• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Migration for Successful Singles/Couples

roadrunner

Re: homework and researchRe: Migration for Successful Singles/Couples

eh johnny333 this problem simple simple only.. tell ur immigration officer to say to these PRCs "lai, ai sio pak mai" & if the answer is

1. Yes
2. they start to quote numbers or secret society names
3. offer financial bribe
4. offer box of fake cigs
5. offer 2 for 1 cheap dvds
etc. etc.

Deport with immediate effect & masuk name into immigration blacklist! :biggrin:

I was talking to a immigration officer & she was telling me that the Chinese PRC were a problem because it was difficult to tell if these people had links to organised crime:eek:

So lucky kenna upgraded now on board

1B9FE9A2-51F5-4662-8DF6-83677CF31391-525-000000A5A740155E.jpg

Not a problem bro. Always good to have a discussion and people learn from one another.

I have a lot of respect for anyone who thinks out of the box and not simply accept status quo. Just wanted people not to confuse migration and opportunities abroad. Sometimes the opportunities abroad turn into an attractive lifestyles which leads to people make it their new home.

Your point about myths is very valid.

Hi scroobal, to be honest, I am not totally experienced as the bros here. I typed out a long post as I just said what I feel about this hot topic of taking the plunge or not. But if you ask me, I would place it as according:

1. OZ - The relatively near distance to SG itself is one of the main factor. The significant amount of Singaporeans that have settled there is another one.

2. USA - Environment there is one of the most tolerant of migrants, since the US is founded by migrants themselves. Some Singaporeans are thrilled by the fact that they get to possess firearms, which is novel to them excluding the period of NS. Not to mention, US has most of the traits that people will find attractive.

3. NZ - This is really dependant on the demographics of the migrants-to-be. The older generation will want to slow down and take up slower activities like living in a farm or driving around the countryside, hence NZ will be considered a suitable place. For the younger ones, they may not like it too much as things there go on a much slower pace and youth has always been about being brash and being fast.

4. UK - Generally not considered attractive in the past, due to its strong sterling pound. As a country itself, it does not have much to offer and it does not help that the perceived stereotype of British people being snobs and placing contempt on Asians. As the pound falls, it has become more attractive as a tourist destination but not as a place of immigration. Most of the time, those who have studied in UK before will know its charms and its beauty will be tempted to migrate over there.

5 Korea- Singaporeans are a spoon-fed lot. If they cannot even master their mother tongue like Mandarin, they are going to face much more difficulties learning the Korean language. Majority of Singaporeans have issues grappling the fluency of English and Mandarin/Malay/Tamil. Learning to be fluent in Korean is considered too tough for them, since they have to toil three years just to reach the fluency of an average Korean. But then again, some might be attracted to the fact that there are much lesser migrants compared to the Anglo nations, so if they have the set of skills + language, they might excel there. But it is one of the tougher routes, and the long working hours is not going to attract much, since all these migrants-to-be seek to slow down and take it easy.

I am ready to stand corrected. I am no expert in migration.

Hi scroobal, to be honest, I am not totally experienced as the bros here. I typed out a long post as I just said what I feel about this hot topic of taking the plunge or not. But if you ask me, I would place it as according:

1. OZ - xxxx.

2. USA - Environment there is one of the most tolerant of migrants....

3. NZ - For the younger ones, they may not like it too much as things there go on a much slower pace and youth has always been about being brash and being fast.

4. UK - Generally not considered attractive in the past, due to its strong sterling pound. As a country itself, it does not have much to offer and it does not help that the perceived stereotype of British people being snobs and placing contempt on Asians.

5 Korea- Singaporeans are a spoon-fed lot. If they cannot even master their mother tongue like Mandarin,

I am ready to stand corrected. I am no expert in migration.

Your summary of each country is full of stereotyping and fallacies plus you fail to grasp the SIZE and depth of diversity of each destination.

OZ is "near" only if you're referring to Perth. Perth is not Australia and Australia is a lot more than just Perth. Melbourne and Sydney are much, much further away. Perth is nothing like Melbourne and Melbourne is nothing like Sydney. Darwin is a different world altogether.

USA may be tolerant of diversity in parts of Seattle and SFO but you'd probably be singing a different tune if you ended up in certain areas of the Bible Belt. The USA is huge and every state is different and within each city, every suburb is different. There is no way you can sum up the whole country in one sentence. You'd need to write a book and a very thick one at that.

NZ : Auckland is no sleepy hollow. It has a great night life for the young and most of the children of the sinkie migrants I know are very happy here especially those who are into sports and outdoor activities. None of them are hankering to go back to Singapore. NZ recently won 6 gold medals at the Olympics in events that required the ability to move fast or throw hard. Not bad for a "sleepy" society where everything moves slowly.

