• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Aspiring citizens 'should have S'porean sponsors'

By Andrea Ong
The Straits Times
Sunday, Mar 10, 2013

SINGAPORE - Aspiring citizens should be evaluated and endorsed by Singaporeans who know them well before getting their pink identity cards, suggested four MPs in Parliament Thursday.

This would pick out applicants who are genuinely integrated into the community and give Singaporeans a say in the decision-making process, said the MPs.

Dr Fatimah Lateef (Marine Parade GRC) proposed that eligible foreigners who wish to become permanent residents or new citizens should have around five to 10 Singaporean assentors of different ethnicities who know them well from work or the community.

Mr Ang Wei Neng (Jurong GRC), Mr Sitoh Yih Pin (Potong Pasir) and Mr Zainal Sapari (Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC) also raised similar ideas for Singaporean "sponsors" or "assentors" during the debate on the budget for the Prime Minister's Office.

Mr Ang noted that the cantons in Switzerland practised something similar where the community is given a say in naturalisation.

Responding to these suggestions, Deputy Prime Minister Teo Chee Hean said the Government would study these suggestions and would also be open to other ideas.

Workers' Party MPs Sylvia Lim and Pritam Singh (Aljunied GRC) called for greater transparency in immigration policies and data.

But DPM Teo said the Government does not reveal specific criteria for immigration applications because it does not want to encourage people "to tailor their applications to specific criteria to artificially increase their likelihood of approval". Most countries have eligibility criteria but also do not reveal specifics of how these are evaluated, he said.

Here's a suggestion to the minister - aspiring citizens should get the endorsement from Samleong's forum. The toughest critics are here ...if they make their case here, they should be granted citizenship.

So if I am a foreignor, just pay 4 persons to sign the form lor...money only what...

SINGAPORE - Aspiring citizens should be evaluated and endorsed by Singaporeans who know them well before getting their pink identity cards, suggested four MPs in Parliament Thursday.

This would pick out applicants who are genuinely integrated into the community and give Singaporeans a say in the decision-making process, said the MPs.

Dr Fatimah Lateef (Marine Parade GRC) proposed that eligible foreigners who wish to become permanent residents or new citizens should have around five to 10 Singaporean assentors of different ethnicities who know them well from work or the community.

Mr Ang Wei Neng (Jurong GRC), Mr Sitoh Yih Pin (Potong Pasir) and Mr Zainal Sapari (Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC) also raised similar ideas for Singaporean "sponsors" or "assentors" during the debate on the budget for the Prime Minister's Office.

Mr Ang noted that the cantons in Switzerland practised something similar where the community is given a say in naturalisation.

A stupid idea doomed to fail.. These foreign trash can easily get their assentors from daft Sinkies belonging to the 60%..

An Ah Neh from India can also get backers from the new shitizens Ah Nehs who were already living in S'pore few years before him..

Payment can sexual.

Fruits can be considered, like Mangoes & Bananas...endorsement only by PAP & their members, oppositions & 40% endorsement invalid. Another round of wayang to confused the SINgaporeans..this proves that the million dollars ministers are out of touch & out of ideas..

All these aspiring citizens are economic mercenaries..they go, where the money is...

A stupid idea doomed to fail.. These foreign trash can easily get their assentors from daft Sinkies belonging to the 60%..

An Ah Neh from India can also get backers from the new shitizens Ah Nehs who were already living in S'pore few years before him..

Assenters should have been local born or citizen for at least 10 years or more. Many loyal Pappies also starting to tulan with the number of foreigners in our midst. Sure there will be loopholes but this is to make it more difficult for applicants. Every step to make it more tougher is a step in right direction.

Aspiring citizens should be evaluated and endorsed by Singaporeans who know them well before getting their pink identity cards, suggested four MPs in Parliament Thursday.

Don't they already have sponsors? Wear white one?

That is why, I say WAYANG...out to confused the SINgaporeans...the same white ones who cause the problems, are the same ones, giving solutions & the best part of it all, we are paying millions for these..aren't SINgaporeans the 60% a confused, dazed lot??

The problem is.................they are not even giving solutions to the problems as part of the wayang.
It wouldn't be so bad if they were.
They cause the problems and essentially they are asking all and sundry "What do you think?"

Assenters should have been local born or citizen for at least 10 years or more. Many loyal Pappies also starting to tulan with the number of foreigners in our midst. Sure there will be loopholes but this is to make it more difficult for applicants. Every step to make it more tougher is a step in right direction.

We should solve the problem by its roots..

Slash the number of PRs by 70%..

No more dishing out 20,000 Red ICs every year to new citizens..

The problem is.................they are not even giving solutions to the problems as part of the wayang.
It wouldn't be so bad if they were.
They cause the problems and essentially they are asking all and sundry "What do you think?"

They are empty of ideas, they are asking you & me to help them solve the problems they have created in the name of dialog. Without a rise in numbers of oppositions they would not even bother to ask, you & me, for they are so arrogant of what they do & can do, should do & do what they please.

The solutions is to change these people & get newer better ones with fresh ideas , rather than keep & recycle filth.

We should solve the problem by its roots..

Slash the number of PRs by 70%..

No more dishing out 20,000 Red ICs every year to new citizens..

hahaha...i am sure they wouldnt do that...it will crash the property market...no need cooling measures liao...hahaha

What an idiot, and a medical doctor at that. The whole thing is fraught with problems. We already have false marriages to handle. We already have problems with selecting genuine grassroots leaders.

and MPs that dont serve NS?

hahaha...i am sure they wouldnt do that...it will crash the property market...no need cooling measures liao...hahaha

That's right, they won't do that.. That's why these PAP jokers are now suggesting this kind of daft ideas..

The damage has already been done.. A bit too late to rectify the problem..

and MPs that dont serve NS?

Their argument is , they are SERVING you, that is National Service..are we being served?? As for you & me, it is our duty to serve & protect...get it??

Fucking stupid idea! You can be sure all these newcomers will quickly join PA and grassroots events and ingratiate themselves to PAP MPs and Ministers hoping to get sponsors. It is a system fraught with abuse and corruption.

Also came across many naive Singaporeans who will just sponsor out of goodwill without thinking.