• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singaporean bullied at Work Place by new FT bosses !

Screen%20Shot%202013-04-27%20at%2010.58.27%20AM.png

Email FT boss sent above to entire Sales Team not only insulted Jerard Lee but his family too

Dear TRS,

I worked as a Sales Executive in my ex-company VRL Singapore Timetric, a research and information service provider for the financial and professional services markets. I hold a regular salary paying job for me to support my family and to make ends meet. I'm the sole bread winner as my wife had left her job to take care of my 1 year old daughter.

My ex-company had a organizational restructure last month and a new regional sales director was employed to fill this position. His name is Amit Patel and I report to him directly. He was raised up in the UK and studies there as well. He came to Singapore to work 3 years ago. had been working in Singapore for the past 3 years.

After he joined the organisation, many things began to change. Amit was rude to people, arrogant and like to use vulgarism in the office which is not appropriate and very unprofessional. He also like to talk down to subordinates . Began to implement office politics and micro-managent which I wont go into details. Since Amit joined on mid-March, I relate a few incidents of bullying which were directed at me. I had to endure them all these while suffering in silence and for fear of losing my much-needed job.

The first incident occurred about when Amit took my wallet which was on my desk. He screened through my wallet and took out my IC to inspect it. When he saw the photo displayed in my IC, he began to laugh very loudly in front of other colleagues. I felt very insulted because what he did was insensitive, unsympathetic and immature.

The second bullying incident happened when my ex-colleague brought her 4 year old daughter to the office and Amit made a remark to everyone saying "Ask your daughter to come tomorrow as she can make better sales calls than Jerard." This disparaging remark belittled me and my ability in making sales calls. As a sales director, he should motivate the sales staff by encouragement and set a good leadership example, not the opposite by saying such a remark.

I was also subjected to excessive monitoring as I was forced to sit beside Amit without any clear say of my sitting arrangement. He was able to see my computer screen and could monitor every action and movement which I make. Last week, he sent me a private email stating "less reading... more talking". Being supervised until so closely, there was a tremendous amount of pressure on me mentally because of the lack of trust from Amit and as a subordinate, I had no privacy to do my work.

The worst bullying incidents happened when our sales team went for a department lunch last friday, 19th April 2013. We had Italian food buffet at one of the nearby shop-house restaurant. We ate pizzas and other Italian food during the lunch. When we returned back to the office, I was shocked to receive an email from Amit which was sent to the entire sales team and this email showed a picture of a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle. I felt so humiliated as that email was very unprofessional and downright degratory. Amit's boss, Ruben who was the new Regional Director of Asia-Pacific (joined only 2 weeks ago) then send out another email with a group picture of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and the email stated "This is what an argument looked like in the Lee household". He abused his power as a senior management by backing up Amit's earlier picture of me as a teenage mutant ninja turtle. I felt terribly upset at his childish and immature behaviour. His picture implied that my household are all ninja turtles which I was indignant and insulted because my family should not be dragged into the picture at all. He did not show any basic respect to my family by labelling them as ninja turtles and this clearly humiliated and denigrated my family. As the Regional Director of the Singapore office, His behaviour is totally unacceptable to me. Later in the afternoon, Amit sent another email address to my other colleague which I was copied in the email. This was a separate email and had no connection to the previous email of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle. In that email, I was being referred to as a turtle. I was very embarrassed when I saw the email because to be addressed as a turtle is very degrading and humiliating for me.

Through all these bullying incidents, it was a really tough and difficult decision for me to stay in my job as I have to consider to safe keep my job or to to suffer more the bullying incidents which will torment me mentally and take a toll on my health. I came to a decision to tender my resignation on Tuesday, 23 April 2013 and that was my last day. I had a sale in the morning the particular day, and that sale was given to another colleague without any proper reason or justification from Amit. I was denied the reason for knowing why it was so and this sale might make a difference in the amount of commission i earned.

Foreign talents who have the privilege of coming over to Singapore to work are paid well, often treated with respect and dignity from the government and people alike. Our government took pains to organize integration activities to help them settle in, to promote ‘bonding’ with the locals, to make them feel at home. Most of them are even allowed to bring their family members over so as to ease their mind such that they can take care of them as well as to have companionship in a foreign land.

As a local Singaporean, I really feel very helpless because I have been bullied in my homeland by my bosses who are Foreign Talents working in Singapore. All along, I had treated them with respect and dignity and I have never done anything wrong to offend my bosses to become a target of workplace bullying. Despite this, I will stand up to fight for my rights and create awareness in Singapore. I will go all the way to make sure that justice is served and the bullies to face the consequences of their actions.

