• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Six million people in Singapore....

we do need a critical mass to be economically viable unless there is a sudden change in the geographical and economic landscape....and even a sudden shift in the political arena. the future appears to be bleak, but there is always a way...some light at the end of the dark tunnel.

aiyah, why worry so much.
many of us will not live to see what will happen to singapore.
why all the angst and anxieties?

if every inch of our land has someone standing on it.

If the Mandatory Recurring Homestay Programme Between "Foreign Talents" and Ministars and Ministars of state and Their Family Members is implemented, every ministar's home will have several "foreign talents" staying in it.

ChaoPappyPoodle

Actually six million is not such a bad figure because it could be much worse. Hopefully the Govt keeps to its word and not exceed that.

Incidentally what will happen to the low TFR and aging problem? Somehow when the population reaches 6 million, the problem will be solved automatically?

You poor SOB! All the PAPzi talked about was low TFR and that is why they need to bring in millions of FTs. By the number of FTs they have allowed in even if each Singaporean family had a TFR of 4 the PAPzis will still import FTs although a fewer number.

The PAPzis have never said that importing FTs will help to increase the TFR. Only stupid Singaporeans make such an assumption on their own. Even the 154th never made such a remark.

The PAPzis have said that about 20 years ago that our population is getting old and without a larger pool of Singaporeans to support CPF payments, the older generation will have problems with their CPF because CPF needs younger to pay into their accounts to support payment to retirees. This is of course because the way the CPF has been managed by the PAPzis is very much what ponzi schemes do.

When the PAPzis imported millions of FTs stupid Singaporeans think that this will help them when the age because they think younger FTs contribute to CPF will help the elderly later. But the PAPzis never said this. Only stupid Singaporeans imagined this. The fact is that at least 90% of these FTs will return to their homeland before or when they retire from work here. When they leave they will leave with any CPF they invested here and capital gains from asset enhancement schemes of the PAPzis. This is well known fact and yet stupid Singaporeans think that the PAPzis are helping them.

The PAPzis have sold you out plain and simple. What they need is a huge tax base for GST, a lot of cheap labour, and high demand for housing to enrich the government to pay for out of this world salaries and for them to benefit from rent-seeking activities.

There is nothing wrong with having a huge population . But the population should be the locals and not FT . If PAP wanted Singapore population to increase they should think of a way how to make Singaporean have babies and not taking shortcut and import FT which could bring in another problem for Singapore . if PAP cannot solve problem please don't create another problem !!!

Bigfuck

Technically with 710sqkm of land and 0.5sqm per person of standing space Singapore is good at ground level to 1,420,000,000 persons. We can import almost the whole of China and Japan.

lee6100

There is nothing wrong with having a huge population . But the population should be the locals and not FT . If PAP wanted Singapore population to increase they should think of a way how to make Singaporean have babies and not taking shortcut and import FT which could bring in another problem for Singapore . if PAP cannot solve problem please don't create another problem !!!

This government will never spend money on its own citizens. It is as simple as that. All the measures considered so far do not require much money from the government. Paternity leave? The private sector bears the cost. Ad nauseum. Lower cost of housing? Nah.

Fook Seng

Kopi, you do not have children and grandchildren ? I have children who never contemplate of leaving Singapore to bring up their families. The future of Singapore, whether it is sustainable and whether it is livable, is very important to me.

This government will never spend money on its own citizens. It is as simple as that. All the measures considered so far do not require much money from the government. Paternity leave? The private sector bears the cost. Ad nauseum. Lower cost of housing? Nah.

I don't know what PAP is thinking ... Why can't they invest in their own ppl instead ? It's a joke if other country see how PAP solve population problems .

Merl Haggard

Because of roads closure, this afternoon I took a MRT ride from Orchard to City Hall to have lunch with a foreign guest at Raffles City.

Being a Sunday I thought it would be a breeze, but it was so blardy crowded with noisy Pinoys, Ah Nehs & Ah Tiongs and I really felt sorry for those who have to travel by MRT on weekdays.

Fuck them deep deep for the sudden population growth!

Fook Seng

This, I can agree with. Six million agreeable locals. Something we can live with.

walao eh, since forum closing down, I better post this most often:

"papa is such a good, kind, and decent man because he is sooooooo good to his family members". :rolleyes:

Kopi, you do not have children and grandchildren ? I have children who never contemplate of leaving Singapore to bring up their families. The future of Singapore, whether it is sustainable and whether it is livable, is very important to me.

brother fook
the future of singapore
is also very important to me
that's why i am here.....

we do need a critical mass to be economically viable unless there is a sudden change in the geographical and economic landscape....and even a sudden shift in the political arena. the future appears to be bleak, but there is always a way...some light at the end of the dark tunnel.

Unless you foresee yourself to not live another five more years, yes, yes you will witness 6 million population right before your very eyes.

And what have I always said here?

The PAP govt had always wanted a six million population size. I have credible sources from some public policy planners. They had blueprints prepared for this 'urban redevelopment goal' many, many years ago.

It's coming, boys and girls, uncles and aunties. Whether you like it or not.

And just like the casino 'debates' years ago, there's no need to have a 'conversation' now. They'll do what they want.