I don't know where you got this idea that the UK is full of contempt for "Asians". If I can generalise, I might say that they don't like the Pakis but that's because they cause so much trouble and suck up so much in welfare resources. All the other countries I'm familiar with don't like the muslim immigrants either so the UK is hardly alone in this aspect. Anyway there are probably more Asians in London than there are whites in this day and age so any Asian of any colour will blend in very nicely if London is their destination. In large areas of some cities, you'd think you'd ended up in Pakistan.

All the countries you mention are huge compared to Singapore. Immigrants have a very wide choice of lifestyles upon arrival. In OZ, there is the tropical weather of Darwin or the freezing temperatures of Tasmania if arctic conditions are your thing. There's the isolation of the outback or the cosmopolitan atmosphere of the big cities like Melbourne and Sydney. In the USA, you can choose liberal California, Bible Belt George Bush country, the more traditional East Coast, French influenced New Orleans, retirement haven Florida and anything in between. You could live a year in each state and you'd probably be able to do only half of them before you met your maker.

Singapore is so small that the Singlish is Jurong sounds the same as the Singlish in Katong. In other countries, you'd know where you are even if you were blindfolded just by listening to the local accent.

blur sotong

I heard that the very unforgiving papaya regime makes it a point to ensure that you put back all the CPF monies you have taken out PLUS INTEREST should you decide to balek kumpng if you have not hit the withdrawal age yet. Is this true?

Where do you guys hear this rubbish. Another one I constantly hear is that ex Singapore cannot work again in Singapore. All not true.

There is no requirement to put anything back in CPF. The only requirement is that exSingaporeans have to fill an extensive form including family history if you want to work in Singapore. That is more to see if you completed NS requirements or if a family has not absconded etc.

Dear esteemed Scroobal,

Just confirmed with CPF website: http://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/CPF/my-cpf/Overseas/LivO9.htm (scroll down to the bottom of the page)

"Refund of CPF
If you are an ex-Singapore Citizen or Singapore Permanent Resident (PR) and wish to return as a PR again, you would need to refund the full CPF amount you had previously withdrawn. A Letter of Clearance would then be issued to you for your submission to the Immigration and Checkpoint Authority (ICA) for completion of the PR formalities.

If you wish to know more about the procedures to apply for PR status, click here to access the ICA website."

Needless to say, interest have to pay back too, just like your housing loan or education loan withdrawal.

nayr69sg

Staff member

Wah Nayr69sg u got big balls man, i respect u for being so brave, most people do research & fly over to prospective country & check it out, dun say kia si kia su singaporeans, even angmos do the same it's just wanting to make sure it's the right decision. Tell me did you do research or ask friends & kakis who had settled there first or did you just throw a dart on a map & it landed on Edmonton, Canada? what is the draw for singaporeans in Edmonton? i knew of a family who sold up lock stock & barrel to move there back in the 80s but after 2 yrs they came back saying it was very COLD, buay tahan ah.. first time see frozen icicles:eek:

Doing "landing" is a formality to confirm the PR. Usually when you get issued the immigration visa you have a certain deadline to do your "landing" or else the visa will expire. We did our landing, explored a bit for 2 weeks and then returned to Singapore.

Have to plan a bit lah. But on hindsight all the planning also didn't do very much in terms of long term issues. The planning was more logistics in nature eg what to do with stuff in Singapore, moving stuff over, finding a place to live in Edmonton, preparing documents to get discount for car insurance in Canada, studying for driver's test etc. Small stuff.

In terms of research I didn't do much honestly. I wanted to go to Alberta. Strong oil related economy. No provincial sales tax. Only GST. There were 2 main cities. Calgary and Edmonton. Edmonton was more blue collar and had more entry level jobs. Also met asychee there when we landed. I visited Vancouver during my landing and it is just not the city for me and my family.

Other than that it was about taking the plunge.

ashjaw

just thought I add to this. I know someone who has obtained his PR but got a job without being physically present in the country. He got an interview via SKYPE and they offered him a job. This is in Australlia. Boss I think is ex-Malaysian.

I also know that if you have your PR and needs to get out physically, there are rules you need to follow. Someone actually set up a company and then sent himself out of the country citing work reasons. There are of course conditions attached to this so you need to check this out. This case is for Canada.

Whatever advice you obtained, use it for reference only as everyone goes through different experience. Don't give up hope and be optimistic especially when the information is not to your advantage. Take note of the facts only and leave the opinions alone.

Messi86

Hi all,

My maiden post. With regards to immigration to the US, I've checked online and that there is one type of visa H1B1 that is a work visa specially for Singaporeans? However, I understand that it is a non-immigration visa i.e I will be unable to convert to a green card (permanent residence) down the road is that correct?

I also read that there is an employment based immigrant visa EB-2 for professionals with advanced degrees.

