• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

S'pore not hosting 2013 or 2015 SEA games due to delay in building of Sports Hub

jeremyyau555

According to the Singapore National Olympic Council, Singapore will not be hosting the 2013 or 2015 Southeast Asian (SEA) Games due to repeated delays in the construction of the Sport Hub.

The proposal to replace the aging National Stadium with a world class iconic Sports Hub was first announced by Dr Vivian Balakrishnan in 2005. Till today, the construction has not begun.

In an undated article shelved inside the Singapore Sports Council’s (SSC) online archive, (read article here) it was stated that construction on new Kallang Sports Hub was initially scheduled to begin by February 2008.

The completion date has since been pushed back repeatedly from next year to 2011, 2012, and then 2013. It now appears that it may not be completed after 2015 after all.

Dr Vivian Balakrishnan had attributed the delay solely to the global financial crisis:

The delay is unfortunate. It’s not something we wanted to happen. It was caused by, first, inflation in construction costs. Secondly, the fact there is a global financial crisis, credit became a problem. I decided and deliberately delayed it in order to get the best deal possible for Singapore.

The exact cost of building the Sports Hub is not revealed to the public which prompted some to question if the successful bidder – the Singapore Sports Hub consortium had made an “unrealistic” bid for the project in the first place.

Despite the financial crisis, Singapore held its second F1 racing this year. The two Integrated Resorts (IRs) are also scheduled to be opened next year. Las Vegas Sands which owns one of them, is reportedly in financial trouble.s

It is strange that the construction of the Sports Hub has been repeatedly delayed due to lack of funds. Dr Vivian recently unveiled a $10-million dollars Community Integration Fund to make the new immigrants feel “welcomed” in Singapore.

The Singapore government splashed about $100 million last month to host the APEC Summmit meetings for a week.

For a government which prides itself in efficiency, it does seem a bit bizarre that there are no contingency plans put in place to replace the Sports Hub.

Without any opposition in parliament to hold Dr Vivian to task, it is highly unlikely that Singaporeans will ever know the truth.

BlueCat

maybe in a way also good for us.
else will have to spend lots of money on the infrastructure also.

the money ho ching lost investing in US banks, can built multiple sport hubs stadium thingy.

Char_Azn

The sports hub is more like a national Joke. I loss count of the number of times they held events at the national stadium AFTER it's official closing

cooleo

>>I decided and deliberately delayed it in order to get the best deal possible for Singapore.”<<

Typical GIAM SIAP mentality of that kind. Penny wise pound foolish. Can u imagine South Africa saying, they wanna get cheaper bargain for construction materials and hence they cannot host World Cup?

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
wouldn't infrastructure projects help boost economy during downturn? We have reserves for rainy days. Isn't this a rainy day?

... “The delay is unfortunate. It’s not something we wanted to happen. It was caused by, first, inflation in construction costs. Secondly, the fact there is a global financial crisis, credit became a problem. I decided and deliberately delayed it in order to get the best deal possible for Singapore.” ...
no choice ...

otherwise, moni no enuff 2 pay ze world's bestest paid politicians salaries ... :o ... paying world's bestest paid politicians salaries muz cum 1st ... :cool:

theblackhole

we should concentrate on looking after our own people instead of spending money on useless sports....good move by our world class governance....sea games can go to sea lah..welfare of our people more important...hallelujah to our world class governance!!!

ahleebabasingaporethief

we should concentrate on looking after our own people instead of spending money on useless sports....good move by our world class governance....sea games can go to sea lah..welfare of our people more important...hallelujah to our world class governance!!!

Put it which ever way you want. I agree with the gist of your statement.

But, are they looking after their own people?

The last time I looked, HDB property prices went up, MRT fares went up, football channel went up, everyway I turn I see more FTs than S'poreans.

Looking after their own people?
I doubt lah.

Maybe lose money until peng san, that's why cannot cover up anymore and have to "surrender" the truth or say half truth.

theblackhole

time will reveal all the truths and even half-truths...we cannot escape the responsibilities of our own actions...and people cannot be held in ransom and in utter ignorance for far too long....

i went to my kopitiam and four uncles asked me about their cpf draw down dates and the cpf life....they curse and curse and curse....i told them i don't know anything...many more good golden years to go before i decide....poor uncles...staunch heartlander support has all turned to ashes....they worry and worry ...cpf no money...they curse and curse...i quickly limkopi and move on....and they continue to f here and f there...you got hear all the uncles or not about their cpfs??

The sports hub is more like a national Joke. I loss count of the number of times they held events at the national stadium AFTER it's official closing

1. right on!
2. well, this is the kpi of sinkie mil-dollar salaried elites.
3. sinkies screwed.

peterpan707

Got money to build casino but no money to buid sport hub.

Ready to host YOG in 2010, but not ready to host SEA Games in 2011?

24fcigw.jpg

NoNewsGood

My guess is that the PPP consortium submitted a very low price in order to win. The Government awarded the job and had budgeted for it.

Now the PPP could not get any funding. If the Government were to step in, the cost is way beyond what the Government had budgeted for.

So the Government is not stepping in but merely give the PPP more time so that the PPP could try to get funding and build the sports hub at the price the PPP agreed to.

Robert Half

1973, 1983 and 1993.

What is really strange is that it is ok to host the world-wide YOG but not the SEA games.

It is because our ASEAN neighbours are poor tourists :o & unable to spend a lot in Singapore (like staying in luxury hotels) while supporting their national teams here.

Unlike F1 or YOG, this attracts big spending power tourists & sport officials from around the world (exp Europe) travelling to Singapore staying in luxury hotels & buying branded goods in Paragon Orchard. Sg garment welcome this type of foreign tourists here.

Hosting SEA Games to them (sg garment) probably losing $$$ & wasting time & effort :biggrin: