• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Workers' Party

sengkang

[h=5]Yee Jenn Jong, JJ (余振忠)[/h]Hammer Sales @ Joo Chiat SMC

10258437_687006121367165_294907140180444098_o.jpg

sengkang

Daniel PS Goh

See lah, another excellent speech. We so need our own C-SPAN!

"Is the social safety net doing its job? Is the social safety net performing to help Singaporeans pick themselves up after a fall? Is the social safety net pulling families out of the poverty trap? How do we know that the temporary poor are indeed temporarily poor and are moving up the government’s different scales of help closer to median income self-sufficiency?"

social.protection.approach.png

sengkang

[URL="https://www.facebook.com/workersparty"]The Workers' Party

[/URL]"Robust debates which focus on the issues and problems at hand, and where alternative solutions are proposed and properly considered, can help shape better policies, which will benefit Singaporeans. But when debates start getting personal and descend into unnecessary political attacks, they risk losing focus from the bread-and-butter issues that citizens are concerned about. This sort of politics can cause our people to become cynical about the political process, and erodes their respect for politicians of all parties." - NCMP Gerald Giam

NCMP Gerald Giam’s speech (Debate on President’s Address 2014)
wp.sg

sengkang

[/URL]"Education is a key factor for social mobility. It is often presumed that access to education will ‘level the playing field’ for students of different backgrounds, thus creating an environment where individual merit can be identified and rewarded.

Indeed it has been so for a good number of Singaporeans as our country moved from third world to first in a relatively short time.

Today, I wish to warn of dangers that can compromise our ability to achieve social mobility through education.
First, is a danger of education perpetuating class stratification, instead of leveling the playing field. It has been acknowledged both by politicians and scholars that entry into ‘branded’ schools in Singapore is a reflection parents’ social class than of student merit.

Entry into the more prestigious and popular primary schools is based strongly on factors such as the location of the family home and parents’ connections to the school. Former Minister Mentor Mr Lee Kuan Yew had observed that admission to primary schools is based on the social class of parents. In a parliamentary reply in 2012, it was revealed that only 40% of the students in six of the most popular primary schools live in HDB flats. This contrasts greatly with 80% of all primary school students residing in HDB flats. MOE had replied that this reflected the mix of residential housing in the vicinity of these 6 schools. Given the current primary 1 admission rules, it will mean that those in the higher social classes will continue to have preferences to enter popular schools." - NCMP Yee Jenn Jong

NCMP Yee Jenn Jong’s speech (Debate on President’s Address 2014)
By Non-Constituency MP, Yee Jenn Jong [Delivered in Parliament on 27 May 2014] Education and Social Mobility Yee Jenn Jong, NCMP 27 May 2014 Madam Spea
wp.sg

sengkang

[/URL]"Madam, the last few years have seen some significant policy changes in the field of law and home affairs. Five years ago, the Criminal Procedure Code underwent a major review, which among other things changed the pre-trial process to force more disclosure from both State and defence to enable better preparations for trial. In 2012, after decades of consistently defending the need for the mandatory death penalty to apply to many offences, the government suddenly and without warning announced in this House a scaling-back of the mandatory death penalty for certain homicide and drug offences. For many years before, the government had been reluctant to provide criminal legal aid to those facing non-capital charges; this has also moved forward. Personally, having studied these issues and spoken for change for several years, I was pleasantly surprised that the government was able to slaughter these cows that appeared sacred for too long. This is good for Singapore. We should not be afraid to change our minds and make U-turns.

There are other areas for improvement. Protecting civil liberties, recognizing crime victims’ needs and rights, and better safeguards for suspects during police investigations are but some. We should approach these and other issues with an open-mind. Ultimately, it is in our common interest to have a safe, fair and just society." - MP Sylvia Lim

Towards a Safe, Fair and Just Society – MP Sylvia Lim’s speech (Debate on President’s Address 2014)
wp.sg

sengkang

[/URL]"Beyond our neutrality and our relentless diplomatic efforts, Singapore will have to adjust and deal with the reality that comes our way. A former Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs once observed, not incorrectly, Singapore will always be a price taker, not a price setter in the international realm. Nonetheless, we may be in a better position to determine the price we take with regard to our immediate neighbours, given the greater interdependence between Malaysia and Singapore in particular.

Unfortunately, we are not in a position to determine or prevent a conflict in the South China Sea beyond offering ourselves as a neutral arbiter and an advocate for a Code of Conduct in the South China Sea. We can however start working on scenarios to determine how we can be better prepared for a regional conflict, especially given the deep changes that have taken place in our society over the last 10-15 years, with regard to our population policies and economic strategies in particular. The standoff between Ukraine and Russia is not wholly irrelevant to Singapore. But there are more immediate worries closer to home. " - MP Pritam Singh

MP Pritam Singh’s speech (Debate on President’s Address 2014)
wp.sg

sengkang

Yee Jenn Jong, JJ (余振忠)

Here's the full exchange between PM Lee and WP's SG Low Thia Khiang today. I was totally surprised by Radio 938 Live's reporting of the event as I drove off from parliament today, which had put out sound bytes of what the PM said, but not Mr Low's replies. With so much being said, if you present only the key sound bytes from one party and not the reply from the others, it will give a false impression of how the exchange went.

I hope the rest of the media will be more professional.

PM Lee, WP’s Low cross swords - Channel NewsAsia
[url]www.channelnewsasia.com

An exchange between Mr Lee Hsien Loong and Workers’ Party leader Low Thia Khiang following the Prime Minister’s speech in Parliament on Wednesday (May 28).

[/URL]

sengkang

[/URL]"Beyond our neutrality and our relentless diplomatic efforts, Singapore will have to adjust and deal with the reality that comes our way. A former Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs once observed, not incorrectly, Singapore will always be a price taker, not a price setter in the international realm. Nonetheless, we may be in a better position to determine the price we take with regard to our immediate neighbours, given the greater interdependence between Malaysia and Singapore in particular.

Unfortunately, we are not in a position to determine or prevent a conflict in the South China Sea beyond offering ourselves as a neutral arbiter and an advocate for a Code of Conduct in the South China Sea. We can however start working on scenarios to determine how we can be better prepared for a regional conflict, especially given the deep changes that have taken place in our society over the last 10-15 years, with regard to our population policies and economic strategies in particular. The standoff between Ukraine and Russia is not wholly irrelevant to Singapore. But there are more immediate worries closer to home. " - MP Pritam Singh

MP Pritam Singh’s speech (Debate on President’s Address 2014)
wp.sg

By MP for Aljunied GRC, Pritam Singh [Delivered in Parliament on 28 May 2014] Introduction This motion of thanks on the President’s address...

sengkang

The Workers' Party

"Madam, the President concludes his speech pledging ourselves anew to build a better, brighter Singapore. Today we have the ability to broaden our social security nets and to pay closer attention to the diversity of challenges our citizens face today. As a successful and progressive country, we are in the best position to focus more attention on those who need an extra hand. People must be at the centre of how decisions are made, even if they belong to the fringes, for it is really how we treat those who are most vulnerable that is the true mark of leadership and governance." - MP Lee Li Lian

MP Lee Li Lian’s speech (Debate on President’s Address 2014)
wp.sg

By MP for Punggol East SMC, Lee Li Lian [Delivered in Parliament on 29 May 2014] Introduction Madam Speaker, as a nation,...

sengkang

The Workers' Party

"Before the introduction of the Minimum Sum Scheme (MS) in 1987, turning 55 of age is an exciting day for many retiring workers. For low wage workers who found it hard to save on their meagre income, those CPF savings could be their only life savings after 30 to 40 years of hard work. I have witnessed that excitement through the eyes of my father.

Such excitement and anticipation no longer exist at age 55 for many Singaporean workers today. We are living longer and the statutory retirement age has been raised to 62. The re-employment age will be raised from 65 to 67 over time and the CPF draw-down age will follow suit. CPF savings up to the Minimum Sum will be locked up all in the hope of achieving retirement adequacy.

