• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ass Loon Refuse to Accept Golden Period is OVER Before It Started!

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>2009 growth forecast to be revised again
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><TR>Outlook is gloomier than it was a couple of weeks ago, PM indicates </TR><!-- Author --><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Goh Chin Lian
</TD></TR><!-- show image if available --><TR vAlign=bottom><TD width=330>
front-clpm17.jpg

</TD><TD width=10>
c.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=bottom>
c.gif

ST PHOTO: JOYCE FANG
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE><TBODY><TR><TD>
viewMorePhotos.gif
View more photos
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->SINGAPORE will revise its growth figures again ahead of Thursday's Budget announcement, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said yesterday.
This second revision within a month is prompted by unexpected developments, he said, citing the steep fall in Singapore's December trade figures which show the economy of its major trading partners has taken a turn for the worse.
<TABLE width=200 align=left valign="top"><TBODY><TR><TD class=padr8><!-- Vodcast --><!-- Background Story --><STYLE type=text/css> #related .quote {background-color:#E7F7FF; padding:8px;margin:0px 0px 5px 0px;} #related .quote .headline {font-family: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; font-size:10px;font-weight:bold; border-bottom:3px double #007BFF; color:#036; text-transform:uppercase; padding-bottom:5px;} #related .quote .text {font-size:11px;color:#036;padding:5px 0px;} </STYLE>5 DAYS TO BUDGET 2009
It promises to be a Budget like no other. But what will the Government unveil on Jan 22?

IN THE SATURDAY SPECIAL REPORT:

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>The gloomier state of the economy was also affirmed at his meetings with businessmen and unionists since last week, as he met 30 of them on four separate days.
Mr Lee told reporters that one company had built up six months' worth of goods with no buyers. At the PSA container terminals, cranes are lying idle. 'It's a situation which is already gloomier now than it was on New Year,' he said after a lunch meeting with unionists.
The day after New Year, the Government revised downwards this year's growth forecast to between -2 and 1 per cent, from November's projection of between -1 and 2 per cent.
In the past couple of weeks, growth and trade numbers in Asia and elsewhere have fallen very drastically, Mr Lee said.
Yesterday, Singapore reported that its non-oil exports fell by 21 per cent last month compared to the same month a year earlier.
Most economists interviewed expect Singapore's economy to contract by 3 per cent. Said CIMB-GK economist Song Seng Wun, who predicts a worst case scenario of between -2 and -5 per cent: 'We should be more aggressive in providing support for the local economy.'
The business and union leaders who met Mr Lee suggested reducing business costs such as property tax, and the rental of space from HDB and JTC Corporation.
Others want the Government's $600 million Skills Programme for Upgrading and Resilience to take in more professionals and middle managers. Unionists also urged Mr Lee to help middle-income workers, who are hit by the turmoil too.
The Prime Minister said the Government would need to balance the various suggestions, adding that the Budget will run into a deficit this year and if necessary, the Government will dig into the reserves.
'The Government's job is not to do everything which is asked for but to look to see which are the items which will be most effective and then how do I raise the money which I need to fund all the things which I need to do, either from the Budget revenues this year or from the reserves which we have accumulated.'
He also said that Singapore can make the necessary adjustments, 'but what happens after that depends on what happens around the world'.
Mr Lee declined to give specifics of the Budget but indicated it would not follow that of other countries in spending money to boost demand because of Singapore's open economy.
'People will spend it once and then most of the money will leak overseas and that's the end of the warm feeling.'
The Budget focus will be to help companies stay afloat and save jobs, so that workers can look after their families throughout the downturn, he said.
It will also deal with the longer-term concerns of competitiveness and creating new capabilities, he added.
This is important because employers, particularly multinational companies that have weathered previous crises, see long-term opportunities in Asia, said the Prime Minister.
They also think Singapore is a good springboard for exploiting these opportunities when conditions improve, he added.
One lunch participant, Mr Daniel McHugh, chief executive officer of express cargo carrier DHL Express (Asia Pacific), cited the government efforts to train and re-train workers as one reason for his confidence in Singapore. 'I've been in Asia for 25 years and I've not seen this level of government commitment to working with MNCs on people development.'
Mr Lee also gave his reason for holding his lunch meetings, as other ministers and government agencies have also sought views from businesses, unionists, grassroots leaders and members of the public on the Budget.
He said he wanted to have his own feel of the ground. 'I usually have a sounding of a range of views during the year and particularly before Budget. But this time I'm doing more because it's a very critical moment...it's not an ordinary Budget.'
Despite the gloomy picture, Mr Lee is heartened that unionists and bosses share similar views on the need to work together to keep jobs and companies viable.
'It's a tremendous strength for us, in a situation like this, which not many other countries would be able to do,' he said. [email protected]

This CB Kia, justify his own pay by crediting himself for good economic performance during good times.

