• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Another poor fella at Bras Basah, how can we make a difference, please suggest

Romagnum

I went to Bras Basah Complex again today after work

Last time I saw a hungry old man and offered him my food which he finished in two minutes

This time it was another old fella but he was in a wheelchair selling tissue. He said he fell off the ladder while doing some installation maintenance because he was old and knees weak. Now he is stuck in wheelchair

I bought some tissue but I am also a low wage worker. What can we low wage earner do to help poor people. Any suggestion so we can pool our idea and make a difference

Please dont cynical comment just constructive one, thank you

TeeKee

form some charity organisation...

show them who you are helping..

collect donations from company direct...

find more volunteers to help you....

walla....you have your non profit organisation...

do report back the status of the people you have help to the donors..

so they feel good about it..

stay legit, otherwise you will be busted later on......

Last time I saw a hungry old man and offered him my food which he finished in two minutes

This time it was another old fella but he was in a wheelchair selling tissue. He said he fell off the ladder while doing some installation maintenance because he was old and knees weak. Now he is stuck in wheelchair

I bought some tissue but I am also a low wage worker. What can we low wage earner do to help poor people. Any suggestion so we can pool our idea and make a difference

There will always be, poor, hungry, destitute people, you can not help them all, even you have a lot of money.

What you can do, is out of humanity, compassion & humility; when you see one approaches you, you give what you have & you give from your heart. It is not you who sins, as a giver, but if the receiver is not genuine, the onus is on that person.

Do not give to the 'brick' thing if you can...the publicity hype and so forth, this is a commercial venture..all the companies related to that hype, is making money...including the tax department.

Copying the Malaysia "One" concept....helping the unemployed...have you guys ever, asked for assistance??? go & taste the bitters..

Give...from your heart, but consult your head first...:smile:

cooleo

form some charity organisation...

show them who you are helping..

collect donations from company direct...

find more volunteers to help you....

walla....you have your non profit organisation...

do report back the status of the people you have help to the donors..

so they feel good about it..

stay legit, otherwise you will be busted later on......

Teekee...u talk cock again. Always hear u talk about God, Church and Jesus, but u never seem to put your words into actions. Instead of '20% GST' to the church every month, got money to help needy or not?

The problem people are facing need a long term solution. In many countries you have NGOs(non gov't organisation) stepping in to help out. In Spore NGOs are illegal or stictly controlled.

Actually the best solution is to have a more representative gov't. PAP is the root problem in hiking up the prices in Spore: utilies, rentals, public transport,...

In other words you need a political solution to fix a social problem :rolleyes:

President's Star Charity etc...so many millions, who know where these millions gone?

Many Sporeans have their own CPF, but PAP has hijacked their nest egg.

GST increases for the poor:eek:

How many of the 'poor' can help themselves if they have a job, instead they are being replaced by foreigners.

If you "fix" the PAP. alot of "poor" Sporeans will benefit :rolleyes:

Sorry, I won't try to fix PAP. If I try, not even halfway through I'll end up in Changi Integrated Resort. GST is to help poor people, so that they spend all their money, no need to have bank accounts and pay service charges.

Watchman

PAP is the root problem in hiking up the prices in Spore: utilies, rentals, public transport,...

If you have low wages and low interest rates here, this is what you get .

4096853487_fc081c1996.jpg

The Final Solution

middaydog

There will always be, poor, hungry, destitute people, you can not help them all, even you have a lot of money.

two boys were walking along the seashore at low tide, there were many starfishes washed ashore they were all drying and dying

one boy started to pick them up one by one and threw back in the water, his friend then asked "why you do that ? there are thousand of them _ does it matter at all?"

the boy pointed to a starfish he just picked up in his hand and gave an answer before he threw "to this one _ yes, it matters"

romagnum may not be able to help all but to the old man that he helped _ yes, it matters

So, Magnum, when you start your movement come around my place I will drop 50 cents in your collection tin

Interest rate is an interesting problem. If you have high interest rate, car buyers and home mortgagers etc. are going to suffer. If you have low interest rate, saving accounts, bonds, insurance policy owners etc. are going to suffer.

If you have low wages and low interest rates here, this is what you get .

Sorry, I won't try to fix PAP. ......

They are going to expand Changi before the next election if the PAP intends to jail Sporeans who want to "fix" the PAP :smile:

Short of jailing thousands, its going to be hard for LKY to respond to unhappy Sporeans who want to "fix" the PAP. He might threaten loss of jobs, lost of HDB, sue them, ... but how are you going to threaten people who have lost their economic security :confused:

find them a job . you cant feed them forever . instead of giving him fish everyday , give him a rod and teach him how to fish .

Watchman

find them a job . you cant feed them forever . instead of giving him fish everyday , give him a rod and teach him how to fish .

Are you a government lackey ?

Local farmers here are chased away even using the
Singapore air-force to intimidate the vegetable farmers making their havest perish !
So leaves you no room for subsistence and
effectively forcing you to assimilate into their system .

Meaning constant high price and financial non-independence !

thats why when i was in singapore , i would never donate to those charity . guess alot of singaporean still very dumb , thought their money goes to those who need it .

i even heard that some charity show in singapore have "lucky draw " . what the fuck is that ?:oIo::oIo:

Are you a government lackey ?

Local farmers here are chased away even using the
Singapore air-force to intimidate the vegetable farmers making their havest perish !
So leaves you no room for subsistence and
effectively forcing you to assimilate into their system .

Meaning constant high price and financial non-independence !

so the best way is to keep feeding them ? look at austraila , so many beach bum . why ?

... there were many starfishes washed ashore ...

one boy started to pick them up one by one and threw back in the water ...
ppl happily sunbathing, which dey hardly get any thruout their lives ... n u dun let dem ... u so notti ... :rolleyes: