• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Generation Y lady PMET jobless for two years after graduation and feeling depressed

[FONT=Times New Roman, serif]Generation Y lady PMET jobless for two years after graduation and feeling depressed [/FONT]

[FONT=Arial, sans-serif]Hi Gilbert,[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, sans-serif]I have known about your site for quite a while but due to crippling fear, self-doubt and inertia that has at many times prevented me from taking the best course of action for myself, I have delayed sending this – but now I think it’s the time that I really need some external expert help and advice.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, sans-serif]I am a Singaporean graduate with a foreign external degree. I graduated with glowing Honours. However, it IS an external degree (and this is Singapore which prides local Unis), and my degree is a humanities.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, sans-serif]I graduated two years ago, but since then have yet to take on a full-time job.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, sans-serif]The last “real’ job I took was a part-time after more than half a year of unsuccessful searching last year.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, sans-serif]However, due lack of career advancement and he company being unable to promote me to a full time position, I left earlier this year with more hopes of greener pastures. However as of today, I have been unemployed for 5 months, again. I have been to 3 interviews since leaving the company but they were all unsuccessful.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, sans-serif]Coupled with the experience of interviews that I went to last year (which were obviously all unsuccessful as well), my self-confidence has plummeted and there has been large amounts of times whereby I find it hard to bring myself to apply for another job because of crippling self-doubt. Two obstacles that I feel I face are a lack of concrete experience on my.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, sans-serif]I have an interest in the arts, media and journalistic field, however most of my experience in those fields have been of the voluntary and the freelance kinds which employers don’t pay much attention to, and there is also a problem in not performing well in interviews– I have been to second and even third rounds only to be kicked out; again and again.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, sans-serif]I have been feeling down and depressed on a few occasions about my situation– many a times I have been a hermit and ashamed to network among my other peers who already have secure careers and to let them know of my predicament–which is quite counter-productive because I have read enough jobsearch literature to know that networking is a key to landing a good job.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, sans-serif]I think I am lost and insecure.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, sans-serif]I am not sure if this is a sign of better things to come, but an acquaintance knew that I am unemployed and looking for a job, wants to hire me for his new company.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, sans-serif]However, interactions with this company have left me feeling very unsure and a bit scared. Firstly, he has been utilizing myhelp for free (which at first, I thought I would offer to show my initiative, then I feel like he was making use of me), then I find that he is very pushy and grandiose which makes me feel a growing sense of doubt and fear.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, sans-serif]He has since offered a low salary for me that is well below my expectations and below the average starting wage for uni grads, but with the promise of earning commissions.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, sans-serif]But how much water does that promise hold?[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, sans-serif]I am also not sure if the nature of the job is what I want to do – deep in my heart I feel like this is not the company I want to work for and there is something better out there and this is not what I want to do, but I’m also not sure if I should trust my heart too.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, sans-serif]He is quite pushy and presumptuous and I feel like I have no other choice at my current situation than to accept this offer.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, sans-serif]However a growing sense of unease with each passing day (he has sent me the contract).[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, sans-serif]Interestingly the contract start date has passed but No real work has begun for me’[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, sans-serif]This has left me feeling depressed that sometimes I just burst into tears for no reason just thinking about it.[/FONT][FONT=Arial, sans-serif] [/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, sans-serif]I am confused, lost, alone, and feel like I have let myself down (I feel like I have a lot of potential in me), and feel that time is running out (I am in my twenties[/FONT][FONT=Arial, sans-serif] [/FONT][FONT=Arial, sans-serif]and behind most of my peers and this thought depresses me).[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, sans-serif]Whenever I see a job that I think I would like I feel paralysed with self-doubt to apply — this is against the backdrop of a hope of scoring a job elsewhere so I can“escape” this impending job (mentioned above) that is on my hands.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, sans-serif]A lot of contradictory feelings (maybe I should feel lucky as compared to others with my situation but why do I feel so depressed at times?). I think I am at a quarter-life crisis, I feel like I need some guidance, encouragement and a listening ear. Is it normal, the way I am feeling?[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, sans-serif]Please Gilbert, I would like to request for career counselling, is it possible? Maybe I have been applying for jobs the wrong way and conducting myself wrongly in interviews?[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, sans-serif]Maybe I should break out of my feelings of shame and be open to more networking? Or perhaps, I am just not wholly sure of the career direction to go towards? I would really appreciate your help and guidance on this.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, sans-serif]Regards,[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, sans-serif]Felicia[/FONT]
[FONT=Times New Roman, serif][FONT=Arial, sans-serif]Editor’s note: We have provided Felicia with a coach to assist her.[/FONT][/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, sans-serif]- See more at:http://www.transitioning.org/2013/0...n-and-feeling-depressed/#sthash.fJ26tVcg.dpuf[/FONT]

Re: Generation Y lady PMET jobless for two years after graduation and feeling depress

Felicia should work for the PAP ...they need more speech writers, spin writers.

Re: Generation Y lady PMET jobless for two years after graduation and feeling depress

The irony is that Gilbert the guy who runs the website is jobless himself

I have been feeling down and depressed on a few occasions about my situation– many a times I have been a hermit and ashamed to network among my other peers who already have secure careers and to let them know of my predicament–

Since here peers have all secured good positions and she is the exception, it shows that that the PAP is doing an excellent job at creating opportunities for everyone.

If she can't land a job, it's obviously her own fault. There must be something wrong with her. She should take a look in the mirror or perhaps it's her armpits.

Follow lky's advice..
If pretty can become a social escort...if ugly become maid.

A worse fate awaits Sinkie PMETs if and when AEC (Asean Economic Community) becomes a reality. Sinkieland will become the preferred destination of Asean job seekers.

BTW did she vote for PAP at GE 2011?

She has only herself to blame. Why blame the government! Twit!

人民行动党万岁万万岁!!!

I think the issue is she is a humanities graduate. No job demand for them. And i dont understand what she is writing. Maybe my engrannd not tat good. Also could b cos of her looks. If she chio can easily get job as a receptionist etc. Men r often the ones.w employment problems.

Dear Felicia:

For the moment, forget about your degree. Ask not what it can do for you, ask how you can make your employer some money, or how you can save them some money, and start from there. Look at your skills base, can you bake? Cook? Barber? Once you have a job, its easier to get a job. I don't think you're desperate yet, because if you are, you'd accept anything that pays.

Good luck.

Felicia should give up all hopes on the evil and greedy pappies who are determine to bring in more Foreign TRASH to replace sinkees.

No need to depend on education qualifications to find ways to earn a living. Some bros mentioned, can always do something else.

Looking back, I am glad I did not have high education qualifications. If I have a degree, I probably ended up working for someone else. Maybe even for the pappies.

ah felicia ... try b a hawker ...

ah loon n his jingang wil b proud of u ... :o

Humanities?

That's a first strike.

External degree?

Second strike.

No experience or internship?

Third strike.

Suddenly, I have an idea for Felicia. Why not become a professional con man, Pastor Felicia?

knn, think sooner or later, this profession will become hot.

She is well sort after in places like Thailand or Indonesia. Can teach English or even in international schools here with her qualification. If she entrepreneurial enough open langauge school sure bao-jia make tons of money from Thais and foreigners here. I urge her think big, the pond is so big and stop living like a frog in a coconut shell.

This is the frog speaking.

Dear Felicia:

For the moment, forget about your degree. Ask not what it can do for you, ask how you can make your employer some money, or how you can save them some money, and start from there. Look at your skills base, can you bake? Cook? Barber? Once you have a job, its easier to get a job. I don't think you're desperate yet, because if you are, you'd accept anything that pays.

Good luck.

Well! There r so many jobs out there for generalists with low barriers to entry... eg property agents, insurance agents...or she can try her hand in teaching...etc

...or she can try her hand in teaching...etc

To teach a subject, the uni course subjects need to be relevant to the subject?

If she takes up that shaky job, she will not have time to prepare for the real job that might be coming her way. Go for interview while working for that slimeball? Can play hide and seek in such a small coy?

A worse fate awaits Sinkie PMETs if and when AEC (Asean Economic Community) becomes a reality. Sinkieland will become the preferred destination of Asean job seekers.

BTW did she vote for PAP at GE 2011?

I see AEC as great opportunity for Singaporeans not threat. Its a great opportunity to make lots of money simply with three things (1) sinkie internationally recognized qualification and (2) our ability to speak and write Engrish and (3) the Red Passport

Fuck those coming to disneyland to take away our jobs. It's time to make big money in bigger markets. I have been telling all my younger family members to get ready to conquer the other markets, start now don't wait.

• Myanmar banks still using hands and finger to count money,
  • Thailand desperately need qualified English teachers and schools (parents not so well to do are sending kids to India to learn english can you imagine that?)
  • Try to book hotels in Myanmar and Vietnam you realized its so expensive why because demand exceed supply and they have to build more infrastructures so that foreigners will invest - sinkies if dare to be contractors there sure boom
  • Cambodia and Myanmar tourism industry growing through the roof, sinkie's hospitality industry experience is well sort after, be your own boss, open a boutique hotel there or open a tour agency catering to specific clients
  • More foreigners coming to this part of the world and sinkies with their language skills can become translators or at least liason officers for them, who knows can also end up becoming a lobbyist in that country and make tons of money.

The list continues. Knn limpeh regret not study and have degree last time if not limpeh sure cheong all over the places instead of stuck here selling screws. Money is everywhere and in this region sinkies are the most qualified to take them. Please don't tell "no opportunities", "no link", "don't know how to start" etc etc etc. If one ask these questions one deserves to be bullied by FTs.

tumblr_mef0w8bqsD1qz6f9yo1_500.jpg