Anonymous TRS reader

Editor's Note: This email has been forwarded to the MOM for clarifications. We urge everyone to stand up and fight for your rights as a Singaporean and put a stop to all this bullying by foreigners. Singapore belongs to Singaporeans not foreigners.

Very well qualified and extremely knowledgeable with vast international experience. He's definitely an asset to any organisation.

http://www.linkedin.com/in/amitvithal

[h=3]Summary[/h]Background highlighted by over 11 years of visible and measurable achievements with companies such as Bond Technologies, London: high level bespoke technical consultancy solutions within top tier investment banks, delivering consultation and implementation mainly of STP(Straight Through Processing) solutions.

VRL KnowledgeBank, London & Singapore: multi-product electronic business intelligence and smart forums within the Retail Banking, Wealth Management, and Cards and Payment sector. Known to consistently hit targets, I also broke several revenue records, posting record figures year-on-year to enable rapid growth of the VC owned business.

Priority Collection Ltd / ICLP group, consultation and provision of high end loyalty marketing and proposition development within the cards & payments sector working closely with CXO's from leading European card issuers.

Hobsons Plc, London, Washington DC & Melbourne: provider of customisable, proprietary technology solutions.

Shared Services & Outsourcing Network (SSON) - Asia. A portfolio dedicated to working closely with CXO's from Fortune 500 companies, local SME 's, BPO (HRO, RPO, F&A, MPS) ITO and Emerging Technology solution providers to facilitate business development and partnership opportunities and commonly assisting solution providers to uptake customer adoption paths throughout the region.

Verticals covered, FSI, Telecommunications, Healthcare, Pharmaceutical, Government, Education, Media, Transoport & Logistics, Retail, F&B, Manufacturing, Energy & Utilities and Hospitality.

Although born and raised in London, England, I have had the experience of living and working in several European cities and held international positions in Singapore, Washington DC & Melbourne.

Specialties:Fulfillment of Client Objectives and Expectations;
Translating Services & Solutions Into Value For Businesses
Client Strategies & Programs;
CRM implementation & management (Salesforce.com)
Market Down Strategies;
Revenue Generation;
Client Trends & Preferences Research;
Client Service Enhancement Programs;
Strategic Planning & Sales Forecasting;
Sales Presentation & Marketing;
Staff Recruitment, Development & Supervision;

Singaporeans really are pathetic nowadays. They just roll over and surrender at the slightest hint of adversity.

The shit we had to put up with when my generation of sinkies first joined NMCs was 10 times worse. We all hung in and thrived and came out of it stronger.

Agoraphobic

Dear Anonymous TRS Reader:

Very simple. Join a competitor and take away with you the company's key clients. That what most salesperson worth their weight will do. Better still, if you can form your own company, do that, and snatch some key staff members too.

Very well qualified and extremely knowledgeable with vast international experience. He's definitely an asset to any organisation. ]

It depends on the quality and knowledge of his staff. If I am indispensible and a core member in the organisation where my work is important and nobody can do, this newbie will get it from me and I will make his day in office like hell.

If he is smart and got gut, he would not be writing to TRS already.

Very simple. Join a competitor and take away with you the company's key clients. That what most salesperson worth their weight will do. Better still, if you can form your own company, do that, and snatch some key staff members too.

Someone of the calibre to do as you suggested wouldn't have wasted his time writing some bullshit crap and sending it to a lame duck website.

I've analysed this issue and come to the conclusion that Singaporeans have gone soft because they grow up in a sanitised environment where hardship and adversity have been removed from the equation.

The baby boomer generation grew up in a much tougher environment. The streets were more dangerous. Schools were full of bullies. Teachers gave hell too and often beat the shit out of students with impunity. Those who went on to Uni had to face 3 whole weeks of "Orientation" which was nothing more than a fancy term for physical and mental abuse. Surviving NS was another achievement with barrack inspections at 3 am and various other forms of torture being the norm rather than the exception.

By the time this generation entered the working force, workplace bullying was child's play in comparison and was easily handled with aplomb.

Agoraphobic

.........................................I've analysed this issue and come to the conclusion that Singaporeans have gone soft because they grow up in a sanitised environment where hardship and adversity have been removed from the equation.

The baby boomer generation grew up in a much tougher environment......................By the time this generation entered the working force, workplace bullying was child's play in comparison and was easily handled with aplomb.

I wonder what happened to the term "The rugged society." Used to hear that during primary school days.

Yeah, I see what you mean by society becoming soft. Doting mothers and maids. Even the dogs have become soft. I remember getting chased by packs of stray street dogs cycling in my youth. Nowadays, the dogs fucking get sent to get pampered by groomers, don't see dog fights in the streets anymore. It was more fun then.

Singapore society really has become soft and easy. I tell my sales reps they have an easy time compared to their peers in Malaysia. In Peesai, they can easily see three to five customers a day. In Malaysia, sometimes to visit one customer is a day's trip. Indonesia lagi worse.

Very well qualified and extremely knowledgeable with vast international experience. He's definitely an asset to any organisation.

http://www.linkedin.com/in/amitvithal

[h=3]Summary[/h]Background highlighted by over 11 years of visible and measurable achievements with companies such as Bond Technologies, London: high level bespoke technical consultancy solutions within top tier investment banks, delivering consultation and implementation mainly of STP(Straight Through Processing) solutions.

VRL KnowledgeBank, London & Singapore: multi-product electronic business intelligence and smart forums within the Retail Banking, Wealth Management, and Cards and Payment sector. Known to consistently hit targets, I also broke several revenue records, posting record figures year-on-year to enable rapid growth of the VC owned business.

Priority Collection Ltd / ICLP group, consultation and provision of high end loyalty marketing and proposition development within the cards & payments sector working closely with CXO's from leading European card issuers.

Hobsons Plc, London, Washington DC & Melbourne: provider of customisable, proprietary technology solutions.

Shared Services & Outsourcing Network (SSON) - Asia. A portfolio dedicated to working closely with CXO's from Fortune 500 companies, local SME 's, BPO (HRO, RPO, F&A, MPS) ITO and Emerging Technology solution providers to facilitate business development and partnership opportunities and commonly assisting solution providers to uptake customer adoption paths throughout the region.

Verticals covered, FSI, Telecommunications, Healthcare, Pharmaceutical, Government, Education, Media, Transoport & Logistics, Retail, F&B, Manufacturing, Energy & Utilities and Hospitality.

Although born and raised in London, England, I have had the experience of living and working in several European cities and held international positions in Singapore, Washington DC & Melbourne.

Specialties:Fulfillment of Client Objectives and Expectations;
Translating Services & Solutions Into Value For Businesses
Client Strategies & Programs;
CRM implementation & management (Salesforce.com)
Market Down Strategies;
Revenue Generation;
Client Trends & Preferences Research;
Client Service Enhancement Programs;
Strategic Planning & Sales Forecasting;
Sales Presentation & Marketing;
Staff Recruitment, Development & Supervision;

1. tsk tsk tsk.
2. Sammy, it maybe only you that believes some snake and its cv in softprint hoh:biggrin:

greenies

It depends on the quality and knowledge of his staff. If I am indispensible and a core member in the organisation where my work is important and nobody can do, this newbie will get it from me and I will make his day in office like hell.

Corporate world is very cruel.
They do not know that: -

Nothing is permanent.
No one is indispensable.
Everything is in temporary existence.
All are relative to time.
We are valuable at present, but in next second we would become zero.

We have to realize the truth of being in the Society, and contribute for developing peace, love...

Corporate world is very cruel.
They do not know that: -

Nothing is permanent.
No one is indispensable.
Everything is in temporary existence.
All are relative to time.
We are valuable at present, but in next second we would become zero.

We have to realize the truth of being in the Society, and contribute for developing peace, love...

that is so negative... you are trained in buddhism is it? your words sounds buddhist but covered up with negativity.. this is not healthy.

Lordshiva

Its just another dirty keling kiah who is pretending to be a brit mah...nothing new....they were slaves in a colony or apart of the british empire for the longest time....noiw they get to go to england study there ...fuck fat white chicks and speak with a posh english accent and they suddenly ...poof...stays brown like a piece of fucking turd that they are.....

bo pian your country loves foreigners especially the pretentious bastards from india.....did anyone ask that idiot wtf did he and his family vote for in the last GE???

60.1 chance he voted for pap.....

greenies

I have no respect of such person.
I call him as loser, afraid to loose his position.
Or, he wants to recruit his kaki to strengthen his circle.

greenies

Wow! You are sharp.

Where got negative?
I just want to promote the good cause.

Buddhism does not encourage negative view, but emphasis on causes and effects.
A good Buddhist avoids causing others suffered.

Lordshiva

post the mobile numbers of these 2 fuckers lor....

then you see whether the people here free enough to call up and harass these fucking bastards just to teach them a lesson....

p.s. dun forget to call from kopitiam payphone after you beers finish at 3 am hor? :smile: