• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Retiring in Penang - Batu Ferringhi

Met couple of ex-Singaporeans who migrated to the US long time ago and considering retiring in Penang. Apparently some have made the move under Malaysia's silver haired programme.

Here are some of the reasons that they gave and they are interesting

- Penang reminds them of old Singapore in so many ways. Food, buildings people etc. They actually said they cannot associate with modern Singapore.
- psychology need to return to their roots. Penang meets their needs but not Singapore, mentioned in the first point
- one guy said that he felt shiok just going to Penang kopitiam and chatting with people. It like his kampung days in Singapore.
- Food a major draw
- cost of living very low - US 500 a month good enough.
- Condos facing Batu Ferringhi are affordable and good view with nice winds.

They also told me that many caucasians are doing just that in Penang.

I liked the old Malacca. They've ruined it.

Malaysia has got some very good spots. Malacca, Penang, Fosters Smokehouse, Genting , Kuantan Melin, Tioman, sun, seas and clear water and silky smooth sand.

Malacca is the only place where an entire shop all the showcases and shelfs stocked only with chinchalok and belachan. Nothing else.

Used to love fishing off Tioman, bring the catch back and ask Mahchee is do what she does best. Seafood galore, samba, fried, sautéed etc. Wonderful times.

I liked the old Malacca. They've ruined it.

Who are the 'they'?

Whoever did away with everything that I liked about Malacca. While Singapore has got better and better with age, Malacca has gone in the other direction.

Glad that it is not sinkees. Mudlanders are hopeless in everything except scream for more of everything.

What the Malacca authorities did was to try to remove "quaint" from many parts of the waterfront and replace it with "modern". However, the quality of the execution is so poor that the place is a shadow of its former self.

tell ur friend to go to australia,melbourne.

its definitely more wonderful than any shithole u can find in southeast asia although i havent been to many shitholes in southeast asia,besides the one im living in now.

the only problem with melbourne is the excessive amounts of chinks though.

another frend here and there
another i heard this i heard taht

also trying to drop himts that one is in the goold old USA

oh the attention one cannot get when getting creamed thinking of moi

FOOk you one million years fire

Malacca and Penang are my two favourite leisure destinations in Malaysia.
Both reasonable clean without the noise and pollution of KL.

my hotspots are also malacca and penang, there are more chinese than malays, simply the reason...

Malacca and Penang are my two favourite leisure destinations in Malaysia.
Both reasonable clean without the noise and pollution of KL.

Sillypore gahbrament has also been developing several property there.
They going to transform Penang into another Sillypore given more years to come.
Heard they built some shopping malls, hotels and even exhibition center in Penang.
That could be the reason why our Changi expo, Suntec Exhibition center is pretty dead these days.

Met couple of ex-Singaporeans who migrated to the US long time ago and considering retiring in Penang. Apparently some have made the move under Malaysia's silver haired programme.

Here are some of the reasons that they gave and they are interesting

- Penang reminds them of old Singapore in so many ways. Food, buildings people etc. They actually said they cannot associate with modern Singapore.
- psychology need to return to their roots. Penang meets their needs but not Singapore, mentioned in the first point
- one guy said that he felt shiok just going to Penang kopitiam and chatting with people. It like his kampung days in Singapore.
- Food a major draw
- cost of living very low - US 500 a month good enough.
- Condos facing Batu Ferringhi are affordable and good view with nice winds.

They also told me that many caucasians are doing just that in Penang.

Penang and Malacca r boring. Good to relax but later if u want something more u got to go KL or... Singapore!!

The southern seaside of Penang is virgin territory...... near the airport and 2nd Penang Link.

Kampongs and durian trees galore......

Several developments taking root there...... invest now.......

:)

Penang and Malacca r boring. Good to relax but later if u want something more u got to go KL or... Singapore!!

Some people like 'boring' places - peaceful, tranquil, sparsely populated, bountiful nature.

Growing up in Sinkieland, one should be quite sick of the bustling city life.