• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

anyone got photos of first generation tiong bahru market?

moolightaffairs

Old+Market+Pix+46.jpg

this auntie in the centre looking up one, looks like a auntie i screw during my early teens. she was mother of a friend in her mid 30's then. but the one i screw looks better than her and worked in a bar.

moolightaffairs

sad.jalan membina has now changed so modern. most shops were previously from blk 136 leng kee road.remember beside leng kee got keng seng pri sch,popular book stall at blk 136.

now i worry magerat drive road going to rebuild. area around the old queenstown library still very greeny and dark.very peaceful with few human.

that side maybe prime area for residential development, near to town. but queenstown prison nearby only.

ykhuser

used to hate going there as a kid. The garment section was damn stuffy and hot. But gradually loved the place as I grow older.

Now the whole feel of the place is gone for good after the old market was demolished for a new one. Those govt scholars had destroyed the soul of the estate.

yes bro.it was stuffy and stinky.when you reach home, u sure smell fishy and sour.
i like the disorganised and untidy market.machiam i went taman sentosa in jb

moolightaffairs

the prison had been tear down long ago.market also tear down.
the cinema is now vacant.library..i hope it remain for the next 20 years

izzit??? i went there few yrs ago prison was still there with prison guards guarding it. was driving around there to eat the CKT and hang around there look see look see. still remember got one uncle like to wear shorts so short and see the butt cheek working at the drink stall.

ykhuser

That's where the endLess rows of sundries, textiLes, cLothings staLLs facing Seng Poh Road; wasn't it ?..

the dry market row facing seng poh road is those selling joss paper,texiles, shoes,bras, cups,plates.walk toward the end, got few table where the oldies will gamble and drinks at time.
the hotest moment is the 7th month.lot of fun

watchman8

this auntie in the centre looking up one, looks like a auntie i screw during my early teens. she was mother of a friend in her mid 30's then. but the one i screw looks better than her and worked in a bar.
Go back to your studies and stop thinking of your mother when you PCC.

ykhuser

izzit??? i went there few yrs ago prison was still there with prison guards guarding it. was driving around there to eat the CKT and hang around there look see look see. still remember got one uncle like to wear shorts so short and see the butt cheek working at the drink stall.

csj serve his last sentense there and after close down.
now the famous pobiah,fish ball noodle ,chicken rice all bo liao.sad

Fishypie

Another great pic Bro..me remembers ever sitting on the stone benches on the Left.:wink:

Microsoft

Was Tuck Cheong the sports shop that also sold ping pong bats ? Butterfly, Nittaku, Yasaka ..... ?

Yes. De chinese class fella will go there n buy Table Tennis stuff, Mikasa volleyball...we english class burger will buy Kickoff football, Adidas football boots, Adidas Rom and those with budget will buy those china black hockey boots to use as football boots...track n field runner will buy Panther track shoe...dis shop use to be hot...until the opening of Queensway shopping center...

You oogling at the sports shoe or at the young chiobu trying on sports shoe?

Btw I have a very vague memory of that cinema in Holland Village, remember the outside view vaguely but don't recall that it was openair.

Openair...we use to bring umbrella and raincoat...until we get to noe de uncle inside de projector room...rain can take shelter inside...:biggrin::biggrin:

how can u tahan watching same movie 3x? ...

They dun air de latest show...even blockbuster movie are only aired after all mainstream cinema drop de show. Most of de time, 7pm and 9pm are different and older movies...actually moi much prefer dis over jurong Drive in...aw feel de screen is too small for de distance...

cathay_jurong_drive_in.jpg

yinyang

moolightaffairs said:
izzit???..few yrs ago prison was still there with prison guards guarding it. ..remember got one uncle like to wear shorts so short and see the butt cheek working at the drink stall
ykhuser said:
prison had been tear down long ago.market also tear down.the cinema is now vacant.library..i hope it remain for the next 20 years
Margaret Drive isn't what it used to be. Next to prison was some folorn looking recreation club, even housed a sleazy nightspot with coyotes for a short while before some idiot blew the whistle. And driving range next door was in need of maintenance.

Only the churches and library now stands with new greenery. Bit down to Strathmore side, more public housing blocks coming up.

Lived in Tiong Bahru Estate for a short while, when I was very young, would remember a few blocks, especially the row near to the market, where in the picture you can see block 42. I stayed over night in a few family friends flats there, while my parents are out working.:biggrin:

Margaret Drive isn't what it used to be. Next to prison was some folorn looking recreation club, even housed a sleazy nightspot with coyotes for a short while before some idiot blew the whistle. And driving range next door was in need of maintenance.

Only the churches and library now stands with new greenery. Bit down to Strathmore side, more public housing blocks coming up.

I remember during the mid 2000s fetching my then girlfriend from the Singapore Examinations and Assessment Board (SEAB)..

It was near to the old Queesntown library at Margaret Drive..

Is the school building still there?

yinyang

I...mid 2000s fetching my then girlfriend from the Singapore Examinations and Assessment Board (SEAB).. It was near to the old Queesntown library at Margaret Drive.. Is the school building still there?
Err... unsure, think given way too. SEAB building was refurbished. MINDS still there on lower sterch, and Rainbow school (autistic kids) was around earlier. Another era ...then gf now her majesty, or new (with the times??):biggrin: