• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

6th military colleague (BG ranked) joins Des Kuek at SMRT

The intention of military expert is to blur the line between NCO/specialist and officers. This rank structure allows for specialists to move up the rank, while in the past officers and NCO structure, the segregate is very clear.

I'm surprise that most NSmen are cursing the ME rank structure given that most people are less than happy with the outdated NCO-officer rank structure.

You support this rank system? It is so weird and useless.

If you want to name a sailor or airman after their specialised role do it the US or UK way. Leading Seaman (Technician) or Yeoman third class.

KNN CCS calll them MEs.

Good morning ME!

SMRT is a subsidiary of MINDEF ?

No! one is a private sector company & the other a military establishment, not the same. BUT, in SINGapore, it is the same 'father'..many "mothers" & many "offsprings".

On paper & for argument with you...they will tell you it is not!

Foreigner militaries would be so confused plus the rank looks like that of a security guard

SAF was becoming a laughing stock ...too many generals in a small army. Introduction of ME scheme was to keep having many generals but it won't embarrass SAF as foreign militaries have no clue what these rank mean.

The PMO is the dumping ground for over-paid cho-bo-lan MIW ministers and the SMRT is the scrapyard for over-paid deadwood paper generals.
The MIW has shamelessly devised,structured and legalised corruption,collusion and nepotism in Singapore and left an indelible stain or stigma on the MIW well-known infamously in Singapore and the Whole World.What Man is doing God is watching.

Totally agree, especially on the Mini-sininsters in PMO.

SAF was becoming a laughing stock ...too many generals in a small army. Introduction of ME scheme was to keep having many generals but it won't embarrass SAF as foreign militaries have no clue what these rank mean.

ME was trying to copy the US Warrant officer and armed forces system of calling non-officers by their vocation. CCS cocked it up by calling all MEs. Thne an say ME4 above is officer.

In WWII and post WWII, the US had the rank of Specialist and Technician. While some of them had pay grades of up to E9, they had no supervisory authority outside of their field. Perhaps this is what they are trying to accomplish with MEs.

That said, Singapore should have followed the same insignia for equivalent ranks with some distinguishing feature e.g. the ME8 could wear a star but with maybe a thick stripe to show that he is an ME8 not a BG.

It's the weirdest rank in the world. Not even North Korea has a rank system called Military Expert

ME was trying to copy the US Warrant officer and armed forces system of calling non-officers by their vocation. CCS cocked it up by calling all MEs. Thne an say ME4 above is officer.

Imagine "Good morning ME1-8"

"Sorry sir cannot see what ME level you are"

International military officer "FFS, what is ME?"

Imagine this retard ME8 goes for some regional or international convention with overseas counterparts.

agree. sounds like another overpaid "general" except this one got a more fancy "military XXX-perk" title. all the generals in gahmen so far have been only good at wasting money and talk cock. don't see how it's a big improvement over cost-cutting everywhere butchdike

Give Desmond Kuek some space. Although rumours have been flying around that his attitude in the SAF is shit and how much his wife loves to boast about her husband's ex-position, we should give him some grace period. Remember that he had inherited an administration that is in shambles and a management so bad that it makes the SMEs shine. That bitch spent so much on retail, which should have been a side income rather than main revenue, instead of spending on the engineering sector which required attention the most. Remember those technicians who appeared for the inquiry? They are simply pure amateurs who only know the bits and pieces of technical stuff. This pretty much shows how much damage that the Bitch Saw's administration had did to SMRT. At least, he is clearing the old and bringing in new people (though they are his ka kias) but there might be a chance that his new team might have better standard than previous.

Every organization has to follow some paradigm. The military model might just be what SMRT needs now. Get it running efficiently period. Given the neglect of the past , we cannot hope for zero breakdowns. Just fewer. In my opinion, the previous board should have been sued for gross neglect of their duties. The current CEO has to bring in people he trusts and who he is familiar with and who knows his style. There is no luxury of time to grow a team. Singaporeans should save their ire for the right issues and people. Desmond Kuek did not bring in millions of Tiongs and Ah Nehs in the space of a few years.

At least he's a sinkie engineer and worked as an engineer for years. The only blemish is that he's a scholar, otherwise everything else sounds good.

Correction, he's a freaking hardworking sinkie engineer that analyze and micro manages problems. Effective towards the organisation but not necessary with its people relations Same Virgo sign as ole fart.

One does not need an elephant's memory that this guy is just another talk cock king - WE HAVE ZERO TOLERANCE FOR BREAKDOWNS - in his own words.

Having zero tolerance does not mean you have zero breakdowns. Just that you have zero tolerance. Otherwise he would have said zero breakdowns. I am waiting for someone to do an SMRT theme for that famous Hitler rant YouTube clip. This one will be really appropriate.

When people have nowhere to go you can forget about human relations. Once you have a cohort of army guys running the place it will be yes sir no sir.

You got the point.

Even so army planes are made in US and vital parts of the planes are manned by US fellas. SAF solider like him engineering change tire wheels, grease parts only and change engine oils.

Sinkies are daft and their kaisu education system speaks itself for their credibility to think and clever, 101% tuition kids even at Uni education all memory learning.

PAP Tony Tan (now 39% EP) as head of MOE sucks big time creating daft sinkies.

These PAPer generals come in with little track record to show. If we are spending that much on them, we can get true talents from overseas - people who have track records to show.
These PAPer generals will secretly hire overseas expertise to do the job and then claim credit. And we will have to pay hire fares because of the unnecessary spending on another layer of bureaucracy because of the scholar system.

Essentially, they are drafted because they are able to see the big Picture.:o

Every organization has to follow some paradigm. The military model might just be what SMRT needs now. Get it running efficiently period. Given the neglect of the past , we cannot hope for zero breakdowns. Just fewer. In my opinion, the previous board should have been sued for gross neglect of their duties. The current CEO has to bring in people he trusts and who he is familiar with and who knows his style. There is no luxury of time to grow a team. Singaporeans should save their ire for the right issues and people. Desmond Kuek did not bring in millions of Tiongs and Ah Nehs in the space of a few years.

bro, have to agree with you; YES! me as soldier before also think the military model maybe a good option now and if it works; why not....perhaps the General should also employ the ex-CSM; RSM too..

amazing.so our SMRT has become some sort of musical chairs shuffling cabinet for SAF generals.

more good years ahead!!!!