• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

amazed by the level of condescension and arrogance displayed

TeeKee

Sometimes I am utterly amazed by the level of condescension and arrogance displayed by our politicians. The only thing I can say to our million dollar ministers is that treating other people like morons only shows what a moron you are.

To rebutt the statements of our highly paid minister-

1. Nobody gets their CPF statements on a monthly basis. Goes to show just how disconnected and out of touch these rich fuckers are. Here’s a newsflash, just because you speak like a heartlander doesn’t make you one of us. The intent behind your words still shows what an arrogant and condescending jerk you are.

2. The CPF money is NOT SUPPOSED to run away, you fuck. And here’s why- unlike other kind of investments that I may make on my own, CPF is something the government force down my throat. Its money forcibly taken away from me in which I have no say other how much should be taken, how its being invested and when I can withdraw it. If you take my money away from me against my wishes, uses it to bail out failing western banks and make stupid investment decisions, then you better bloody guarantee it.

3. My CPF money IS NOT earning good interest. The interest that I am getting from the amount and time period over which it is locked up is paltry. It does even cover the rate of inflation.

4. To sum it up, you take my money away from me, you better protect and guarantee it motherfucker.

http://forums.delphiforums.com/n/mb/message.asp?webtag=sunkopitiam&msg=9561.1

DIVISION1

1. You can check it off the internet portal of CPFB. It is free. You can check it every day if you want.
2. Interesting but irrelevant question. If you are still worried, direct the question to CPFB. I am sure if you and other Singaporeans ask often enough, it will occur on the CPFB FAQs.
3. It is still better than banks
4. CPF is implicitly guaranteed. There is a statement made regarding this on MOM's website. You may attempt to search it if you wish.

twinseeker

1. You can check it off the internet portal of CPFB. It is free. You can check it every day if you want.
2. Interesting but irrelevant question. If you are still worried, direct the question to CPFB. I am sure if you and other Singaporeans ask often enough, it will occur on the CPFB FAQs.
3. It is still better than banks
4. CPF is implicitly guaranteed. There is a statement made regarding this on MOM's website. You may attempt to search it if you wish.
It is ridiculous to be checking the CPF statement daily, since the transactions only happen once, or perhaps twice (for some) monthly. It just goes to show how free the minister is, that he can be smiling to himself over his CPF statement

theblackhole

please do us a favour....please release our cpf at 55...all of it ...and let us manage our own finances....we die our own business...we squander our own business...we gamble our own business....we impoverished our business...don't nanny us until 85...many don't last that long and many don't want to last that long either...please release our cpf at 55...all of it. thank you division1 officer!

DIVISION1

please do us a favour....please release our cpf at 55...all of it ...and let us manage our own finances....we die our own business...we squander our own business...we gamble our own business....we impoverished our business...don't nanny us until 85...many don't last that long and many don't want to last that long either...please release our cpf at 55...all of it. thank you division1 officer!

Look at how many misinformed individuals they were for the Lehman Brothers case and the number of old men who squander their money at geylang or gambling. A pocket money allowance system from a determined sum makes more sense. 55, today, is too early. Pensions overseas are starting at 65 or higher these days. So, the CPF is not doing too bad with its age limits.

theblackhole

pls lah the vulnerables include very well educated people too...and those who are supposed to be in the know...this reason has been given before....just let us have our money at 55 can?....stop nanny us until 85...many die liao lah.

The_Latest_H

Stay too long and the bad side of politics inevitably corrupts. That's why there's always consistent renewal of the system by means of new blood.

The old has to move out once they have served their part. Because if the old stays there and don't move, they inevitably get worse and worse, and lose their moral bearings.

Singapore hasn't been able to cultivate good politicians in part because they have allowed the PAP to continue such a policy- to the demerit of all. And with LKY in power for 50 years, its not surprising he think himself as a demi-God. And since LKY thinks himself as a God, then its even not surprising to see his servants in his son's cabinet think of themselves to be higher than the ordinary people.

Lentor

to those god-damn greedy b*stards,the amount of CPF they have is just spare change to them!

twinseeker

The only way I see how & why they can't release our CPF soon enough is probably because they've invested our savings for long term benefits, but their miscalculations for the long term was too far-fetched that they returns can't be generated fast enough, to be returned to us.

Hence, all we have is paper profits, that can never be materialized in this life-time.

Sometimes I am utterly amazed by the level of condescension and arrogance displayed by our politicians. The only thing I can say to our million dollar ministers is that treating other people like morons only shows what a moron you are.

That is what sinkie vote for. Sinkie vote for another sinkie, equation fits, nothing wrong.

theblackhole

i want to withdraw my money and spend the way i like...buy minibonds also can...go and enjoy myself also can...go to anywhere also can....why still want to nanny me?...go to batam,geylang and casinos also can....my money i do what i like...if no money ...go to gahment for hand outs...or search the bins or wait at hawker centres and beg lor...why lock up my money until 85 or 65...by then no teeth to do anything...no strength liao to travel or admire the beauties of the world....so you pls release my cpf can division1 officer? now u see what happened to our savings and to our resevers...keykok liao!!!!

Look at how many misinformed individuals they were for the Lehman Brothers case and the number of old men who squander their money at geylang or gambling. A pocket money allowance system from a determined sum makes more sense. 55, today, is too early. Pensions overseas are starting at 65 or higher these days. So, the CPF is not doing too bad with its age limits.

CPF was started with a view that, we put aside a sum of money, so that, when we retire at 55, 65, 75 85 95 or 105!!, we have a sum of money, we can see in our hands. Our blood sweat & tears, hard earned money. This scheme is not without merit.

But the way, it now handled, it appears to the layman that their money, is not in their grasp at all, when they retire. Doesn't matter, if there are schemes that, ensure that, they get a steady income, each month, until the balance runs out.

The perseption given is, they have now taken my money, and holding it & do not want to give it back. Who doesn't want to hold in their hands a sum of money, when they retire, not some $300 to $400 a month. Whether, they spend the money on wine, women song etc... that they are entitle to, it is their money!, hard earned money.

The case of the mini bonds etc., you will be surprised, these are not your ordinary investors. They know how to buy bonds, they will know how to punt on the stock market, property markrt, & Singapore pools.

The crux of the matter at the moment is, did the sales/marketing people of the financial houses, misrepresented themselves when they sold these financial instruments to the eldery & to the public at large.

Did they explain to them the complexity of these instruments like BONDS, and these are not James Bond, you know!

The fianacial institution are protected in the contract, so they need not, compensate the investors. But for a duty & to protect their integrity, they may do so.

It is caveat emptor..."buyers beware".....it is greed, the lure of higher interest & returns for their money, not that, they are that misinformed.

As for your point the elderly spending all their money at Geylang & gambling, can any nation on these earth, prevent them for doing so?

Aren't they suppose to enjoy the fruits of their labour, after all, when you reach 55 or 65, how many GOOD YEARS do one have? Not many are blessed to live up to 85, and still PREACH!.

Doesn't the younger ones do that,too?, have to been to Boat Quay, Mohd Sultan, St. James etc...

The government should stop being a nanny to our CPF money, or is that, something that we really do not know about?

I would want my CPF money in my pocket, when I retire, the entire sum, rather than I am paid a paltry sum every month. I am entitle to the money I saved all my maybe 30 to 35 years of hard work, through my blood , sweat & tears, And I want to spend the money, I see fit!. Not someone holding on to my money, wether gurantee or not, and giving it to me, ins small measure.

After all it is my HARD EARNED MONEY, I didn't steal or beg....:mad:

theblackhole

when i heard the minister talking about hor "lich" he is...he feels so "lich" every month!!!...all his "lich" money very safe...he can sleep soundly...he can even snore soundly and loudly...cos he feels very "lich".....

of course he feels "lich" lah...no need to touch his CPF what!...great pay every month into his account...of course he feels very "lich" every month woh....so much money into his account monthly...high salaries and high allowances and high director fees and high don't know what...of course he feels very "lich" every month lor!!!!

you and i feel " rich " every month??? look at the hefty bills, look at the fines.look at the high interest,look at the deficits, look at the loans, look at the mortgages....like never end...then look at the increase in charges and fees...up and away...

do you feel "lich" every month??? nnk!!!