• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Employing PRCs: Mark Lee defends himself

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - Employing PRCs: Mark Lee defends himself</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right>
icon.aspx
Subscribe </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>Feb-8 7:39 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 11) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>28327.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Mark Lee defends himself for employing PRC workers: Difficult to employ locals

February 8, 2010 by admin
Filed under Headlines

Leave a comment
http://www.temasekreview.com/2010/02/08/mark-lee-defends-himself-for-employing-prc-workers-difficult-to-employ-locals/

Written by Our Correspondent
Under-fired Singapore comedian Mark Lee, who was lambasted by netizens lately for employing too many PRC workers at his coffeeshop chain Old Town White Coffee said he is very keen to employ Singaporeans, but it is not easy to do so.
In an interview with Shin Min Daily, he said:
“We cannot employ as many foreign workers as we like because there is a quota for local workers to be fulfilled….Local F&B bosses willunderstand how hard it is to employ Singapore workers.”
Mark Lee was quoted as saying on Chinese online portal xin.sg 2 weeks ago that he has so many PRC workers on his payroll that he is contemplating buying a cash-counting machine to count their salaries as they prefer to receive in cash.
After Temasek Review broke the story, angry netizens threatened to boycott Old Town White Coffee for employing too many foreign workers to cut costs at the expense of Singaporeans.
Mark Lee also offered an explanation on why Singaporeans shun jobs offered by his company:
“As the working hours are long and they need to work in shifts including during the weekends, many Singaporeans are unwilling to take up these positions.”
His argument is often used by PAP leaders to defend their liberal immigration policies, leading to Singapore being swarmed by cheap and unskilled foreign workers in recent years which depress the wages of ordinary Singapore workers, especially those from the lower income group.
Foreigners not only make up one third of Singapore’s workforce, but 36 per cent of its resident population as well.
Stung by fast rising frustration, resentment and anger among Singaporeans, PAP leaders led by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong had been trying to appease them by promising to slow down the inflow of foreigners.
Their change in stance is however contradicted by Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong, who said recently that there will be no “turnaround” in the government’s policy on foreign workers and that their numbers may actually increase in the next few years.
F&B businesses have thrived in Singapore for years before the floodgates are opened to foreign workers. Some coffeeshop chains like the Ya Kun Coffeeshop employ mostly locals.
Mark Lee should have explored other options of making his job offers more attractive to Singaporeans first before pinning the blame on them for being “choosy” as the PAP is wont to do.
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

AvalanCh3

after the comming of those trash, wages gets press down below the market value. i remember mark saying that he pays those workers 800 per month which local can work. somemore more and more employers are pushing down the value of wages. this is how they make profit. ITS A DIRTY WORD

is he complaining that Jack Ass Neoh or mediacorpse is paying him lesser than the expected salaries he should be getting; for he is working long hours etc..at SINkingpoean's expected salary?

How about him? "scarface lee"...would be work for older town, if he is not the franchise owner or partner?...would he, himself, work for that kind of salary, that kind of working hours & that kind of working conditions?

:mad:

cooleo

i think if he dun mind paying a decent wage, then sinkies wudn't mind taking up the job or working on weekends.

Why pay $2, when u can get something for $1? In other words, PockMark Lee telling all u peasants not to KPKB, don't blame him hor!

cass888

i think if he dun mind paying a decent wage, then sinkies wudn't mind taking up the job or working on weekends.

You never tried.

Even paying the usual 1.5 times overtime pay and Singaporeans will complain and give that "work-life balance" BS.

cooleo

You never tried.

Even paying the usual 1.5 times overtime pay and Singaporeans will complain and give that "work-life balance" BS.

How to compare Sinkies against foreign trash?

Those FT are accustomed to shitty lives back in their native homelands, whereby there are no jobs and they might starve. I won't be surprised if they will work just for 3 meals a day with no pay.

cass888

How to compare Sinkies against foreign trash?

Those FT are accustomed to shitty lives back in their native homelands, whereby there are no jobs and they might starve. I won't be surprised if they will work just for 3 meals a day with no pay.

