• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Speak Dialects, you feel tribal ! Speak mandarin, it will break unity!

cowbehcowbu

The right view, as I see it is
1] mandarin is now the common language[ dialet] used in China and rapidly learned by the rest of the world...it shall be the common platform..no doubt about this
2] all other dialets are still very commonly used..in fact predominantly used in all province of china..EXCEPT Heilongjiang, where the local speaks PERFECT mandarin...it is also their dialet...
3]If one master mandarin.and ALSO know how to communicate with his ancestral dialets..it will be a PLUS PLUS ,,when one try to close up the communication gap when deal business with the locals in PRC...those speak more than one will even be more plus...WE WILL BE ONE UP against AngMo in china....some Angmo speak perfect Beijingnese Mandarin..
4]Most people can master more than 2 or 3 spoken langusges when start young..

To confess,, I learned Chinese, English ,Malay in school..and speaks 4 dialets..and understands a few more......and I pick up Shanghainese..Sichuanese. in PRC...
LETS OUR KIDS BROADEN THEIR LANGUAHE SKILL .and definitely will put them in advantages position in futures...
I just recently met a party secretaryfrom a city in Guangdong province..the moment I soke their very local Dongguan cantonese,,] my childhood nanny is from Dongguan..]..he start to behave like talking to his townfolks..and we start talking in the local dialets..of course..I got his firm support to start new business in his city.......at least verbally..

The right view, as I see it is
1] mandarin is now the common language[ dialet] used in China and rapidly learned by the rest of the world...it shall be the common platform..no doubt about this
2] all other dialets are still very commonly used..in fact predominantly used in all province of china..EXCEPT Heilongjiang, where the local speaks PERFECT mandarin...it is also their dialet...
3]If one master mandarin.and ALSO know how to communicate with his ancestral dialets..it will be a PLUS PLUS ,,when one try to close up the communication gap when deal business with the locals in PRC...those speak more than one will even be more plus...WE WILL BE ONE UP against AngMo in china....some Angmo speak perfect Beijingnese Mandarin..
4]Most people can master more than 2 or 3 spoken langusges when start young..

To confess,, I learned Chinese, English ,Malay in school..and speaks 4 dialets..and understands a few more......and I pick up Shanghainese..Sichuanese. in PRC...
LETS OUR KIDS BROADEN THEIR LANGUAHE SKILL .and definitely will put them in advantages position in futures...
I just recently met a party secretaryfrom a city in Guangdong province..the moment I soke their very local Dongguan cantonese,,] my childhood nanny is from Dongguan..]..he start to behave like talking to his townfolks..and we start talking in the local dialets..of course..I got his firm support to start new business in his city.......at least verbally..

Heilongjiang used to be part of manchuria right??

I thought beijing ppl spoke mandarin since it is their dialect?

U know when i hear mandarin spoken i feel that it sounds more refined than say hokkien?

I guess cos in singapore when u say hokkien peng it means someone with low education and is very brutish.

It is also true that those with low education and come from the lower sectors of society tend to speak hokkien rather than mandarin or english.

Even in taiwan movies, i see that those of lower classes or with a gangster background speak hokkien rather than mandarin?

lancheowman

I think dialect is important, simply its the language our parents, our grandparents have been using. To ditch away those languages, it is just like ditching away the cultural heritage, the values, starting from our parents, and grandparents. Simple as that.

Here's a little history on Mandarin from wikipedia.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mandarin_Chinese

"Chronologically, there is no clear line to mark where Middle Chinese ends and Mandarin begins; however, the Zhōngyuán Yīnyùn (中原音韵), a rhyme book from the Yuan Dynasty, is widely regarded as a milestone in the history of Mandarin. In this rhyme book we see many characteristic features of Mandarin, such as the reduction and disappearance of final stop consonants and the reorganization of the Middle Chinese tones."

So to learn Mandarin, that too could connect to chinese roots. Why go talk down about Mandarin as a language, unable to perform the job in keeping one's contact with chinese roots??

http://www.sammyboy.com/showpost.php?p=197502&postcount=275

"my message is to those who think that they are sinophiles and are being in contact with your chinese roots by learning and perfecting your mandarin . you are totally barking up the wrong tree. Learning mandarin only gives you three hundred years of heritage and history and most of these are manchu or tungustic heritage."

first of all, to those ignorant and uncouth forummers who cut and paste from and quote wilkopedia like the gospel.

POINT 1: WILKOPEDIA IS NOT ALWAYS ACCURATE
POINT 2: IF YOU HAVE TO QUOTE WILKOPEDIA, PLS USE YOUR BRAIN TO ANALYSE WHAT YOU ARE CUTTING AND PASTING UNLESS YOU ARE A PARROT

SO WHY IS MANDARIN LESS CHINESE THAN SAY HOKKIEN AND CANTONESE DIALECTS? LET ME POINT OUT THE INADEQUACIES AND LACK OF COHERENCE IN CLOSET MIW AND PARTYMAN CHAR JIG KAR'S SHALLOW ARGUMENTS

NOTE THAT EVEN THE PASSAGE QUOTED BY CHAR JIG KAR SUGGESTS THAT MANDARIN EVOLVED FROM MIDDLE CHINESE BY THE YUAN DYANSTY

YUAN DYNASTY WAS A FOREIGN MONGOLIAN DYNASTY. MONGOLS ARE ONE OF THE ALTAIC PEOPLES WHO POPULATED THE NORTHERN PLAINS. THESE PEOPLE LIKE THE JINS BEFORE THEM AND THEIR LATER DAY DESCENDANTS, THE MANCHUS ARE MORE RELATED TO THE KOREANS. THEY DO NOT SPEAK A MONOSYLLABIC LANGUAGE WHICH THE CHINESE SPEAK. MIDDLE CHINESE OR THE SPOKEN LANGUAGE OF CHINESE PEOPLE WAS FORCIBLY CHANGED OR ALTERRED BECAUSE OF THE INFLUENCES OF THESE FOREIGN ALTAIC LANGUAGES AS INTRODUCED BY THESE FOREIGN CONQUERORS. I/E/ MONGOL, MANCHU (JIN) AND KHITANS. OTHERWISE, MIDDLE CHINESE WOULD NOT HAVE EVOVLED SO RADICALLY INTO ANOTHER FOREIGN-SOUNDING LANGUAGE LIKE MANDARIN

PLS LISTEN WHAT MIDDLE CHINESE WOULD HAVE SOUNDED LIKE AND JUDGE FOR YOURSELVES WHETHER IT SOUNDED LIKE MANDARIN OR NOT?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-RpngHAinng&feature=channel_page
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4xI_cJDIgr4&feature=channel

SO THOSE SHALLOW AND WOODPECKING YES-MEN WHO THINK THAT MANDARIN IS CONNECTED TO YOUR CHINESE ROOTS. YOU ARE SUGGESTING THAT YOUR ANCESTORS ARE EITHER HORSE-REARING MONGOLS, MANCHUS OR KHITANS WHO LIVE IN TENTS. THESE ARE THE PEOPLE RESPONSIBLE FOR CHANGING HOW MIDDLE CHINESE SOUND LIKE.

lancheowman

U know when i hear mandarin spoken i feel that it sounds more refined than say hokkien?

I guess cos in singapore when u say hokkien peng it means someone with low education and is very brutish.

It is also true that those with low education and come from the lower sectors of society tend to speak hokkien rather than mandarin or english.

Even in taiwan movies, i see that those of lower classes or with a gangster background speak hokkien rather than mandarin?

it is very sad to hear people condemn their own heritage as being brutish, low class or of a gangster background.... people like this have little self-respect and so they will have little respect for the heritage of others and oso they can never earn respect in return. they are oso the first to abandon their own kind and everything they have to be the turncoats

Hokkien is not my heritage so it's okay. :biggrin:

Btw when ppl say hokkien peng platoon for eg everyone even non chinese like malays know it means A level elite white horses or lowly educated ah bengs?

So how can u chastize me for something that everyone knows. WHat i say is also what many many ppl also think. Care to explain that?

first of all, to those ignorant and uncouth forummers who cut and paste from and quote wilkopedia like the gospel.

POINT 2: IF YOU HAVE TO QUOTE WILKOPEDIA, PLS USE YOUR BRAIN TO ANALYSE WHAT YOU ARE CUTTING AND PASTING UNLESS YOU ARE A PARROT

SO WHY IS MANDARIN LESS CHINESE THAN SAY HOKKIEN AND CANTONESE DIALECTS? LET ME POINT OUT THE INADEQUACIES AND LACK OF COHERENCE IN CLOSET MIW AND PARTYMAN CHAR JIG KAR'S SHALLOW ARGUMENTS

NOTE THAT EVEN THE PASSAGE QUOTED BY CHAR JIG KAR SUGGESTS THAT MANDARIN EVOLVED FROM MIDDLE CHINESE BY THE YUAN DYANSTY

YUAN DYNASTY WAS A FOREIGN MONGOLIAN DYNASTY. MONGOLS ARE ONE OF THE ALTAIC PEOPLES WHO POPULATED THE NORTHERN PLAINS. THESE PEOPLE LIKE THE JINS BEFORE THEM AND THEIR LATER DAY DESCENDANTS, THE MANCHUS ARE MORE RELATED TO THE KOREANS. THEY DO NOT SPEAK A MONOSYLLABIC LANGUAGE WHICH THE CHINESE SPEAK. MIDDLE CHINESE OR THE SPOKEN LANGUAGE OF CHINESE PEOPLE WAS FORCIBLY CHANGED OR ALTERRED BECAUSE OF THE INFLUENCES OF THESE FOREIGN ALTAIC LANGUAGES AS INTRODUCED BY THESE FOREIGN CONQUERORS. I/E/ MONGOL, MANCHU (JIN) AND KHITANS. OTHERWISE, MIDDLE CHINESE WOULD NOT HAVE EVOVLED SO RADICALLY INTO ANOTHER FOREIGN-SOUNDING LANGUAGE LIKE MANDARIN

PLS LISTEN WHAT MIDDLE CHINESE WOULD HAVE SOUNDED LIKE AND JUDGE FOR YOURSELVES WHETHER IT SOUNDED LIKE MANDARIN OR NOT?

SO THOSE SHALLOW AND WOODPECKING YES-MEN WHO THINK THAT MANDARIN IS CONNECTED TO YOUR CHINESE ROOTS. YOU ARE SUGGESTING THAT YOUR ANCESTORS ARE EITHER HORSE-REARING MONGOLS, MANCHUS OR KHITANS WHO LIVE IN TENTS. THESE ARE THE PEOPLE RESPONSIBLE FOR CHANGING HOW MIDDLE CHINESE SOUND LIKE.

Actually mandarin sounds very monotonous to me doesn't sound like jap or korean.

I saw those links and he read the poem by li bai whom is called lix brax??? Middle chinese sounds more ang moh than the mandarin of today.

lancheowman

Hokkien is not my heritage so it's okay. :biggrin:

Btw when ppl say hokkien peng platoon for eg everyone even non chinese like malays know it means A level elite white horses or lowly educated ah bengs?

So how can u chastize me for something that everyone knows. WHat i say is also what many many ppl also think. Care to explain that?

oh you are not hokkien and yet you are saying all hokkien are low class, brutish and of a gangstaer background? why are you making such racist comments? do you know it is a crime to speard ill feelings among races on the internet....last time this fella kena go jail because of some dog remarks to muslims....:confused:

anyway, i have no idea that there are hokkien peng platoons around. i never encountered any when i serve my ns. are you saying they are such platoons who only speak hokkien? are yuou sure it is soemthing everybody know? who told you that? has anyone seen a hokkien platoon around? anyone from a hokkien peng platoon here?:biggrin:

lancheowman

Actually mandarin sounds very monotonous to me doesn't sound like jap or korean.

I saw those links and he read the poem by li bai whom is called lix brax??? Middle chinese sounds more ang moh than the mandarin of today.

sorry but i am really trying to maintain the standard of discussion in this new forum..i.e. i am oso trying to make you look less stupid than you are....it's an uphill task but i am trying....pls dun make it any harder

Dialect is important. It has its great value in connecting with traditional value starting from our parents, and grandparents. PAP and LKY their act of eradicating dialect here is in fact telling the people, the language our parent and grandparents using, are shit. Dialect is trash. Thats the message of the PAP. And we should all condemn PAP and LKY's message.

Let me repeat. Dialect (Chinese) and Mandarin, they are complimentary spoken language. Its not a zero sum game between these two spoken language.

Massive U-turn by you. I thought you were right behind old man where Mandarin is concerned. Read your earlier posts. Suddenly you must have realised the menaing of mother tongue.

sorry but i am really trying to maintain the standard of discussion in this new forum..i.e. i am oso trying to make you look less stupid than you are....it's an uphill task but i am trying....pls dun make it any harder

Unable to explain my questions u have resorted to insults. I can see why many ppl hate you. :oIo:

ACtually all langauges go through changes. The english ppl speak today have norman or french influences. The old english was spoken by shakesphere and sounds very different today yet people still speak modern english. It's like asking an anglox saxon man to revert back to speaking old english to get back with his real roots? :rolleyes:

lancheowman

Unable to explain my questions u have resorted to insults. I can see why many ppl hate you. :oIo:

hello hello dun pretend la, this is in response your childish and silly remarks that say middle chinese sounds like ang mo... i really dunno what to say except to tell you how hard i am trying tpo have an intelligent conversation with you....you see uncle will not insult you for making serious remarks...

let uncle repost my reply to your "serious" hokkien poeng platoon remarks

http://www.sammyboy.com/showpost.php?p=197648&postcount=289...its here eveyrbody can see....dun pretend pretedn try to siam again

<<oh you are not hokkien and yet you are saying all hokkien are low class, brutish and of a gangstaer background? why are you making such racist comments? do you know it is a crime to speard ill feelings among races on the internet....last time this fella kena go jail because of some dog remarks to muslims....

anyway, i have no idea that there are hokkien peng platoons around. i never encountered any when i serve my ns. are you saying they are such platoons who only speak hokkien? are yuou sure it is soemthing everybody know? who told you that? has anyone seen a hokkien platoon around? anyone from a hokkien peng platoon here?>.

dun hate me la, i am trying really hard leh

lancheowman

ACtually all langauges go through changes. The english ppl speak today have norman or french influences. The old english was spoken by shakesphere and sounds very different today yet people still speak modern english. It's like asking an anglox saxon man to revert back to speaking old english to get back with his real roots? :rolleyes:

funny leh, who asked you to speak old chinese? you know how to speak old chinese meh? can you draw a proper analogy anot? oops sorry, i think you cant...let uncle help you and raise the standard here .... its like saying French men must all speak english because everywhere ppl speaking english ....

u idiot u obviously don't make any sense. I was comparing between old english and modern english. WHat does it have to do with french?

Wasn't you the one talking about mandarin being not pure chinese vs the dialects?

Can you speak middle chinese then?

Bloody twisting turning snake you are.

hello hello dun pretend la, this is in response your childish and silly remarks that say middle chinese sounds like ang mo... i really dunno what to say except to tell you how hard i am trying tpo have an intelligent conversation with you....you see uncle will not insult you for making serious remarks...

let uncle repost my reply to your "serious" hokkien poeng platoon remarks

http://www.sammyboy.com/showpost.php?p=197648&postcount=289...its here eveyrbody can see....dun pretend pretedn try to siam again

<<oh you are not hokkien and yet you are saying all hokkien are low class, brutish and of a gangstaer background? why are you making such racist comments? do you know it is a crime to speard ill feelings among races on the internet....last time this fella kena go jail because of some dog remarks to muslims....

anyway, i have no idea that there are hokkien peng platoons around. i never encountered any when i serve my ns. are you saying they are such platoons who only speak hokkien? are yuou sure it is soemthing everybody know? who told you that? has anyone seen a hokkien platoon around? anyone from a hokkien peng platoon here?>.

dun hate me la, i am trying really hard leh

Eh i dunno whther u served ur ns or not. During my time we had air level batch. We had a hokkien peng company about to ord few weeks later. Dun even talk about hokkien peng platoon hokkien peng company also have.

We even had Air level companies of course have hokkien peng company.

All those from that company did not even have o levels, some just had primary school education.

lancheowman

u idiot u obviously don't make any sense. I was comparing between old english and modern english. WHat does it have to do with french?

Wasn't you the one talking about mandarin being not pure chinese vs the dialects?

Can you speak middle chinese then?

Bloody twisting turning snake you are.

aiyo aiyo why so angery? people here talking abt dialects leh...why you talk old english and moden english leh? uncle trying to bring you back so that you dun xia suay yourself and stray off course...like that oso got twist meh....

you want to see twisting snake, see the big greasy one uncle caught here in this post:

http://www.sammyboy.com/showpost.php?p=197648&postcount=289

char_jig_kar

Just use one's common sense.

launcheowman is stating that chinese learning Mandarin would not connect one's to chinese root. Does it make any sense to any of u guys here???

it doesn't make any sense to me.

lancheowman

Eh i dunno whther u served ur ns or not. During my time we had air level batch. We had a hokkien peng company about to ord few weeks later. Dun even talk about hokkien peng platoon hokkien peng company also have.

We even had Air level companies of course have hokkien peng company.

All those from that company did not even have o levels, some just had primary school education.

issit..... got hokkien peng company, got hokkien peng battalion anot...all speak hokkien including CO and RSM. do they all speak hokkien and give commands in hokkien? what is their role? infantry or artillery? or are they tankies or AI? thats why AI always say "cheoing ahhhh":biggrin:

why shld there be hokkien :confused:peng companies in singapore? no cantonese peng company or hakka peng company meh?

so is it true like what you say the hokkien are low class, brutish and of ganagster background? so these hokkien peng are all a special unit or wat? cos they all low class, brutish and of ganagster background?