• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

$5 for 1 prata and 1 drumstick, normal?

I have been living in Bangkok for a few years, yesterday I came back for CNY with family here. This morning I went to the corner coffee shop of Holland Village (opposite Windmill) known as Holland Village Foodcourt. I ordered a prata with egg and a drumstick in curry, I had to pay $5.00 for them. Then I asked for another prata kosong and paid $1.50. May I ask people here if this price normal in Singapore now or is it just Holland Village price?

Ok about the food, the prata is ok only not too bad but the curry chicken curry is very very watery. I even asked for the daal curry and it is even more watery. Obviously it is not worth $6.50 however notwithstanding the taste is this normal price in Singapore now?

Watchman

You are paying for their high rental .

It's the norm price .

Thanks to all the assets management here .

You can be sure of more hyper inflation .

cooleo

Why do u expect food to taste good in a foodcourt? Those people are salaried employees and won't bother to cook so well one leh.

sinren67

I have been living in Bangkok for a few years, yesterday I came back for CNY with family here. This morning I went to the corner coffee shop of Holland Village (opposite Windmill) known as Holland Village Foodcourt. I ordered a prata with egg and a drumstick in curry, I had to pay $5.00 for them. Then I asked for another prata kosong and paid $1.50. May I ask people here if this price normal in Singapore now or is it just Holland Village price?

Ok about the food, the prata is ok only not too bad but the curry chicken curry is very very watery. I even asked for the daal curry and it is even more watery. Obviously it is not worth $6.50 however notwithstanding the taste is this normal price in Singapore now?

Normal price of a plain prata is $0.80, with egg is $1.60.

S11's kopi is now $1. Banned.

Why do u expect food to taste good in a foodcourt? Those people are salaried employees and won't bother to cook so well one leh.

Please have a look, it is a normal coffee shop not a foodcourt, its just the name. This is a normal coffeeshop I assure you. I don't like to eat in foodcourts especially the malls'.

Not just him la, the entire cabinet si mi lan chiao pun cho bo la.

Bro, you forgot all the MPs in Parliament. Not only Prataman and cabinet. Cabinets never meant for expensive items. Just files and useless files. Expensive items are always in safes.

You never order Kopi meh? In foodcourt, prata with egg should be around $1.80, kopi $1, drumstick ...$2.00..quite near to $5. However if you did not order kopi and being charged $5 should be quite expensive. Normal kopi tiam charged per piece prata kosong is 80cts and kopi 80cts.

I read that drinks price went up so I didn't order any drinks and also I not thirsty also. Yes $6.50 for this meal excludes any minoom.

In the afternoon I was charged $0.80 for a cup of kopi "o" at a Tanglin Halt coffeeshop. I think its a little expensive.

Sorry I comprane so much, I cannot help it la I have been living in Bangkok for so long.

Aussie Prick

What people seem to forget is something called inflation. Everyday people complain about rising prices - food and energy the most obvious - but when the word inflation is mentioned people dont care they just don't want prices to increase.

That why I shake my head because we live in a world where inflation is making life difficult everywhere - except the USA with its ultra - low 0.9% 2009 inflation and 1.1% in 2010. Many food items in the US are now cheaper than in Singapore for example. In China, food inflation is so bad they are going to HK to buy food!

While the world's reserve currency is being printed out of thin air, expect inflation to continue. Here in Singapore we are supposed to accept it because it is a smaller % of our expenses instead of China for example where food is 33% of household expenses.

So if you wonder what Tunisia, Egypt, Yemen is really about, life is becoming hard when food prices are going up and wages are not. The political issue is just what we see but people who cannot tahan is what's behind this.

What people seem to forget is something called inflation. Everyday people complain about rising prices - food and energy the most obvious - but when the word inflation is mentioned people dont care they just don't want prices to increase.

That why I shake my head because we live in a world where inflation is making life difficult everywhere - except the USA with its ultra - low 0.9% 2009 inflation and 1.1% in 2010. Many food items in the US are now cheaper than in Singapore for example. In China, food inflation is so bad they are going to HK to buy food!

While the world's reserve currency is being printed out of thin air, expect inflation to continue. Here in Singapore we are supposed to accept it because it is a smaller % of our expenses instead of China for example where food is 33% of household expenses.

So if you wonder what Tunisia, Egypt, Yemen is really about, life is becoming hard when food prices are going up and wages are not. The political issue is just what we see but people who cannot tahan is what's behind this.

Well said but then I guess my experience today is not too much inflation because someone here said I could get a prata kosong for 0.80. I guess I was being f*@ked this morning.

The world is not driven by inflation, it is the human that play with psychological factor. Let me quote a very good example, if people think OBama who can rule American for a mere couple hundred thousand dollars per year, he is worth that much. On the other side of the little red dot, PAP paid themselves by millions and expected us to believe they deserved that much, you just have to swallow that bitter excuses. If PAP were to work in America, they will end up like cheap prick or may not even get a chance to work for the white house. Many of them will probably ended up as taxi drivers or blue collars workers based on their existing "credential". Thus inflation never exist unless you vote for it in the coming election.

silverfox@

Chicken drumstick $3, prata egg $2. prata kosong $1.50. 3 reasons.

1) Either you got chopped
2) Or you are at Holland Village, where the yuppies love paying to eat higher class pratas
3) Or they got min 2 pcs rule for ordering kosong prata and you ordered 1 they still charge you price for 2.

Rule of the thumb is always ask for breakdown of prices for food if in doubt.

Watchman

I read that drinks price went up so I didn't order any drinks
and also I not thirsty also. Yes $6.50 for this meal excludes
any minoom. In the afternoon I was charged $0.80 for a cup
of kopi "o" at a Tanglin Halt coffeeshop. I think its a little expensive.
Sorry I comprane so much, I cannot help it la I have been
living in Bangkok for so long.

Singaporeans will make all those food stalls and food court
suffer for 2 weeks .

Chicken drumstick $3, prata egg $2. prata kosong $1.50. 3 reasons.

1) Either you got chopped
2) Or you are at Holland Village, where the yuppies love paying to eat higher class pratas
3) Or they got min 2 pcs rule for ordering kosong prata and you ordered 1 they still charge you price for 2.

Rule of the thumb is always ask for breakdown of prices for food if in doubt.

I think I was fucked, as simple as that, thats all. Want me to run back to Bangkok.

Certainly not normal, it's double the normal hawker centres and coffeeshops price of S$0.70-S$0.80 per plain prata, S$1.00 at most foodcourt chains.

Thanks, so maybe you all should be careful when you go to this prata shop in HV.