras who have convinced themselves that they are now owners of our Malay land.

Porfirio Rubirosa

were all tamils united?

ah...but even in those 'good old days'...all the tamils in s'pore were hardly united eh?...n let us not get started wif the caste customs...

You go back to your grandfather's days yet are blithely unaware that Tamil used to be the mother tongue for most Indians in Singapore. Of course that used to be in the past before the massive influx of foreigners where Hindi is now the common language of the Indians.

RoyMcFarland

Re: Insightful POVS

insightful povs bro...

btw hv u read "The Singapore Dilemma..." by Dr Lily Zubaidah Rahim?...it may be of interest to u if u hv not...also to those out there who r trying to be objective when taking a view on our fellow singapore malay community...

PS...i too hv fond memories of the likes of roy, archie, dave, charlie, kevin n colin...not forgetting the biggest head n mouth who was probably the most successful english football manager never to hv been given the chance to manage the england football team!!QUOTE]

Thanks, I will read it. A book or an article in the papers?

Ah, the good old glory days at the Baseball Ground (for you younger guys, the predecessor of Pride Park, home ground of the "greatest football club in the world...Derby County Football Club" We're just waiting for any billionaire (pimp, drug lord, mafia don, maybe even an ex PM of an island state) to buy over the club and replace it with the entire Spanish national team! :-)

Re: Insightful POVS

Ah, the good old glory days at the Baseball Ground (for you younger guys, the predecessor of Pride Park, home ground of the "greatest football club in the world...Derby County Football Club" We're just waiting for any billionaire (pimp, drug lord, mafia don, maybe even an ex PM of an island state) to buy over the club and replace it with the entire Spanish national team! :-)

I don't think it'd be of much use if they can't find another Brian Clough.

Malays Must Vote PAP!

m&d why are you now twisting and turning like a snake? Don't try it you're not a keling, makes you look like you're eating your words. :oIo:

Slit eyed chang huayi chink, that's nothing and no reason for me to "twist and turn" in my own land and in the ancestral land of my forefathers.

You are the one who are trying to twist and turn because you know you are an unwanted slit -eyed chang huayi speaking chap sar tiam chink pendatang living on Malay soil and seeking to impose your unwanted language, customs and culture on our soil.

Malays Must Vote PAP!

Re: Some Translation Wld be Appreciated

btw when did the republic of singapore become 'tanah melayu' all of a sudden?...am i missing something here?...
(Saya Anak Singapura)

Since the Chinese started thinking that they are now owners of this land and treats the Republic of Singapore as an extended Mandarin speaking province of China.

Tell me honestly, if a tenant moves into a room in your house and over time, start imposing his values, language, customs and culture and start inviting his family, friends of his own race and start to treat your house as his and start insulting and treating the owner and landlord that is you as a nuisance tenant instead who must conform to his language, values and culture, what would you do?

Would you not kick this ungrateful tenant out of your house?

And if the Chinese dishonestly say they will not and do nothing, my question to them is this? Why the current angst over the new crop of foreigners moving to live in Singapore?

Malays Must Vote PAP!

That's racist! You're insinuating that they're gullible, malleable, can kick balls and sing songs only. :eek: :biggrin:

As Chinese tenants and pendatangs to our Malay land, don't try to impose your ultra-materialistic values on us.

As Chinese tenants and pendatangs to our Malay land, you have no right to insult or judge my people, customs, values and my religion by your ultra materialistic values, customs and culture.

Malays Must Vote PAP!

perhaps u hv finally raised a gd pt...however i dont think it is just limited to the minority races like the indians n eurasians...also includes the english educated chinese...in this regard not just the peranakans but other clan grpings as well who hv become english educated...

There's a difference as to why the Indians and Eurasians had to leave and why the Chinese emigrated.

The Indians and Eurasians (and Malays) were marginalised when it came to looking for jobs ("Mandarin speaking only", "Chinese only" job ads).

The social environment where you had to live alongside chang huayi Chinese who no longer behave like Singaporeans but like Chinamen who now own our Malay soil and can do as they please, had become intolerable.

The decades old and ongoing chauvinistic "Huaren, Huayi" campaigns introduced by the old fool to "unite" the Chinese and led by SAP Chinese extremists were rudely and insensitively intruding into their personal, social and especially common space like that of the workplace and public space had become intolerable.

The Chinese reasons for moving out are different. As I had pointed out earlier, the Chinese will either move on to another host or attempt to take over the host after they have sucked the host. Those Chinese who left have sucked enough from the host.

That, unlike that of the Indians and Eurasians, is their reason for leaving. Same outcome. Fundamentally different reasons.