Now, he is fucking impotent in reversing the Singapore economy, and yet, still cling on to the millions $$$ salary. If he has to revised the economic downward further to negative growth, who can't do that during downturn?

If he is really that good, show me fucking positive economic growth during the downturn. Then, he would keep what he wanted, if not, please fuck yourself DEAD and return all the fraudulent payment taken.

Our great PAP government has great plans ahead. Lets not anyhow mislead all possible cause against them. The upcoming Budget announcement will tell how our great PAP government are really doing a great job by helping us out in this tough period.

Gardens School Dropout,

Shaft your textbook reply rubbish up your rectum !!

I dun need moronic budget announcement. We want immediate solutions and growth since millions $$$ have been taken by these so called top notch ministers.

If you dun understand or fathom, 2 words for you: FUCK IT !!

Our great PAP government has great plans ahead. Lets not anyhow mislead all possible cause against them. The upcoming Budget announcement will tell how our great PAP government are really doing a great job by helping us out in this tough period.

The Budget announcement will give us a fair idea of what great plans our great PAP has to help Singapore to tackle the current crisis. You can't make immediate solutions, it will take some months or even years to see the great improve effect. Rome is not built in a day.

PAP OWNS SINGAPORE. NS for singaporeans , jobs for foreigners

How embarrassing it is, when you have to revise your forecasts 2 weeks after the original release...I mean did they put any more other factors into the computer before they turn on the simulator?

Or was it just too ugly and that's why they purposely missed out a few numbers..say on the inflation and local unemployment numbers..hmmm?

Ah Loon did say their million dollar salaries are pegged to Spore's growth & GDP. So, will he do the right thing & take a pay cut himself & for the rest of his fat dogs & bitches?

I eagerly await your government's budget. Hopefully personal tax will not increase. Singapore has to remain competitive in these trying times.

Our great PAP will not do that. They will be coming out with measures to try create new jobs, providing company employees for further training and upgrading courses and hope the employers will try to keep their employees to their jobs as long as possible. Our great PAP is providing some funds and loans for our majority SMEs in tackling their financial difficulties during this crisis. Our government is so caring and worth supporting. 3 cheers for them. :)

It is good to see a balanced view in this forum for once. Supporters from both sides should be able to hold logical and friendly discussions like yourself instead of using expletives. No names mentioned.

Yes I do agreed with you. Most non-PAP supporters tend to blame everything to the great PAP government but I am wondering if the problems is their own or someone else. Besides, it is pretty obvious that our great PAP government is trying all ways to help the people to tackle problems during this hard period. We should be glad that we have chosen a great PAP government to lead us to great success.

That's true. Having said that though, if you wanna use nice words in a twisted manner, to stab people in front and at the back(verbally and internally at the self-esteem), then you just need to observe how politicians say it in public in the western democracies.

Even the press has learnt a bit. You learn a lot once you read New York Times, LA Times, Chicago Tribune, Times of UK et al.

... They will be coming out with measures to try create new jobs, providing company employees for further training and upgrading courses and hope the employers will try to keep their employees to their jobs as long as possible. Our great PAP is providing some funds and loans for our majority SMEs in tackling their financial difficulties during this crisis. ...
ze world's best paid gahmen where gt nid 2 do so many tings 1? :rolleyes: ... juz do wat 1 fella had said: 'upturn ze downturn', can oredi ...

Yes I do agreed with you. Most non-PAP supporters tend to blame everything to the great PAP government but I am wondering if the problems is their own or someone else. Besides, it is pretty obvious that our great PAP government is trying all ways to help the people to tackle problems during this hard period. We should be glad that we have chosen a great PAP government to lead us to great success.

How? Please elaborate with results, no point just talk.