• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Another sad story of a young S'porean

Must buy that unit one meh? Got cheaper one don't want to take and must burden themselves with the loans. I remember when my wife and I were looking for flat, we looked for those at valuation level. No need to pay that much. And if the price is too ex, stay with parents first lah! What's with the people nowadays? Must have their own house when married?

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

http://business.asiaone.com/Business/My+Money/Property/Story/A1Story20100308-203235.html

Business @ AsiaOne

Mah's own upgrading story

National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan recounts his childhood years growing up in various housing types.

Mon, Mar 08, 2010
The Straits Times

'When I was young, I lived in various places with my mother, who was a domestic servant. I lost my father when I was three years old, so we moved around a lot.

We stayed in a kampung in Lorong Ah Soo, which today has HDB flats and is in Cynthia Phua's (MP for Aljunied GRC) constituency. Every time I visit the flats there, I still remember where the kampung house was.

Related story:
» HDB rules change
» What's Changing
» New limits on sale of flats to PRs
» Second HDB loans more widely available
» Lease Buyback expanded
» HDB flats: Facts & Myths
Then we moved to a shophouse in High Street. My mum was working for a High Street merchant at that time. Today, that is where the MTI (Ministry of Trade and Industry) and MOF (Ministry of Finance) are (in The Treasury building).

Then we moved to a room in Bugis Street. Today, it is Bugis Junction. There were 10 of us living in that room. We had one bed which slept five. It was raised so that another five could sleep underneath.

Then, I moved to Kim Keat Avenue with my aunt - eight of us in a three-room flat, sharing one toilet and bathroom, while my mother stayed in a one-room rental flat in Whampoa Road.

Later, we upgraded to a four-room flat in Toa Payoh.

That is a typical Singapore story for my generation. Start in a modest flat, work hard, accumulate savings, and upgrade over time. Then, if you need to, rightsize to a smaller flat.'

National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan recounting his childhood years growing up in various housing types.

This article was first published in The Straits Times.

<<

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

http://www.temasekreview.com/2010/03/11/mahs-story-is-also-singapores-story/comment-page-2/

Mah’s story is also Singapore’s story?
March 11, 2010 by admin
Filed under Columnists, Letters, Ng Kok Lim, Opinion
Leave a comment
Dear Madam Low,

I refer to your Straits Times letter dated 8 Mar 2010.

I understand your empathy for Mr Mah since both of you grew up in very overcrowded conditions. However, you need to understand that the improvement in each family’s living conditions over the years is not just a matter of studying hard and working hard but more importantly of diminishing family sizes encouraged in no small part by our “stop at two” policy.

The supposed Singapore story of studying hard and working hard to pull ourselves out of poverty is no different from the stories in other East Asian societies.

Studying hard is not the sole premise of Singaporeans, it is the premise of East Asians in general. Furthermore, Mr Mah’s success is fundamentally different from those of Bill Gates and Steve Jobs since Mr Mah merely took over the reins of an already successful organisation whereas Bill Gates and Steve Jobs created something out of nothing.

In other words, it really didn’t matter whether we had Mr Mah or not, his existence as far as the HDB or Singapore is concerned, is non-essential. Bill Gates and Steve Jobs on the other hand are essential without which there would have been no Microsoft or Apple respectively. Therefore, Mr Mah’s story is far from Singapore’s story since the former created nothing as far as the latter is concerned. Mr Mah builds flats that are smaller, far from the city centre that took longer to build and are a lot more expensive. His ’success’ turned out to be the sorrow and nightmare for many Singaporeans.

It is not enough to remind the younger generation of where we come from. It is more important to let them understand that in an increasingly competitive world, it is not enough to simply ace one’s exams just so as to win a privileged seat to rot in. Being in a privileged position calls for a sense of duty to fellow Singaporeans, to create something for the benefit of all.

So while you give thanks to Singapore for living in a maisonette today, think about who you would thank if you were to start all over again by drawing today’s starting salary and paying today’s price for a maisonette. I can guarantee you, your tears will be no less than those you shed for Mr Mah last Saturday which you have no one else but Mr Mah to thank for.

Thank you

Ng Kok Lim

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

http://www.straitstimes.com/ST+Forum/Online+Story/STIStory_500448.html

Mar 11, 2010
Self-disciplined talent

I REFER to Mr Mah Bow Tan's recent sharing of his early childhood experience in "Mah's own upgrading story" on Saturday and to Mr Low Lee Siang's encouraging comments ("Mah's story is also Singapore's story", Monday). I also refer to Sunday's article, "The greedy, the sleazy and the ugly".

Many very highly capable individuals have reached the very top of their careers and fallen away.

But there are also many very highly capable individuals who have reached the very top of their careers and remained there.

The big difference between these two groups is that the second group consists of individuals who are very highly self-disciplined.

I am of the opinion Mr Mah belongs to the second group.

Ang Boon Hua

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

brats! I don't even own my own flat at my age. Reason:I can't afford!

<table width="100%" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tbody><tr></tr><tr><td class="wintiny" align="right" nowrap="nowrap">
</td></tr><tr><td height="8">
</td></tr><tr><td class="msgtxt">
<table width="100%" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tbody><tr><td class="msgtxt">28 year old Singapore teacher burdened by hefty mortgage loan for HDB flat before marriage

</td></tr></tbody></table>
It is stories like these that made me fuming mad with the FAP. The more i am determined to kick asses of FAP por lumpars and doggies here. Luckily i don't have to be in their situation. This forum must continue to remain a place for people to let off steam and KPKB.

Any FAP doggy i see attacking anti FAP forummers here will get a taste of my Halberd! And this is coming 24/7 from the OA.

_

all these youngsters love to complain

that s why we must import more PRCs

singaporeans have grown too soft too soft and useless, especially graduates

And you the cheapskate PRC balls licker traitor! Ranting the same old shit again. Say hello to my Halberd soon!

Must buy that unit one meh? Got cheaper one don't want to take and must burden themselves with the loans. I remember when my wife and I were looking for flat, we looked for those at valuation level. No need to pay that much. And if the price is too ex, stay with parents first lah! What's with the people nowadays? Must have their own house when married?

Agree on your point. I guess they really want that unit, and made the choice to pay through their nose for their 'ideal' unit. Lucky I got divorced before my ex and I got a unit ourselves. I shudder to think what kind of situation I'll be in if I am still married.

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - Another sad story of a young S'porean</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>4:56 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 9) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>30554.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>28 year old Singapore teacher burdened by hefty mortgage loan for HDB flat before marriage

March 24, 2010 by admin
Filed under Life Stories, Opinion

Leave a comment
http://www.temasekreview.com/2010/03/24/singapore-teacher-burdened-by-hefty-mortgage-loan-for-hdb-flat-before-marriage/

Dear TR,
Thanks for publishing the article by Ms Judy Eng. (read article here) It really strikes a chord in my heart as I am in the same situation as her too. I am 28 this year now working as a teacher in a secondary school.
My fiancee just found a job in a GLC as an engineer after six months of looking for one. The pay isn’t fantastic as there is an abundance of foreign engineers in Singapore. He considered himself lucky to finally secure a full-time job after months of being on contract.
We are planning to get married in July and just bought a 4-room resale flat at Sin Ming. Guess how much it costs? You won’t believe it, we bought it at almost $500,000. No kidding, it’s true! All the flats in the vicinity cost above $500K. After paying about $30,000 in COV partially paid for by our parents, we do not have a single cent left for our wedding which we will have a simple afternoon tea buffet at our church instead of the traditional 8-course Chinese dinner.
I am really worried about our future. We earn barely $5,000 together and the mortgage loan already took up 30 percent of our income. We still have to cough out some cash after using up the entire CPFs. The moment I think of this, I lost all the mood already.
People used to say that marriage is the happiest moment in a girl’s life, but I am not looking forward to it. I feel very heavy, like a burden placeed on my chest, sometimes choking me, it is so suffocating. Can we buy a new flat? I do not wish to wait for another 3 to 4 years, anything can happen to our relationship during this period of time. It is a risk I cannot afford to take.
My hubby-to-be is burnt out everyday from work – OT, OT and OT and he is not paid for it. For me, my weekends are either burnt in school CCAs or marking the homeworks of my students. We hardly meet each other at all, sometimes just enough time to have a meal or catch a movie. Somehow I feel apprehensive startinig life together with another person, am I ready for it? I don’t think we can start a family, at least for the next three years or so. How to have children when we are not financially stable?
I will pay the loan mostly on my own as my hubby still have to pay for his student loan and car loan. I have only a few thousand dollars in my savings now and I wonder how long they can last me. What happens when there is an emergency? Or if we are retrenched? I dread to think of the worst…but women being women, they always think alot.
Every month, my pay gets used up almost immediately after it’s deposited into my POSB account – living expenses, allowances for parents, and now with housing loan, I really don’t know how far we can continue like this. Did we do our Maths before we make the purchase? Yes, but what can we do, the flats are expensive everywhere and we want to stay near our parents. Even 4-room flats in Jurong are calling above $400,000 nowadays! The prices are really going crazy, the agents told us that they will only go up in the future as the govt will never allow them to come down.
Sorry for the ramblings. There are so many things on my mind now, I can’t think or type clearly…..Thanks for providing me an outlet to vent my frustrations, who can understand what we are going through? Sigh, maybe I am one of those few unlucky souls.
Please edit and publish this rant of mine as you see fit. Thanks again for listening.

