I would agree on that, a private car that you can hire is the best way to go around Thailand. I've been there and transportation cost is a bit expensive.
The rich Thais go to Paragon, the poor Thais, The Mall @ Bangkapi. The Angmoh will not even touch MBK and other shopping centres in Rajadamri. Only Sinkies and China tourists congregate in those areas.The crowd at MBK doesn't represent a typical Thai family. It is usually Thai students & foreigners that frequent that area.
MBK is a very big place & can imagine an obese person having problems getting around.
Years ago I tried the Roong Ruang bus. In Bkk you can go to the bus terminal at Sukumvit. It is probably the cheapest way to get to Pattaya. The problem is that sometimes they do plenty of stops along the way i.e. delays.
Illegal in Pattaya. Police and City Council don't really care. Its the mother fucker losers taxi drivers that create problem by targeting Uber drivers. Lots of Uber driver versus Pattaya taxi drivers clips on youtube. Pattaya taxi drivers are big robbers. Even the well to do locals or foreigners refuse to use their taxis. Myself never board a Pattaya taxi in my 10 over years stay here.I think this is a fitting question to ask our big brother in Pattaya:
Is Uber legal in Pattaya ?
I am a little confused as to the situation. On the one hand, Uber seems to be everywhere. On the other hand, I have come across news that Uber drivers kanna whacked by yellow cab drivers in Pattaya.
In BKK, I don't need Uber because taxi is cheap. But Pattaya is a different kettle of fish altogether. Flag down fee is 200 baht !
Shiok Man. I love Kanom JeenView attachment 33638 View attachment 33639 View attachment 33640 View attachment 33634 View attachment 33635 View attachment 33636 View attachment 33637 Besides the Isaan minced chicken, green curry, kanom jin - best fried chicken I done (beats KFC), and yummy 1 in batter. Great issan sauce to go. Shiok cendol too
Add one more. The REAL rich Thais never shops in Thailand.The rich Thais go to Paragon, the poor Thais, The Mall @ Bangkapi. The Angmoh will not even touch MBK and other shopping centres in Rajadamri. Only Sinkies and China tourists congregate in those areas.
The Japanese go to Emporium @ Phrom Phong.
Yup. If 2 and above or solo traveller with very big luggage. More worth to take taxi or limo.On Patts commute, if you are not khun diao (solo) -say if you are a duo, a private limo costing baht 1k maybe worth your while. Meet and greet at Swampy and direct transfer to your digs. Return only thb900. Can Line, WhatsApp or email to 2 reliable setups based in Patts. Try PT taxi +66 86 392 1240, 85 444 9035 Khun Toto (kid you not with his name). Tolls included with driver, tip thb100. But if you are 4 with luggage, they'll convince to set you up with a more expensive MPV. For Don Muang, expect price loading as it's across town
Reminds me of my initial commute to Patts from Swampy, took cab from airport stand from a nocturnal flight at about 8+pm. Not only kena beat up taxi then, had to pay tolls enroute. And worse off, the old driver uncle pushing 70 years old had to pay bribe thb80 to a cop (for speeding?). If it was us a tanchart (foreigner), sure kena much more than local pricing. Then ignoramus me had to fork out thb1500 which was the going rate excluding tolls. And he was kinda blur to hotel on 2nd road.....recommendation for travelling to pattaya.
Many Thai commuters support Uber. Quite political cos' can lost lots of potential voters on both sides.As usual, such matters all kiv first. can push, push to others to be bad guys. Thats why until now, nothing happens. All waiting for others to be pai lang.Uber in Chiangmai was still 'under cover' 3 months back in Aug. Prevalent, and you maybe asked to sit in front under guise, or even drop off away from the regular taxi or songtaew stands. Or risk kena pics taken and official complaints (or kena harassed Thai style).
But Grab's legit in Chiangmai and Krungthep, the irony. o_O
The rich Thais go to Paragon, the poor Thais, The Mall @ Bangkapi. The Angmoh will not even touch MBK and other shopping centres in Rajadamri. Only Sinkies and China tourists congregate in those areas.
The Japanese go to Emporium @ Phrom Phong.