• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Retiring in Penang - Batu Ferringhi

Yes, Penang is very good choice.
So, is Ipoh.
Ipoh is a very quiet town.
and Ipoh gals are famous for .....

Boring places are good to raise family. If you are single its better to be wasted in city living. Matland with majority Chinese population or in governance should be as good as Singapore. That is as close as you get without the rising cost of living. Is there a place called Ferringhi? Sounds like Star Trek to me!!! LoL!

Malacca authorities did was to try to remove "quaint" from many parts of the waterfront and replace it with "modern". ..quality of the execution is so poor that the place is a shadow of its former self.
did away with everything that I liked about Malacca. While Singapore has got better and better with age, Malacca has gone in the other direction
Decay was quite evident in Malacca, so some improvements were in order. But agree it could have been better thought out and planned for. Price of cashing in on touristy bit, with Unesco thingy. Still, laid back charms unlike JB. And if you need excitement, KL's only 100kms away (1.5hrs to city).

By same count, Singapore's Chinatown is sanitised unlike the colourful past. Poor excuse of tourist traps, stalls:cool:

Boring places are good to raise family. If you are single its better to be wasted in city living. Matland with majority Chinese population or in governance should be as good as Singapore. That is as close as you get without the rising cost of living. Is there a place called Ferringhi? Sounds like Star Trek to me!!! LoL!
U never been to Penang??

If u r retired and want peace and quiet on the cheap, go Penang or Malacca. If u want to continue working, stay put in Singapore. That's where the money is. U can always drive up for getaways.

Plenty of food places in kluang. Lacking is entertainment. Personally go there twice monthly for food plus overnite stay.

Why Malaysia is the best place to retire?
Malaysia, situated in the heart of Asia, has one of the highest standards of living, yet maintains cheap cost of living. It has a great climate, though the Malaysians probably would probably disagree, facilities are excellent, road are great, transport is cheap.

Some others reason, why people want to retire in Malaysia:
•Superb healthcare facilities and highly-skilled medical practitioners. Yet medical expenses and insurance can be very cheap and affordable compare to other countries. If you visit government hospital, it will be very cheap and there are plenty of private hospitals for those who could afford it.
•Blessed with warm moderate weather all year round. If you feel the heat is catching up to you, take a break at the hilly resort such as Penang hill, Genting Highland or Cameron Highland.
•Big shopping centers that have international brand names as their tenants, as well as street malls that carry cheap local products.
•Great education system. It also has many international schools to cater for expats children, and numerous colleges with affiliation with well-known overseas universities.
•Majorities of the people understand and speak English.
•Strategic location which makes traveling to neighboring countries fast and easy.
•When retire in Malaysia, you can visit many interesting places, climbing mountains, caves exploration, beaches and more.
•For golf enthusiasts, Malaysia has many championship-level golf courses, and very competitive golf membership rates.
•A large variety of food, cooked in a lot of different styles that have been influenced by the various cultures that exist in the country (Malay's satay, Indian fish curry, Chinese's Dim Sum, Tomyam from Thailand, etc). In fact, most types of food in the region are available in Malaysia, and they are cheap too!
•Low crime rate and highly efficient Royal Malaysian Police. Malaysia banned gun possession, so you don't hear much reported cases of shooting incident.
•Cheap insurance rate as the people are not as litigious as in the West
•Very friendly people.
•Retain your citizenship and all its privileges in your own country. You can come and go as you wish. There is no restriction on your stay and traveling when you retire in Malaysia.
•And the list goes on and on...

If you like to know what the typical expenses are when you retire in Malaysia, refer to the table below.

Expenses Cost (RM) Cost (USD)
Meal for a day RM20 USD6
2-bedroom apartment RM100K to RM150K USD30K to 36K
3-bedroom house RM100K to RM200K USD30K to 45K
Bungalow (600sqft with land) Up to RM500K USD151K
Desktop computer RM2,000 USD606
Visit a doctor (with medication) RM30 USD9
*Based on the exchange rate of RM1 = USD3.33

PETALING JAYA: InternationalLiving.com’s annual Global Retirement Index 2014 has listed Malaysia as the third best place to retire for North Americans.

The annual index which is now in its 23rd year, listed 24 countries and Panama came out tops, while South American nation Ecuador came in second in the index that was released two days ago.

According to InternationalLiving.com, Malaysia is the best place to retire in Asia.

In last year's global retirement index, Malaysia was also placed third and in 2012, they were fourth behind countries like Mexico, Panama and Ecuador.

The report highlighted some tourist attractions in Malaysia such as the beaches, hill stations, mountain retreats, as the perks for those who want to retire here.

For most retirees, health care is essential and according to the index, Penang and Kuala Lumpur, provide some of the best health care facilities in the country.

"The hospitals are top-notch and the physicians speak English, having been either been trained or completed their postgraduate studies in the US or UK - which makes the cost of health care all the more incredible.

"You can see a specialist without any need for an appointment for as little as US$11 (RM36.20). Just turn up. It’s the same with dentists," said InternationalLiving.com

Other aspects that were mentioned were the first class infrastructure, high-speed connectivity and cable TV.

"The country’s diverse ethnic mix makes being a stranger here easy.

"Whether you live in bohemian Penang or Kuala Lumpur - the country’s hip capital, you’ll meet friendly locals who are happy to stop and chat and welcome you into their home," it said.

The Malaysia My Second Home (MM2H) programme is also beneficial for retirees as it allows non-Malaysians to stay in Malaysia on a social visit pass for 10 years, and it’s automatically renewable for an additional 10 years when it expires.

Other countries such as Guatemala, Malta, Brazil, Spain, Cambodia and Thailand were part of the 24 nations listed as retirement havens.

According to InternationalLiving.com, all 24 countries in the index were in close contention for the number one spot, but Panama nicked it due to its best range of retiree benefits.

"In the past year, Panama has introduced new visas, which makes it easier to gain residence there, and the country has made major advances in infrastructure,” said the website.

scroobal:

How come your friends didn't mention the high crime rates in Penang?

Forgot to mention that Taiping, Ipoh and Alor Setar are also interesting places to visit. Malaysia benefits from having the wide open spaces and long stretches of highways that Sinkie will never have.

By Road on the NS highway, the scenery and landscape between KL (Slim River) and Ipoh is truly breathtaking.

I used to think Penang best place to retire-can eat Penang laksa, char kway teow, lor bak, Kek Seng ice cream/ice-kachang ect2 until I discovered Thailand.

In Thailand no fear of racial problems and the girls are.....(need I add more?).
Try asking the Penangnite where they want to retire! (please do not ask PAP types like Khaw BW and Irene Ng )

Forgot to mention that Taiping, Ipoh and Alor Setar are also interesting places to visit. Malaysia benefits from having the wide open spaces and long stretches of highways that Sinkie will never have.

By Road on the NS highway, the scenery and landscape between KL (Slim River) and Ipoh is truly breathtaking.

Drive so so lah!! Nothing compared to US or Aussie!! But heck ! It's just next door, can go anytime!!

Exciting in what sense?

My only recollection of Yong Peng or Batu Pahat are as rest break stops for the coaches which ply between KL and Sinkie.
Some really suspect hygiene standards at these places.