• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Even Monks face pressure of foreign competition

Agree with you, my son. I've attended Theravada Buddhism course for three months. I was in it only for the understanding of plurality. When your great grand uncle died, the Singapore Mahayana Buddhist monk came and quote, $800 halfway along the "way" or $1,200 all the "way." I felt like beating him up on the spot but couldn't since your great grand aunt was the widow master of ceremony and decision maker and paymaster. There'd be no such thing in Therevada Buddism. I've attended Therevada course and lived in Thailand long enough. There's no such thing!

to me those are not even real monks, i dun even bother to bow or greet them. seeing them wearing gold watches and drive in car made me feel like puking

Exactly son, wearing Rolex watch, Mont Blanc pen and driving Merz, call themselves monks?

what about pastor who wear hugo boss suit ?

yap you are right, but officially theravadin hold the stand that it is wrong, its counterpart turn and twist the rule to suit their own comfort to make themselves feel good.

pui

i would not be surprised down the road the rules will be bent by those clown that monks are allow to get married, cos of modernisation need. OH wait, it has already happen.....in Tibet....in Japan....

disgrace, want to fuck around like me dun wear the robe la

Ming Yi////////////???????

Does it follow that that if Ministers, etc are in it not for the money we all shud be damn worried????

You Wrong liao... the Mahasanghikas are from the Theravadin. From the second Buddhist council about 100 years after the Buddha passed away. They basically practice the same rules as the theravadins. Only difference is that they defied the "cannot received and use $ rule". seriously without $ support from the lay it is indeed hard for Buddhism to have survived till now.

Moderation - here i meant use what is to be used. not accumulating what is not used$. But then all organisations need a back up fund for rainy days, its still a matter of how big is the fund and for what purpose. oxymoron right?

Lastly again do not mistake the Mahasanghikas as the Mahayana. Its 2 different schools completely. Read the 3rd buddhist council and you'll understand.

knn make me du lan go read my textbook again. next time you want to argue on such topic, you make sure you are very clear on this, bloody make me confuse thought i learn the wrong things in my buddhist studies days.

lim bey reread about the 3rd buddhist council. it has got to do with the interpretation of the sutta by 2 different groups. as buddhism got more popular that time, a lot of monks from other religion lost their earning/incoming so decided to join buddhism sangha. they brought along their own interpretation of the teaching.

This very group think they very smart go introduce the idea of self into the teaching-sabbatthivadin (teaching of all exist) and the other group which is the one following the original interpretation of the teaching - vibhajavada/also known as sthaviravada. at this very point in time, both group still shares the same tipitaka.

after the proceeding of the 3rd buddhism council with king asoka around, sabbatthivadin run road to kashmir region forming the sarvastivada sect and gain powerful influence in that region. King Asoka then dispatch Ven. Mahinda (his own son, which is obviously belonging to vibhajavada ) to Ceylon to convert the king there to buddhism. Buddhism took root there and present day theravada sect all traced its root back to Sri-lanka

Now, what cock you trying to say? Present day theravada linked to Mahāsāṃghika? where you learn that from, knn make me flip through a few sources. you want to argue on such thing ask me to read, you yourself also better do your homework

lastly thanks for pointing out Mahāsāṃghika this ancient sect has no relation to the mahayana cult. that i might have overlooked but i do not totally agree. Effectively, there was actually not much organisation split as mentioned in the text, its merely a clear signs there were 2 school of thoughts on the need to relax the rules or not and certain interpretation from the teaching from the suttana.

however its might not be totally wrong to consider Mahāsāṃghika the forefather of Mahayana by few scholars, reason- one distinct features that is very strong in mahayana was actually developed by this group, ideal of bodhisatta way. smart ass bunch of kids that think they very smart, add in new ideas inside this philosophy

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mahāsāṃghika

u better be sure what you are talking about, mahayana has no link to this??

although wiki is not a proper source, but u better be sure what you are talking about, i dun mind flipping real proper text into this.

the current one i holding does not provide much info on it, but it did provide a brief outline of Mahāsāṃghika views. the school of thoughts Mahāsāṃghika mirror present day mahayana. i did my homework, you better did yours if you want to slap me on this.

knn make me du lan go read my textbook again. next time you want to argue on such topic, you make sure you are very clear on this, bloody make me confuse thought i learn the wrong things in my buddhist studies days.

lim bey reread about the 3rd buddhist council. it has got to do with the interpretation of the sutta by 2 different groups. as buddhism got more popular that time, a lot of monks from other religion lost their earning/incoming so decided to join buddhism sangha. they brought along their own interpretation of the teaching.

This very group think they very smart go introduce the idea of self into the teaching-sabbatthivadin (teaching of all exist) and the other group which is the one following the original interpretation of the teaching - vibhajavada/also known as sthaviravada. at this very point in time, both group still shares the same tipitaka.

after the proceeding of the 3rd buddhism council with king asoka around, sabbatthivadin run road to kashmir region forming the sarvastivada sect and gain powerful influence in that region. King Asoka then dispatch Ven. Mahinda (his own son, which is obviously belonging to vibhajavada ) to Ceylon to convert the king there to buddhism. Buddhism took root there and present day theravada sect all traced its root back to Sri-lanka

Now, what cock you trying to say? Present day theravada linked to Mahāsāṃghika? where you learn that from, knn make me flip through a few sources. you want to argue on such thing ask me to read, you yourself also better do your homework

Erhh..... you dun use knn.

Go recheck what is sarvam asti. "All exist"! what thing exist? Past, present and future dhama exist! Which is why you see 3 Buddhas in certain temples. Where as for Theravada temples there is only 1 Buddha. With yr understanding i guess you would have read that the Buddha taught his monks to focus on the present and not let the mind drift to the past and future which is detrimental to foundation of mindfulness (satipathana).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mahāsāṃghika

u better be sure what you are talking about, mahayana has no link to this??

although wiki is not a proper source, but u better be sure what you are talking about, i dun mind flipping real proper text into this.

the current one i holding does not provide much info on it, but it did provide a brief outline of Mahāsāṃghika views. the school of thoughts Mahāsāṃghika mirror present day mahayana. i did my homework, you better did yours if you want to slap me on this.

sorry i dun have the type of info that you have but if you could please share it with me.

what about it ? If u had even a little of his talent you would do the same . Loser hypocrite.

What about me ? You call that talent ? Whahaha . Your old mind can't even function now .

Erhh..... you dun use knn.

Go recheck what is sarvam asti. "All exist"! what thing exist? Past, present and future dhama exist! Which is why you see 3 Buddhas in certain temples. Where as for Theravada temples there is only 1 Buddha. With yr understanding i guess you would have read that the Buddha taught his monks to focus on the present and not let the mind drift to the past and future which is detrimental to foundation of mindfulness (satipathana).

yes i checked, the book is in front of my face

that indeed is in their doctorine,

what is linking past, present and future???? the idea of "something" that is linked to past, present and future. this something is a kind of "self". this is where the idea of self was being introduced into this sect of school which was in direct conflict with the original teaching of non-self. understand now? need me to go into more detail why i said that?

I already post the text i used the name in one of the previous post. easily available in buddhist library. why i use knn? cos you post rubbish type as if its a fact, make me du lan waste 2 hours flip my textbook and almost type 20 percent of the chapter out.