I welcome the pledge by the President that the Government will enhance retirement adequacy to give greater assurance and peace of mind to all Singaporeans. But for Singaporeans attaining the age of 55 going forward, greater assurance and peace of mind are question marks." - MP Png Eng Huat

MP Png Eng Huat’s speech (Debate on President’s Address 2014)
wp.sg

By MP for Hougang SMC, Png Eng Huat [Delivered in Parliament on 29 May 2014] Madam Speaker, every working class generation has a dream to...

sengkang

14.05.31 Kaki Bukit Division - Teh Tarik with Faisal @ Blk 545

Hello friends and neighbours, we are a week away from our next instalment of Teh Tarik with Faisal.

Join us this Saturday for a Teh Tarik at :

Bedok North Street 3
Void Deck of Block 545
May 31
Saturday
2.30 pm - 4.30 pm

The Singapore Police Force will be with us to share useful tips about crime and safety in your neighbourhood.

Separately, we are registering residents aged 40 and above for a free health screening June 1. Besides testing for diabetes, you will also get an idea of your blood pressure and cholesterol levels. Please reserve your spot soon, as prompt detection of health conditions can save lives.

Enquiries: 83980029

See you there!

sengkang

[/URL]"Let us continue to invest in Singaporeans even as they age and become elderly. But what forms will such investments take? It is a good thing that seniors themselves will participate in the national conversation about a “Nation for all ages”. It is a good thing that they will express preferences for different active aging activities and lifelong learning courses or programs. But whatever these preferences, perhaps we could look into providing a pillar that will help support investments by our elderly in their human capital? Just like children who need to develop and working adults who need to upgrade their skills, our elderly too need support and resources to continue growing, learning and developing.

A second pillar. Informal caregivers often make it possible for our elderly to age in place – in their homes, in the community. In 2010, it was estimated that approximately 8% of Singaporean adults provided regular care to family members or friends, providing on average 6.8 hours a day of care in a typical week.

It appears to me that an important pillar to enable successful ageing would be the support we provide to our informal caregivers.

It is well documented that caregivers often suffer declines in their own financial circumstances, and mental and physical health, as a result of their caregiving role.

As other members have suggested, support may take the form of leave for the informal caregivers, or the right to ask for flexible work arrangements, or CPF top-ups, not because we want to monetise the act of caring for their loved ones, but to help ease some of the financial strains that may arise from their taking on such informal caregiving arrangements.

Many members believe that providing more support to our informal caregivers is the right thing to do.

And Mdm, As was said on the opening day of this debate, it is not so much what is said, but what is done, that will be the measure of our progress." - MP Chen Show Mao

MP Chen Show Mao’s speech (Debate on President’s Address 2014)
wp.sg

By MP for Aljunied GRC, Chen Show Mao [Delivered in Parliament on 30 May 2014] Mdm, Earlier in this debate, Minister Gan Kim Yong announced that a nation

sengkang

[h=5]The Workers' Party[/h]
WP's Population Policy Paper published in Feb 2013 which Mr Low Thia Khiang reminded Parliament about today. It sets out WP's proposals on the birth rate, immigration, the foreign workforce, and building a sustainable economy to support a dynamic resident workforce.

WP Population Policy Paper Feb 2013
[url]www.scribd.com

The Population White Paper released by the Government recently is by far the most widely debated White Paper in Singapore politics -- not only in Parliament, but also by the people of Singapore....

[/URL]

sengkang

[/URL]#throwback

In Feb 2013:

"The Population White Paper released by the Government recently is by far the most widely debated White Paper in Singapore politics — not only in Parliament, but also by the people of Singapore. This is understandably so as it has wide ranging implications for our nations’s future.

For five days, Parliament debated a Motion to endorse the White Paper. It was then passed following an amendment by an MP from the Government backbench.

After careful consideration of the proposal, the Workers’ Party (WP) opposed the White Paper and presented our alternative proposals in Parliament during the debate on the Motion.

