• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Free MRT services for off-peak hrs - will it work???

enterprise2

Interesting idea ...no doubt from a PAP MP. Put that aside a minute, maybe it's not a bad idea after all?

PAP is pay and pay, such policy will not be voted into law.

that's wht i thought too, minimal impact of no influence, only aunties and uncles will most probably catch the train at the odd timing. they are of small group compare to the young working adults, they will probably sleep later and hop on at peak morning hours.

PAP not worried lah.....they know sinkies too lazy to change lifestyle

How does SMRT cover costs if they let you use their trains free? They will probably increase fares during peak hours :)

Regardless of whether it will change people's behaviour, such a gesture would show that the govt is serious in getting people to take public transport.

But those that chose to take a car instead don't care about saving a few bucks on MRT rides. They stick to cars for convenience or 'face' reasons.

This suggestion is aimed at easing the peak hour crowd.

PAP only imposes surcharge during peak hours. They will not offer discount or free travel during offpeak.
The fundamental guiding principle is - it must generate more revenue

PAP only imposes surcharge during peak hours. They will not offer discount or free travel during offpeak.
The fundamental guiding principle is - it must generate more revenue

1. bingo!
2. nothing matters much.
3. except gdp!:D
4. foc, must be kidding.
5. kosong free lunch hoh:p

It will be a zero sum game for them....they give to one group but will get back from another.

I've got a feeling that it's going to be like how they want to help the poor. Pay 7% GST to help the poor. So when they say you get to ride for free, somewhere you are going to pay double or even triple. Just like the GST bonus package gov gave just before they increase GST. Give you $100, take back $300.

You are easily fooled. You must have changed your vote and voted pap after pinky lee 'apologized' in May 2011

Dun know. Dun care. Dun bother.

Short answer: NO
Long answer: NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

dumb cunts. first remove the 50 cent CTE ERP toll for going home during off peak hours!

do those mp ever ride on the mrt before. peak or off peak hours, the trains also packed. off peak consider 0550 to 0645 lor, even free take up rate limited. who want to reach office at 0730 when official timing is 0900? and many singaporean work beyond 6pm. so that a 12hrs working day, like that got work life balance?