• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

$234 Mee Pok!

Solution is simple. Legislate menu with price to be displayed at the front like many countries.

I think we do have a consumer legislation that states that prices must be displayed... but these are the 'darlings' of the government, they will bend their back in prosecuting the restaurant; afterall one forunner mentioned, 'some dragon'...ate there...MEMBERS!, ARE YOU A member?;)

beware, mee siam can be more than $234 as abalone will be added.

This only happens when you say mee siam mia hum. If mia hum, add abalone la. Poor people like me only can afford mee siam with hum.:p

Aiyah! mee siam, where got hum?...with tau gua & one hard boild egg cut in half by thread...'dragon' only can eat Imperial food like mee siam with hum, and the the hum is the abalone..or eating mee siam & the other type or hum...:D

Anyway, it's usual practice for big-ticket live seafoods to be listed as seasonal price on printed menus in many countries, east and west. It's quite an accepted practice since it's unreasonably costly to expect the restaurants to reprint their menus too frequently.

If you want to sit at the table and place your order, and are shy to ask how much, I think no one can help you. However, real seafood eaters (even generous big spending ones) don't do that. They go to the tanks, pick their seafoods, clarify how many kilos and how much per kilo.

Last edited by a moderator:
Jul 8, 2010

Mee pok for family meal? $234

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->
MY FAMILY had a similar experience at Super Peking Duck Imperial Treasure on Mother's Day as reported last Thursday ("Flap over a fish... that costs $1,224").
We were having lunch and wanted to order seafood hor fun to complement the meal which cost about $25. The waitress informed us that they had run out of the dish and suggested we try the mee pok, one of their signature dishes popular with many of their customers.
While waiting for our food, we noted that there was a lobster dish yet to be served. We highlighted to the waiting staff that we did not order any lobster dish. The waitress came and said that the mee pok came with the lobster.
We said we had no idea that the noodles came with lobster and that it would cost $234. We asked for the order to be cancelled. However, she said we could no longer cancel it.
When we asked why the price or the fact that the dish contained lobster was not communicated to us, the waitress said that it was not their policy to state the prices of their dishes unless asked.
If lobster was the main focus, should this not have been highlighted to us? Even the way the dish was recommended to us emphasised the noodles.
Penny Ong (Ms)

It is not the consumer policy to pay for something that they didn't order.
Why pay for it? No wonder there are so many daylight robbery.

The meepok have Octopus or not? :D:D
sg got which ...

hawker centre stall or food cot stall or restauant ...

dat serve octopus dishes? ... dun count japanese food ...

I think the seasonal price is not the issue which is common place all over the world. Its the obvious cheating that is taking place. Only a small number will make an issue. The rest of the people would not raise it to save face or the embarrassment.

Many people are associating big spending clients and their selection of expensive dishes with these incidents. One customer asked for soon hock and another mee pok. The price for the replacement fish and their version of mee pok is totally out of whack and has nothing to do with the issue of seasonal price.

A very senior person in govt noticed that 2 male and 1 female european drinking soup from three large bowls at Mayflower Restaurant at Changi Airport. One such bowl was meant to serve a table and not one customer. Obviously the 3 foreigners looked perplexed and did not finish their soup. They went to serve have other dishes.

This person then got the management of the airport to handle it and they lost their tenancy. Someone asked why did he not raise with it with the restaurant directly at that time. His reply was good. When you see a robbery what do you do?

I have gone to many restaurant where waiters and waitresses have suggested that I have ordered to0 many dishes without I asking for a view.I have even come across instances where the supervisor comes to the table to suggest a dish as 2 dishes that I have ordered are very similar. And these range from small and inexpensive to the very expensive ones.

Cheating is not a grey area. Comments like seasonal price, why you did not ask the price earlier to why you paid are not the issue. Has never been. I even have clowns telling that people are known to throw thousands of dollars for table of good food.

Anyway, it's usual practice for big-ticket live seafoods to be listed as seasonal price on printed menus in many countries, east and west. It's quite an accepted practice since it's unreasonably costly to expect the restaurants to reprint their menus too frequently.

If you want to sit at the table and place your order, and are shy to ask how much, I think no one can help you. However, real seafood eaters (even generous big spending ones) don't do that. They go to the tanks, pick their seafoods, clarify how many kilos and how much per kilo.

Its a guideline but not a law. There is one law that has very strong teeth and that is food hygiene. However in the rat infested market run by the PAP CCC, the law was not applied. Membership has its privileges.

I was told that many PAP members are waiting for old man to die so that things can actually begin to happen. Too many civil servants do not want to act because they fear the wrath of the old man and due to the high pay, just play along and just react. They are also more prepared to work on futuristic things so that they do not entangle themselves with the political climate.

I think we do have a consumer legislation that states that prices must be displayed... but these are the 'darlings' of the government, they will bend their back in prosecuting the restaurant; afterall one forunner mentioned, 'some dragon'...ate there...MEMBERS!, ARE YOU A member?;)

got 1 burger said ... raise gst can help ze poor ...

evry1 else oso can try their luck ...

I think the seasonal price is not the issue which is common place all over the world. Its the obvious cheating that is taking place. Only a small number will make an issue. The rest of the people would not raise it to save face or the embarrassment.

I agree that seasonal price is not directly in issue in the case in point here. I followed up about only because someone mentioned fully priced menu earlier. Anyway, this looks a blatant case of over-serving and over-charging.

This is unethical business practice by the establishment. CASE has no bite and will not bite the hand that feeds it. Simply boycott the place and ask your friends and all to avoid it like the plague.

Of course Vivian B would say: So you want to eat in restaurant?

CASE is just as useful and effective in policing and correcting inequality as the UN :p

Jul 8, 2010

Mee pok for family meal? $234

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->
MY FAMILY had a similar experience at Super Peking Duck Imperial Treasure on Mother's Day as reported last Thursday ("Flap over a fish... that costs $1,224").
We were having lunch and wanted to order seafood hor fun to complement the meal which cost about $25. The waitress informed us that they had run out of the dish and suggested we try the mee pok, one of their signature dishes popular with many of their customers.
While waiting for our food, we noted that there was a lobster dish yet to be served. We highlighted to the waiting staff that we did not order any lobster dish. The waitress came and said that the mee pok came with the lobster.
We said we had no idea that the noodles came with lobster and that it would cost $234. We asked for the order to be cancelled. However, she said we could no longer cancel it.
When we asked why the price or the fact that the dish contained lobster was not communicated to us, the waitress said that it was not their policy to state the prices of their dishes unless asked.
If lobster was the main focus, should this not have been highlighted to us? Even the way the dish was recommended to us emphasised the noodles.
Penny Ong (Ms)

Wats the problem? Me and a couple of friends oso had the same dish at the same restaurant..... actually we only ordered the mee pok dry with chilli :)
But they serve the mee pok + lobster dish..... since we did not order the lobster we didn't touch it and left it alone.

When the bill came... my friend saw one bowl mee pok is $10.00 so he put four $10 notes in the bill folder and told the waitress we only ordered mee pok so we are only paying for that..... the staff lan lan just looked at us as we walked out of the place. :D

Thanks for highlighting this restaurant as a warning to the rest. Together with the FengShui restaurant in RWS, this Imperial Treasure restaurant has earned a place in HALL of SHAME. Since there are more of such cases happening, I think as consumers we'd better be extra cautious of menus that do not display prices. For those TUA KANG TAU KAYs who can afford the sky and care too much about face to open up their mouth, they can continue to fatten these leeches with their blood. I'd rather be seen as a thrifty customer than to risk collapsing from sudden blood deficiency. Just ask for the price. Afterall, we are there for a meal only, no need for the waitress to suck up to us.

Imperial Treasure is related to crystal jade which was in turn related to defunct Happy Valley. Happy Valley run road from many suppliers before closing down now transformed itself. Conmen Hongkie boss.

Yeah that's me. But we ONLY meant the real Dragon King (龍王) in the heavens. :D

That Dragon king is just a figment pf the imagination; there is one real 'dragon king' the original small dragon exited in 1973; but this in SINgapore is a baby god DRAGON KING..:D