• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The poor standard of English among Singaporeans is so disgusting

SadPlumpGal

I find it unfathomable that so many Singaporeans - I estimate 80% of the citizen population - are unable to write a proper email without major grammatical or spelling errors.

As for sammyboy forum posters, my guess is that the rate is probably 95%.

And as far as conversation is concerned, many can't pronounce correctly.

I think our education system has failed in this respect.

I may feel unworthy, lonely and depressed, but at least I am grammatically correct.

How many can say that? 10%? 20%?

Loner,

2/3 of the world speak and write Chinese style grammars and left hand drive. I suggest adapt Chinese style grammar dump English. Since you oredi stick to England, here is how to change England to Chinese style grammar.

你好 is Chinese style grammar, convert English to Chinese style grammar ---- You good.

早上好 - morning good or morning up good. You see you have to wake UP in the morning, right, 上 serve its purpose in Chinese style grammar. Men got erection in the morning and UP also serves its purpose.

You like to fuck in the morning, dear? Your boy boy dick sure 上 one in the morning.

I find it unfathomable that so many Singaporeans - I estimate 80% of the citizen population - are unable to write a proper email without major grammatical or spelling errors.

Loner,

2/3 of the world speak and write Chinese style grammars and left hand drive. I suggest adapt Chinese style grammar dump English. Since you oredi stick to England, here is how to change England to Chinese style grammar.

你好 is Chinese style grammar, convert English to Chinese style grammar ---- You good.

早上好 - morning good or morning up good. You see you have to wake UP in the morning, right, 上 serve its purpose in Chinese style grammar. Men got erection in the morning and UP also serves its purpose.

You like to fuck in the morning, dear? Your boy boy dick sure 上 one in the morning.

In China you purchase an item it mentioned in Chinese character, Guarantee no spoil"
from Left to right!

When you return to complain that your product is not working! The Chinaman will tell

you! You read carefully from Right to Left: "Spoil No guarantee"

It depends who the guy is writing to.. if she is slimsexybigboobsGal, then the english will automatically be superb.

No lah ...singlish is lumber 1! We are sinkees, if we don't speak and write singlish, then who will ah?

Don't believe me, ask kee chiu lor.

That's due to acceptance of Singlish as Peesai's "official" language. In the past before the word Singlish was coined, it was called Bad English, now even radio DJ's use Singlish, just to sound "stylo-milo." Also, look at the widespread use of Singlish among tuition teachers. And once the kid goes to the hawker centre and orders char kway teow, all the effort put into English lessons go down the drains.

Frens, get your kids reading good books, other regional countries are vastly improving their written and spoken English, Peesai will be left behind at the current rate of change.

Growing up here, one is bound to pick up Singlish, and many of my friends are able to switch between Singlish and English depending on the person/group they're conversing with. But those making public speeches, and in official work should be more selective in their choice of words and phrases. Damn, even some Ministers can't put together a grammatically correct sentence

PAP discouraged Singlish and even the PCK show had to change track and speak better english. What happen to that?

The problem is in the education, in the past many well educated singkies can 'code switch' between English and Singlish. But with changes and so on, the next generation cannot differentiate. Also I not Chinese ed,,so easier to embrace english,,but now old so becoming even more singkified.

That's due to acceptance of Singlish as Peesai's "official" language. In the past before the word Singlish was coined, it was called Bad English, now even radio DJ's use Singlish, just to sound "stylo-milo." Also, look at the widespread use of Singlish among tuition teachers. And once the kid goes to the hawker centre and orders char kway teow, all the effort put into English lessons go down the drains.

Frens, get your kids reading good books, other regional countries are vastly improving their written and spoken English, Peesai will be left behind at the current rate of change.

I do agree.

Many top scholars and top students can't even speak proper English.

Many have a mixture of Singlish and Mandarin and most of them have a Chinese-based Helicopter mentality. Very few can think out of the box .Yes, they can score distinctions and bag As in all their subjects. But they cant hold a decent conversation or engage in some rational and logical thinking. The most tragic part is this: they can't write in proper English or spell correctly. Maybe they are used to SMS and sometimes you don't even understand what they are trying to convey. Yes, the poor standard of written and spoken English is appalling.

We can have a small study of the postings here and you can all make your own conclusion. Thank you.

Yes, since minister speak like that, what they expect the people to do? Have to admit the best ang mor speaking minitoot is tartman,,he speak like a stiff upper lip pom,,but with a bit more 'humility' in his 'tone' but he definitely not humane..

the worse is Sia suay,,he need to speak betterer, betterest, bestest engrand....man how does one even spell such words...oh one cant spell such words as they dont exist.

Growing up here, one is bound to pick up Singlish, and many of my friends are able to switch between Singlish and English depending on the person/group they're conversing with. But those making public speeches, and in official work should be more selective in their choice of words and phrases. Damn, even some Ministers can't put together a grammatically correct sentence

You meant "...failed in this aspect." :)

I do agree.

Many have a mixture of Singlish and Mandarin and most of them have a Chinese-based Helicopter mentality. Very few can think out of the box .Yes, they can score distinctions and bag As in all their subjects. But they cant hold a decent conversation or engage in some rational and logical thinking. The most tragic part is this: they can't write in proper English or spell correctly. Maybe they are used to SMS and sometimes you don't even understand what they are trying to convey. Yes, the poor standard of written and spoken English is appalling.

We can have a small study of the postings here and you can all make your own conclusion. Thank you.

Uncle, you siao ah? How dare you criticise the PAP. Wah lau, you want to be fired ah? I need you to pay me ...so please toe the line ok? :D

Some words are deliberately misspelled
Gobbling up taxpayers money no return
So end up people call you "Goberment"
No need to tell you why it's LEEgime hor
Is this then an attempt to stop such antics
Before it spreads and causes harm to PAPzis

1. fat gal, what you need is not someone with impeccable command of the English language.
2. a big and cold cucumber shall suffice you totally till eternity.
3. do you take the fat kid in sammboy or what:D

I do agree.

zorro monkey-faced