• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The PRC, the peranakan and the sinkeh

dream_waker

I heard a lot of PRC bashing in this forum nowaday and it reminds me of the plight of my parent and grand parent when they first came to Singapore.

My parent remembered very clearly about the discrimination that they used to face from the babas when they were young as this babas tend to look down on the sinkeh (new guest) then.

During that time, there were a few babas neighbour around us and they purposely used english/singlish when they spoke to my parent and grand parent knowing well that they can't communicate in english. (See the similarity with all this complain about PRC not being able to speak english)

My brothers and I saw the humiliation that they suffered at the hand of this babas and we swear that one day they will realised that it is they who are the stupid one. This babas raised up their children using only english and Malay and they scoffed at the idea of learning mandarin, this was during the late 70s.

My brothers and I however were more comfortable with Mandarin and we had a hard time when the pappy converted everyone to english-educated. However we accepted the challenge then. Today, I have one brother who is a doctor another one is doing research in university and I am roaming around the world doing international project work in a big MNC. All of us are bilingual and are able to communicate with both the angmoh and Chinese comfortably. As for the sons and daughters of our babas neighbour, most of them are working as clerk in the civil service and are only A-level holders at most, so much for their powderful "english". Nowaday, this failed people even try to speak to us in broken mandarin but we always respond to them in english since this is the language that they so look up to, while we communicate in front of them using Chinese among ourself. In our mind we never considered them as Chinese as they have turn their back on the Chinese identity last time when China has little international influence.

The recent PRC-bashing again reminds me of the babas of the past and the similarity of the plight of the PRC and our family last time.

I suspect a lot of this people who are engaging in PRC-bashing are those failed sons and daughters of the babas and the ah neh.

Let's face it, singapore was never a closed society, the last time that the government try to do so 25 years ago almost cost us our existence. They know they cannot revert back to the old path. For us, our identity can only be the "Chinese" one, whether you like it or not.

The sinkie idenity is fake, flawed and shallow and for it to last for 25 years is already quite a miracle.

Ah Guan

Can't compare sinkapore between the nation-building days and now

I am pro competition... but it must be fair. Currently the gahmen policy favours foreigners more than locals. Are we going to sit and take it all?

If you don't make a stand in this land our grandparents and parents have built... which we are building, what are we going to leave our children?

In a way we have to fight the battle the babas have lost in the previous generation... And it is for our own survival.

dream_waker

Can't compare sinkapore between the nation-building days and now

I am pro competition... but it must be fair. Currently the gahmen policy favours foreigners more than locals. Are we going to sit and take it all?

If you don't make a stand in this land our grandparents and parents have built... which we are building, what are we going to leave our children?

In a way we have to fight the battle the babas have lost in the previous generation... And it is for our own survival.

I agree with you, but it should not be targeted at the PRC, I see the ah neh white collar worker as an even greater threats, if this ah neh gain control of our economy and government, be prepared to be swamped by the ah neh hordes...the ah neh must be stopped!

However, I don't see ah-neh bashing in the mainstream media and it reflect the hidden agenda of the people who controlled the media.

Chinese sinkie should not fall for this dirty trick of this media bastard trying to turn us again fellow Chinese from PRC.

dream_waker

[In a way we have to fight the battle the babas have lost in the previous generation... And it is for our own survival.[/QUOTE]

If the babas had succeeded then it will be us who will be damned then.

theblackhole

dreamwalker: you boleh lah! majulah peoples' republic of china! majulah singapura juga!!!

Ah Guan

I agree with you, but it should not be targeted at the PRC, I see the ah neh white collar worker as an even greater threats, if this ah neh gain control of our economy and government, be prepared to be swamped by the ah neh hordes...the ah neh must be stopped!

I agree. In my case I don't discriminate between brown, white, yellow or purple. Malaysians who grew up here are fine with me.

However, I don't see ah-neh bashing in the mainstream media and it reflect the hidden agenda of the people who controlled the media.

The ST is very shamelessly whoring our country with the pro-foreigner propaganda. The day will come when their own livelihood will be stolen by foreigners.

Chinese sinkie should not fall for this dirty trick of this media bastard trying to turn us again fellow Chinese from PRC.

I believe this is where our stands differ - PRCs have no special place in my heart. Ask any good Hongkie friend and he/she will tell you what social problems they've had since '97.

It's nothing personal. I have a good professional relationships with most of my foreigner colleagues... but I bear in mind that in times of war or crisis, they will flee back home. That is why the FT policy is grossly unfair to citizens.

dream_waker

I believe this is where our stands differ - PRCs have no special place in my heart. Ask any good Hongkie friend and he/she will tell you what social problems they've had since '97.

It's nothing personal. I have a good professional relationships with most of my foreigner colleagues... but I bear in mind that in times of war or crisis, they will flee back home. That is why the FT policy is grossly unfair to citizens. [/QUOTE]

I respect your view. It is just that I will not subject this new PRC immigrant to the same kind of discrimination that our family had suffered last time.

And if you ask me or a hongkie to choose between a PRC and an Ah Neh, I think the choice will be obvious.

Ah Guan

If the babas had succeeded then it will be us who will be damned then.

I've thought about this too. And the truth is: the world is unfair. One man's gain is another man's loss.

Our forefathers won the fight so that we can have a better life than theirs. Why should we roll over and die?

dream_waker

I agree. In my case I don't discriminate between brown, white, yellow or purple. Malaysians who grew up here are fine with me.

It is good that you are not being biased, but I have work with the ah neh and white man a lot and trust me, they will discriminate against you. There is no fair play when this guys become a majority in the place you work.

dream_waker

I've thought about this too. And the truth is: the world is unfair. One man's gain is another man's loss.

Our forefathers won the fight so that we can have a better life than theirs. Why should we roll over and die?

I think both of us agree that FT number need to be controlled, the difference is that I actually wanted the ah neh FT to be the target as I think it is socially more difficult to assimilate the ah neh into singapore Chinese dominated social environment.

Ah Guan

It is good that you are not being biased, but I have work with the ah neh and white man a lot and trust me, they will discriminate against you. There is no fair play when this guys become a majority in the place you work.

Hahaha... Believe me I'm not short on war stories to tell.

If I remember correctly, we should be in the same industry. Fight the good fight bro.

theblackhole

now i'm more aware of the china nationals here. i greet them and they greet me ...ni hau with a broad smile...many of these china prcs are really pretty...even the kopi girl and the beer girls...they're pretty...add to our gene pools!!!

Ah Guan

now i'm more aware of the china nationals here. i greet them and they greet me ...ni hau with a broad smile...many of these china prcs are really pretty...even the kopi girl and the beer girls...they're pretty...add to our gene pools!!!

Thousands of PRCs are comimg in as part-time students, full-time whores...

Unless they are marrying sinkies and starting families, what "genes" are they adding to our pool? "Germs" more like ....

Ah Guan

More and more employers here have wised up to the ABN snake oil salesman tricks. Many HR depts are doing thorough background checks on new applicants now. I am also aware of more businesses who would not award tenders to ABN FT consultants because of their low quality work.

So take heart that there is some ground gained over these 2 years... And don't lose hope.

theblackhole

i see many china nationals having children with singaporean men...almost everywhere i go, the pregnant ones are from china!!!

singaporean women can't bear children anymore meh?

dream_waker

More and more employers here have wised up to the ABN snake oil salesman tricks. Many HR depts are doing thorough background checks on new applicants now. I am also aware of more businesses who would not award tenders to ABN FT consultants because of their low quality work.

So take heart that there is some ground gained over these 2 years... And don't lose hope.

The Ah Neh charged low rate to entice you into a contract with them, then they ripped you off by charging more mandays to make up for the low rate. This sneaky piece of shit..