Melissa Quek
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Miss Melissa quek

You deserved to be screwed. You are simply digging your own grave.

Knowing that you and your partner can't afford the $500k 4 room pigeon hole you still spend so much on it.

MBT will tell you to be patient, take a queue for his BTO and stay with your families first.

The MIW will just say, live within your means.

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - Another sad story of a young S'porean</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>4:56 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 9) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>30554.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>28 year old Singapore teacher burdened by hefty mortgage loan for HDB flat before marriage

March 24, 2010 by admin

Leave a comment
http://www.temasekreview.com/2010/03/24/singapore-teacher-burdened-by-hefty-mortgage-loan-for-hdb-flat-before-marriage/

Dear TR,
Thanks for publishing the article by Ms Judy Eng. (read article here) It really strikes a chord in my heart as I am in the same situation as her too. I am 28 this year now working as a teacher in a secondary school.
My fiancee just found a job in a GLC as an engineer after six months of looking for one. The pay isn’t fantastic as there is an abundance of foreign engineers in Singapore. He considered himself lucky to finally secure a full-time job after months of being on contract.
We are planning to get married in July and just bought a 4-room resale flat at Sin Ming. Guess how much it costs? You won’t believe it, we bought it at almost $500,000. No kidding, it’s true! All the flats in the vicinity cost above $500K. After paying about $30,000 in COV partially paid for by our parents, we do not have a single cent left for our wedding which we will have a simple afternoon tea buffet at our church instead of the traditional 8-course Chinese dinner.
I am really worried about our future. We earn barely $5,000 together and the mortgage loan already took up 30 percent of our income. We still have to cough out some cash after using up the entire CPFs. The moment I think of this, I lost all the mood already.
People used to say that marriage is the happiest moment in a girl’s life, but I am not looking forward to it. I feel very heavy, like a burden placeed on my chest, sometimes choking me, it is so suffocating. Can we buy a new flat? I do not wish to wait for another 3 to 4 years, anything can happen to our relationship during this period of time. It is a risk I cannot afford to take.
My hubby-to-be is burnt out everyday from work – OT, OT and OT and he is not paid for it. For me, my weekends are either burnt in school CCAs or marking the homeworks of my students. We hardly meet each other at all, sometimes just enough time to have a meal or catch a movie. Somehow I feel apprehensive startinig life together with another person, am I ready for it? I don’t think we can start a family, at least for the next three years or so. How to have children when we are not financially stable?
I will pay the loan mostly on my own as my hubby still have to pay for his student loan and car loan. I have only a few thousand dollars in my savings now and I wonder how long they can last me. What happens when there is an emergency? Or if we are retrenched? I dread to think of the worst…but women being women, they always think alot.
Every month, my pay gets used up almost immediately after it’s deposited into my POSB account – living expenses, allowances for parents, and now with housing loan, I really don’t know how far we can continue like this. Did we do our Maths before we make the purchase? Yes, but what can we do, the flats are expensive everywhere and we want to stay near our parents. Even 4-room flats in Jurong are calling above $400,000 nowadays! The prices are really going crazy, the agents told us that they will only go up in the future as the govt will never allow them to come down.
Sorry for the ramblings. There are so many things on my mind now, I can’t think or type clearly…..Thanks for providing me an outlet to vent my frustrations, who can understand what we are going through? Sigh, maybe I am one of those few unlucky souls.
Please edit and publish this rant of mine as you see fit. Thanks again for listening.

