• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Hoseh liao.....The ticking time bomb of the 99-year-leasehold HDB flats

No need replace. Just renew existing flat lease.

No replacement of flats then who is going to pay for the renewal or extension of lease? How much are sinkies willing to pay for lease extension out of their own pockets?

Condo etc no one cares...it's the pap supporters in HDB estates that are a greater concern..they benefitted most from pap policies. If their nest egg is broken..they will turn..

Broken also not turn. Broken already turn to Worker Party for help? Don’t be daft!
:mad:olo

No replacement of flats then who is going to pay for the renewal or extension of lease? How much are sinkies willing to pay for lease extension out of their own pockets?

Pay? PAP just sign paper say lease extended. If you vote PAP they sign the extension. Pay nothing.

One other point. Can the flats last past 99 years?
the concrete structure can last more than 99 years and hdb may decide to renew the lease for another 99 years instead of tearing down and rebuilding (keep it under hdb) or selling the parcel to private developers. however, electrical and plumping don't last that long and need to be gutted out and rewired and replumped, especially sewage pipes. shitty stained stuff needs to go before 69 years.

If it goes b4 99 years...it's HDB responsibility to get it fixed...n those new flats..I doubt it will even last 69 years..let alone 99 years

Wat about marine parade? Tat estate also about 40 years old..my point is alot of these old HDB flats are occupied by the most die hard Pappie supporters. They also the ones that go around warning ppl not to vote against pap if not estate becomes slums etc..the pap will have to do something to placate these voters

Oh I see!...but Hougang is included in that 99 years time bomb too & most of the voters there are baby bloomers riding into the sunset, these don't care for the most, many will wbe l sailing into the sunset & into the sun...their leases is already 33 years plus, with another 66 years left. The most they live, will be another 30 years or whatever is earlier.

The whole trouble with these people voting for the PAP, is that..they do not see the whole picture, they are great believers of the fake news, fake information the PAP give out & they take it as the Gospel truth.

As for the oppositions baby bloomers....they don't really care about the dwindling lease years...

Yes the can is rolling down to the end of the road and there are many cans. Btw 5 rm in good estate is now more than 700 k for resale and more than 500 k for BTO in mature estate but silly sheep still thinks there is room for appreciation.

The only way for further appreciation is to reduce lease to 60 years but that is only shortlive as sgd is very expensive so wages cannot match. Ah Tiong comes mainly because of stability, be it prices, economy .. and especially currency. Any attempt to devalue sgd will likely cause a capital flight and is a no no option. With limitation of wage it is interesting to see how property can further appreciate especially when interest rate is also increasing.

Population going up to 10m which has triggered the enbloc sale boom in the last 7 months.

Latest transactions Pacific Mansion went to Leng Chan & Leng Beng for $938m and Estoril $225m to Far East.

Thia kong two big developers are close to clinch Mandarin Gardens for $2.8b.

So many thousands of multi-millionaires created overnight by the enbloc sale boom will also drive residential property price higher.

So many thousands of multi-millionaires created overnight by the enbloc sale boom will also drive residential property price higher.[/QUOTE]

methinks all these cash are printed money from the western central banks, and laundered money coming to buy up our properties, shares, currencies,
if you have a freehold property, you wont be able to buy back same location, same size, same freehold (you may be able to buy back same size same location but LEASEHOLD)

having said that, truth-hurts brought up a very valid point, how long can a building last even if its freehold? 50,60,70 years?

Depends on how the flats were built. HDB probably knows the answer. You build knowing how long the buildings are meant to last for.

Population going up to 10m which has triggered the enbloc sale boom in the last 7 months.

Latest transactions Pacific Mansion went to Leng Chan & Leng Beng for $938m and Estoril $225m to Far East.

So many thousands of multi-millionaires created overnight by the enbloc sale boom will also drive residential property price higher.

Yes my friend in Pacific mansion got more than $3m from her apartment. So happy for her! She has been miserable in her job tolerating a manipulative boss. When is god going to give me a lucky break since I have been tolerating malicious Malaysians?

The current enbloc boom is a very interesting phenomenon. Whether it is driven by private sector or the govt makes a big different. From info gathered so far it appears to be driven by the private sector. They even tendered at sky-rocket price for EC land. Who is coordinating the move? Some strong hand appears to be directing behind the scene. Till regulation on loans are relaxed, it appears is not easy to drive up prices. Many of the occupants of these enbloc condo owns more than 1 property and there is no desperate need for them to buy a replacement unit.

Ronnie Lim Ah Bee must be part of the 69%. Now he is writing to express his regret cos his nest egg hdb "asset" is worth $0 when the lease ends.
In that case, people like him deserves what's coming to do them in. Obigoot.

You malicious Malaysian pretending to study in London but actually studied in some SMK in JB, don’t be jealous lah. These sinkies already reaped 10 fold return in their old hdb flat prices. They can always tolerate a 80% discount in their hdb flat market price when it’s time for them to sell. And if they rent out a room at $800 and bought their flat even at $100k (price of executive HDB in 1980s) means they can make at least 10% great investment return while staying in their home nest for as long as they are alive.

You must be extremely attractive and sexy.
she is. i keep dreaming of gin all day.
168252_424521654247792_1921522249_n.jpg

Big-Gin-Bottle-2-Small.jpg

she is. i keep dreaming of gin all day.
168252_424521654247792_1921522249_n.jpg

Big-Gin-Bottle-2-Small.jpg

Seriously you think too highly of me, I am auntie. Unlike one malicious Malaysian here that thinks he is very young and go round saying my uncle this and that when he is the disgusting uncle himself.

Wat about marine parade? Tat estate also about 40 years old..my point is alot of these old HDB flats are occupied by the most die hard Pappie supporters. They also the ones that go around warning ppl not to vote against pap if not estate becomes slums etc..the pap will have to do something to placate these voters

it's all speculation and making a quick buck when the hdb is still "young" and has not reached its mid-life of the lease.

just don't be the last owner when the flat is reaching its last 10 years.

look at what's happening to the geylang flats:
http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/housing/govt-taking-back-191-homes-in-geylang-when-lease-ends

The quicker daft sinkies realise they actually have no assets, the quicker the pap will be voted out.