• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

8M population also no problem here - from a pirated singaporean

'Singapolitics.sg, 28 Jan 2013

Singapore can, if it wants, accommodate eight million people. That is Dr Cheung's belief.

The Hong Kong-born Singaporean, 59, spent close to 30 years monitoring the interplay between Singapore's population and economic growth, including 14 years as the Government's chief statistician.

"We must always plan for the upper limit. We have to be creative and have in mind urban infrastructure for a much larger population," Dr Cheung says….'

I think Dr Cheung is being too conservative. I personally believe that this island can take in 20m or more, if we want to. But prepare to live a life of a 20m population city in a little piece of rock. What is the problem if one is willing to adapt and pay the price for it? Sure can one.

The question is, why bring this Dr Cheung and a 8m number into the picture? Is this a case of if our properties are expensive, just bring in another country with more expensive properties to make people feel that we are still cheaper? And we can claim we are better off? So if we are planning to fill the island with 7m, bringing in 8m will make 7m looks like small change isn’t it.

What is the intention and purpose of all these, and the 7m White Paper?

Ok, Dr Cheung qualified by saying if we want. Do the Singaporeans want a 7m or 8m population? Who really wants such a population and do they mind ask the rest of the Singaporeans if they mind?

Article by Chua Chin Leng aka redbean on his blog My Singapore News.

this joker paul cheung should've remained in hk. what the fuck he wanna cum here for?

Do the Singaporeans want a 7m or 8m population?

if u don't, u should remember what to do come 2016 GE ;}

He has been trying to get back in on the action. Seeing the collapse of GK, he put this in as a fishing line to see if any top PAP leaders will tap him to run research and strategy.

some meritocracy our leeders are forever preaching about. no wonder the pap's era and the lee dynasty are dimming out fast.

PAP is showing the middle finger to residents Punggol East and Singaporeans.

yeah right let's not leave some breathing space. Let's build up every last bit of empty space here. Let's not put into consideration that we need parks and some jungle areas and "country side" places. Let's squeeze every inch of the mrts and buses and meter of roads we have. Let's make the pigeon holes even taller.

I support your idea. Only then will the 60% daft Sinkies realize they have been supporting the wrong party.

another not so clear reason why the pap needs so many pirated singaporeans would be probably they are entitled to vote. no prize for guessing who this bunch of pirate singaporeans would vote for.

Not all pirated Sinkies automatically vote for the Lightning Party. Punggol East was the best example of this.

We just need to build lower ...dig deep into the soil to create layers of cities.

Not all pirated Sinkies automatically vote for the Lightning Party. Punggol East was the best example of this.

pap can always revoke their citizenship if there's no advantage to them, i.e, getting their pirated votes.

PE consists of mainly the no up/no down sandwiched middle class who are too poor enough to entitle to any gahmen's angpows and just too rich to buy cheaper flats.

'Singapolitics.sg, 28 Jan 2013

Singapore can, if it wants, accommodate eight million people. That is Dr Cheung's belief.

The Hong Kong-born Singaporean, 59, spent close to 30 years monitoring the interplay between Singapore's population and economic growth, including 14 years as the Government's chief statistician.

"We must always plan for the upper limit. We have to be creative and have in mind urban infrastructure for a much larger population," Dr Cheung says….'

I think Dr Cheung is being too conservative. I personally believe that this island can take in 20m or more, if we want to. But prepare to live a life of a 20m population city in a little piece of rock. What is the problem if one is willing to adapt and pay the price for it? Sure can one.

The question is, why bring this Dr Cheung and a 8m number into the picture? Is this a case of if our properties are expensive, just bring in another country with more expensive properties to make people feel that we are still cheaper? And we can claim we are better off? So if we are planning to fill the island with 7m, bringing in 8m will make 7m looks like small change isn’t it.

What is the intention and purpose of all these, and the 7m White Paper?

Ok, Dr Cheung qualified by saying if we want. Do the Singaporeans want a 7m or 8m population? Who really wants such a population and do they mind ask the rest of the Singaporeans if they mind?

Article by Chua Chin Leng aka redbean on his blog My Singapore News.
these b@stards honkies mess up their homeland, ran away because of congestion and pollution and now come to singapore and propose such cr@p. he probably bought a few properties and have vested interests in talking such crap. when sh!t hits the roof they are the first to run off to another country like canada. blardy traitors. Hongkies are amongst the worst people , cowards who do not dare to stand up to mainland china and talk crap. look at HK today, 99% of its people suffering except for the land owners billionaires.

1. aiyoh!
2. 8m sup sup sui mah:D
3. barely 3m dafter sheep supported by 5m or more fts hoh.
4. take away all golf courses & country clubs.
5. build housing estates beneath the roads.
6. sure have the space hoh.
7. gdp sure rocket sky high:p
8. huat ah!

PAP is showing the middle finger to residents Punggol East and Singaporeans.
Pap reckoned that supporting the property market by importing more foreigners will lose votes, but less than the vote lost if property market is allowed to crash.

The die is already set, in that land releases and infrastructure works are scaled for 8 mil people in 2030. MRT total length is going to double by 2030, and probably paya lebar airbase will be converted into two ang mo kio size towns.

To reverse this now is going to kill the local economy. LHL thinks that people are upset with unfair treatment of locals, and not necessarily with a larger population.

We just need to build lower ...dig deep into the soil to create layers of cities.

U touch a raw nerve....its about.... SPACE

oK..This from a politcal analyst..

It is terribly wrong to grow a economy by growing the population..
This is what LHL is doing , and benefit with a growing personal pocket by stating an induced n higher GDP growth figures..( cast aside Productivity growth, irrelevant to them)

For a big country with enough SPACE..it is possible but not our 700.sqkm..a little red dot...

Mathematically, he miscalculate and is naive even with his honours in this subject from an Ivy League university.

You can do all that Sinkie.

Just leave the entire zone surrounding Nassim, Oxley and all the GCBs area clear.

Peasants can die and squeeze for all they care.

After more than 40 years of entrenched rule, Sinkie deserve all this and more! :D

More good years for Singapore..Population to Increase

Channel NewsAsia ‏@ChannelNewsAsia
JUST IN: S’pore govt proposes to take in 30,000 new PRs, 15,000-25,000 new citizens each year to keep population stable

Channel NewsAsia ‏@ChannelNewsAsia
JUST IN: S’pore population projected to hit 6.5m to 6.9m by 2030 (presently 5.3m), non-residents comprise 2.3-2.5m

Re: More good years for Singapore

GAPORE — By 2020, the Republic’s total population could range between 5.8 million and 6 million. And come 2030, the figure could rise to be between 6.5 million and 6.9 million.

Singapore’s total population now stands at 5.31 million with citizens and PRs making up 3.82 million, according to figures as at June last year.

These were the possible population trajectories released today as part of the Population White Paper by the National Population and Talent Division (NPTD). These projections may change, depending on changes to birth rates, life expectancy and social and economic factors.

The White Paper outlines the Government’s policies to maintain a strong “Singaporean core” in the population, create good jobs and opportunities for citizens and build a high quality living environment.

With the Government taking in between 15,000 and 25,000 new citizens and 30,000 Permanent Residents each year — to prevent the citizen population from shrinking — it is estimated that the resident population could reach up to 4.1 million in 2020, with citizens making up 3.5 million to 3.6 million.

In 2030, the resident population, which includes PRs, is projected to be between 4.2 million to 4.4 million. Citizens will make up 3.6 million to 3.8 million.

The White Paper also projected that come 2030, two thirds of Singaporeans are expected to be working in Professionals, Managers, Executives and Technicians jobs, compared to just half of the population today.

Hence foreign workers are needed to “supplement” the workforce, and ensure the workforce structure has a full range of skills, backgrounds and experiences to serve economic, social and infrastructure needs.

To alleviate the strains Singaporeans face today and support the projected population of about 6 million, efforts to ramp up infrastructure developments, such as transport networks, housing and access to healthcare, are underway and will be completed by 2020.

By 2016, there will be 110,000 new public housing units and 90,000 new private units. Some 4,100 new hospital beds will also be available then.

The Government is also planning and investing in infrastructure ahead of demand.

This includes setting aside land for 700,000 more homes, and planning for more jobs, green spaces, recreational and sports facilities to be located nearer to residential areas like Jurong Lake District, Paya Lebar Central and One North.

The rail network will also double to 360 km, which will put eight in 10 homes within a 10-minute walk from a train station.