Melissa Quek

icon.aspx

March 24, 2010 by admin

Leave a comment

Dear TR,

Melissa Quek

We are planning to get married in July and just bought a 4-room resale flat at Sin Ming. Guess how much it costs? You won’t believe it, we bought it at almost $500,000.
Why would they want to buy a flat that cost almost half a million with a barely S$5000 combine salary and complain. I am sure there are other places that is cheaper. As for living near the parents, is it a must, they should have buy a cheaper unit and bought a car to ferry the family to the parents place when the need arises.

As for this "Can we buy a new flat? I do not wish to wait for another 3 to 4 years, anything can happen to our relationship during this period of time."

So much for Melissa faith's in her relationship, married or not, is just a piece of paper.

We are planning to get married in July and just bought a 4-room resale flat at Sin Ming. Guess how much it costs? You won’t believe it, we bought it at almost $500,000.
Why would they want to buy a flat that cost almost half a million with a barely S$5000 combine salary and complain. I am sure there are other places that is cheaper. As for living near the parents, is it a must, they should have buy a cheaper unit and bought a car to ferry the family to the parents place when the need arises.

As for this "Can we buy a new flat? I do not wish to wait for another 3 to 4 years, anything can happen to our relationship during this period of time."

So much for Melissa faith's in her relationship, married or not, is just a piece of paper.
Whether she waits or does not wait for 3 to 4 years, anything can still happen in their relationship.

shameless..complain complain..yet still want buy car when say suffocating and can't afford?????????????wtf????????????? comon la...be more convincing....no money go squeeze MRT la!!! some sgrean doesnt deserve any sympathy one la...

icon.aspx

March 24, 2010 by admin

Leave a comment

Dear TR,

Melissa Quek

My mid life crisis is a sad story. This is not a sad story but a stupid story!

Earn $5000 (combine salary some more) and still can buy a half mil flat and a car! Some more can give all kinds of fark reasons.

What the fark has a flat or living together has to do with a relationship?
And how the fark can she be married to a man whom she dun trust since she said she dunno what will happen after 3-4 years?
Does she really think the husband will attract hordes of girls with his loser's pay?
Why do they need a car since they cannot afford it and don't need it for their work?
Can't they rent for the time being if she die die needs a place to suck her husband cock dry everyday so that he won't go mess around?
Why get married in the first place and feel depress about a misery wedding reception whe they can't afford it?

They are now in their prime and should work hard, constantly upgrade themselves and go all out to make $$$. And yet they go into massive debts with their eyes open and still got the cheek to complain in public.

Those contributors to the forum don't have to worry. With their level of language proficiency, they can be journalist if kanna retrenched.;)

My mid life crisis is a sad story. This is not a sad story but a stupid story!

Earn $5000 (combine salary some more) and still can buy a half mil flat and a car! Some more can give all kinds of fark reasons.

What the fark has a flat or living together has to do with a relationship?
And how the fark can she be married to a man whom she dun trust since she said she dunno what will happen after 3-4 years?
Does she really think the husband will attract hordes of girls with his loser's pay?
Why do they need a car since they cannot afford it and don't need it for their work?
Can't they rent for the time being if she die die needs a place to suck her husband cock dry everyday so that he won't go mess around?
Why get married in the first place and feel depress about a misery wedding reception whe they can't afford it?

They are now in their prime and should work hard, constantly upgrade themselves and go all out to make $$$. And yet they go into massive debts with their eyes open and still got the cheek to complain in public.

are there someone in opposition writing these stories like essay and trying to look like real singaporean writing it. I have my doubts.