The population issue is a major challenge confronting our nation and it affects each and every one of us and our future generations. It is not only a ‘numbers’ issue but also one that lies at the heart of our nation and our children. The debate continues in public even after the debate in Parliament has ended.

We would probably not be experiencing the current degree of angst over overcrowding if the Government had presented the White Paper to the people much earlier, instead of allowing population growth to surpass their planning target and failing to ensure that infrastructural development kept in tandem with population growth.

In view of the importance and complexity of the subject, as well as the fundamental differences between WP and the Government on the approach to tackle the population challenges ahead, we have decided to publish our Population Policy Paper. We hope this will enable Singaporeans to better understand the rationale and computations behind WP’s proposals. WP believes it is important to encourage further debate so that Singaporeans can make informed judgments on the population issue.

I would like to thank all the WP members and volunteers who have worked tirelessly to make the publication of this WP Population Policy Paper possible. I would also like to thank all Singaporeans who have given us their support; your encouragement and engagement continues to spur WP on to serve the nation." - Sec Gen Low Thia Khiang

The Workers’ Party’s Population Policy Paper: “A Dynamic Population for a Sustainable Singapore”
wp.sg

The Population White Paper released by the Government recently is by far the most widely debated White Paper in

sengkang

Daniel PS Goh

Reflections on my mood swings on the President's address in May:

1. Lots of expectations for a political reform big bang so that governance would keep up with society, and then a great deflating sound as the President offered lots of motherhood semantics echoing previous speeches, not his fault because this is tradition?

2. Re-calibrated expectations for the details from the Ministers and the only wow was the nationalisation of the public bus system, which is to be called "government contracting" to avoid semantic confusion with the nationalisation called for by WP and others

3. Dragging my hopes into the debate this week, met in the first day by WP's Faisal offering a "social protection" framework to organise the kueh lapis charity bake, and WP's Low on his take on a public-centred constructive politics

4. A tad disappointed that the response to Low turned into partisan finger-pointing to paint WP as semantically compromised "flip flopper", with unsubstantiated great claims that the record clearly show this (because it is so clear, there is no need to show where in the record?)

5. Mere semantics turned into a semantic shoot-out with the PM accusing WP of being semantic weasels playing with words, though I learned that a "flip flop" becomes a "shift" when one admits to a "flip flop" (and thus we could logically conclude there is no such thing as a "flip flop" except rhetorically in a semantic shoot-out)

6. Because all eyes were now on the semantic shoot-out, new meaningful points were missed: the flip-flop-shift on retirement adequacy and CPF, WP Png's call for greater flexibility for older Singaporeans to access CPF savings, and PAP Baey's point on keeping policies simple, semantically and syntactically

All in all, a disappointment, a debate dismay.

But at least it was no debacle. At least partisan politics no longer descends into legal and character shoot-outs outside of Parliament, but involve rather benign semantic shoot-outs in Parliament that has revived interest in Parliament.

Okay, now it is the turn for going two steps forward.

sengkang

Yee Jenn Jong, JJ (余振忠)

"Education is a key factor for social mobility. It is often presumed that access to education will ‘level the playing field’ for students of different backgrounds, thus creating an environment where individual merit can be identified and re... See More

Education and Social Mobility
yeejj.wordpress.com

I delivered this speech in Parliament on 27 May 2014 as my response to the President's Mid-Term Address. Madam Speaker, I will be speaking on education and social mobility. I wish to declare that I...

sengkang

Gerald Giam

Click on 'Video' to see the exchange in Parliament yesterday. Yes, my comparison is overly conservative. The US has a commercial insurance market, while MediShield is supposed to be a social health insurance scheme. So why does Obamacare mandate a higher loss ratio than MediShield's? Can the Govt take on more risks on behalf of Singaporeans?

MediShield and Obamacare comparison not valid: MP - Channel NewsAsia
[url]www.channelnewsasia.com

MP Dr Janil Puthucheary and NCMP Gerald Giam had a verbal sparring match over the issue of MediShield in Parliament.

[/URL]