• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ah Yang is Back and meeting Oppos,,,PAP John Tan, please arrest him for collaborating with the Enemy

Rare interview: Hsien Loong and Hsien Yang are “like chalk and cheese”
Lee Suet Fern tells Yahoo News: One has been front and centre of his mother's efforts, the other charted his own path
Singapore-Lee-Kuan-Yew-Lee-Hsien-Loong-Lee-Hsien-Yang-Lee-Suet-Fern-Facebook-2.jpg

Author
- Advertisement -
Singapore — When asked about the differences between her husband Lee Hsien Yang and his elder brother Lee Hsien Loong in a recent interview with Yahoo News, Lee Suet Fern quipped with a laugh: “Oh, they’re like chalk and cheese.”
She added: “Hsien Loong has always been front and centre of his mother’s efforts. Hsien Yang, on the other hand, is the youngest child, he very much felt he needed to find his own way to be his own person, to chart his own path.”
And chart his own path he did. While his brother followed in their father’s footsteps and later became leader of the People’s Action Party (PAP) and Prime Minister, Hsien Yang took a different course and carved out a career in the corporate sector.
Mr Lee Kuan Yew’s successor and Hsien Loong’s predecessor, Goh Chok Tong, briefly considered roping Hsien Yang into politics but did not do so for two reasons: One, he apparently thought Hsien Loong would outshine his younger brother; and two, he was concerned about being seen as simply a figurehead if three Lees were in government.
- Advertisement -
Goh said in his biography: “Having two brothers in Parliament was okay – Bernard Chen and Kenneth Chen, at one time.
“But in Cabinet, how could I succeed as a PM if the father was there, the elder son and the second son too? Nobody would believe I am my own man isn’t it? With three – what chance would you have? I mean, that was how people would think, not knowing we are individuals.”

Goh, in fact, added that Hsien Yang “would be different from the brother”, had he entered politics since he is not a yes-man.
Referring to the Lee family dispute that erupted in public in 2017, in which Hsien Yang and his sister Lee Wei Ling alleged that Hsien Loong abused state organs to his own benefit, Goh said:
“Hsien Yang, had he come in, he would be different from the brother. These are not yes-men. You see the situation now, he is fighting the brother. He would be a different individual with different qualities.”
He added: “His value would be — had I been interested, and that was later on — experience in the private sector. Hsien Loong did not have it.”
The dispute between the Lee brothers seemed to have irreparably fractured their relationship. Hsien Loong stopped inviting his siblings to his home for Chinese New Year reunion dinners and the rift even had repercussions on the relationships between their sons.
Hsien Yang, who had been publicly expressing support for opposition parties and civil society activists after the family feud spilled into the public domain, joined the Progress Singapore Party ahead of the general election this year.
Maintaining that the party his father had established has lost its way, he drummed up support for the opposition during the campaign trail but did not contest the election himself since he did not think Singapore needed another Lee in power.
When asked about how she feels about her husband’s involvement with the opposition in her Yahoo News interview, Suet Fern said with a wide smile: “I always support my husband.” She added: “I suppose Hsien Yang has evolved in the years after his father’s passing.”
Suet Fern shed more light on how Hsien Yang’s political views have taken shape: “A lot of people, a more diverse group of people, have spoken to him and he’s become much more aware of the issues and challenges our country faces.”
She added that values like the importance of real governance and accountability, freedom of choice and speech without fear resonate with her husband. “He loves Singapore and he cares deeply.”

Rare interview: Hsien Loong and Hsien Yang are “like chalk and cheese”

And chart his own path he did. While his brother followed in their father’s footsteps and later became leader of the People’s Action Party (PAP) and Prime Minister, Hsien Yang took a different course and carved out a career in the corporate sector.

"Carving out a career in the corporate sector" is like hot knife cutting through butter when your father is lky. CEO one year after joining singtel after leaving army? Meritocracy indeed!

