• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

We lost 84% of all our cpf in 1 year?

[h=1]WE LOST 84% OF ALL OUR CPF IN 1 YEAR?[/h]
Post date:
11 Feb 2015 - 5:11pm

According to the Straits Times news report “Singapore isn’t Greece, Temasek tells S&P in 29 pages” (Feb 6) - “Temasek said in January 2014 it was looking at ways to offer bonds to individual investors in Singapore. Issuing fixed-income products will provide an “alternative investment opportunity” for investors seeking stable returns with lower risks, the company said in a statement that month.”
GIC lost $59b in 1 year?
Since we are on the subject of risk – according to the article “Singapore’s GIC Suffers $41.6 Billion Loss” (The Wall Street Journal, 30 Sep, 2009) – “Government of Singapore Investment Corp. suffered a loss of about 59 billion Singapore dollars (US$41.60 billion) in the fiscal year ended March 31, making it one of the worst years for the sovereign wealth fund since it was started in 1981, people familiar with the situation said Tuesday.
One person said GIC’s portfolio currently stands at around S$265 billion after drops in equity investments and property valuations. GIC, which doesn’t disclose the value of its portfolio or amounts of yearly gains or losses, said in its annual report that its portfolio lost more than 20% in value in the latest fiscal year.”
Lost $127b or 84% of our CPF?
So, if we add Temasek’s “negative Annual Wealth Added of $68.1 billion in 2009″ to GIC’s estimated loss of $59 billion in 2008/2009 – does it mean that we may have lost about $127 billion?

To put this amount in perspective, does it mean that we may have lost more than double our total Government spending in a year (2008) or about 84 per cent of our total CPF funds then of $151.3 billion in 2008 (CPF Trends, October 2013) in just one year?
Cannot be transparent because … ?
Singapore’s total sum of foreign reserves is secret. Some of the reasons given as to why Singapore’s foreign reserves cannot be transparent were:
Singapore’s Minister of State for Finance: “You asked how much reserves we have. I’m sorry – I am not able to give you that answer. There are many, many people who are interested in how much we have. It has nothing to do with not wanting Singaporeans to know. It’s only if we go public with you, a lot of other people will know”. (March 15, 2008)
Singapore’s finance minister: “People do want to know, there is curiosity, it is a matter of public interest. That is not sufficient reason that there is curiosity and interest that you want to disclose information” ( August 18, 2009).
Win battles lose war
Reference: “CPF: LOST MORE THAN $100 BILLION OVER THE YEARS IN BAD INVESTMENTS?” (The Real Singapore, 15 Nov, 2014)

Win Battle Lose War
TRS Contributor

One leaflet to be distributed by the opposition is one on the CPF ...title it as Government robs you of your CPF returns.

This is what happen when PAP is in charge!!!!

Sinkies.. Your ass pain or not.. This is the Sinkie karma for being ball-less to protest against the PAP and throw them out of the parliament.

Sinkies.. Your ass pain or not.. This is the Sinkie karma for being ball-less.

sad but true..............people with no balls will lose their money anyway.........

Of course not. We use CPF money as collateral to borrow 2x more money. At most 30% loss nia. No worry. Singapore government will top up with more PR money and guarantee triple A ratings. No scared margin call.

What nonsense! CPF has paid us good returns every year! My recent statement says that I have received a lot of interest! Lots of people are also able to make monthly withdrawals for retirement needs. CPF is loaded with cash!

Sinkies.. Your ass pain or not.. This is the Sinkie karma for being ball-less to protest against the PAP and throw them out of the parliament.

Spot on jiu hu kia. Throw out the PAP!! Protest.

So when are you going to start protesting outside Parliament? Better still go physically screw pinkie's arse.

No balls to Walk the talk?

Do it, what are you waiting for?

What nonsense! CPF has paid us good returns every year! My recent statement says that I have received a lot of interest! Lots of people are also able to make monthly withdrawals for retirement needs. CPF is loaded with cash!

Good returns? Gosh, you are also an idiot in managing your money.

good is only they say one... if you remain frog in the well, you will not know what is better like ETF from malaysia which pays more and if the money is returned to you, you could hv got best result. but becos of your self imposed imprisonment to what you think is good you will never break through the glass ceiling of better. You will continue to be deprived whilst they continue to self enrich on you.

Deduct from their assets and salaries and bankrupt their descendants. Take from their forefathers....make sure EVERYTHING is accounted for.

Lock the gates and close all exits. No one is to leave before this matter is settled and the truth is revealed.

Good returns? Gosh, you are also an idiot in managing your money.

My money is very well managed. I paid off my HDB loan already, and my CPF is compounding furiously now to make me money. I am not near retirement yet, and yet I already hit the Retirement Sum. Thank god for PAP in charge. If WP was running the CPF, I may be selling tissue at the hawker centre today.

If wp in charge you can pay a nominal sum to get a valid license to sell tissue n your backside in hawker center,then you can count your blessings becos the fap will not only summon you for illegal hawking but jail you for promoting gay sex.

Yes, what you see might not be true, but what you don't see, might be true.