• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

38 Oxley Road - He thinks we are dumb.

Old man knows full well that the house sits on prime land and is practically worthless if it preserved. Politically it will be a mistake to sell it to the State at market value to preserve it. So he is looking after his family by selling it.

The same thing happens all over the world where heritage listing immediately causes the property to topple in price dramatically. Owners have even gone to court to lift the heritage listing to realise its full value.

Jan 21, 2011
MM's house: 'When I'm dead, demolish it'
http://www.straitstimes.com/PrimeNews/Story/STIStory_626597.html

By Elgin Toh

IN ITS basement, some of the most important discussions on the future of Singapore were held in the 1950s.

Now, the question is: Will the house at 38, Oxley Road survive its famous owner, Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew?

Broaching the subject was Mr Lee himself, during an interview with a team of Straits Times journalists for the book, Hard Truths, to be launched today.

When the conversation veered to his home, which he has described as 'a big, rambling house with five bedrooms, and three others at the back originally used as servants' quarters', he said: 'I've told the Cabinet, when I'm dead, demolish it.'

His reason?

'I've seen other houses, Nehru's, Shakespeare's. They become a shambles after a while. People trudge through. Because of my house the neighbouring houses cannot build high. Now demolish my house and change the planning rules, go up, the land value will go up,' he said.

The houses of India's first prime minister Jawaharlal Nehru and English playwright William Shakespeare have been preserved in India and England.

Mr Lee was asked about the need to preserve Singapore's heritage. After all, his house was host to meetings that led to the inauguration of the People's Action Party (PAP) in November 1954.

Details are scarce, but according to the book Men In White: The Untold Story Of Singapore's Ruling Political Party, the Oxley Road circle started meeting in the basement in late 1954, usually between 2.30 and 5.30 on Saturday afternoons.

Mr Lee kept minutes during the meetings which were chaired by Dr Toh Chin Chye, who eventually became the party's first chairman. Some 20 participants, including the 14 founding members of the PAP, would engage in heated debate around a long table.

Talks initially revolved around whether the group should form a party of its own or attempt to capture the Labour Party.

Later, the group moved on to issues related to PAP's formation: its name, its symbol and what it stood for.

The house was built more than a century ago by a Jewish merchant and has been Mr Lee's home since the 1940s.

Due to security concerns, he and his family moved to the Istana for a few weeks after Singapore became independent in 1965. Aside from that period, he has lived throughout in Oxley Road and still lives there today.

The house was also where his children - current prime minister Lee Hsien Loong and his siblings Hsien Yang and Wei Ling - grew up.

Mr Lee told the journalists it would cost too much to conserve and maintain the house. Already, there are cracks on the wall, though the pillars are sound.

'I don't think my daughter or my wife or I, who lived in it, or my sons who grew up in it, will bemoan its loss. They have old photos to remind them of the past,' he said.

But some Singaporeans think otherwise.

Mr Tan Szue Hann, architecture editor of Singapore Architect magazine, said: 'From a heritage viewpoint, it should perhaps be conserved by virtue of its high historical significance.

'After all, it is the residence of the architect of modern Singapore, and back in the day, it hosted meetings that shaped the Singapore that the world has come to recognise and admire.'

Mr Ho Weng Hin, partner of architectural conservation consultancy Studio Lapis, however, said whether or not a historic residence is conserved is the outcome of society's wishes, the authority's evaluation and the owner's preference. He added: 'Some owners may not want their private space intruded upon.'

Or should the litmus test be whether the public attaches significance to the house?

On this, Mr Ong Keng Yong, director of the Institute of Policy Studies, noted: 'The only way to find out is to ask the people of Singapore, possibly through a poll. If they think it should be conserved, the government of the day should bear the cost of maintaining it.'

scroobal: "Old man knows full well that the house sits on prime land and is practically worthless if it preserved. Politically it will be a mistake to sell it to the State at market value to preserve it. So he is looking after his family by selling it.

The same thing happens all over the world where heritage listing immediately causes the property to topple in price dramatically. Owners have even gone to court to lift the heritage listing to realise its full value."

It never come acoss to me that way. You are good.

I learn something new and make sure my "home" would never be listed as "heritage"value for the amount of leg hair I drop in my basement.

Thanks scroobal....it's always refreshing reading your comments.....you see through things.

Confirm my suspicion that LKY would not say some thing for NOthing.

Pity to see so many highkly educated old men/women still kena conned by him,till the end -I believe!You can see their photos in the 160th.today a younger man than me -62 only,held up LKY as savior!

WTF?

I disagree with you. It seems to me that it is a pre-election sympathy card. Harping about his impending date with Hades makes those gullible voters feel bad going against his party. Maybe it is just our Asian trait, but we tend to give a dying man what he wants.

General Erection will be within the 20 weeks when Dr.Chee serves his prison term starting Feb 10, 2011. LKY has only one person to fear.....Dr Chee Soon Juan.

Even BG Yeo also hinted yesterday, the erection will be in Q2 and well before Aug. because that is when the President erection is held.....never 3 months to wayang....thus counting back from this President Erection and the Q2 and Chinese New Year and good needs budget in Feb or March latest...my guess is that the General Erection would be in early April 2011

General Erection will be within the 20 weeks when Dr.Chee serves his prison term starting Feb 10, 2011. LKY has only one person to fear.....Dr Chee Soon Juan.

Even BG Yeo also hinted yesterday, the erection will be in Q2 and well before Aug. because that is when the President erection is held.....never 3 months to wayang....thus counting back from this President Erection and the Q2 and Chinese New Year and good needs budget in Feb or March latest...my guess is that the General Erection would be in early April 2011
And hence, the timing of such a statement.

So this Budget year we all looking forward to big angbao (being squeezed many times after election not withstanding)?

Seriously, he is suppressing the value of land around his house by enforcing a very low plot ration so that no other house can look into his. If he demolish his house, that area's plot ration will shot up many times, hence his land is actually worth A LOT MORE !!!

Heritage title worth zilch to him and his family after his passing.

another mystery, 38 oxley was purchased by his family or it is originally a state property???

So this Budget year we all looking forward to big angbao (being squeezed many times after election not withstanding)?

Seriously, he is suppressing the value of land around his house by enforcing a very low plot ration so that no other house can look into his. If he demolish his house, that area's plot ration will shot up many times, hence his land is actually worth A LOT MORE !!!

Heritage title worth zilch to him and his family after his passing.

I wonder if LKY is so mercenary. For decades he & his family has been sponging off the state. They must collectively be worth billions:confused:

Would LKY deny poor Sporeans a shrine to worship the achievements of the Lees :confused:

Ol' right, but I don't see why Old Man should fret over the value of one landed property.

Wrong perspective here.

A house with a history of evil doings occupied by diabolical beings? Tear it down!

If he does sell the State will artificially inflate the land price.
I can read fengshui and astrology.

Old man knows full well that the house sits on prime land and is practically worthless if it preserved. Politically it will be a mistake to sell it to the State at market value to preserve it. So he is looking after his family by selling it.

The same thing happens all over the world where heritage listing immediately causes the property to topple in price dramatically. Owners have even gone to court to lift the heritage listing to realise its full value.

That plot of freehold land with an area of about 28,000 sq ft once rezoned to a plot
ratio of 2.8-3.5 and 35 storey height, it's current value would be a minimum of $120m.

It goes to show that he's indeed a very greedy old fella!

That plot of freehold land with an area of about 28,000 sq ft once rezoned to a plot
ratio of 2.8-3.5 and 35 storey height, it's current value would be a minimum of $120m.

It goes to show that he's indeed a very greedy old fella!

Plot ratio not wrong, but over valued. 28000 sqft, you try erect up to 35 storey high and see achievable or not. Unless you are talking about buying over all the pieces of land connected to it from other landowners.

its Oxley leh, not Sentosa Cove

Plot ratio not wrong, but over valued. 28000 sqft, you try erect up to 35 storey high and see achievable or not. Unless you are talking about buying over all the pieces of land connected to it from other landowners.

its Oxley leh, not Sentosa Cove

Of course it has got to include neighbouring plots to do a luxurious development more feasible.

Plot ratio of 3.5 by 28,000 sq ft, conservatively at $1300 psf ppr =$127,400,000.

The best way to keep the old house is 以退为进

That's what I want t write too. But my china not as good as my england, so can't write.

Remember Madhatir went he announced his retirement ? All the porlumpas shouted 'NO', grabbed the microphone, cry on stage......etc., big wayang on stage.

Now the old man said to pull house down. Let's wait and see the porlumpas crawling out of the woodworks to do similar.

That's what I want t write too. But my china not as good as my england, so can't write.

Remember Madhatir went he announced his retirement ? All the porlumpas shouted 'NO', grabbed the microphone, cry on stage......etc., big wayang on stage.

Now the old man said to pull house down. Let's wait and see the porlumpas crawling out of the woodworks to do similar.

Spot on. Brightkid(s) can never be wrong!

I too had to learn about this and the trouble people have landed with their investment home in the west. Cleary you can see that the old man still considers Singaporeans gullible.

I learn something new and make sure my "home" would never be listed as "heritage"value for the amount of leg hair I drop in my basement.

Thanks scroobal....it's always refreshing reading your comments.....you see through things.

Absolutely. This guy has an agenda behind every speech, comment and word that he expresses. If you look hard enough, you will find it.

Watch if some apple polisher buys the property to preserve in his honour, the price will be kept confidential.

Confirm my suspicion that LKY would not say some thing for NOthing.

Pity to see so many highkly educated old men/women still kena conned by him,till the end -I believe!You can see their photos in the 160th.today a younger man than me -62 only,held up LKY as savior!

WTF?