However, one thing I am unclear of is for both H1B1 and EB-2, is it contingent upon securing a job in the US and having the employer to sponsor your visa? To me, I see it as a chicken and egg issue as it is usually very hard for the employer to take a chance on you and take you in in if you are far away in Singapore while for the Singaporean, it is hard to get into the US without any work visa with prior employer sponsorship.

Any avenues to get your foot into US without prior employer sponsorship or job offer?

Bro, they should give you the Star of Temasek for being a true blue Singaporean. Our generation grew up on the letter of the law that we struggle to move on things that are not written in black and white.

That is meant for new Singaporeans and PRs. If you are born and raised in Singapore and you want to come back, just fill up the form( remember the ling and tedious form that has be filled up). People will guide you. The only exception is those who have financial issues and migrated to get hold of the CPF. Its a long story.

we have the same issues with migrating families that are asked to pay the bond for males kids. Nearly 100% of the time, the mindef contact centre will state that a bond is required in black and white when it is. not the case. Those who can afford it paybthe bond while those who can't have their kids declared as defaulters never to step into this country.

Dear esteemed Scroobal,

Just confirmed with CPF website: http://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/CPF/my-cpf/Overseas/LivO9.htm (scroll down to the bottom of the page)

"Refund of CPF
If you are an ex-Singapore Citizen or Singapore Permanent Resident (PR) and wish to return as a PR again, you would need to refund the full CPF amount you had previously withdrawn. A Letter of Clearance would then be issued to you for your submission to the Immigration and Checkpoint Authority (ICA) for completion of the PR formalities.

If you wish to know more about the procedures to apply for PR status, click here to access the ICA website."

Needless to say, interest have to pay back too, just like your housing loan or education loan withdrawal.

Welcome aboard.

Could the US guys start chipping in.

Hi all,

My maiden post. With regards to immigration to the US, I've checked online and that there is one type of visa H1B1 that is a work visa specially for Singaporeans? However, I understand that it is a non-immigration visa i.e I will be unable to convert to a green card (permanent residence) down the road is that correct?

Any avenues to get your foot into US without prior employer sponsorship or job offer?

blur sotong

Bro, they should give you the Star of Temasek for being a true blue Singaporean. Our generation grew up on the letter of the law that we struggle to move on things that are not written in black and white.

That is meant for new Singaporeans and PRs. If you are born and raised in Singapore and you want to come back, just fill up the form( remember the ling and tedious form that has be filled up).

we have the same issues with migrating families that are asked to pay the bond for males kids. Nearly 100% of the time, the mindef contact centre will state that a bond is required in black and white when it is. not the case. Those who can afford it paybthe bond while those who can't have their kids declared as defaulters never to step into this country.

I am already thoroughly unsinkified in many ways having been away for a good number of years. But, yes, I am still a true blue Sinkie in a peculiar way because come election time, I dutifully fly back to cast my vote for the opposition regardless who is standing on the opposition ticket so long as I am given the chance to vote. That is how true blue a Sinkie I am.

It is interesting to note that per your input, there are two sets of law by various dimensions:
1. New shittyzen vs locally born sinkie
2. based on the letter of the law vs those in shades of grey (BTW, the book "50 shades of Grey" - a sex novel, is currently being promoted cheap cheap in Oz)

I let readers here decide which set of law will be applicable to them in that extremely unforgiving regime.

Guess you forgot to mention another dimension - elite vs non elite - having different treatment in the eye of the law.

BTW, since you brought the topic of NS, allow me to add on to what you have always shared with readers in the forum at the Emigration Matters folder i.e. for the son to avoid NS, besides the various things one need to do such as getting son out of Sinkieland before 12, don't get that pinkie ic, etc you forgot to mention - NEVER EVER travel on that sinkie passport after 12. Needless to say, never renew that sinkie passport for son as well.

This is from my personal experience. I hope you will update your input on this in whatever thread you have in the that Emigration Matters folder.

Your suggestion about not paying up the bond and be branded as defaulters is not a good way of handling the situation. One never know how this will affect the future of the son one day. I know of a chap, who son fell in love with a sinkie woman viz online chat and he can't get to meet her in SG. So she flew to Oz a number of times. Sad? All because of the bloody unforgiving regime.

And yes, THANK YOU for all your sharing.

Bro, you need help with comprehension.

In the 12 years in this forum and addressing these issues I have been consistent with 2 things.

1. Not to renew the passport when it expires for a male child

2. No need to pay bond for the exit permit when you are not required to pay bond in the first place which is the case for all migrating families. Use the $75k or more and invest in a house or an appropriate investment.

Nowhere did I suggest to default or break the law.

Please read carefully.

BTW, since you brought the topic of NS, allow me to add on to what you have always shared with readers in the forum at the Emigration Matters folder i.e. for the son to avoid NS, besides the various things one need to do such as getting son out of Sinkieland before 12, don't get that pinkie ic, etc you forgot to mention - NEVER EVER travel on that sinkie passport after 12. Needless to say, never renew that sinkie passport for son as well.

This is from my personal experience. I hope you will update your input on this in whatever thread you have in the that Emigration Matters folder.

Your suggestion about not paying up the bond and be branded as defaulters is not a good way of handling the situation. One never know how this will affect the future of the son one day. I know of a chap, who son fell in love with a sinkie woman viz online chat and he can't get to meet her in SG. So she flew to Oz a number of times. Sad? All because of the bloody unforgiving regime.

12 years ago, I remember being very enthusiastic about helping Singaporeans to emigrate. However, I am now older and wiser and have come to the conclusion that it is better to leave them to slow cook in their own juices in that shit hole Island..

This part I agree, Singapore has 60% daft sinkies not worth our time.

blur sotong

I heard that the very unforgiving papaya regime makes it a point to ensure that you put back all the CPF monies you have taken out PLUS INTEREST should you decide to balek kumpng if you have not hit the withdrawal age yet. Is this true?

Where do you guys hear this rubbish.

There is no requirement to put anything back in CPF. The only requirement is that exSingaporeans have to fill an extensive form including family history if you want to work in Singapore.

"Refund of CPF
If you are an ex-Singapore Citizen or Singapore Permanent Resident (PR) and wish to return as a PR again, you would need to refund the full CPF amount you had previously withdrawn. A Letter of Clearance would then be issued to you for your submission to the Immigration and Checkpoint Authority (ICA) for completion of the PR formalities."

That is meant for new Singaporeans and PRs. If you are born and raised in Singapore and you want to come back, just fill up the form( remember the ling and tedious form that has be filled up). People will guide you. The only exception is those who have financial issues and migrated to get hold of the CPF. Its a long story.

Specially dedicated to Scroobal:

http://www.sammyboy.com/showthread....HDB-Flats-and-Migration&p=1187450#post1187450

"btw, they call it "reinstatement" of cpf (and interest) if you're ex sinkie and apply for spr, and if you give up spr and re-apply for spr again."

I let the rest of the reader decide. I rest my case.

blur sotong

Bro, you need help with comprehension.

In the 12 years in this forum and addressing these issues I have been consistent with 2 things.

1. Not to renew the passport when it expires for a male child

2. No need to pay bond for the exit permit when you are not required to pay bond in the first place which is the case for all migrating families. Use the $75k or more and invest in a house or an appropriate investment.

Nowhere did I suggest to default or break the law.

Please read carefully.

Bro, there is no need to be so aggressive. No need to tell me that I needed help in comprehension either.

Please review what you have posted with regards to those who do not have the financial means to pay the bond - "Those who can afford it paybthe bond while those who can't have their kids declared as defaulters ".

Guess you missed a very important point with regards to travelling on a Sinkie passport i.e."NEVER EVER travel on that sinkie passport after 12. "

Boy's passport may still be valid for travel even after 12. If boy travel on that sinkie passport, he is deemed to have "benefited from being a citizen of Singapore" and hence will be required to serve NS when he come of age. The only way to ensure that boy is not being screwed is to ensure that he is not going to fly or travel out of the place of residency wherever that may be, until boy secures a new passport from his new country of residency. Without the new passport from the new country of residency, boy cannot travel even if his grandpa or grandma passed away. That is how unforgiving it is.

Kindly include that part of "NEVER EVER travel on that sinkie passport after 12. "

To assist fellow Sinkies from all kinds of entrapment, lets share whatever we could.

Regards

Specially dedicated to Scroobal:

http://www.sammyboy.com/showthread....HDB-Flats-and-Migration&p=1187450#post1187450

"btw, they call it "reinstatement" of cpf (and interest) if you're ex sinkie and apply for spr, and if you give up spr and re-apply for spr again."

I let the rest of the reader decide. I rest my case.

my advice is to confirm in writing with the "right" ica official, rather than relying on hearsay in online forums to get to the real facts. from my recollection in my correspendences, my statements are correct. and they are consistent with the official version in the ica website. there is an faq section for folks new to this angle of re-emigration to sg. reinstatement of cpf does not apply to new non-ex sinkie pr's as they don't have cpf savings in the 1st place! anyone who says reinstatement of cpf only applies to these newbies (who never had cpf accounts before) gotta be smoking ganja. :p

Bro, you seriously need help with simple english comprehension. Not trying to be aggressive but just being honest.

Agree to let the readers decide.

Bro, there is no need to be so aggressive. No need to tell me that I needed help in comprehension either.
To assist fellow Sinkies from all kinds of entrapment, lets share whatever we could.

Regards