• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

AssAyeAir: Ang Moh Cums First; Sporns Go Fcuk Spider!

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>Coffeeshop Chit Chat - SIA defends decision to sponsor NZ team!</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right>
icon.aspx
Subscribe </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"></TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt22 <NOBR>
icon.aspx
</NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>7:11 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right>(1 of 9) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"></TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>20400.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD>SIA defends kiwi deal

</TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- headline one : end --></TD></TR><TR><TD>Not possible to fund every local sport, it says in response to ST letter </TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- Author --></TD></TR><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Christopher Ong

</TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- show image if available --></TD></TR><TR vAlign=bottom><TD width=330>
C14-1.jpg

</TD><TD width=10>
c.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=bottom>
c.gif

Singapore's dragon boaters (foreground) are upset that SIA sponsored New Zealand while they had to raise money for their trip to the World C?ships. -- PHOTO: NATIONAL JUNIOR COLLEGE

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->SINGAPORE Airlines (SIA) has defended its decision to sponsor a New Zealand team over the Republic's World Championships junior dragon boat side, saying it cannot be supporting every local sport.
<TABLE width=200 align=left valign="top"><TBODY><TR><TD class=padr8><!-- Vodcast --><!-- Background Story -->Quotes
'The New Zealand team were staying in the same hotel as us and we saw the Singapore Airlines logo on their polo tees. It was a little disappointing that instead of sponsoring us, they sponsored a team from another country.'

ALYSSA LIM, NJC rower

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>SIA provides sponsorship in cash and in kind to local sports, ranging from the Singapore Sports School and the Singapore National Olympic Council to the Singapore National Paralympic Council, its spokesman Nicholas Ionides said.
'As much as we would like to, it is unfortunately not possible for us to support every sport, however,' he said.
'In this particular instance, the cooperation with the New Zealand dragon boat team was limited and was a local initiative by our New Zealand station to support the community we operate in.'
The national carrier was responding to a letter by Dennis Tan, the father of one of the Singapore dragon boaters, in The Straits Times Forum yesterday. He had expressed disappointment over SIA's choice of teams.
The Singapore team, comprising 45 National Junior College (NJC) students and four from Hwa Chong Institution, had won the World Championships Junior trophy in Prague from Aug 26-30.
Despite making their debut at the competition, Singapore won the award - given to the top Under-18 nation - by winning four golds, three silvers and one bronze. They had to fend off stiff competition from 24 other countries, including powerhouses China and Russia.
Tan's feelings were shared by members of the dragon boat team, among them NJC rower Alyssa Lim.
'The New Zealand team were staying in the same hotel and we saw the Singapore Airlines logo on their polo tees. It was a little disappointing that they sponsored a team from another country.'
However, it is not uncommon for international companies to sponsor sports teams from other countries.
For instance, South Korea's Samsung and AIG of the US sponsor Chelsea and Manchester United respectively in football's English Premier League. Closer to home, Dubai-based air carrier Emirates is the sponsor of horse racing's Singapore Derby.
The Singapore team had to shell out $120,000 to compete in Prague. The Singapore Dragon Boat Association helped by allowing the team free use of its boats for training and equipping each member with polo tees and competition singlets.
While the bulk of the money came from the schools and the students, the team raised an additional $10,000 by collecting recyclable items like old newspapers and drink cans and selling them, said team manager and NJC physics teacher Yong Yuen Cheng.
Getting sponsors was tough, said Yong. 'We started looking for sponsors last October but most of the organisations either never replied or rejected us.
'Only the National Youth Council was kind enough to sponsor us with $5,000. It is quite discouraging. But we did not approach SIA for sponsorship, so I don't think we can blame them.'
Members of other sporting associations confirmed that securing sponsorship for local sports is never easy.
Low Teo Ping, who heads the Singapore Rugby Union and SingaporeSailing, blamed the current economic crisis.
But Cyrus Medora, executive director of Netball Singapore, said sports sponsorship is growing with increased awareness created by the 2010 Youth Olympics and the recent Asian Youth Games.
Still, rower Clement Neo of NJC felt local sponsors could do more for home-grown teams.
He said: 'We were representing Singapore at a big event, so we could do with some support from our own people.'

[email protected]

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

>>>For instance, South Korea's Samsung and AIG of the US sponsor Chelsea and Manchester United respectively in football's English Premier League. Closer to home, Dubai-based air carrier Emirates is the sponsor of horse racing's Singapore Derby.<<<
But that's after they've spare cash left after sponsoring their own people, right?

Is SIA out national carrier :confused: Obviously in name only :rolleyes:

I don't understand why Sporeans support this airlines. It's no secret that tix cost more in Spore than elsewhere.

Why pay premium prices for the racism :confused: There are other cheaper airlines, some might be racist but are cheaper :smile:

takcheksian

My friend, the 66.6 are easily fooled.

My friends and I am not fooled. That's why we don't fly on SIA (SIAo, what for pay more as u said!).

Now we see that SIA is sponsoring foreign teams AGAINST our own. Isn't it a good example of how PAP takes sides with FT against its own people? To them, we are not World Class, so we are lesser mortal!

Is SIA out national carrier :confused: Obviously in name only :rolleyes:

I don't understand why Sporeans support this airlines. It's no secret that tix cost more in Spore than elsewhere.

Why pay premium prices for the racism :confused: There are other cheaper airlines, some might be racist but are cheaper :smile:

Maverick01

as i expected..they didnt take the initiative to source for the apt sponsors..didnt approach SIA... and then this fellow comes along and sprout nonsense to accuse pple anyhow....I dont take side but I felt that this aspect of complaining is extremely unreasonable.....complaining for the sake of complaining..without validity..some kiasu parents are guilty of it....and we have another concrete case here...

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>Coffeeshop Chit Chat - SIA defends decision to sponsor NZ team!</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right>
icon.aspx
Subscribe </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"></TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt22 <NOBR>
icon.aspx
</NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>7:11 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right>(1 of 9) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"></TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>20400.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD>SIA defends kiwi deal

</TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- headline one : end --></TD></TR><TR><TD>Not possible to fund every local sport, it says in response to ST letter </TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- Author --></TD></TR><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Christopher Ong

</TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- show image if available --></TD></TR><TR vAlign=bottom><TD width=330>
C14-1.jpg

</TD><TD width=10>
c.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=bottom>
c.gif

Singapore's dragon boaters (foreground) are upset that SIA sponsored New Zealand while they had to raise money for their trip to the World C?ships. -- PHOTO: NATIONAL JUNIOR COLLEGE

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->SINGAPORE Airlines (SIA) has defended its decision to sponsor a New Zealand team over the Republic's World Championships junior dragon boat side, saying it cannot be supporting every local sport.
<TABLE width=200 align=left valign="top"><TBODY><TR><TD class=padr8><!-- Vodcast --><!-- Background Story -->Quotes
'The New Zealand team were staying in the same hotel as us and we saw the Singapore Airlines logo on their polo tees. It was a little disappointing that instead of sponsoring us, they sponsored a team from another country.'

ALYSSA LIM, NJC rower

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>SIA provides sponsorship in cash and in kind to local sports, ranging from the Singapore Sports School and the Singapore National Olympic Council to the Singapore National Paralympic Council, its spokesman Nicholas Ionides said.
'As much as we would like to, it is unfortunately not possible for us to support every sport, however,' he said.
'In this particular instance, the cooperation with the New Zealand dragon boat team was limited and was a local initiative by our New Zealand station to support the community we operate in.'
The national carrier was responding to a letter by Dennis Tan, the father of one of the Singapore dragon boaters, in The Straits Times Forum yesterday. He had expressed disappointment over SIA's choice of teams.
The Singapore team, comprising 45 National Junior College (NJC) students and four from Hwa Chong Institution, had won the World Championships Junior trophy in Prague from Aug 26-30.
Despite making their debut at the competition, Singapore won the award - given to the top Under-18 nation - by winning four golds, three silvers and one bronze. They had to fend off stiff competition from 24 other countries, including powerhouses China and Russia.
Tan's feelings were shared by members of the dragon boat team, among them NJC rower Alyssa Lim.
'The New Zealand team were staying in the same hotel and we saw the Singapore Airlines logo on their polo tees. It was a little disappointing that they sponsored a team from another country.'
However, it is not uncommon for international companies to sponsor sports teams from other countries.
For instance, South Korea's Samsung and AIG of the US sponsor Chelsea and Manchester United respectively in football's English Premier League. Closer to home, Dubai-based air carrier Emirates is the sponsor of horse racing's Singapore Derby.
The Singapore team had to shell out $120,000 to compete in Prague. The Singapore Dragon Boat Association helped by allowing the team free use of its boats for training and equipping each member with polo tees and competition singlets.
While the bulk of the money came from the schools and the students, the team raised an additional $10,000 by collecting recyclable items like old newspapers and drink cans and selling them, said team manager and NJC physics teacher Yong Yuen Cheng.
Getting sponsors was tough, said Yong. 'We started looking for sponsors last October but most of the organisations either never replied or rejected us.
'Only the National Youth Council was kind enough to sponsor us with $5,000. It is quite discouraging. But we did not approach SIA for sponsorship, so I don't think we can blame them.'
Members of other sporting associations confirmed that securing sponsorship for local sports is never easy.
Low Teo Ping, who heads the Singapore Rugby Union and SingaporeSailing, blamed the current economic crisis.
But Cyrus Medora, executive director of Netball Singapore, said sports sponsorship is growing with increased awareness created by the 2010 Youth Olympics and the recent Asian Youth Games.
Still, rower Clement Neo of NJC felt local sponsors could do more for home-grown teams.
He said: 'We were representing Singapore at a big event, so we could do with some support from our own people.'

[email protected]

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Watchman

Years of abuse by SIA on local pilots and flight crew.

Time for corporate bullies to go down !

NissanViP

I dont believe sinkie(s) didnt wake up daydream, we have been fucked all the time.
Singapore government design this "paradise" island for foreigners only.

66.6% fuckard brain need to be whack hard by government then they wake up.

My friends and I am not fooled. That's why we don't fly on SIA (SIAo, what for pay more as u said!).

From what people tell me, SIA's standards are noticeably lower. SIA is going to have a tough time competing in the "open" market against airlines like Emirates, Cathay,...

With the politicalization of Spore GLCs , glcs like SIA may not survive without gov't money. I doubt that there's enough talent in SIA management. It takes more than scholars or bean counters to survive or make a world class company. :rolleyes: