• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

400,000 singaporeans paid below $1,500 per month

icon1.gif
There are 400,000 singaporeans paid below $1,500 per month?

<!-- / icon and title --><!-- message -->SINGAPORE - Economist Lim Chong Yah's radical suggestions to raise the salaries of low income workers while freezing the pay of high income workers to narrow the wage gap are "too risky", warned National Trades Union Congress (NTUC) secretary-general Lim Swee Say yesterday.

Mr Lim, who is also Minister in the Prime Minister's Office, is the first Cabinet Minister to address the suggestions made by the economist, who helmed the National Wage Council (NWC) from 1972 to 2001.

Professor Lim had on Monday called for the wages of workers earning S$1,500 and below to be increased by 50 per cent over the next three years, and a salary freeze for those earning more than S$15,000 a month. For the middle income, he proposed pay increases between a quarter to a third of that received by the lowest-income group.

Speaking to reporters yesterday, Mr Lim, however, felt that a 50 per cent corresponding increase in productivity in the next three years would be difficult to achieve. If wage increases outstrip productivity gains, companies may cut jobs or move out of Singapore and there may also be structural unemployment, added the labour chief.

Mr Lim also pointed out a ripple effect that may occur: After the salaries of those in the lower income tier are pushed up, those in the middle tier will start questioning employers on why their salaries are not increased correspondingly.

Doing a quick calculation as he spoke, Mr Lim also questioned who will pay for the increased wages, which he estimated to cost more than S$4 billion over three years - based on 400,000 of such workers earning S$1,500 a month.

Prof Lim had led wage restructuring in the '80s, raising the pay of low income workers. Mr Lim, however, felt that the strategy is less feasible today, given that the world is more globalised, and companies and jobs have become more mobile.

While Prof Lim's proposal may sound appealing, Mr Lim said the labour movement's approach to raising productivity - and hence wages - may take longer, but is ultimately more sustainable in the long run.

He added: "The right thing for us to do now is to find a way to strengthen our alignment, to speed up the process of skills upgrading, speed up the process of productivity enhancement and speed up the process of innovation because that's the real solution that I believe will bring us from where we are today to 2020."

When contacted for a response to the labour chief's comments, Prof Lim refused to be drawn into a debate, stating that he had already put forth his arguments for his proposal.

Prof Lim told Today: "If the NTUC secretary-general Mr Lim Swee Say has serious reservations for my ER2 (Economic Restructuring 2) proposal, then the logical sequence is to keep it in deep freeze, instead of temporarily freezing the salaries of the highest income groups as suggested by me."

He added: "It is a pity that my wage reform proposal should fizzle out in this manner, but I hope the spirit of wage reform will remain."

NTUC will also explore ways to attract young Singaporeans to work in certain sectors to ease companies' reliance on foreign workers, said Mr Lim. The labour chief noted that in recent years, the trend has been that even as various industries here are growing, the "role of Singaporeans is weakening".

Mr Lim let on that, going forward, companies will find ways to attract younger Singaporeans to join various sectors and in doing so will reduce the reliance on foreign workers - an area he will address in his May Day message.*

"Some of them are posting quite encouraging results. Hopefully, (this will) address their manpower shortage," he said.*

In December last year, at the National Delegates' Conference, Mr Lim had named construction, information technology and shipbuilding as those that the labour movement need to focus its energies on in efforts to hire more Singaporeans instead of foreigners.

Which makes the multi-million-dollar pay packages of the FAP absolutely DISGUSTING.

30 out of my 36 employees are paid less than S$1,500. However, I provide accommodation, food and one sponsored outing every two months.

They are very happy - only two resignations, both locals, over the past year.

Boht Lims are right - but if I increase pay, workers must increase productivity, how to do with wait and kitchen staff?

How to survive with $1500 per month in Sinkieland?

Rent bed space.
Eat only instant noodles daily.
Walk or cycle to work.

How to survive with $1500 per month in Sinkieland?

Rent bed space.
Eat only instant noodles daily.
Walk or cycle to work.

SDP calculated before, 2.5K more then enough to support family of 4. Anyone earning $1.5K should have 2 working adults in the family. If not, 1.5K survive as a single = totally no problem. My monthly expenditure doesn't even hit 1K per month

30 out of my 36 employees are paid less than S$1,500. However, I provide accommodation, food and one sponsored outing every two months.

They are very happy - only two resignations, both locals, over the past year.

Boht Lims are right - but if I increase pay, workers must increase productivity, how to do with wait and kitchen staff?

Most of them I assume are FT's. You must be a clown to equate them with 400,000 Singaporeans.

Only b1million Singapore citizen are working and 400k people are below $1500 salary/month.
Waoh. Next election PAP will kenna screw jailat jailat.

Only b1million Singapore citizen are working and 400k people are below $1500 salary/month.

my estimate :

add in another

a) 100,000 who are jobless
b) 300,000 who did Not declare Their
peanut income
c) 100,000 who are in between job

total : 500,000 plus 400,000 = 900,000

Now you know the Hard Truth !!!

No problem for the PAP, LHL will do another one of his apologies. The sad thing is that 50 to 60% of voters will be too scared to vote for change.

However if the old man goes to join his dear one in hell, all bets are off ;)

No problem for the PAP, LHL will do another one of his apologies. The sad thing is that 50 to 60% of voters will be too scared to vote for change.

However if the old man goes to join his dear one in hell, all bets are off ;)

Govt and GLC and TLC and PLP Companies are the biggest employers in Sinkieland.

That explains the 60 %

Govt and GLC and TLC and PLP Companies are the biggest employers in Sinkieland.

That explains the 60 %

Isn't the good days for the GLCs/TLC/PLC over:confused: Even the PAP can't keep supporting these loss making companies forever. In the past they could rely on the CPF to support these state enterprises but I think the kitty is almost empty.

You're making the bold assumption that bloody dumb Sinkies know how to trace the source of their woes. :rolleyes:

Char_Azn said:
SDP calculated before, 2.5K more then enough to support family of 4. Anyone earning $1.5K should have 2 working adults in the family. If not, 1.5K survive as a single = totally no problem. My monthly expenditure doesn't even hit 1K per month

You are referring to out-of-pocket expenses and living off the goodwill for non-out-of-pocket of parents.

I don't believe there are 400k sinkees earning less than sgd 1.5k!

What happen to the swiss standard of living?

I don't believe there are 400k sinkees earning less than sgd 1.5k!

What happen to the swiss standard of living?
IRT
Actually, 400K could be possible. Based on total Singaporean residents between 20-59years, there is a population of 2,322,800 people. IRAS AR appendix
only indicates 1,053,030 people being taxed. If all taxpaying residents are in the same age group of 20-59years, we have 1,269,770 in the same age band not paying taxes and a good 80% or more unemployed. If you make less than 20K, you are tax exempt. So those making less than 1.5K could be far more.

According to Bo-Tart, 1k is all u need to have HDB flat,,so on 1.5k still got 500 to makan, dating etc