• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Are you rooted here? Are you one of them ?

ilovesingapore

1230045_10151564311862115_2133967650_n.jpg

It is a limitation for Singapore that its citizens are so reluctant to be posted overseas, which in turn constrains their progress in multinational companies, said Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong at trade agency IE Singapore's 30th anniversary dinner.

"Singaporeans don't always go as readily as their employers would like them to," he said in a dialogue with about 600 business leaders at The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore hotel last night.

"It's a limitation for us. If we are not able to do that, I think it constrains our potential in the world," Mr Lee noted in response to a question on the issue.

Common reasons for this reluctance include children's education and a spouse's career, which make it hard to uproot.

I love Singapore and I love to work here in wonderful, peaceful and beautiful Singapore. I have my friends here,my family here and all my life experiences are right here. For me, there is no need for me to work overseas. I love it here. No need to go elsewhere.

"It's a limitation for us. If we are not able to do that, I think it constrains our potential in the world," Mr Lee noted in response to a question on the issue.

Nothing to do with being "rooted". Most sinkies are simply scared shitless of the unknown and fearful of unfamiliar surroundings.

They grow up mollycoddled by maids and mummy so it's hardly a surprise.

I had the same problem way back in the early 80s when I wanted to send sinkies on overseas assignments. None of them wanted to go despite the financial benefits.

Nothing to do with being "rooted". Most sinkies are simply scared shitless of the unknown and fearful of unfamiliar surroundings.

I had the same problem way back in the early 80s when I wanted to send sinkies on overseas assignments. None of them wanted to go despite the financial benefits.

Did molly like it hard ?:confused:

I thought singkies r very happy to take overseas assignments? Almost all want to migrate to another country. I think maybe its low pay tat y they dont want to do. But also this is a pap bs article.

Your so call financial benefits must be unattractive.

I met a crank operator who earns about $5K a month right here in Singapore. He told me he could earn more overseas. But he chose to stay here and work and be with his family - living together as a family is happiness for him. Maybe his family ties are very close.

Those who opted for overseas are mainly in the Foreign Service or in big big MNCs. You have no choice. Either you go or you get removed.So most Singaporeans will move overseas and stay for a couple of years before they return - kissing the ground of Singapore when they touched down.

Singapore is still the best place to be.

overseas assignments and attachments in the 80s with many specials like

hardship allowances, 4 home trips a years, all overseas tax paid (therefore home tax exemption due to double taxation indemnity)

plus many others like laundry and transport allowances, housekeepers. of course these varied from person to person as well as

country to country.

Your so call financial benefits must be unattractive.

USD75 per day per diem allowance x 365 days x 2 years plus all accommodation paid and all while still drawing a regular salary.

The Malaysians who accepted the postings came back and bought condos and landed property in Singapore and paid for them in full. The conversion rate at the time was 2.2.

it is all abut being employed which PAPigs want you to do. Your HDB is tied up to CPF savings and you cannot refinance your HDB to get a loan to start a SME.

Who wants to keep working for people, only PAP thought so and brain wash Sinkies and forbid them to refinance their HDB for biz us. 80% of Sinkies living in HDB loss the golden years period opportunities to start businesses whereas TW, HK, Mal Chinese could 贷 loan from bank using their property as collateral.

I thought singkies r very happy to take overseas assignments? Almost all want to migrate to another country. I think maybe its low pay tat y they dont want to do. But also this is a pap bs article.

Ah Sam I think you just unknowingly sabo your jhew hoo kia kah kias. :o

USD75 per day per diem allowance x 365 days x 2 years plus all accommodation paid and all while still drawing a regular salary.

The Malaysians who accepted the postings came back and bought condos and landed property in Singapore and paid for them in full. The conversion rate at the time was 2.2.

Mr. Leong, you just had that limited choice then. Singaporeans are just people, no different from citizens elsewhere in the world and are a mixed bunch. Some will, some won't, some won't leave their hawker food, some are willing to try anything the rest of the world has to offer. The minister who made the statement that Singaporeans are "rooted" here was just making statement to make his party's policies good that Peesai is comfortable (and implying that they made it so). I personally know Singaporeans who are now working in US, HK and UK on overseas postings. And for those who are reluctant to go, they have their own reasons. Paywise, Sg is on par if not better than other industrialized countries.

Mr. Leong, you just had that limited choice then. Singaporeans are just people, no different from citizens elsewhere in the world and are a mixed bunch. Some will, some won't,

I guess I must have been extremely unlucky with the bunch that I had to work with then.

Based on my experiences, I subsequently hired Malaysians whenever I could.

I guess I must have been extremely unlucky with the bunch that I had to work with then.

Based on my experiences, I subsequently hired Malaysians whenever I could.

It could be that life in Singapore is relatively easy. Comparing our sales personnel to our associates in Malaysia (and elsewhere for that matter), Sg is physically small and distances travelled are smaller too. A Malaysian living in Johor has to spend a day travelling (plus a night stay at hotel) just to make a visit to Ipoh) where a Singaporean can see three to five clients in one day, citing an example in Industrial products sales. Perhaps for this and other reasons, the overall package offered to a Singaporean should be more attractive than what is available to them here in Peesai. I myself had an outdoor sales position in Canada with a territory about the size of Singapore and it was extremely exhausting just from driving over the area, worse still when it snows. Singapore is a piece of cake.

I would think that people will go where the money leads... Its all about money and whether there are any opportunities