• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why must we learn Chinese when Nantah was killed.

Wobble

he meant the former Nantah University...founded by the Chinese of yesteryears...forced to shut down/"re-branded" due to over "Cheena-ness"...

Frankiestine

he meant the former Nantah University...founded by the Chinese of yesteryears...forced to shut down/"re-branded" due to over "Cheena-ness"...

i thought it was because Nantah was beginning to be a breeding for communism....due to its association with cheena...

Who killed Nantah? Why was it killed?

I will start why Nantah was first started then its demise so that the context will be better understood.

Nantah was conceived as Chinese vernacular schools began mushrooming all around Nanyang - south seas, Spore, Malaysia, Brunei and Indonesia, funded by the community, chinese businesses and parents but not the state. After High school, they could not go any further. A tertiary institution was needed so that they can compete in the job market and realise their potential.

It came into being in 56. In 1964, it was raided in possibly the biggest operation in Singapore history as it became a hotbed of communism. Dozens were arrested and many were banished to Malaysia. Thats not the reason it was closed as it was so closely watched that a cockroach with red leanings would have been squashed.

By the 70s it became abundantly clear that the very reasons it was conceived ie to allow its graduates to compete in the job market was not taking place. Singapore I believe reached full employment for the first time in 71 but most Nantah grads were holding positions that were not grad positions primarily because the language of commerce was English and many of the rich towkays were sending their kids to the Ivy League while supporting Nantah in name and money.

It became clear that we were sending cohorts of kids each year knowing very well what the outcome was going to be. In 1980 its was merged.

To give you the context, the mantleship for Nantah at decision time fell on the head of Hokkein clan, Wee Cho Yaw whose son went to the US for tertiary education. He has little choice but accept it.

I have no doubt that it was not a popular decision amongst the alumni and those intending to preserve the culture but it would have been wrong to send year in year out young kids and pretend that all was right.

eeoror88

Hah ? died ??

No lah .... Nanthakumar is still alive what.

I was having roti john and drinking teh tarik with him at kulai only 2 days ago !!

Ah Guan

By the 70s it became abundantly clear that the very reasons it was conceived ie to allow its graduates to compete in the job market was not taking place. Singapore I believe reached full employment for the first time in 71 but most Nantah grads were holding positions that were not grad positions primarily because the language of commerce was English and many of the rich towkays were sending their kids to the Ivy League while supporting Nantah in name and money.

LOL!!!!! The LCS 'insider' tales were hilarious.... now this one just takes the cake!

Keep posting your fantasies here. Very soon you might even attain The LeeTahSar Level.

kuntakinte

Please la.... Nantah was supported by the people of Singapore even the Chinese rickshaw men contributed to the university. Tan Lark Sye donated $5million (in 1950, that's f88king lotsa money !!) and a piece of land to build Nantah. It was the only Chinese University then, and gosh, the students were vocal. It definitely irks LKY when he was in power !! With such unity in Nantah, LKY has to manevres his moves to quash Nantah. He did it and arrested many of the students and lecturers, labeled them communist and banish them from Singapore. Does it sound like using defamation suit to quiet dissidents ?? Same tactic you may say.

Today, these motherf88king pappies mooted the idea of reviving Nantah spirit, ya sure, after killing them, sure to have many spirit !! What f88k next ? Glamorizing Sun Yat-sen and his villa in Singapore these motherf88king pappies label it as communist !!

KNN.... these CB Sons.....

I will start why Nantah was first started then its demise so that the context will be better understood.

** PAP whitewashed history of Nantah snipped ***

Bigfuck

Today, these motherf88king pappies mooted the idea of reviving Nantah spirit, ya sure, after killing them, sure to have many spirit !! What f88k next ? Glamorizing Sun Yat-sen and his villa in Singapore these motherf88king pappies label it as communist !!

KNN.... these CB Sons.....

The old geezer will prostitute himself for face and money.

madmansg

To give you the context, the mantleship for Nantah at decision time fell on the head of Hokkein clan, Wee Cho Yaw whose son went to the US for tertiary education. He has little choice but accept it.
===============

did wee chow yao son keng from NS ?

kuntakinte

Dun confuse personality with academic !! Shouldn't it be Dr Dora Hoan you are referring to ? Or, is it Dr Doreen Tan ?? Which is which ?? are you sober ?

Dr ? Gosh... it is some degrees mill for both of them !!

dr doreen hoan represent the typical clueless nantar graduates.