• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

2 Singapore men committed suicide on 3 March 2010 due to financial distress

Watchman

2 Singapore men committed suicide on 3 March 2010 due to financial distress

Temasek Review

According to Shin Min Daily yesterday, two Singapore men committed suicide on the same day by jumping off their flats.

The first suicide victim is a taxi-driver by the name of Mr Lim who jumped from his 15 storey kitchen windows at Taman Jurong.

He had lived with his wife and children in the HDB unit where the suicide occurred.

Neighbors described him as slightly plump and friendly to his neighbors.

It was reported that he was under alot of stress due to financial difficulties.

The second victim is a 30 year old Mr Quan who leapt off from 14 storey at a HDB flat at Holland Drive to his death.

He was wearing a white shirt and blue short pants when this tragedy took place.

It is suspected that financial reasons may be a cause too.

Despite being Asia’s second richest country after Japan, Singapore has few social welfare benefits for its citizens though it is able to lose billions of dollars of its reserves in failed overseas investments.

The competition has worsened lately with the relentless influx of foreigners into Singapore who depressed the wages of ordinary Singaporeans, increased the cost of living, especially that of public housing and led to an overall decline in the standards of living.

Foreigners are allowed to compete directly with Singaporeans for jobs and there are no minimum wage or retrenchment benefits for local workers.

Singapore’s octogenarian leader Lee Kuan Yew said during an interview with the National Geographic magazine that it is a “good thing” tha the nation has welcomed so many Chinese immigrants as they are more “hard-driving” and “hard-striving” than locals.

For those Singaporeans who have fallen too far behind in the rat-race as they are not hard-driving enough, suicide may remain the last resort for them.

No lah.. It must be a spasm lah..

Singapore nobody commit suicide want lah..

Our goverment will take care of you. No singaporean will go hungry or deny assistance..

Come join me sing a song

Upturn and downturn downturn and upturn

STOP COMMITTING SUICIDES S'POREANS.

THE SCUMS AND FTs ARE VERY HAPPY WHEN YOU DO.

STOP BEING STUPID.

GO TO YOUR MPs FOR HELP AND SHAME THEM IF THEY DO NOT HELP.

<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

What has this got to do with what happened?

No lah.. It must be a spasm lah..

Singapore nobody commit suicide want lah..

Our goverment will take care of you. No singaporean will go hungry or deny assistance..

Come join me sing a song

Upturn and downturn downturn and upturn

hee hee .

Hmm. so having the skills of money management plus the skills of earning money in multiple streams might save your life some day.

These are important skills and it is not taught in sinkie schools, how sad.

...... if these two damaged any public facilities, we will not be hestitated to bill their family, with penalties and court sues.

STOP COMMITTING SUICIDES S'POREANS.

THE SCUMS AND FTs ARE VERY HAPPY WHEN YOU DO.

STOP BEING STUPID.

GO TO YOUR MPs FOR HELP AND SHAME THEM IF THEY DO NOT HELP.

For this group of residents, the Meet-the-People session will not be held at the void deck or kindergarten or CC. For safety reasons, it is suggested that Meet-the-People session for this group of residents be held at the nearest Fire Brigade.

A couple of sinkie losers. It's no big deal. The country is better off without them. :rolleyes:

strating from your mother who will kena cancer.

You're out of luck. She died more than 15 years ago from a heart attack.:p

Dad's gone too. He went even earlier.:oIo:

This is an illusion. The richest country in Asia now is China. Singapore is bleeding due to the ineptitude of the elites.

Singapore men committed suicide on 3 March 2010 due to financial distress

Temasek Review

Despite being Asia’s second richest country after Japan, Singapore has few social welfare benefits for its citizens though it is able to lose billions of dollars of its reserves in failed overseas investments.

A couple of sinkie losers. It's no big deal. The country is better off without them. :rolleyes:

That's probably how LKY, LHL, ..., thinks .

How a society treats it's lesser members is a reflection of that society. With all the world class pay we can see that Spore's leaders are at the bottom when it comes to leadership. :rolleyes:

That's probably how LKY, LHL, ..., thinks .

How a society treats it's lesser members is a reflection of that society. With all the world class pay we can see that Spore's leaders are at the bottom when it comes to leadership. :rolleyes:

Singapore society votes for that particular govt every 5 years so they obviously approve of the way the PAP treats sinkie losers.

What has this got to do with what happened?
Nothing.
The newspaper was simply reporting the facts.

Singapore society votes for that particular govt every 5 years so they obviously approve of the way the PAP treats sinkie losers.
Exactly. That's why i don't bother to help singaporeans, even though I'm a singaporean myself.
Every time someone asks me for help, I ask them if they vote pap.
If they say yes, I will politely ask them to ask the appropriate pap person for help.

I have my doubts as to whether 66% actually support the PAP?
More likely a win by default.

Lots & lots of people have left or are leaving Spore. The majority of Sporeans don't even get a chance to vote.

We will see for how much longer the PAP can continue to con Sporeans. It just takes longer for some to wake up :rolleyes: