• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Architect educates PM Lee on key difference between 99yr lease HDB & Condo

French say oui oui oui. Ya give you VERS at 70 years - courtesy of taxpayers money - still want to complain what not asset?
Sinkies do remember to thank taxpayers like me who pay for your VERS ok?

Responding to PM Lee’s speech that 99 year leasehold applies to both HDB flats as well as private residential apartments, veteran architect Tay Kheng Soon pointed out that there was a key difference between the two types of properties.

Writing in his Facebook, Mr Tay said:

“Since the issue of redevelopment is topical it is necessary to differentiate condos and HDB flats since both are on 99 year leased land. In the case of private condos, many are on 99year leases but all the units have a strata title. A strata title defines the unit size and its undivided share of the land.

“For example, lets say there are 100 units in the condo, therefore each unit strata owner has a 1/100 share of the land should the condo be sold en bloc to a new developer. Say there are 50 years left of the lease. The new developer pays to Singapore Land Authority (SLA) a top-up sum based on a formula to bring the lease back up to its original 99 year tenure status.

Usually developers do en bloc purchases because Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA) has assigned increased plot ratio. This enhanced plot ratio is a privilege that has to be purchased. It is not an entitlement.

The simple difference is one is a strata title and the other is only a lease even though both lands are 99 year leases. It will be interesting how the compensation will be computed in VERS.”

More at https://sg.finance.yahoo.com/news/99-leasehold-properties-hdb-condos-101702735.html

pm lee speech writer must be sacked.

this is most embaressing to say the least.

architect so kiang... but the max he can do is to talk on facebook only. PAP doesn't have any solutions now

KNN someone can refer pm lee back to his own stat board cccs KNN

The staff will only say what he wants them to say. If in doubt, say nothing, as at now. Even the usually vocal and pseudo-righteous ministers are keeping quiet. Should the elected MPs be explaining and clarifying to the residents of their constituencies? Time for them to go door-to-door?

15 million population IS the solution! Altogether now!!! HUAT AH!!!

No suggestions or proposals to be given. We are NOT PAID to offer any. Furthermore, the arrogant and egoistic, self-serving LEEders WILL NEVER accept any sharing or feedback/comment from 'peaNUT and peaBRAIN' Singaporeans. The ridicule of an elderly by GCT or the paid-engagement of foreigners/consultants bears testimony.
Don't give them ideas. They are reading your post. Cheers with a Tiger.

Fake BG of course needs education.

No amount of education could help. It's the dysfunctional genes causing the impaired brain coordination. A physical change of certain body parts is more an appropriate solution. Anyway, it's TOO LATE now. Will 4G be the PAP's '
Generation'?

Sinkies do remember to thank taxpayers like me who pay for your VERS ok?
All the ccb sinkies and mudlanders that did me wrong slandering me to India Iran ought to be ashamed that I am paying for their VERS. Pui!

The staff will only say what he wants them to say. If in doubt, say nothing, as at now. Even the usually vocal and pseudo-righteous ministers are keeping quiet. Should the elected MPs be explaining and clarifying to the residents of their constituencies? Time for them to go door-to-door?
maxresdefault.jpg

KNN what cock you talking hdb resident doesn't pay maintenance fee KNN kiam par is it KNN

HDB residents don't have to pay for their blocks to be repainted or to have the greenery pruned regularly unlike the condo residents. It's expensive to live in a condo because the condo residents have to form their own town council to take care of the condo's maintenance.

You stupid or what, the conservency charge s is over paid and drawn into sinking fund which disappear from view.

How much money is being sucked up by the town council? That's a cost that residents did not have to pay when the HDB ran the estates.

Can beat John Tan's People's Association...Lol :D

The key difference is that in a 99 year condo, the residents have to pay 99 years worth of fees to maintain their own estates. For HDB residents, it is 99 years free maintenance courtesy of PAP.

When condo owners go bust, their condos can be repossessed by the bank and they will be tossed out into the streets. For HDB dwellers, PAP prevents banks from foreclosing on HDB apartments, ensuring that a bankrupt who stays in HDB flat will still have a roof over his family's heads. PAP is so good!

Encouraging crooks. Do have to pay when you owed moneys!

How come Pinkie is so stoopid? Don't he know beforehand that what Architect Tay said is true and correct. Never compare apples with oranges. One is a glorified tenancy lease while one comes with a strata title. :roflmao:

Dont be fooled by Pinky, he has Mastered the art of telling, HALF TRUTH frm his Daddy. He doesn't realise half truth is a whole lie.