• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

32 years old considered old???

knowwhatyouwantinlife

My scholar friend in the army is trying to recruit me for a position. However, he says that despite my excellent track record and work experiences, my age of 32 is considered "old" and the HR may not call me up for interview...if 32 years old is considered old for a Singaporean male with 2 degrees and 9 years of working experiences in 2 different industries, I really wonder what is the future for Singaporean males? Must they take a pay cut everytime they try to switch a career or job? Comments please...

Blame it on NS! You would be only 29 plus if it hadn't been for the 2.5 yrs wasted! :oIo:

32 is considered "old" here with intense competition here. You can join civil service at this age. But your boss from A* or white horse will be younger than you.

Sounds like your grandfather's army:rolleyes:

suka suka, scholar frined want to recruit you.

btw, 32 is still young, dun fret, your opportunity will come.

My scholar friend in the army is trying to recruit me for a position. However, he says that despite my excellent track record and work experiences, my age of 32 is considered "old" and the HR may not call me up for interview...if 32 years old is considered old for a Singaporean male with 2 degrees and 9 years of working experiences in 2 different industries, I really wonder what is the future for Singaporean males? Must they take a pay cut everytime they try to switch a career or job? Comments please...

Ageism..

Ageism is an unacceptable behaviour that occurs as a result of the belief that older people are of less value than younger people. Noun (uncountable) disapproval

wah piang oi .... 32 years called old, I don't know called what, as I am 69 years old and working two jobs just to survive .... really "gau um dim" already ....:(

32 is old if it's a lowly job. 32 is very young if it's a management position. yr scholar fren is pulling a fast one?

My scholar friend in the army is trying to recruit me for a position. However, he says that despite my excellent track record and work experiences, my age of 32 is considered "old" and the HR may not call me up for interview ...
y dun u apply 1st ... ur scholar fren cud b wrong ...

he not pulling fast one but he say army HR has their own policy...haha i can still run 2.4km under 9 minutes at my age so dont really know what is old...he not suka suka pull people we are all professionals (need license to practise kind) with portfolios of our own...but looking at the bigger picture, to digress, what if most HRs in ministries refuse to recruit guys above 32 year old??? a few years back my aunt in MOE told me ministries do not take people above 30 in (i think its for management/executive)...sad state (pun intended) of affairs...

employer dun wan 30 and above...
coz
they become slow and expensive.

With 100k foreigners coming in, why bother hiring expensive sinkies?

:o :( :o

... I really wonder what is the future for Singaporean males? Must they take a pay cut everytime they try to switch a career or job? Comments please...

Welcome to the growing club. Now you understand why so many Sporeans are leaving for greener pastures.

If you are 32, well qualified & can't get decent pay, you may want to consider leaving. If you are having problem now, imagine the problems you'll have in 5, 10,.. years time :eek:

I have a friends & relatives in their 50's who are still working. They are also getting subsidised healthcare, have their own cars, homes, some even have swimming pools,.. However they are now Australians.

depend what job you are applying. You should have continue with NS lah. A few more years down the road, all positions will be closed for you. Scholars can rot there and still get pay.

In the armed forces the used by date for operationally active personnel is usually @ 35 years..... so your scholar friend might be right......... 32 is considered old for the army but you're still considered young in the private sector. :p

My young friend, at the age of 32, even if you want to start everything all over again, you still have the time! Can't say that though to someone over 45....

Start over again, then in a few years when he hit's his 40's probably back to the same problem :rolleyes:

Unless the citizens force changes at the very top don't expect the PAP to change for the better. PAP is the biggest employer in Spore & the labor laws of Spore are 'fixed' for their benefit.

Start over again, then in a few years when he hit's his 40's probably back to the same problem :rolleyes:

Unless the citizens force changes at the very top don't expect the PAP to change for the better. PAP is the biggest employer in Spore & the labor laws of Spore are 'fixed' for their benefit.

Very true..

The reason why "outsiders" cannot get management jobs like TS is simply due to the scholar system.. They got tonnes of US educated Scholars from the 1980s batch.. Doubt they need your "experience" and "track record".. They need more obedient and academically successful scholars..

Anyone under 40 is considered to be "young". The govt says so.

Very true..

The reason why "outsiders" cannot get management jobs like TS is simply due to the scholar system.. They got tonnes of US educated Scholars from the 1980s batch.. Doubt they need your "experience" and "track record".. They need more obedient and academically successful scholars..

Also have to wonder how Sporeans are going to get a half decent job when it's so easy to hire an angmo or cheap Malaysian, PRC, Indian..., they might not be cheap but theyare not handicapped by reservist liabilities.

Sporeans are screwed,even the females. Many are now only realising it after they find they've been 'retired' from the job market :rolleyes: