• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Employer: Young Singaporeans seriously need to wake up their bloody idea!

[h=2]Time for Generation Y to shape up or be prepared for a life of mediocrity[/h]Posted by temasektimes on June 24, 2012

There was a recent debate online on young Singaporeans becoming increasingly ‘soft’ like ‘strawberries’ who are unable to withstand the harsh realities of life.

As a Singaporean employer manager a SME of over 200 staff, I can attest to the fact that young Singaporeans nowadays are plagued with all kinds of attitude problems and have taken for granted the good life that their parents have bestowed on them by virtue of their hard work.
Just to give a few examples:

1. My company put up a job ad recently hiring full-time administrative staff at $1,800 monthly (office hours, five day work week, no shift work) looking specifically for Singaporeans. We received a number of inquiries over the phone, but most just want to bargain for higher pay first without making the effort to make a trip down for the interview to discuss the details. We eventually hired two fresh polytechnic graduates. One did not turn up for the on-the-job training without giving a valid reason and another left after two weeks citing a better offer elsewhere.
2. One staff who has been working for over a year tried to hold me to ransom for a higher salary via SMS in spite just being given a pay rise of $200 three months earlier. She rejected my offer to negotiate in person and ‘MIA’ the next day without giving a month’s notice.
3. Spending time on Facebook, surfing the internet, using the company’s PCs to watch Korean dramas during working hours are commonly observed among some Singaporean workers. Sometimes, they even act blur when I walked into the office as if nothing has happened. Despite repeated warnings by the HR, they persist in their ‘activities’. When one was threatened with the sack, she simply threw all her work aside and walked off without saying the word, disrupting the company’s operations and causing it to make a loss.

4. Taking MCs and leaves in the last minute without passing their work and responsibilities to fellow colleagues. There were times when they left office early to ‘see’ a doctor only to come back hours later without a valid MC.

5. Job-hopping: reading the classified ads during working hours, using the company’s phones to call for prospective employers and arranging interviews and giving short notices when leaving the company.

I could go on and go and I have not stereotyping young Singaporean workers. While there are some good, motivated and responsible ones around, such workers are the exception rather than the norm.

We are a home-grown company which employs more than 90 percent Singaporeans. As far as possible, we will try to employ Singaporeans first before foreigners, but with so many difficulties faced in hiring Singaporeans and retaining them for a number of years, we may have no choice to turn to foreigners.

For those of you in the SME sector, you will know the many constraints we face – many of us struggling to keep afloat in the face of intense competition from the giant GLCs for the same pool of clients in the small Singapore market. We would love to offer higher pay for Singaporeans provided they are able to contribute to the company, but if they come with the mindset of just earning quick and easy cash, why should we invest in them?

Young Singaporeans seriously need to wake up their bloody idea that they are guaranteed an iron rice-bowl upon stepping into the workforce. When I graduated twenty years ago, I worked seven days a week, 12 – 18 hours each day for five years to earn enough to start my own company. My wife and I saved every single cent we have for our family. We had no car, no paid holidays and no luxurious pursuits or products. Just plain, honest and solid hard work to get to where we are today.

If you refuse to plant your feet solidly on the ground and work your socks off, then don’t expect money to drop from the sky. If you do not have the earning capability, then spend less and don’t splurge on expensive holidays and branded stuff to show off in front of your girlfriends and relatives. And if you do not have the will, hunger and desire to succeed in life, then be prepared to live in mediocrity for the rest of your life.
I know I will get flamed for this article, but this is the HARD TRUTH for young Singaporeans – your diploma or degree is only a stepping stone in life, not a fast-track ticket to success. Nobody is going to give you a car, a career and a flat for free. You have to fight hard for them yourselves and you have nobody to blame but yourselves if you fail to make the mark. I am sorry, this is how the real world works outside and you folks seriously need to shape up or get ship out! Lastly, but not the least, please get out of your mama’s shadow, stop whining and start behaving like adults!

LAM C K

RWSSLOTS

LAM Ck - dun talk cock lah...u got money now talk money language. please lah...u think u like ft, then move your whole company to pinoy land lor.

babuSingh

Dont understand why LAM CK have to boast about working 20 hours a day and no car? This is your life you choose and no one force you. If you think working hard for some scum bags rather than spendin time with your loved ones is a honorable thing to do, pls go ahead

Nowadays the younger gen work smart not hard. These two is completely different.

And please dont compare locals to FT because most FT came here alone with no family so they can afford work longer hours not that they like working hard, it is because they go home also nothing to do.

Local SME? Thank goodness I don't have to work for one. :rolleyes:

Sinkie bosses, you think too highly of yourselves and your puny kuching kurap companies.
No wonder you support the pro-FT policies of the PAP, and most likely voted for PAP too.
An employer who always hire the cheapest option will NEVER invest in its own people (training or perks).

lianbeng

[h=2]Time for Generation Y to shape up or be prepared for a life of mediocrity[/h]Posted by temasektimes on June 24, 2012

LAM C K

lianbeng replied to lam ck: "20 years ago those youngsters still not yet born into this world lah how they know u real or bluff one? 20 years ago i just finished 2-year fulltime NSF lah where got people work so hard one? stupid lam!":biggrin:

Cruxx

It's a self-fulfilling prophecy. You treat your workers as garbage, they'll behave like garbage. Respect them and they'll take pride in their work. It's that simple, really. Sinkie workers' productivity is one of the lowest in the world. Wage share of GDP is also similarly low. Contrast this with France, a country where the wage share of GDP is higher than 50%. Is it any wonder then that French workers are so much more productive than Sinkie slaves? :rolleyes:

besotted

In the last few years in this forum and many years before that in the old forum, I have been saying this again and again to advise our youngsters to buck up.

Youngsters now are too soft, especially the highly westernised local grads who don't even know the basics of Confucian values of hard work, diligence and filial piety

They are influenced by sluts like Lady Gaga who promote LGBT, piracy and slutty dressing

They waste their time during office hours on Facebook posting a picture of their lunch and wait for their friends to poke and like the post

As a tireless SME owner I can fully understand Mr Lam

I tried to hire locals but except for one poly girl and one 55-year old former army encik the rest are bunch of idiots and extremely lazy.

PRCs are the best - hardworking and listen to instructions. Pinoy are good for service. Singaporean are good so that I have base for ratio to hire wonderful PRC and Pinoy

Cruxx

In the last few years in this forum and many years before that in the old forum, I have been saying this again and again to advise our youngsters to buck up.

Youngsters now are too soft, especially the highly westernised local grads who don't even know the basics of Confucian values of hard work, diligence and filial piety

They are influenced by sluts like Lady Gaga who promote LGBT, piracy and slutty dressing

They waste their time during office hours on Facebook posting a picture of their lunch and wait for their friends to poke and like the post

As a tireless SME owner I can fully understand Mr Lam

I tried to hire locals but except for one poly girl and one 55-year old former army encik the rest are bunch of idiots and extremely lazy.

PRCs are the best - hardworking and listen to instructions. Pinoy are good for service. Singaporean are good so that I have base for ratio to hire wonderful PRC and Pinoy

The world is ruled by soft westerners. How many Confucian Chinese can you find on the Forbes Rich List? :rolleyes:

Not just Gen Y, the whole society is the same. Maybe because we are more affluent.

If you compare the older folks nowadays vs the older folks 30 years ago, the are also relatively spoilt

seriously, will the SME boss work for $1800/mth in Singapore high cost of livings. He should feel his heart and answer sincerely.

This guy must be running a company that has poor productivity or that it is no longer viable and his means of survival is paying below market rates. He therefore cannot attract quality Singapore talent and have to deal with dregs. Or he is finding excuses as he prefers tomexploit cheaper foreign labour.

Common sense will tell him that Singaporeans cannot live on air. They too need a job to survive.

This guy must be running a company that has poor productivity or that it is no longer viable and his means of survival is paying below market rates. He therefore cannot attract quality Singapore talent and have to deal with dregs. Or he is finding excuses as he prefers tomexploit cheaper foreign labour.

Common sense will tell him that Singaporeans cannot live on air. They too need a job to survive.

That is why I said it is a Karma thing. The SME boss afraid his company will close down without cheap labour to run his unproductive business. Thus he may ended up working for someone else. I am sure when he applies for jobs as worker, his ego will be overly bloated because he used to be boss and demand to be paid handsomely and the cycle goes on and on. The best is to lock the influx of immigrants, do a therapy shock on economy and Singapore will be out of the wood and than every puzzle will fall into place. No more vicious cycles to worry about. Unfortunately our government is weak and meek and I don't feel there is any leadership in Singapore.

Many Sinkie wage slaves spend long hours at work, but what do they do?

Surf net, chat on the office phone, play with their smartphones, talk cock at the pantry, extended smoking breaks.

Most of them don't have the guts to leave before the boss does, even though their work for the day has been done.

Oooh, boss is still around! Better not leave the workplace before sunset. Open some spreadsheets, look busy!
And many of them don't even have paid OT.

Long hours = productivity? Riiiight. :rolleyes:

Should be like France or Australia. 5pm = fuck off from work, no ifs ands or buts.
And be like Spain: mandatory afternoon siesta.

Life is short. Don't work so hard. Whatever tasks assigned to you, do a professional job. But there is no reason to go the extra mile or sacrifice your personal time for your corporate masters. Especially not when your wages have already been artificially depressed. Answer work-related phonecalls or emails after office hours? No.

Logisex

SMEs have always find it hard to employ staff (way before the influx of FTs) because of their size (hence lack of career opportunities), family style management, low productivity, reluctance to invest in their staff (in terms of training etc)............and last but not least - low pay. You can easily find staff who have worked there all their life and still getting less than $2k a month.

20 years ago, we have these SMEs. 20 years later, we are still seeing the same SMEs minus those that have closed shop. They have never gone beyond 'Small and Medium' size over these years so I think Mr Lam should be the one who needs to wake up. He's gonna get worst with those low cost but unproductive and incompetent FTs so he might as well close shop now.

blackmondy

Dear Mr Lam,

If one day your business close shop and you have to work for someone else, will you settle for a 1.8K pay ? And even if you accept the job, will you be so siao on, knowing well the job prospect sucks ?

besotted

Hahaha, Mr Lam won't accept $1,800.

Singaporean minimum wage is $2,500 as long as you are above 30 years old and have driving license.

Just drive a taxi, can pick and choose destination, government protect your rice bowl.