• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

20 hawkers at ITE owns 5 months rent arrears ganna lawyers

†††††

Tenants on ITE campus losing money
Many owe rent due to poor business and have been told to vacate
By Jessica Lim
ST_IMAGES_LJRENT01-7II.jpg

The Thai Cuisine stall in Matrix Cafeteria has closed down and next to go is the Indian Cuisine stall. Twenty out of 39 stallholders were handed lawyer's letters last week ordering them to settle their rental debts or hand over their stalls by today. -- ST PHOTO: ASHLEIGH SIM

PRIVATE businesses at the Institute of Technical Education's (ITE) mega campus in the west are struggling to keep afloat.

The corridors outside the shops are quiet, and walk-in customers are rare - a stark contrast to what they were expecting, said tenants.

The situation seems particularly bad for stallholders in the two cafeterias on the 9.54ha campus in Choa Chu Kang, the first educational institution here to be built under a private-public partnership.

Out of the 39 stallholders, 20 - each with rental arrears of five months or more - were handed lawyer's letters last week ordering them to either settle the debt or hand over their stalls by today.

Other retailers, such as flower shop Puffin Flowers N Gifts and IT shop Mercury Technologies, said they are bleeding money too.

Only a few shops seem to be keeping their heads above water. One is the 7-Eleven outlet, which sells fast food such as fried chicken. It was packed with students yesterday afternoon, and retail assistants there said business is booming.

A $323.7 million contract to build and run the campus for 25 years was awarded to the Gammon Capital consortium in 2008. Its role was to do so under the private-public partnership model, leaving ITE free to focus on academic areas.

The plan was for the campus to house restaurants, shops, a convention centre and even functioning hotel rooms - all open to the public - so students would have hands-on training for future careers in tourism.

But Madam Loh Mei Lin, who owns a wonton noodles stall at Eco Cafeteria on the third floor, said she gets few customers. Since July, five tenants there have called it quits.

The 57-year-old, who signed a three-year contract in July, will be closing down her stall today. She owes more than $17,000 in rental arrears over the past five months.

Mr Xu Guo Chang, 33, who owns the economical rice stall next door, said he is losing $2,000 a month. To cut costs, he fired four of his workers in August. 'We are not getting what the building management promised us in terms of crowds. We feel cheated.'

It is the same story at Matrix Cafeteria downstairs, as well as for 13 other tenants The Straits Times spoke to yesterday.

The owner of an Indian food stall there, Madam Kumai Paramaswari, 43, has not paid a cent in rent since September. 'I am so angry. I took out all my pocket money to try to tide me over this period. Now, they are asking us to move out,' she said, adding that she spent $40,000 to renovate the stall when she moved in last June.

Florist Sylvia Koh, 58, who owns Puffin Flowers N Gifts on the second floor, has been losing $3,000 a month since opening in July.

Discussions are under way with Gammon, said Mr Jack Tan, executive director of Select Food Management. The company pays rent to the consortium and manages the two foodcourts. The other tenants pay rental directly to the consortium.

'We understand (the stallholders') difficulties and we have allowed some delays. But, we also need to pay our landlord,' said Mr Tan, 41, who added that nine stallholders who received letters have repaid some of their debt.

Gammon did not respond by press time.

An ITE spokesman said: 'The college has no influence in the commercial deals between the private operator and stallholders.' However, it has nonetheless conveyed its concerns to Gammon. 'It is envisaged that as the public becomes more aware of the new college and as more community events are organised there, patronage of outlets will improve eventually.'

[email protected]

WE EMPATHISE, BUT...

'We understand (the stallholders') difficulties and we have allowed some delays. But, we also need to pay our landlord... Everyone has to work together to see how we can survive.'

Mr Jack Tan, executive director of Select Food Management, which manages the two foodcourts

typical scenario everywhere....

institution,schools and malls get the highest tender....and the successful owner will then tender out the stalls ....as long as they can make money from the rentals....

in the end, food too expensive,people don't patronise....poor business,high rentals...gone case liao!!!

owner makes money....successful bidder makes money...the vendors and stall holders all gone kaput!!!....sayonara!!!!

See what i told you guys ???

Sinkies slowly going to eat GRASS... :D

Discussions are under way with Gammon, said
Mr Jack Tan, executive director of Select Food
Management. The company pays rent to the
consortium and manages the two foodcourts.
The other tenants pay rental directly to the consortium.

Gammon ?
Select Food Management ?
consortium ?

Check if they got any relations to any personnel working in
MOE . Don't say it's not related to education . But it's on school grounds .
So don't taiji the issue .
What the fark is Ministry of Education allowing
such practice on their premises .
It's on school grounds .

Is this the spur to motivate the ITE students who " didn't "
keep up with the mainstream ?

But it seems they are not stupid .
They can make the stalls and the system fade away.

Remember back then . They make you purchase all the compulsory items .
But we are so naive NOT to question then ?

I am sorry for these aunties and uncles for losing money but something's got to give with all the astronomical food court pricing. Hopefully more business-owners can do their sums properly and not take up stalls in future if the rent is too high.

Seriously 39 stalls for a campus!!!! How many students are there in this ITE campus anyway?

all the uncles and aunties work like shit to man the stalls and to sell their food at a prescribed price....all their hard work and sacrifices are eaten by sharks and high rentals....how to survive?

many stall holders and vendors in food court settings will follow soon.....

don't they allow self-employed itinerant hawkers anymore? the satay man? the laksa man? the tingtong man? the meegoreng man? the beehoon auntie? the chicken porridge uncle? i can still see many in other countries...thailand the best!

with modern malls...food standard drops like shit....price shoots sky high!!!

Typical PAP business style will fail. If Ho Jin can lose our people money by billions in overseas investment, MCD can lose half a million in YOG, Town council can lose millions in Bond, how can they expect people to make profit in a government campus?

Let me analyse....

1. at least 2 level of ownership before it reach the last level in this 'food-chain', aka the food seller.

2. 'Cuisine' = higher 'quality' and price ?

3. a few such 'food-courts/outlets' and resturants in campus ?

3. In ITE where most are students ?

Youdon't need a Marketeer to tell them with all the above points it will be a failure before it even get started !

If you had learned English spelling with the help of phonetics, you wouldn't make such mistakes.

The plan was for the campus to house restaurants, shops, a convention centre and even functioning hotel rooms - all open to the public - so students would have hands-on training for future careers in tourism.

KNN, better don't even think of implement this concept to your neighborhood school.

all we need is a simple good-food tuckshop...why such a gigantic food court ???....all we need is a plate of beehoon ,fried rice, mee ribus or meesiam or mee goreng...why all the cuisine for what!!! simple sandwich will do lah.....

if i want, i go outside the canteen and have a good cuisine!!!

ite students where got so much money to spend!!! many from poor families....

KNN, better don't even think of implement this concept to your neighborhood school.

already happening!!!!!!!!....the old uncles and aunties all gone liao...no more the good old days of cheap and good food.....now they use tokens and even smart cards!!!!!!!!.....the stall holders and vendors will eventually suffer....the school will make money...and the successful tenderer will also make ...

who lose???

all we need is a simple good-food tuckshop...why such a gigantic food court ???....all we need is a plate of beehoon ,fried rice, mee ribus or meesiam or mee goreng...why all the cuisine for what!!! simple sandwich will do lah.....

if i want, i go outside the canteen and have a good cuisine!!!

ite students where got so much money to spend!!! many from poor families....

They want to highlight to ITE students that Singapore is in the GOLDEN AGE .

MANY CHOICES are signs of good economy .

many of these ite students do part time jobs to pay for their fees and own expenses...some from broken homes....and some from dysfunctional families....many are poor students.....they are in the twilight zone..

and you give them such a palatial food mall!!!!

don't they allow self-employed itinerant hawkers anymore? the satay man? the laksa man? the tingtong man? the meegoreng man? the beehoon auntie? the chicken porridge uncle? i can still see many in other countries...thailand the best!

They trying to add " value " to the system by putting as many
middle men as possible to the chain .
So the shopkeeper is feeding many mouths not only his own ?

This systematic rot will get more serious if Singaporeans do not wake up and question them .
They are your children . And you have to help them .

I am sorry for these aunties and uncles for losing money but something's got to give with all the astronomical food court pricing. Hopefully more business-owners can do their sums properly and not take up stalls in future if the rent is too high.

Seriously 39 stalls for a campus!!!! How many students are there in this ITE campus anyway?

That's the nub of the problem! Unlike NUS NTU SMU and the various polytechnics (esp.Ngee Ann)where the canteens are well patronised by the large student populations and members of the public, these ITE stalls cannot draw on the same catchment populations.In fact these dressed-up stalls not only look expensive but the food served is also expensive because of the high overheads. And my goodness, 39 stalls to "kill" each other.It's the end (ITE) for them!:rolleyes:

To add salt to it, 7 eleven fried chickens are having a booming business. And we all know that 7 eleven food and groceries are very expensive. That means the other stalls are literally out of reach to these poor students.

Typical PAP business style will fail. If Ho Jin can lose our people money by billions in overseas investment, MCD can lose half a million in YOG, Town council can lose millions in Bond, how can they expect people to make profit in a government campus?

They GIC Temasek lose millions SO that Singaporeans can enjoy life and live in hyper-inflation !

many of these ite students do part time jobs to pay for their fees and own expenses...some from broken homes....and some from dysfunctional families....many are poor students.....they are in the twilight zone..

and you give them such a palatial food mall!!!!

why do you view ITE students this way?