• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

maxpark

Dear all,

Would like to start a small dialogue discussion about IndahWalk3, the 5-storey high Office unit complex, directly facing Tesco in Bukit Indah.

1. what are your opinions about this project?
2. is this project worth investing for rental income? I understood the selling price is around RM200-250 psf, the maintenance is RM0.25psf.
3. on one side of the Office complex you have Sky condo. On the other side, three big parcels of empty land. Anyone with any inside info what these empty land will be in future? I know the far end will be SkyLoft but the middle two big parcels of land is still a mystery.

Appreciate your valued comments.

echanbonfire01

Dear all,

Would like to start a small dialogue discussion about IndahWalk3, the 5-storey high Office unit complex, directly facing Tesco in Bukit Indah.

1. what are your opinions about this project?
2. is this project worth investing for rental income? I understood the selling price is around RM200-250 psf, the maintenance is RM0.25psf.
3. on one side of the Office complex you have Sky condo. On the other side, three big parcels of empty land. Anyone with any inside info what these empty land will be in future? I know the far end will be SkyLoft but the middle two big parcels of land is still a mystery.

Appreciate your valued comments.

Im also interested to get a unit. however, 1st floor should be more rentable that the top units. not sure whether still available.

euphony

Hi,

Has been reading this thread for quite a few week, still have not cover all pages.
Hope to finish reading the whole thread before i ask stupid questions. :smile:

Was encourage to join this forum after reading wuqi and many other forummers contributing to this thread. Just want to say "Thank you" for sharing in this thread.

Cheers
Meng

welcome to the thread! me thinks this has become the 'wiki' of living in JB from the contributions of bros and couple of sis.

maxpark

Im also interested to get a unit. however, 1st floor should be more rentable that the top units. not sure whether still available.

You should check with the developers SP Setia.
The ground floor units confirm are all for rental only, as the developer are not selling (I see this as a good thing as they can have better "control" on tenant mix?)
I'm not sure if 2nd floor is for sale or only for rental as well - as its not available when I enquired.
I know 3rd, 4th and 5th floors are for sale under strata title freehold.
However very very few units left - I'm considering one unit on 3rd floor but cannot decide - hence, seeking advice here.

Wuqi, any views?

Avonup

May I shamelessly invite you to my web on this?
http://www.puterim.com/joomla/index...omes-long-stayers&catid=25:property&Itemid=29

It is possible to do it on your own. The rules change from time to time, and it is getting more expensive in terms of deposits.
It is not a necessity, but we chose to do it as our move over here is hopefully permanent.

Hi Mallow,

Somehow I missed your response. So sorry for the late reply. Thank you very much. Will look into your web. Warm regards.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hi Maxpark,

I am not sure on the exact location but i know they are mainly earmarked for commercial development. Most of the plots in that area will also be developed by Setia as they were adopting a wait and see attitude while doing their residential projects but now they are simultaneously doing that and going to launch more commercial ones as well.

They are smart, choping the choice areas. There is actually an empty piece of land right across from the Jusco/Aeon mall on the way towards HH. That belongs to Setia, D'Grande is also developed by Setia btw.

This is still a good place to buy for own stay, investment wise, it will still be a while although the timeframe looks like its getting shorter. 3rd floor on the condo? I would buy a condo unit here only if its:

1. Good location near major shopping areas
2. Good location near areas of growth and proximity
3. Good developer
4. Low floor
5. Look at 1-2

Just to share:

KUALA LUMPUR: As multi-billion ringgit investments in Johor’s Iskandar Malaysia take shape, property players and investors are increasingly positive that the Johor property market is poised for a golden era after a sluggish decade.

KGV-Lambert Smith Hampton executive director Samuel Tan is among those convinced that Johor Bahru and Iskandar Malaysia’s property scene are on the cusp of a change of fortune.

“The past 10 years have been miserable. When we look at Kuala Lumpur’s property market, we are full of envy,” Tan told a media briefing in Johor Bahru last weekend.

Although property values and demand have a long way to go before they catch up with the hot real estate markets of Kuala Lumpur, the Klang Valley and Penang, Tan said the narrowing gap in values provides investors good upside potential.

Although total transaction volume for properties in Iskandar Malaysia remained constant over the years, he said, the transaction value and demand have been on the uptrend, particularly since 2H10.

Data from the National Property Information Centre (Napic) show that the transaction volume in Johor in 4Q10 more than doubled to 5,147 units from 2,105 in the preceding quarter.

Significantly, the transaction value nearly tripled to RM1.13 billion in 4Q10 from RM397 million in the previous quarter.

Tan said greenfield projects like those in Nusajaya had impacted the Johor property market, as it carved out a well-planned space for high-end properties, with improved accessibility and amenities.

“Instead of buying cheap houses, people are now willing to pay higher prices. People are changing their lifestyles. They are going for things that offer them prestige, lifestyle and security,” he said.

Tan predicted that Johor Bahru would see the rise of more serviced apartments in the city centre, driven by growth in population and economic activities in the state capital.

The changing skyline of Johor Bahru.
He said luxury properties in Johor largely targeted foreign buyers, given the restrictions on foreigners purchasing properties priced below RM500,000.

However, almost 60% of property investors in Johor last year were local buyers, which Tan said indicates growing confidence in the Iskandar Malaysia story.

Brownfield developments in the well-located suburban areas too will see growth due to improved infrastructure connectivity and commercial decentralisation, he said.

Apart from residential properties, shop offices and commercial properties in Johor have also seen a substantial increase in prices as people were starting to view commercial properties as investment products, Tan said.

Land values have seen substantial increase as well, as investors begin accumulating landbank on optimism that Iskandar Malaysia would blossom into a thriving economic hub, he said.

Many large developers have been flocking to Johor Bahru and Iskandar Malaysia, likely realising that the upside potential in Kuala Lumpur and the Klang Valley was limited, and that Iskandar Malaysia would be the next untapped hive of economic activity.

However, industry observers had expressed reservations as to whether the rising potential of Johor’s property market was indeed sustainable in the long term, given that it was largely dependent on take-up by domestic and Singapore investors who have a wide array of options.

Malaysian Rating Corp Bhd vice-president for ratings Rajaseharan Paramesran said Iskandar Malaysia’s continued ability to attract investors would be a key factor in driving demand for residential and commercial properties in the region.

Rajaseharan noted that Iskandar Malaysia had surpassed its own projections, receiving RM3.76 billion in investments for 1Q of this year, bringing the total investments to date to RM73 billion.

The added impetus for Iskandar Malaysia’s growth would be the infrastructure upgrading within the development region, closer cooperation with the Singapore government and the establishment of various educational institutions.

“Previously these were just development concepts and plans but these are now being actualised, thereby generating interest among property buyers,” Rajaseharan told The Edge Financial Daily.

According to Rajaseharan, although there were previously large overhangs in the Johor property market, the huge focus on the Iskandar region, supported by Khazanah Nasional, would continue to drive the momentum in the southern state.

However, he added that property developers would still have to balance supply and demand dynamics despite the presence of strong factors to support growth in Iskandar Malaysia.

In a similar vein, Iskandar Regional Development Authority (Irda) CEO Ismail Ibrahim said the Iskandar Malaysia planning authority was mindful that there must be a healthy balance between supply and demand for properties.

“We don’t want a mad rush of landowners or property players building properties. They must first identify an economic anchor before building their townships,” he told reporters last weekend.

Ismail noted that housing prices in the southern state had been on the rise, a marked shift from the largely rental-driven real estate market in the region.

“We see demand for residential properties as a spillover from the economic activity that is taking place. In the past, properties were largely for the rental market but now people realise that they can work and live here,” he said.

Despite the optimism, data from the Valuation and Property Services Department show that Johor continued to top the national list in terms of total volume and value of overhang for residential property and shoplots in 4QFY10.

For residential properties, Johor recorded an overhang of 5,599 units of residential properties valued at RM1.01 billion, almost a quarter of the country’s total overhang for the sector in 4QFY10.

For shoplots, Johor posted an overhang of 2,456 units valued at RM612.34 million, significantly outnumbering the other states and federal territories.

The southern state also topped the list of unsold residential properties and shops, in terms of those under construction and those not constructed.

OSK Research head of research Chris Eng said 2012 would be the tipping point for Iskandar Malaysia as actual commercial projects begin.

“Iskandar Malaysia is looking increasingly bright but we need on the ground commercial activation to kick off first,” he told The Edge Financial Daily.

He said demand for the medium range residential properties in Iskandar Malaysia had been strong and should trigger the secondary effect of demand for shoplots.

KGV-Lambert Smith Hampton’s Tan conceded that many investors have been sceptical as to how Iskandar Malaysia can achieve the optimum critical mass needed to support the construction and real estate projects.

“I view Iskandar Malaysia together with Singapore because of the proximity and connectivity. We have six million people between these two areas and if you can tap into this catchment, it is great,” Tan said.

Analysts concur, although they said much of the change in perception towards Iskandar Malaysia also had to do with the corporate developments in UEM Land Holdings Bhd, which took over Sunrise Bhd last year.

Sunrise chairman Datuk Tong Kooi Ong is now part of UEM Land’s development committee that will spearhead the development of its landbank in Iskandar Malaysia.

In the process, UEM Land, with a stronger management and branding in place, has since emerged as one of the top property picks for analysts and fund managers this year.

However, an industry observer also advocated some caution amid the euphoria as investors begin comparing land prices between Iskandar, Johor and Singapore, and expect more convergence.

“While land prices in Iskandar Malaysia are a fraction of Singapore’s, there is no guarantee it will become the Shenzhen of Hong Kong,” he said.

The observer added that price convergence for Iskandar Malaysia may be less like the Shenzhen-Hong Kong model, which was a “one country, two systems” situation.

“Here, is it two countries, two systems,” he said adding that for Iskandar Malaysia to be successful, it has to first build a sizable local population, rather than rely purely on Singaporean investors.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hi,

Has been reading this thread for quite a few week, still have not cover all pages.
Hope to finish reading the whole thread before i ask stupid questions. :smile:

Was encourage to join this forum after reading wuqi and many other forummers contributing to this thread. Just want to say "Thank you" for sharing in this thread.

Cheers
Meng

Welcome to the family. :smile:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hello everyone.. this is my first time exploring.
How do u get in touch with the sales people for Fairways Suites and other properties?
Can someone help send me the GPS location.. i will like to drive in to see and do homework
Thank you all

Hi Petesim, Hang Yong has already helpfully pointed you in the right direction.
Do compare and see what fits your plans the most. Good luck! :smile:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
from what i see, malaysian drivers most of the time will give way to msia or spore cars. i seldom see them speed up to block you if you signal with intention. but some singapore cars, you signal also, they dont let you in...but i do agree that they do not signal at times.

for kids environment in a home is the utmost importance. if home is a negative place then it will have serious impact

Yes, agreed. So far i have mostly encountered the good ones who actually gave way to me when i signalled, more than a few times. I believe learning is a lifelong journey but the parents play a big role, after that is the environment, etc.

Coolsaint77

About driving in JB: main problem is "impatience" is deeply ingrained. If you reverse park into a lot and someone is coming from the back, there is a high chance he may not wait for you. They also do not distinguish between driving on a small lane, major road or highway - seems like they drive at a standard speed of 80kmh all throughout. But when i drive on the highway, 99% of the time they give way. Having said that, it should not be a surprise if you see a kancil travelling at 60kmh suddenly sways into your path when you are travelling at 180kmh... so do expect the unexpected. Buses and lorries also have a habit of overtaking on the rightmost lane if they need to.

Meng968

Thanks Euphony & Wuqi for the welcome.

Actually, I have bought a small condo unit from Setia (The Sky Executive) before i found this forum.
After reading about 20+ pages, i am abit worry about what wuqi bro had said about lift maintenance and such for condo unit. I didn't think of this issue when i signed the S&P. I had wanted to buy landed property in JB but thought that it will be hassle to clean and maintain becos of the space. And also felt that it would be more costly to renovate.
At that time, i was also rushing to beat the 500k dead line for buying property. So......Any kind soul got any alternative advise for me. Thanks.

hangyong

Hi All,

I have some queries regarding the MACS system.

According to http://www.imi.gov.my/index.php/en/pass/377-malaysia-automated-clearence-system-macs

6. ELIGIBILITY

MACS applicants who are involved with the development of Iskandar Region Projects are required to meet the terms and conditions as follows:

Non-Malaysian citizens who are sponsored by a Malaysian company (or company based in Malaysia) and directly involved the in the development and projects/ activities related to Iskandar Region;
In possess of an international passport with minimum validity of two (2) years;
Non-listed in the Immigration Suspect List;
Has been issued with a relevant long term immigration pass (if applicable - relevant to category B applicants); and
Entry Visa (if applicable - relevant to visa required citizens)

Singapore Citizens daily trippers who wish to apply MACS are required to meet the terms and conditions as follows:

Must be a Singapore Citizen in possession of an international passport with minimum validity of two (2) years;
Non-listed in the Immigration Suspect List;
Has been issued with a relevant long term immigration pass (if – applicable – Category B applicants).
Number of visit per month at least 4 times and more

However, my wife is a Singapore PR. Can she apply to use MACS as well?

Secondly, if my MACS is approved and I am travelling with a non-MACS user, can he/she use the same MACS lane as I (when driving into Malaysia)?

Thirdly, I see in the same webpage that there is a MACS lane at both check points, however, driving in the last few times, I dun seem to remember seeing any. Anyone care to enlighten me on this?

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
I have many encounters in JB because I am a high-mileage driver, about 5000km a month and about 3500km in JB alone. Many times I have vans or kancil literally cut into my lane without checking the rear mirror and they never sped up.. continue at their leisure pace of 40-60km/hour while I had to slam brake from 120km/hour to 40km/hour. This is the kind of blur drivers that JB has. That is also the main reason why Pasir Gudang highway has as many as 10 accidents per day. I sometimes see up to 3 accidents in this highway in a spate of 5 km.

Hi Horizonhills, can you send me the details of your defect and the length it took to rectify? This needs to go to their bosses.

As for driving, since some time back, its no longer safe to assume those driving SG cars are Singaporeans and those in JB plates are Malaysians. Even locals are slowly understanding that some driving SG registered plates have MYCards. There are also drivers in JB plates with pink ICs.

Kayu drivers abound, i had a run in with a Chinaman driver driving a lorry along Gembas recently, he highbeamed everyone while he was driving his company van, swerved and nearly caused an accident with another lorry. He then horned and gave everyone the finger as he forced people to give way to his lorry whilst on the right and then after getting his place on the right, suddenly realised at the traffic light ahead that he had to go left and swerved all the way to the left without signalling or checking if there are people behind him or on the lanes.

I encounter at least one of such drivers every time i drive in SG.

Another one, on CTE, a driver with a blue WRX or those wannabe ones souped up as a WRX was driving a blistering fast speed of 50kmph on the right lane. Everyone was held up by him during the rush hour, when he finally realised he was being a road hog, it was too late for him to move to the centre lane as everyone, literally was passing him by and overtaking him from the left.

Another one, last year at Raffles city, an old man with an even older Benz knocked into me and drove off without stopping or realising it. I claimed against him and won.

I still remember one that i was involved in, i was turning right, another guy was turning as well and change direction and knocked into me, he claimed he was going straight and won. What he couldn't explain was why there was such a huge dent and tyre threads on the ground (he was speeding) but well he won anyway.

A tour bus driver at the Khatib camp, overtook on the right and straight away cut into the extreme left to turn into the carpark, when i just horned him once, he blasted me with a full bus horn and didn't let go.

I can't think of the many times i had to swerve to avoid bus drivers, taxis cutting in to grab passagers. One time, 2 overzealous taxis banged into each other to get a passenger. Funny thing was she was waving to her boyfriends car.

As for JB, more than one time i had people reversing without looking or those who see you trying to move out, don't want to give way AND yet wanting your parking place. After realising that they were wasting their own time by blocking you, they finally gave way and let you pass. This was done in JB registered car so definitely its not because they were trying to bully a SG car.

Had an accident there when i was on a road and one car just crashed into us from a side road, smashing straight and head on into my driver side. He compensated me in the end.

Their taxi drivers are also similar to ours except that they tend to drive very slowly sometimes on the right lane, most though still are better on highways as in they do give way.

I discovered one thing is true no matter in which of the countries one drives in:
A nice word even when you are right solves more problems than an aggressive finger.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
On the issue of MACS, there are no real lanes for MACS holders. You also don't need to worry about having a mix of MACS and non-MACS folks going in. Just pass their passports to the customs guy and pass yours with MACS separately and tell them that yours is MACS.

You can get MACS easily at their customs after the Woodlands checkpoint or at the Iskandar investor place at Danga (near Dangabay at 1st link) if you are a landed owner or an investor. Remember to bring photos! :smile:

hangyong

I have many encounters in JB because I am a high-mileage driver, about 5000km a month and about 3500km in JB alone. Many times I have vans or kancil literally cut into my lane without checking the rear mirror and they never sped up.. continue at their leisure pace of 40-60km/hour while I had to slam brake from 120km/hour to 40km/hour. This is the kind of blur drivers that JB has. That is also the main reason why Pasir Gudang highway has as many as 10 accidents per day. I sometimes see up to 3 accidents in this highway in a spate of 5 km.

bro, nothing against you, but you may want to slow down abit... not that you are wrong, just to avoid such accidents...

hangyong

On the issue of MACS, there are no real lanes for MACS holders. You also don't need to worry about having a mix of MACS and non-MACS folks going in. Just pass their passports to the customs guy and pass yours with MACS separately and tell them that yours is MACS.

You can get MACS easily at their customs after the Woodlands checkpoint or at the Iskandar investor place at Danga (near Dangabay at 1st link) if you are a landed owner or an investor. Remember to bring photos! :smile:

Thanks bro, what about my wife being a PR instead of Singaporean? Can she apply too?
I guess with the MACS, they will not stamp your passport anymore, right?
And landed owner... erm... Condo considered anot?

Status
Not open for further replies.