• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

Pai Seh, today a little busy at my new office. When login to SBF, wah! CNB/SCDF/CPIB thing getting more and more juicier. Can make into a 20 episode drama.

Okay, next time when I come for "potluck" dinner, I will bring along these 3 dishes:
Aroy mai ???

thai-actress-hairstyle-1.jpg
8029_20_5-225x300.jpg
images
Can confirm Sin City no such quality. Maybe 'near near' but good enough.

thanks bro.......actually i am more a whisky man.....but no worries i will bring royal salute or blue label along to 'chon kuat' with you :D
Same same. Whisky man since I came to LOS, before that was brandy man.

Don't forget to bring your 3 Cappra capsules.
3 for Joe or one for each pax?

Had lunch today at S&P. S&P is a group in the restaurant and bakery business throughout LOS. The price is quite reasonable and food is above average.
Order prawn and rice for gf, curry noodle for me and a Tang Hoon Salmon salad as appetizer.

This is the Tang Hoon Salmon Salad (Salmon Woon Sen Salad). Woon Sen is same as Tong Fen 冬粉 or Tang Hoon in Hokkien.
P1000749.JPG

While I have Curry Mee. (It's actually 2 type of noodle, fried noodle and Mee Poh together)

P1000748.JPG

Was at Tuk Com today (Pattaya's Sim Lim Square or BKK's Pantip) to buy some computers. Photo of Pattaya South was taken outside S&P restaurant. This is one of the most busy road both day and night in Pattaya. It also connects to Soi Bua Khao, any happening place and also Second Road.
P1000739.JPG

How many of you are into Choya ?

product_31125.jpg

More like the price is above average.

Hehehe. Today all the SCDF/CNB threads are the stars, no biz in LOS thread.

BTW, tried Choya but not my cup of 'tea'. Prefer Sake and Shoju. Heard Choya is good for Zha Bohs.

As for S&P, think the beverages are the culprit that 'up' the overall meal cost.

No lah, I a bit cheapo whenever I'm in LoS, 120 baht per dish is considered expensive by my standard.

My regular lunch (aahaan tam sang) is normally 45 baht, plus 10 baht for a drink. If "lak kao" lagi cheap...35 baht.

While I have Curry Mee. (It's actually 2 type of noodle, fried noodle and Mee Poh together)

View attachment 3613

Ok this one is called Kao-Soi in Thai. Its northern food like in Chiangmai and or ChiangRai. Its very close to our laksa ot curry mee. In S&P I only order this because it resembles our laksa. The fucking problem with S&P is everything is prepacked meaning you cannot ask for more noodles or even the soup.

How many of you are into Choya ?

product_31125.jpg

Tell you something you will not believe, wife is allergic to Choya. Whenever she takes Choya in half an hour time she will be out of breadth and black out. I'm not kidding, really like asthma out of breadth and soon pale face then black out. Don't know why but it happens.

No lah, I a bit cheapo whenever I'm in LoS, 120 baht per dish is considered expensive by my standard.

My regular lunch (aahaan tam sang) is normally 45 baht, plus 10 baht for a drink. If "lak kao" lagi cheap...35 baht.
J
Just had Khao Pad Goong (Prawn Fried Rice) with extra Kai Dao (Fried Egg) for THB 45 at a roadside Tam Sang stall. Actually, prefer to cook but it cost much much more than dining out. But again, if you convert this to SGD, it's less than SGD 2 which nowadays, very hard to find in SG. Even fishball noodle now selling at SGD 2.5/3 in hawker centre.

Ok this one is called Kao-Soi in Thai. Its northern food like in Chiangmai and or ChiangRai. Its very close to our laksa ot curry mee. In S&P I only order this because it resembles our laksa. The fucking problem with S&P is everything is prepacked meaning you cannot ask for more noodles or even the soup.

Tell you something you will not believe, wife is allergic to Choya. Whenever she takes Choya in half an hour time she will be out of breadth and black out. I'm not kidding, really like asthma out of breadth and soon pale face then black out. Don't know why but it happens.
The plums cause the allergy? Notice the one posted by KYP is yellowish in color whereas the ones found in supermarker is greenish one. Don't know the differences.

J
Just had Khao Pad Goong (Prawn Fried Rice) with extra Kai Dao (Fried Egg) for THB 45 at a roadside Tam Sang stall. Actually, prefer to cook but it cost much much more than dining out. But again, if you convert this to SGD, it's less than SGD 2 which nowadays, very hard to find in SG. Even fishball noodle now selling at SGD 2.5/3 in hawker centre.
And 30 mins after eating the SGD 2.5/3 fishball noodle, feel hungry again. The servings in SG is becoming more like LOS servings liaoz.

J

My 45 baht is not roadside stall. Although I a bit cheapo, I still maintain some standard lah. I only patronize restaurants air con. And if they don't switch on air con because it's before or past lunch or dinner time, I will insist that they switch on; if not, I walk out of the restaurant.

Till today, I still don't trust the roadside stalls in Bangkok or anywhere in Thailand.

Is your Madam allergic to alcohol ?

J

Sorry na. Just spoke to sister today she told me now a days no more buy fishball noodles. Cook herself. Cost of 4 packets of fishball noodles minimum $3 x 4 = $12. She buys fishball $1.50, noodles $2 for 4, home already got vinegar, balacan chilli, pork lard etc total cost less than $5.

Was at Tuk Com today (Pattaya's Sim Lim Square or BKK's Pantip) to buy some computers. Photo of Pattaya South was taken outside S&P restaurant. This is one of the most busy road both day and night in Pattaya. It also connects to Soi Bua Khao, any happening place and also Second Road.
View attachment 3614

In the photo I notice there are two dental clinics :eek:

Is this the Central Business District of Pattaya for the locals:confused:

My 45 baht is not roadside stall. Although I a bit cheapo, I still maintain some standard lah. I only patronize restaurants air con. And if they don't switch on air con because it's before or past lunch or dinner time, I will insist that they switch on; if not, I walk out of the restaurant.

Till today, I still don't trust the roadside stalls in Bangkok or anywhere in Thailand.

Planning to start Singapore chicken rice stall in Bangkok this year and have big big plans for this.

Is your Madam allergic to alcohol ?

She loves to alcohol.

Goodnight guys. I very mao already. Just got back from Ratchada. Had meeting and dinner with 2 Japanese suppliers there. Tomorrow another long night at Pattaya but its gonna be fun I am sure. Cheers guys.

Joetys, Chonburifc - yeah, kao soi is next closest thing to our curry noodles (not as close to our laksa with hum!). Northern thingy, you eat this with some shreds kiam chai mix.

S&P's fast food version is not up to par, even up north. Just dump in either chicken thigh or beef slices. Did a local restaurant up in Lampang, which only do kao soi -nice garden ambience, and you didn't have to pay for this either as pricing was hawker league. You could jia liao with noodles, sides like chicken bits. But what struck me, was option to add coconut milk -not straight SG style, but sticky gluey version (hmmm).

On your chicken rice plans, interesting! Sure can beat few popular chicken rice shops at Pratunam area. But imho, thai chickens are kinda skinny (unlike SG), but of course rice grain is original.