One point i want to add. Unlike ah yangs brother n brother in law and those parachute scholars. He is not a parasite on the public purse. He got money from his parent's n maybe his pension as a general. Much better than the likes of those scholars who were parachuted into gic like the ceo of sph fucking up n still get paid

I like hsien yang, but it is undeniable he was also as good as being parachuted into the singtel ceo position.

Theindependent
Taufik Supan and Kumaran Pillai new CEC members
Screen-Shot-2021-04-01-at-11.57.50-AM.png
Photo: Dr Tan Cheng Bock (FB screengrab), Mr Francis Yuen (YouTube screengrab)
Author
- Advertisement -
Singapore — Former Republic of Singapore Air Force Lieutenant Colonel Francis Yuen has been appointed the new secretary-general of the Progress Singapore Party (PSP), taking over from party founder Dr Tan Cheng Bock.
Mr Yuen was previously the party’s assistant secretary-general and had run as a candidate in Chua Chu Kang GRC during the general election last year.
Screen-Shot-2021-04-01-at-11.53.13-AM.png
Photo: FB/PSP (Kumaran Pillai, Taufik Supan)
The PSP also co-opted two new members, Taufik Supan and Kumaran Pillai, into its highest decision-making body when the new central executive committee (CEC) convened on Wednesday (31 March).
- Advertisement -
The changes were announced on Thursday (Apr 1) morning.
Dr Tan has become party chairman, and former PSP chairman Wang Swee Chuang will be vice-chairman.
In response to TISG’s queries, PSP spokesperson Kumaran Pillai said that Dr Tan, 81, was still the “moral authority” within the party, despite handing over the secretary-general role.
“As long as he’s around, (members) will still see him as a figurehead of the party… whatever title you give him.”
He added that Dr Tan was grooming Mr Yuen, 71, to be the next leader of the party and that Mr Yuen’s new post was an executive role for now.
“It will involve day-to-day functions like budgeting, who to be appointed where, and disciplinary matters. All these come under (the role of) secretary-general,” said Mr Pillai.
Two new faces in the 14-member CEC have become officeholders.
Chartered accountant Kayla Low, a candidate for the single-member constituency (SMC) of Yio Chu Kang during last year’s election, is the new treasurer, while businessman Phang Yew Huat will be assistant treasurer.
Former treasurer S Nallakaruppan had recently taken up the role of President at the Society of Remisiers. As the society will have discussions with government agencies such as the Monetary Authority of Singapore, Mr Nallakaruppan said to the media that he did not want to be involved in politics. He added that he would still be a member of the party.
The new CEC office holders are:
• Dr Tan Cheng Bock, Chairman
• Wang Swee Chuang, Vice Chairman
• Francis Yuen, Secretary-General
• Kayla Low Shi Yi, Treasurer
• Phang Yew Huat, Asst Treasurer
New CEC members:
• Peggie Chua
• Hazel Poa
• Leong Mun Wai
• Dr Ang Yong Guan
• Jess Chua
• Wendy Low
• Harish Pillay
• Taufik Supan
• Kumaran PillaiFollow us on Social Media
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
  • Reddit
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Email
Send in your scoops to [email protected]
- Advertisement -

Tan Cheng Bock backs Francis Yuen for PSP’s new chief, says PSP does not belong to him but S’poreans - The Online Citizen Asia
The Progress Singapore Party (PSP) chief Tan Cheng Bock on Saturday (3 Apr) clarified that the recent leadership renewal is a conscious attempt to let Singaporeans know that the party is not his alone, but “belongs to Singaporeans who care for Singapore”.
The party announced on Thursday (1 Apr) that it appointed former Republic of Singapore Air Force Lieutenant Colonel Francis Yuen, 71-year-old, as its new secretary-general, while Dr Tan has been repositioned as chairman in PSP’s new Central Executive Committee (CEC).
Six new CEC members were elected along with two new members being co-opted into the CEC.
RedWire Times, an online news site, reported on 25 March that some party cadres had demanded that Dr Tan – who founded PSP in 2019 – step down as secretary-general and hand over the leadership to “more talented rising stars”.
In a press conference at the party’s headquarters on Saturday, Dr Tan said the leadership change was unrelated to the reports, and that he had been thinking to reposition.
“This move will be better for Singaporeans, because they will realise that we are actually consciously making an attempt to let Singaporeans know that the party PSP is not Tan Cheng Bock’s party. PSP belongs to Singaporeans who care for Singapore.”
“This is a very conscious move not only on my part but on the advice of all my party leaders here,” he added.
With his new position as chairman of PSP, Dr Tan will now focus on reaching out to Singaporeans and walking the ground.
“I want to concentrate on reaching Singaporeans we didn’t reach before, that is very important. I want them to know what PSP stands for, and that we are a party that they must consider in the future.
“Secondly, I want to help to mobilise and strengthen our grassroots. I’ve always walked the ground and it’s something I enjoy doing … It’s part of me, it’s part of my political DNA,” he noted.
Dr Tan also backed Mr Yuen for PSP’s new secretary-general, saying that older people with experience should not be pushed aside.
“Of course, if they are young, it is a bit better. But look at our society, it is also ageing,” he said.
Dr Tan continued: “It is a pity if we don’t use our retirees with so much experience and just push them aside to say that the young people must come out… We’re not looking for young people just to make everybody happy.”
When asked about whether Non-Constituency Members of Parliament (NCMPs) Hazel Poa and Leong Mun Wai would be considered for the position of secretary-general, he replied: “I’m not going to follow what the normal political structure is like, because we are a progressive political party.”
Responding to rumours of conflict within the party, Dr Tan acknowledged that some party members had their own personal agendas, adding that “If you’re not a team player, I don’t take you.”
Mr Yuen, who contested in Chua Chu Kang GRC during the GE last year, claimed that Dr Tan was not coerced into stepping down as secretary-general.
“It’s been a great honour to take on this position, and I can add on to say that nothing is further from the truth that (Dr Tan) is coerced into making this decision.
“It is his plan all the while, he has closely consulted myself, Mun Wai, Hazel and a few other of the senior people … It’s very natural, the transition,” he noted.
Mr Yuen also hinted that he aims to lead the party at least up until the next GE, and that he aims to make PSP a “party of choice” for Singaporeans.
“We want to build a party of choice that people can relate to. We champion their interests and we champion the interests of Singapore. More than that, we have the ability, the people, the leadership to be able to carry on for a long time to come,” he added.
Share this:

If countries could eliminate poverty by mandating a minimum wage there would be no poor people in the world.

Businesses that are forced to pay a wage beyond what the market can support are simply not sustainable.
Problem is that they are not mandating it, else you will see poverty eliminated.
And businesses that cannot even pay minimum wage deserves to go under, instead of exploiting desperate labour.

I think John Tan and his whole family already up-lorry from the Wuhan virus liao lah.

Problem is that they are not mandating it, else you will see poverty eliminated.
And businesses that cannot even pay minimum wage deserves to go under, instead of exploiting desperate labour.

Yes the businesses do go under because they cannot pay the minimum wage and therefore there aren't enough businesses left to employ people. The result is mass unemployment.

in the singapore context, rent can be lowered to give more wages to workers. but that notion of taking care of workers over businesses is anathema to the PAP.

LKY would turn in his grave.

This tan bah bah seems to have an issue with ah bock...

Theindependent

Facebook screengrab/ Tan Cheng Bock
- Advertisement -
I write this column with no inside knowledge of the goings-on in the Progress Singapore Party. To be privy to such knowledge and write for public readership would not be ethical since Kumaran Pillai, the publisher of TheIndependent.Sg, is also in the CEC of the party. Conflict of interest and all that. I offer my purely personal analysis and opinion as a lifelong observer of Singapore politics. And, yes, you’ve already guessed it by this fourth sentence, my topic this week is: Quo vadis, PSP?

This question is not about where the PSP wants to go. It is about how it may end up, whatever its own stated vision may be from now on.

In post-self governing Singapore’s short history, most successful opposition parties usually owed their existence or fortune, at least in the early stages, to their founders. David Marshall did well – became Chief Minister – until leftist supporters abandoned him in the battle for merger days. The party came back and rode on the back of Singaporeans’ yearning to break the People’s Action Party’s dominance when JB Jeyaretnam won the Anson by-election. Low Thia Khiang later helped rebuild it into what it is today, a formidable party with 10 MPs in Parliament.

Just before Low and, in fact, while JBJ was around, Chiam See Tong rode into Parliament with, first, his Singapore Democratic Party victory in Potong Pasir and later with two more fellow SDP MPs in Gombak and Nee Soon Central. After his break with the SDP, the Singapore People’s Party became his vehicle with which he was able to hang on in Potong Pasir for a while.

- Advertisement -
Is there anything to learn from the experiences of these other opposition parties? Not much, at least from the 1990s till the start of the 2010s. Very different eras. Lee Kuan Yew was dominant. Social media was not around. The main lesson could be that if you handled your party well and truly worked the ground, shared voters’ pain and spoke their language, you would reap rewards, as shown by Low. He then made sure his party would survive him.

At a press conference on Saturday (April 2), Dr Tan said: “This move (his stepping down as secretary-general) will be better for Singaporeans, because they will realise that we are actually consciously making an attempt to let Singaporeans know that the party PSP is not Tan Cheng Bock’s party. PSP belongs to Singaporeans who care for Singapore. This is a very conscious move not only on my part but on the advice of all my party leaders here.”

I beg to differ. On the contrary, the conventional wisdom has always been that this is Tan Cheng Bock’s party. Without Dr Tan, there would have been no PSP. Anyone can start a party but not anyone could have started one which would go on to perform as creditably as it did in GE2020. Dr Tan brought four things with him – his good record of service as an MP for Ayer Rajah, a strong party machinery, high-profile performance as a nearly elected Presidential candidate and an effortless communicating skill as an empathic leader (something which is sadly and tragically lacking in many ruling party office-holders).

I still think the party cannot do without Dr Tan. Let’s be frank. None of the current CEC office holders has anything anywhere near his public profile yet which cuts across races and languages. Everybody, whatever his race, knows Dr Tan Cheng Bock. There is that level of trust and comfort which has to be earned by other PSP leaders. It is not a matter of being able to speak well or being telegenic. It is not about pushing sectorial issues to appear in tune with younger voters. It is not about being able to participate in a public form and displaying your scholarly expertise and knowledge. It is more than all this.

Dr Tan Cheng Bock is a charismatic, high-profile and enormously popular people’s person. Just watch the way the uncles, aunties and their children – any race – lit up and smiled whenever he did his rounds in the HDB heartlands. He is pretty much indispensable.

The PSP has to make it much clearer what it is has done or what has actually happened. Or it may risk frittering away the support and goodwill that it has accumulated in the short period – which was mostly built around Dr Tan’s persona – since before GE2020.

The move to develop the party beyond Tan Cheng Bock has to be handled smartly. Both the new leadership which hopes to mature out of the shadow of the founder and the founder himself must convince voters they are getting a double-value deal instead of a half-value option of an organisation which cannot find its own feet or identity in the years ahead.

As a parting shot, we may recall the constant presence of another heavyweight personality beyond Dr Tan at the GE2020 hustings. A very active presence. Do not rule him out in discussing the future of the PSP.

Tan Bah Bah, consulting editor of TheIndependent.Sg, is a former senior leader writer with The Straits Times. He was also managing editor of a local magazine publishing company.

Follow us on Social Media

Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
YouTube
Reddit
LinkedIn
Telegram
Email
Send in your scoops to [email protected]
- Advertisement -

Lee Hsien Loong is the enemy of the people: 人民公敌.

Therefore whatever misgivings you have against the Familee, Ah Yang is our ally for now. :cool:

You underrate the ability and capability of humans to adapt. Humans and businesses and customers will adapt to minimum wage ecosystem without losing employment. Even the govt will adapt and adjust or they lose.

Yes they will adapt with automation thereby causing jobs to be lost permanently.

This has already happened even in remote NZ.