We're not talking about minimum wages here. Try asking a secretary who's being paid >$3k a month to work overtime WITH overtime pay (1.5x) and see the black face.

he can reduce his staff, by turning it to self service, and if he paid above market rate, then sinkies will come and work for him.

We're not talking about minimum wages here. Try asking a secretary who's being paid >$3k a month to work overtime WITH overtime pay (1.5x) and see the black face.

HEy sinkie, If the company is not current and efficient enough why blame the worker. If the company is good why need to OT.

Workers have their own life and why put it on work?

Employers own a company but they does not own the worker's life. WEll, that is sinkie's way of behaving. What's more i can say.

HEy sinkie, If the company is not current and efficient enough why blame the worker. If the company is good why need to OT.

Workers have their own life and why put it on work?

Employers own a company but they does not own the worker's life. WEll, that is sinkie's way of behaving. What's more i can say.

CB Kia tonychat,

kong simi lan cheow:confused: what you mean by 'company not current and efficient enough':confused:

KNN your english no standard lah.. same as your choice for a wife.. thai ladyboy prostitute:eek::biggrin:

iamtalkinglah

If such things happened, the boss should reprimand the secretary. But the overtime must be justified. Singaporeans have families, you can't expect them to work OT if it is not urgent.

From my experience, many employers want this to be done, want that to be done and it is not urgent.

iamtalkinglah

Mark Lee also offered an explanation on why Singaporeans shun jobs offered by his company:
“As the working hours are long and they need to work in shifts including during the weekends, many Singaporeans are unwilling to take up these positions.”

Of course Singaporeans won't want to take up these jobs! They have a family to return to!
Why don't they restructure the work instead of using FTs as a means of solution?

STUCK_HERE

Unfortuantely all business owners will vote for PAP because FT is cheaper and make their business more profitable.

That is until their business close down, then they will start to look for job and face the competition from their favourite FT.

So Mark Lee is like that, can't blame him actually.

littlefish

You never tried.

Everyone is entitled to choose not to work on weekends to spend time with their families (barring certain critical essential services). If the business owner can't get workers to work on weekends, he should get his family members to fill in. If he can't get family members to fill in, he should just close his business on weekends. What? He can't do that because that is the opportunity to earn big bucks? That is his problem, the workers are also losing the opportunity to earn $$$ by choosing not to work on weekends.

At the end of the day, it just boils down to wanting to make $$$ at all costs. That is the root of the problem.

cass888

Everyone is entitled to choose not to work on weekends to spend time with their families (barring certain critical essential services). If the business owner can't get workers to work on weekends, he should get his family members to fill in. If he can't get family members to fill in, he should just close his business on weekends. What? He can't do that because that is the opportunity to earn big bucks? That is his problem, the workers are also losing the opportunity to earn $$$ by choosing not to work on weekends.

At the end of the day, it just boils down to wanting to make $$$ at all costs. That is the root of the problem.

If the locals won't work when the FTs will, then it is the local's problem with being unemployed. That's the bottom line and it is good that the government recognises that the employers do not owe the employees a living.

iamtalkinglah

If the locals won't work when the FTs will, then it is the local's problem with being unemployed. That's the bottom line and it is good that the government recognises that the employers do not owe the employees a living.

That is a wrong mentally, the Gov't is getting FTs that don't have a family in Singapore (and thus they don't need personal time with their families) to compete with Singaporeans who have a mentally. This is unfair competition.

The Gov't let all these peasants from 3rd world country to compete with Singaporeans.

Let me ask you something, how do you feel towards the Gov't for giving these very FTs, PRs and Citizenship?

Char_Azn

F&B businesses have thrived in Singapore for years before the floodgates are opened to foreign workers.

Wait a min. Can someone help to explain this to me. I can't really remember the days when locals were all over F&B jobs in Singapore. As far as I can remember, F&B usually hires Malaysians or part timers. After the floodgates were open, they change from Malaysians to Ah Tiongs + part timers. OK, maybe it's in the 70s, when I wasn't even born yet