• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Single Singapore man struggling to survive in Singapore

May I add to your above comment? I recently heard that Singapore taxi drivers is making at least $3k per month up to $6k if he works extremely hard, this is from the driver himself.

With the type of property prices we are having.......a real estate agent that makes $3K per month is a farking useless one that probably closes a single small deal every 2-3 months.
This type of agent....company will consider him as a part-timer....better off looking for a full-time job.

$3k per mth is the type of agent who does only rental deals. And not many judging by this pittance.

Sad to say Tony, your words will sound like alien words to sinkies, "multiple streams of income"? Unheard of nnacceptable by sinkie standard.

Don't mind him as it is obvious he has poor command of English. Someone should actually GIVE him some tuition (he does not know one Do Not "teach tuition'")

Actually the thread title in incorrect.....you dun have to struggle to survive in sinkieland.........i think $2K is enough.......key word being survive....basic survival...many can do it with much less.

$2k just to survive in Sinkieland? Then what do you propose to ITE grads and below? There ain't enough reservoirs to go around you know?

Don't mind him as it is obvious he has poor command of English. Someone should actually GIVE him some tuition (he does not know one Do Not "teach tuition'")

Tuition will only help if the person is adequately educated in the first place.

$2k just to survive in Sinkieland? Then what do you propose to ITE grads and below? There ain't enough reservoirs to go around you know?

Like I said, many can survive with much less....$1000 income can also buy flat and feed family of 4.
Basic survival without struggling needs at least $1.5k (final figure liao)....that's for food and transport without any frills.

Like I said, many can survive with much less....$1000 income can also buy flat and feed family of 4.
Basic survival without struggling needs at least $1.5k (final figure liao)....that's for food and transport without any frills.

Your $1.5k is before or after CPF? After CPF deduction, maybe not even enough money to buy a coffin.

Still want discount? Cannot liao...this one net 1500 is limit...below this is struggling survival liao...meeting basic need also got problem....have to walk to work or starve on alternate days.

Actually if you want to go hardcore survival mode, just eat instant noodles and bread everyday. Use candles at home. Ride a bicycle to work.

You can probably survive on $800 per month.

Actually if you want to go hardcore survival mode, just eat instant noodles and bread everyday. Use candles at home. Ride a bicycle to work.

true.
but when a human is survive in this way, one will probably choose to become a pet dog.:eek:

I know of more extreme cases...actual cases....you can even exist on half of that with money to spare.
End of the day if need to survive till this level its not funny anymore....like bro mentioned its worse than a dog....you can get a better deal even in prison...and frankly what is the point? It's not as if now is some wartime era.

This guy is a loser. Wherever and whenever. Whether in SG or else where. Today or yesterday.

The good thing is he's single so he'll not spread his pessimism genetically.

a sinkie like leetahbar a.k.a. leetahsar who lives with parents and surfs porn and sbf every day and night can subsist on sgd666 each month. no rent, no utilities, no transport. sgd15 for 3 hawker meals a day, drink water from home, sgd150 for internet and iphone use per month, and the remaining sgd60 to sgd69 for 3 chickens in gaylang.

True you can survive like this but in the end would end up with poor health over the long run and need money for medicine

There used to be an elderly woman who hanged out at the Science Fac canteen. She'll eat the left overs on the tables. Lots of under grads ESP the chabors who'll never finish their food.

True you can survive like this but in the end would end up with poor health over the long run and need money for medicine

you see those agents who make it to the papers one are those who know people in the rich men circle.
those who made 3 to 4k per month are those really thru hard work.

$3k per mth is the type of agent who does only rental deals. And not many judging by this pittance.

Sad to say Tony, your words will sound like alien words to sinkies, "multiple streams of income"? Unheard of nnacceptable by sinkie standard.

Not if one was forced into it by family debts and feels compelled enough to do it for the family. Working 2-3 jobs, giving tuition, running errands for others. All this was all in a days work back then, worked without time off for CNY as well as all the major holidays for years as i worked OT or sold stuff in the factory. Folks back in secondary school even thought i was loaded but they had no idea.

what you did was very common in the 70s and 80s. but something changed after that and the people lost their drive to take on multiple jobs. perhaps its to do with civil service policy prohibiting staff from having side-lines.

wouldn't one be better off in the kampung/jungles hunting snakes and squirrles than eeking out an existence in the city on $800/mth?

city living is great if you earn at least 5k/mth and have no dependents.

if not, kampung temasek will be better.