• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

Big Big rain Pattaya Central to Jomtien.

BoBian Too heavy. Stop for snack.

Big Big rain Pattaya Central to Jomtien.

BoBian Too heavy. Stop for snack.

Yes Pii Chon. From where I am now I can see Pattaya South is raining quite heavily. But I am more worried with the approaching storm from teh gulf as you can see.

Kaa Pra Jao (OMG) The one approaching is more scary. Think arrived Jomtien liao. Very heavy rain in Jomtien now. Think many roads sure flood one.

I checked with 2 of my associates who have cars and bikes for rent. They said they would require from me a IDL. But I do know as a matter of law Singapore DL is acceptable.
Think could be due to different rental companies. Early this year, I tried rented a car from AVIS using my expired Thai driving license and was rejected. But they accept my SG driving license without IDP. Few weeks later, I also did the same with Hertz which accepted my SG driving licens without IDP.

Check both Hertz and Avis Thailand website:
Hertz. Not compulsory if have home country license

Avis also not compulsory to have IDP if have home country license.

As for motorsai rentals, they dont even asks
They just want your passport if do not have cash deposit or copies of passport page if have cash deposits.

My personal experience with car rental in Thailand, Phuket or Chiangmai (goes back some years now) -Sinkie driving licence recognised. Even mata gives a cursory glance as cannot read English, never mind IDL;). Btw, works In OZ too

On lousy wet weather, yesterday south west Bkk had storms and got flooded in several low places in HHin and Petchaburi areas (in news too). Passed through a bridge with electrical posts down on the overflowing river today. Some houses were knee deep. A family had to put tentage on kerb await water to recede.

Like the communal thai makan style, on a mat. Did this on the terrace now, with sunset background. Had healthy suki homemade, from Tesco Lotus ingredients . :)
A9AA769B-1355-46A6-B7CA-0E5767EFC2F5.jpeg
E5D52D0C-4CC1-42E4-A323-EB927B7B000D.jpeg
D5A8C15B-496F-40A9-BDFC-A83144A963E8.jpeg
3BA593AA-AF08-4629-BD13-E211E85B60E7.jpeg

Kaa Pra Jao (OMG) The one approaching is more scary. Think arrived Jomtien liao. Very heavy rain in Jomtien now. Think many roads sure flood one.

Soi Wat Boon got flood or not?

I love flood pics. If possible, post more.

Think could be due to different rental companies. Early this year, I tried rented a car from AVIS using my expired Thai driving license and was rejected. But they accept my SG driving license without IDP. Few weeks later, I also did the same with Hertz which accepted my SG driving licens without IDP.

Check both Hertz and Avis Thailand website:
Hertz. Not compulsory if have home country license

Avis also not compulsory to have IDP if have home country license.

As for motorsai rentals, they dont even asks
They just want your passport if do not have cash deposit or copies of passport page if have cash deposits.

Hertz and AVIS are 2 very big rental companies. They know their stuff. If I do rent a car, I will get it from either the hotel that I normally have my short stay or my Russian neighbour. This time round, I am going to get a scooter.

Soi Wat Boon got flood or not?

I love flood pics. If possible, post more.
Soi Wat Boon main road confirm no flood but some of the smaller sois, yes (soi 2 flood, but passable to motorsais) The market area (Talad Mae La Aor) also no flood.

Jomtien Second Road at Rompho market flood but water subside already. Anyway, where I stay can use either Thepprasit or Soi Wat Boon to go to Sukumvit Road without going through the flood areas.

Hertz and AVIS are 2 very big rental companies. They know their stuff. If I do rent a car, I will get it from either the hotel that I normally have my short stay or my Russian neighbour. This time round, I am going to get a scooter.
Scooter easy lah. Almost every corner also have bike rental shop. I advise get from those purely bike rental shops and not from those "simi also have" shops.
If you are staying around Jomtien, I recommend Min Motor Shop at Rompho Market (Theprasit Soi 17) as her bikes are quite new and shop is not on the main road so not many people know about her shop. Small shop with around 8-10 bikes (passed by shop during evening).
The other shop is Dee rent Motorcycle. Its at the junction of Thepprasit and Thappraya. Big shop with wide selection of bikes. Good for short term rent.

Another shop I dont know the name but its at the end of Pattaya park. if you go all the way to the end of the soi, before reaching Pattaya Park, there is a motorcycle shop run by Russians. Very good rate and bikes all quite new.

I wonder why it is called food park and not food court.
Only commercial ‘branding’. Back home, we also have food republic, Koufu, Kopitiam etc. Never mind our ‘eating house’ signboards

Imho, it doesn’t work to apply our sinkie standards to LOS generally and in more ways than one. TiT (This is Thailand)

AB26C90E-BD87-47F4-B5AB-BE08D3087BE4.jpeg
7153F220-C089-4090-BBFD-1DE3B83F362F.jpeg
2CD7D1A9-B5F9-44F4-86FF-DF79F03FAB26.jpeg
243AB21B-BA7F-4983-A2B6-F8B117E0902B.jpeg
94CF134A-E2CF-411D-B578-CCAA616B5616.jpeg

Drove to a nursery to buy a couple of durian saplings, any further I’d be in Myanmar paying a courtesy visit to Sam here. Total 7 mix fruit saplings including 2 free costs thb980.
Had to meander mountain road with care, avoiding dogs lying on the middle sunbathing

Only commercial ‘branding’. Back home, we also have food republic, Koufu, Kopitiam etc. Never mind our ‘eating house’ signboards

Imho, it doesn’t work to apply our sinkie standards to LOS generally and in more ways than one. TiT (This is Thailand)

Sir, you have misunderstood and are applying your sinkie perception on my statement.

I wasn't applying any sinkie standard to them. My Thai colleagues keep referring to eating places as food court so I am really confused with their labelling.

If Thais are used to the term "food court" so why there is an appearance of the term "Food Park".

I am trying to understand them and learn.

I went to lunch with my lunch buddies in a eating place labelled as food court.

20171123_144643.jpg
20171123_143234.jpg

For dessert, mangosteen for munching.
20171123_145549.jpg

Sir, you have misunderstood and are applying your sinkie perception on my statement.

I wasn't applying any sinkie standard to them. My Thai colleagues keep referring to eating places as food court so I am really confused with their labelling.

If Thais are used to the term "food court" so why there is an appearance of the term "Food Park".

I am trying to understand them and learn.
Food court aka Soon Aharn is a generic name. Big C named their food courts as "Food Park". Can be other names, "Food World","Food City" etc.
Usually, people just call it Food Court or for Thais, Soon Aharn ศูนย์อาหาร.

Sick and tired of all the Panama parodies.

The latest craze in Siam Lor now is import from Indonesia neighbour. The name of the song is Ta Tung Tuang (ตะ ตุ่ง ตวง). Just go search for youtube "ตะ ตุ่ง ตวง".

Another Ta Tung Tuang Talok Parody from Pattaya. Pattaya people like to have fun.

Edit: Add this,
By the way, thats Pattaya humour where people quite fun loving. Don't try these elsewhere. Sure kenna kick out of shop. :-0