• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

euphony

Re: Investing in Nusajaya

orrh, I didn't notice although i read about the fingerpointing. Think hang around this forum, we should be able to pick out the wheat from the chaff so as to speak.

In though somewhere in the forum, you are mistaken as a property agent or I remember wrongly... Ha ha...

Cheers,
PH

lastresort

Thanks for your reply Sanur, I've replied to you via PM.

Actually(just my personal view) I think it's not easy for LF to get approval from the government for a new exit from 2nd link because Government Link Companies namely UEM and IIB are developing Nusajaya. Approving the new exit for LF means creating a big competitor, with huge supplies of residential properties(LF is about 1.6 times the size of HH), to UEM and IIB, because LF will then beat Nusajaya in terms of proximity to Singapore.

Moreover, LF is such a strong competitor as they provide good quality and has won many awards for their properties.

Unless they manage to do it the left way through some channel. :biggrin:

yonglip

I pass by the mosque again yesterday and only noticed 1 loudspeaker on the roof corner facing the road, away from P8 and P5. Usually all 4 corners will have a loudspeaker; my guess is they are trying to practise moderation here and also I doubt UEM wants to ruin their chances of selling Precint 8D when they do launch it. The only land left to build 8D is near the lake and mosque.

Yes. they even adopted a modern design. but i think we are forgetting something here..this is m'sia. EVERYTHING is subject to change.

cheers.

Puteri harbour

Thanks bro for the reminder..

To be truthful, I have never been a condo person if not for the supply of land in JB. I am very much a demand/ supply person. To be if there is a good landed opportunities, I would invest. To be coastal land is limited and I prefer to wait for the launch in puteri harbour and medini south.

For rental returns, I would prefer to invest in Singapore landed with 4-5% yield and low interested rates.

As for loan, I have not decide yet cos I have the view that MYR will strengthen SGD over time. I may decide to take an equity loan on my existing sing properties and paid the Malaysia property in full as it due. Not for rental, more for own use and Estate transfer in future.

Cheers,
PH

great bro, hope to learn from you as well, I learn more when I share my views.

If you are likely to retire in Singapore, there are 2 factors to take note. Singapore's interest rates vs inflation rates, secondly, the forex movements. However, the gross rental return at certain developments in JB can be higher than Singapore. That if I assume you're taking a loan, and don't mind renting out in the mean time. :smile:

yonglip

I was surprise too that one was sold!? The showhouse unit are all rush wok tts y things are not properly constructed from wat i heard, bt the show unit is indeed crazy big carpark can put more than 7 cars @@
U r wrong bro yonglip we r forced to buy such high price due to the market inflation >< these houses are aiming to foreigner and also for those who work in sg(like me), those who work in jb reali cant afford to buy such house (not teasing bt its truth =( ) Jb cost of living is getting higher~

eh bro..i think u are being modest la...i visited a couple of places for makan on sunday morning and had a hard time finding a seat!..ba kut teh at Bukit indah...chow yuan at bestari...packed like sardines. during lunch, while at Jusco, saw that many of the restaurants are packed too..yes some are singaporeans, but many are locals also.

cheers.

Investor

Seem to me that JB is recession proof leh , they were talking about price increases every each other month , woos!
Back in Singapore , China , HK etc , people are talking about price correction or at least stablised for a while . Wow JB is power sigh ,, they turn a jungle out of nowhere into a billions dollar estate .

Johor's price is also in correction but it's correcting upwards =D

Actually developers set future prices depending on demand, the constant and strong price increase simply tells us that there are strong demand now.
But the only question is - when will the demand dwindle? If you ask me, I'd say that we are not seeing a full potential demand yet because many Singaporeans and Malaysians still choose to stay on the sideline and wait for things to materialise first because they are afraid of Malaysian Government's flip flop ways(as mentioned by other forumers).
So for high risk takers like myself, I'd choose to take the plunge early.

Those are just my views, please share yours so that we can learn and view things in different perspective.

LeMans2011

hahaha.... Johor is so big; at the most travel further up north and there are plenty of jungle for them. As it is, Iskandar Msia is 3x Singapore's size, and only half to 1/3 of Johor. :smile:

I pass by the mosque again yesterday and only noticed 1 loudspeaker on the roof corner facing the road, away from P8 and P5. Usually all 4 corners will have a loudspeaker; my guess is they are trying to practise moderation here and also I doubt UEM wants to ruin their chances of selling Precint 8D when they do launch it. The only land left to build 8D is near the lake and mosque.

How about some first hand info from the horse's mouth?
Like any mosque, there is no such thing as moderation. Precinct 8 and the old Precinct 4 are the nearest to the mosque. Hence if you have Lakeview Precinct 8, you have the mosque view as well.

Having said that, it isn't that bad to hear the prayers from the mosque. In fact it gives me a sense of "zen" and religiousness... but be prepared this is not going to draw top investors dollars

lastresort

Any info on the 'left' way bro? Please share as I'm interested in LF if they really have a new exit from 2nd Link.

haha bro Investor, remember in bolehland, anything is possible as long as you have the right connection and cable. I suggest if you're seriously looking at LF, you really should go there to find out more from the staff. But don't take my words too seriously i was kidding more than being serious, if they do that, I am sure the insider would be buying up more before you realised.

ShawnLow

yonglip said:
eh bro..i think u are being modest la...i visited a couple of places for makan on sunday morning and had a hard time finding a seat!..ba kut teh at Bukit indah...chow yuan at bestari...packed like sardines. during lunch, while at Jusco, saw that many of the restaurants are packed too..yes some are singaporeans, but many are locals also.

cheers.

Thanks for ur compliment..~
yea, the area is very pack of ppl. Perhaps i can show u around wat to eat in bukit indah area like currymee,dimsum, n etc hehe~alotfood to have in bestari bukitindah perling area~i tink the time u went is js wrong timing as in peak hour so no choise we hav to wait to be seated~i believe the whole area there will b very huat n las very long ba~bestari got 1 nice dimsum too beside petronas mcd bestari

lastresort

Thanks bro for the reminder..

To be truthful, I have never been a condo person if not for the supply of land in JB. I am very much a demand/ supply person. To be if there is a good landed opportunities, I would invest. To be coastal land is limited and I prefer to wait for the launch in puteri harbour and medini south.

For rental returns, I would prefer to invest in Singapore landed with 4-5% yield and low interested rates.

As for loan, I have not decide yet cos I have the view that MYR will strengthen SGD over time. I may decide to take an equity loan on my existing sing properties and paid the Malaysia property in full as it due. Not for rental, more for own use and Estate transfer in future.

Cheers,
PH

Thanks PH Bro. Could you share your views why over time MYR will strengthen against SGD? I have little forex knowledge, but this is a good discussion since some of us plan to live and retire in JB.

jasonjst

Thanks PH Bro. Could you share your views why over time MYR will strengthen against SGD? I have little forex knowledge, but this is a good discussion since some of us plan to live and retire in JB.

When small lee run out idea how to increase GDP above 5% , worst cant take in FTs anymore due to resources constraint . While in Malaysia Najib is confident of 5-6% growth , you see which way smart money will flow ?

Bluereeff

Well said PH, i agree with you.

Hi lastresort,
Thanks for your advise and views. When I mean for retirement, I am referring to an asset to preserve my wealth in relation to inflation. I would most likely prefer to retire home in Singapore unless JB develop at such a fast phase that I feel that it is no difference from Singapore. 3 important criteria for retirement are 1)safety 2 enterainment( musicals , Michelin Star res
taurant, playground for kids) 3) stable and strong government that can implement unfriendly bit strategic policies. Malaysia is improving but no where near as of now. If not for the recent improvement after making took over the helm, I would not even look at nusajaya despite the great plan more than 5 years ago.

Cheers,
PH

aangsc

When small lee run out idea how to increase GDP above 5% , worst cant take in FTs anymore due to resources constraint . While in Malaysia Najib is confident of 5-6% growth , you see which way smart money will flow ?

We were once upon a time 1=1 on exchange rate . It is now 1=2.45 and it has been moving weaker over the years. When young Lee run out of idea, I am quite sure Najib also not around that much longer. Of the two countries political stability which is stronger ? Whether 1 Malaysia will last and whether focus remains on Nusajaya and Iskandar really depend who the boss on top. For now, we are safe as Lee and Najib seems pretty interested in "Prosper Thy Neighbor "

lastresort

wah I forgot what I've learnt in economics lesson in school already.

I remember something like SG adopts foreign exchange policies to keep SGD strong to import cheaply (also to import talents). While it is not Malaysia's aim to appreciate their currency. In fact most other exporting countries like Malaysia, China, US and Japan want to keep their currency value low. So I thought the trend is that SGD will continue to go up while MYR will continue the depreciation against SGD.

Fook Seng

lastresort said:
I remember something like SG adopts foreign exchange policies to keep SGD strong to import cheaply (also to import talents). While it is not Malaysia's aim to appreciate their currency. In fact most other exporting countries like Malaysia, China, US and Japan want to keep their currency value low. So I thought the trend is that SGD will continue to go up while MYR will continue the depreciation against SGD.

It has been that way. When should it be different now?

Puteri harbour

All of you have a point there. The fundamental difference is in the assumptions. I assume that the malaysia economy will grow at a faster rate than Singapore going forwards and the Malaysia leader will look at win win instead od win lose. See what happen in the 80s and 90s when Malaysia think that we are not a good partners, we go somewhere elas like china, Thailand , Vietnam and even the middle east. The host countries as well as Singapore benefits from the joint ventures. Why such arrangement cannot be done with our next door neighbor If we can help china develop their industrial park and Eco city.

As malaysia develop, they will want to strengthen their currency over time so that Malaysians can buy more real estate and goods overseas. With developments and employment, I believe that the currency will strengthen. Ie, development and employment is my main assumptions here.

If the above did not happen, then I would have make the wrong bet. I choose to believe that the probability of my bet coming true is more likely than not.

Hope my views is helpful.

Cheers,
PH

wah I forgot what I've learnt in economics lesson in school already.

yonglip

Thanks for ur compliment..~
yea, the area is very pack of ppl. Perhaps i can show u around wat to eat in bukit indah area like currymee,dimsum, n etc hehe~alotfood to have in bestari bukitindah perling area~i tink the time u went is js wrong timing as in peak hour so no choise we hav to wait to be seated~i believe the whole area there will b very huat n las very long ba~bestari got 1 nice dimsum too beside petronas mcd bestari

v kind of u bro...nothing beats a local bringing one around...
will PM you my email and contact...can meetup for kopi some day man.

cockcansing

Anyone living in JB with kids in primary or secondary schools in singapore?

How do you cope with the traveling from JB to sg and sg to jb daily for schools?

Was wondering if custom jam and the kids have to be late for schools. Not a good thing.

I heard, not sure if true, kids starts their journey as early as 5am in jb and reached home pretty late.

My kids have CCA twice a week which ends 6-7pm and that is the jam time from sg to jb.

If have a gd solution may consider rent out my unit in sg and buy one in jb. tks.

Hi there roger
My children are studying in Singapore and we commute daily. One of them is in the morning session and the other is in the afternoon. They are both schooling in Woodlands. Well, the elder will wake up about 5:30 to get ready for school and leave about 6:15 and drive in through Tuas. I usually reach woodlands about 7:10 and will drive back to JB. The younger will leave home about 11:20 and drive through woodlands and would reach school about 12:10. When I fetch the younger back and will drive through woodlands and get back about 7:30 - 8pm depends on the jam at the causeway. The jam at the causeway will start about 6pm usually but on rainny days sometimes its not so bad. If some odd days, I would drive back through Tuas and would reach home about 7:40-8pm well if I am lazy to Q in the jam. You need to try out for about a week or two to get some timing right. Btw im staying at HH. I would avoid the morning jam from JB at the causeway. I tried the route before and I left home at 6am and reached my kids school earliest at 7:15, that is with good driving skill going through the jam. The traffic from tuas to woodlands is a breeze as most of the traffic is going the opposite direction.

Just my 2 cents
Cheers

Status
Not open for further replies.