Every year for the last 3 years my neighbour's kids did 2 days a week at McDonald's down the road from where we live.

However this year when his youngest kid wanted to do the same he was told that there were no vacancies.

The labour government has been increasing the youth wage every few years since it came into power. Many years ago it used to be half the adult rate. Now it is almost the same so companies have found that it is not worth hiring anyone at youth rates anymore.

All the outlets are now converting to kiosks to replace cashiers. No more pocket money for the hard working kids during their vacations.

McDonald's Says Goodbye Cashiers, Hello Kiosks
Ed Rensi

McDonald's Self Ordering Kiosk (Wall Street Journal, Kevin Hagen)

Wall Street Journal

“Would you like fries with that?” may soon be a phrase of the past.

As minimum wage levels approach or surpass $15 nationwide, restaurant customers expecting to be greeted by a smiling face will instead be welcomed by a glowing LED screen.

As of 2020, self-service ordering kiosks will be implemented at all U.S. McDonald’s locations. Other chains, including fast-casual brands like Panera and casual-dining brands like Chili's, have already embraced this trend. Some restaurant concepts have even automated the food-preparation process; earlier this year, NBC News profiled "Flippy," a robot hamburger flipper. Other upcoming concepts include virtual restaurants which eliminate the need for full-service restaurants (and staff) by only offering home delivery.

While some consumers may appreciate the novelty or added convenience, the conveniences come at the cost of entry-level jobs.

My concern about this is personal. Without my opportunity to start as a grill man, I would have never ended up running one of largest fast food chains in the world. I started working at McDonald’s making the minimum wage of 85 cents an hour. I worked hard and earned a promotion to restaurant manager within just one year, then went on to hold almost every position available throughout the company, eventually rising to CEO of McDonalds USA.

The kind of job that allowed me and many others to rise through the ranks is now being threatened by a rising minimum wage that’s pricing jobs out of the market. Without sacrificing food quality or taste, or abandoning the much-loved value menu, franchise owners must keep labor costs under control. One way to combat rising labor costs is by reducing the amount of employees needed.

This trend is nothing new. Chains have responded to rising labor costs and technological advancement accordingly and McDonald's has been leading the way as a pioneer in productivity among employees, concepts, and machines. From the invention of the “Speedee Service System” to the famous Multimixer shake machine, these innovations have reduced the labor needed to increase output levels and made employees’ jobs easier in the process.

These innovations dating back to McDonald’s founding were not intended to reduce the number of employees; rather, they were designed to make employees more efficient at their jobs. The introduction of self-service ordering tablets has been presented in a similar manner. However, with labor costs continuing to skyrocket, it’s inevitable that restaurants and other fast food chains will continuously search for ways to reduce labor costs--particularly as customers get comfortable with new technology.

The research supports my concerns. A 2017 study by economists David Neumark and Grace Lordan finds a minimum-wage related increase in unemployment among employees who previously held jobs susceptible to automation. Younger workers were some of the hardest hit by this outcome, which shouldn't be surprising; according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, nearly half of minimum wage workers are between the ages of 16 and 24.

Pricing young job seekers out of the market and a weekly paycheck is just one immediate effect of an increasing minimum wage. A study by University of Virginia and Middle Tennessee State University economists found that teenagers who held part-time jobs in school had annual earnings that were 20 percent higher than their counterparts without experience six to nine years after graduation.

These entry level jobs such as flipping burgers or taking customers orders teach teens valuable jobs skills such as customer service and applying basic math skills. Skills that could ultimately lead to the career stepping stones for a working teenager to become an engineer or accountant.

Technological innovation can and has helped employees work more comfortably and efficiently, but when outside intervention forces higher labor costs onto restaurant owners, they will innovate in ways that replace employees instead of empowering them.

This has already happened even in remote NZ.

Every year for the last 3 years my neighbour's kids did 2 days a week at McDonald's down the road from where we live.

However this year when his youngest kid wanted to do the same he was told that there were no vacancies.

The labour government has been increasing the youth wage every few years since it came into power. Many years ago it used to be half the adult rate. Now it is almost the same so companies have found that it is not worth hiring anyone at youth rates anymore.

All the outlets are now converting to kiosks to replace cashiers. No more pocket money for the hard working kids during their vacations.

McDonald's Says Goodbye Cashiers, Hello Kiosks
Ed Rensi

McDonald's Self Ordering Kiosk (Wall Street Journal, Kevin Hagen)'s Self Ordering Kiosk (Wall Street Journal, Kevin Hagen)

Wall Street Journal

“Would you like fries with that?” may soon be a phrase of the past.

As minimum wage levels approach or surpass $15 nationwide, restaurant customers expecting to be greeted by a smiling face will instead be welcomed by a glowing LED screen.

As of 2020, self-service ordering kiosks will be implemented at all U.S. McDonald’s locations. Other chains, including fast-casual brands like Panera and casual-dining brands like Chili's, have already embraced this trend. Some restaurant concepts have even automated the food-preparation process; earlier this year, NBC News profiled "Flippy," a robot hamburger flipper. Other upcoming concepts include virtual restaurants which eliminate the need for full-service restaurants (and staff) by only offering home delivery.

While some consumers may appreciate the novelty or added convenience, the conveniences come at the cost of entry-level jobs.

My concern about this is personal. Without my opportunity to start as a grill man, I would have never ended up running one of largest fast food chains in the world. I started working at McDonald’s making the minimum wage of 85 cents an hour. I worked hard and earned a promotion to restaurant manager within just one year, then went on to hold almost every position available throughout the company, eventually rising to CEO of McDonalds USA.

The kind of job that allowed me and many others to rise through the ranks is now being threatened by a rising minimum wage that’s pricing jobs out of the market. Without sacrificing food quality or taste, or abandoning the much-loved value menu, franchise owners must keep labor costs under control. One way to combat rising labor costs is by reducing the amount of employees needed.

This trend is nothing new. Chains have responded to rising labor costs and technological advancement accordingly and McDonald's has been leading the way as a pioneer in productivity among employees, concepts, and machines. From the invention of the “Speedee Service System” to the famous Multimixer shake machine, these innovations have reduced the labor needed to increase output levels and made employees’ jobs easier in the process.

These innovations dating back to McDonald’s founding were not intended to reduce the number of employees; rather, they were designed to make employees more efficient at their jobs. The introduction of self-service ordering tablets has been presented in a similar manner. However, with labor costs continuing to skyrocket, it’s inevitable that restaurants and other fast food chains will continuously search for ways to reduce labor costs--particularly as customers get comfortable with new technology.

The research supports my concerns. A 2017 study by economists David Neumark and Grace Lordan finds a minimum-wage related increase in unemployment among employees who previously held jobs susceptible to automation. Younger workers were some of the hardest hit by this outcome, which shouldn't be surprising; according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, nearly half of minimum wage workers are between the ages of 16 and 24.

Pricing young job seekers out of the market and a weekly paycheck is just one immediate effect of an increasing minimum wage. A study by University of Virginia and Middle Tennessee State University economists found that teenagers who held part-time jobs in school had annual earnings that were 20 percent higher than their counterparts without experience six to nine years after graduation.

These entry level jobs such as flipping burgers or taking customers orders teach teens valuable jobs skills such as customer service and applying basic math skills. Skills that could ultimately lead to the career stepping stones for a working teenager to become an engineer or accountant.

Technological innovation can and has helped employees work more comfortably and efficiently, but when outside intervention forces higher labor costs onto restaurant owners, they will innovate in ways that replace employees instead of empowering them.
That is why I advocate for couples not breeding,,,this replacement level etc is all crap,,,,if there are no jobs etc in future why bring in the next generation to suffer? I give the middle finger to the powers that be.

Keeping schools open amid COVID-19 was “one of the toughest decisions in my life”, says Minister Ong Ye Kung - The Online Citizen Asia
Keeping schools open amid COVID-19 was “one of the toughest decisions in my life”, says Minister Ong Ye Kung
Transport Minister Ong Ye Kung said keeping schools open amid the COVID-19 pandemic was “one of the toughest decisions” he ever made during his time as the Education Minister, which he has held since 2015 to July last year.

Mr Ong was appointed as Minister of Transport in July last year. He will be taking over the Health Ministry from 15 May, following the latest cabinet reshuffle last week.

In a radio interview with ONE FM 91.3 on Wednesday (28 Apr), the Minister revealed that he made “one of the toughest decisions in my life” by keeping schools open when the country was fighting against the coronavirus.

Mr Ong described the situation in the early days of the pandemic as “panic stations”, given the uncertainties of how the COVID-19 outbreak would end up.

“In most countries, the Education Minister said better just close school because if there’s an outbreak in school, his job is on the line, they probably have to resign.

“But I just felt that if we closed schools, we’re going to have a whole generation of kids missing out. I don’t mean those who are graduating, but those in primary school, in secondary school, maybe they come from fairly vulnerable families.

“So you’re going to keep schools open to give them that environment to learn, if not you may have a lost generation,” he said, as quoted by The Straits Times.

Ong Ye Kung pointed out three reasons why schools should reopen in March last year
Back in March last year, the MOE announced the reopening of schools and kindergartens as scheduled, but with stricter measures imposed. Singapore had reported a total of 313 COVID-19 cases at the time.

In a Facebook post on 19 March 2020, Mr Ong, who was the Education Minister at the time, had openly admitted that many parents, students, and coaches would be disappointed and be inconvenienced as a result of the decision to impose a 14 days Leave of Absence (LOA) for staff and students who have returned from overseas on or after 14 March 2020.

“I know many students, parents and coaches will be disappointed. And many students and parents will be inconvenienced. I hate to have to do this, but it is critical that we protect the system, and keep everyone who has overseas exposure to the virus away from the school population,” he wrote.

After Singapore announced that it will ban all short-term visitors from entering or transiting through the country on 23 March last year, Mr Ong further explained the reasons – scientific evidence, taking extra precautions, and a goal to reduce disruptions – as to why students were allowed to start classes following the March holidays.

“Actually, part of the reason for the tougher border measures is to ensure we keep Singapore as safe as possible, so that daily activities, like going to work, eating out and attending school, can go on,” he wrote on Facebook.

Laying out the MOE’s decision to reopen schools but with more precautionary measures, Mr Ong said that scientific evidence revealed that the COVID-19 does not affect young individuals as much as it does on adults.

In fact, evidence shows that young people are not the spreader of the virus, and they themselves get infected by adults at home, the Minister said.

“With the virus being around for several months now, there is a body of scientific evidence showing that COVID-19 does not affect the young very much as compared to adults. Parents will be familiar with this concept, as this is the case for other diseases such as chicken pox,” he said.

He added, “Neither is there evidence to show that the young are vectors or spreaders of the virus. The reverse appears to be the case, where the young get infected by adults at home. This is the advice of Prof Dale Fisher, Group Director of Medicine at NUHS and Chair of the WHO Global Outbreak Alert and Response Network.”

Mr Ong went on to state that only a number of students were infected with the virus, and all of them “caught it outside of their schools.”

“They will be quite a resilient group. If we close schools, many will not stay home, but may run around in the community and mingle with a lot more people, exposing themselves to more risk,” he noted.

Mr Ong also highlighted that closing schools will results in disruption of peoples’ lives, especially working parents with no help, and have limited childcare options.

He added that different precautionary measures were also in place to “safeguard the entire system.”

It was subsequently announced by the government that Singapore schools will shift to full home-based learning from 8 April due to the island-wide circuit breaker measures.

In announcing the measures, Mr Ong said that while he had received many requests from parents to close schools earlier, it is now time to do so and “for the right reasons”.

Prior to the announcement, petitions has been created to call for the government to shut down local schools to reduce the risk of coronavirus infections among the community.

Subsequently in May last year, it is then announced that students will return to school from 2 June over two phases as part of the easing of the coronavirus circuit breaker measures that are expected to end on 1 June.

Share this: