• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Panasonic replies: We pay PRC workers $760 and not $500

[h=2]Panasonic replies: We pay PRC workers $760 and not $500[/h]
PostDateIcon.png
August 29th, 2012 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Editorial

imagesCANLFSIY.jpg
Earlier, TRE has reported that a group of over 100 PRC workers at Panasonic Refrigeration Devices Singapore Pte Ltd had started a petition to draw attention to their grievances working at the Panasonic plant (‘Over 100 PRC workers at Panasonic’s Singapore start a petition‘).
The PRC workers complained that their basic pay of $500 is too little. They claimed that they have to work illegally, exceeding the legal limit of 72 hours of overtime a month before they can earn a decent salary to make a living. Also, insufficient overtime notice was given to workers resulting in them unable to plan their own activities properly.
They said that each of them had paid $6000 fee to an employment agency, purportedly designated by the company, in order to get the job.
Jolovan Wham from the Humanitarian Organisation for Migration Economics (HOME), an organization dedicated to providing assistance to migrant workers and victims of human trafficking and forced labour, confirmed the petition on his Facebook page:
“In the last few months, I have been approached by over one hundred migrant Chinese women and men who are factory workers in Panasonic’s plant in Singapore. My colleague and I spoke with the management but we were unable to achieve anything out of the discussions. The workers also failed in their negotiation for better working conditions. Finally, they have decided to send in a petition.”
Panasonic has refuted the charges, according to local media report. A Panasonic spokesman said all entry-level workers get a minimum of $760, including allowances, and not $500 the PRC workers have claimed. He said that Panasonic complies with the Singapore law on overtime work, and workers are given one week’s notice.
The spokesman said, “They have the right to accept or reject the overtime arrangement.”
It is believed that this is the first time foreign workers are turning to online petitions to vent their grievances.
Meanwhile, the Manpower Ministry (MOM) said it is aware of the case and is looking into it. It has urged the workers to come forward.
One of the PRC workers, Liu Xili, told the media that he had quit and would be going home to Liaoning, China next month.
Liu said in Mandarin, “Nobody forced me to work here, but the low pay is not worth it.”
Employers in Singapore have been ‘pressurizing’ the MOM to give them more foreign quota so that they can employ more foreigners to work in their companies. It is not difficult to understand why.
What we are seeing is nothing more than our local employers indulging in a modern-day form of ‘human slavery’, supported by our Govt’s liberal policy in the last few years.
Join our TRE facebook page here: http://www.facebook.com/TREmeritus
rw.loader.gif

700 still considered superlow when our mediocre pm gets more salary than worlds powerful president.

Just tell the workers that with $700 they can own a HDB flat & have a few babies:p

tink differens has gone 2 ze piglet seller! ... selling piglets make goot moni! ...

send the entire truckload back...and get them to warn their countrymen not to work here...lesser FTs this way

Those PRC workers damn charm. Just to earn extra one thousand RMB must leave their family back home and fly so far away to work in factories under the hot sun with humid weather.

Not to mention kena looked down by Cocked eyed Singaporeans because they can't speak English!

Is it worth it?? Moral of the story. Dun buy from companies who exploit their labourers!

Panasonic ideas for lifetime slavery and labour exploitation.

Those japs bastards.

The strange thing is that if these were kelings or bangalas all of a sudden they would be pitied and respected.

Just by stating the facts i am a tiong? Oh well a tiong is still much higher up the hierachy compared to a shit skin like you.

As long as your happy and feel "Superior", I am happy for you kachuak lang.

A factory worker in China can now earn between RMB2000 - RMB2500 with OT. Only S$100 difference max if they work here and they still need to rent a place here.

On top of that still have to pay $6000 (RMB30,000) to agent - which means they work for free for one whole year.

So in fact they are worst off coming to work in Singapore.

Yep, that additional $260 is certainly bigger than a bullock cart wheel.

A factory worker in China can now earn between RMB2000 - RMB2500 with OT. Only S$100 difference max if they work here and they still need to rent a place here.

On top of that still have to pay $6000 (RMB30,000) to agent - which means they work for free for one whole year.

So in fact they are worst off coming to work in Singapore.

And still kena f by some Ugly Singaporeans.

What is the point?

One factory zone in China can produce more than ten times the output of all factories in SGP!!

Why are still providing low wage jobs for Singaporeans?

Yes, send this whole lot of dishonest PRC workers back. They can be replaced easily by another bunch of PRCs in no time. They are no talents, just a bunch of cheap labour. Show them some colour, the next batch will be more obedient.
"Insufficient overtime notice was given to workers resulting in them unable to plan their own activities properly".
They are expatriates? What activities are they trying to plan? Chiong HFJ or go GL sell illegal cigarettes/viagra?:rolleyes:
Why don't they just go and fuck themselves? :oIo:
Wonder why would anyone take their absent as a big deal, as if the whole fucking cuntry evolves around these 100 PRCs.:rolleyes:

Trying to do a FoxConn in SG mah. Seriously, overtime allows them to spend on daily necessities and remit all their basic pay back to the mainland. So, who lose in the end?

Wonder why would anyone take their absent as a big deal, as if the whole fucking cuntry evolves around these 100 PRCs.:rolleyes:

When I just RODed back in the 80 Panasonic ( MESA ) was my 1st place of work. Compare to local companies their welfare and pay not as bad. However their OT is crazy. 1 time after comming back from Japan after a 3 months training have to set up a few new production lines. Day and night we work didn't even go back to sleep for a week my parents thought I was doing my reservist and was in camp :p

PRC workers were misled by the agent there, agent must have told them don't worry no $$ in Sickapoor just go to the wall press money will come out! So your salary $760.00 is alright!

You can survive no money, no worries, go to the wall and press the money you need
money will come out!
Pressto...ATM