• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singaporeans conned by M'sian condo developer. Again.

whoami

Re: Bodoh Sinkies conned by M'sian condo developer. Again.

It is upon this basis and attitudes that i conclude it will be very risky investment wise.

If u rather look at it as a glass half empty, so be it. Tats ur lo$$.:biggrin:

Period,

avelc

The reason a market exists is because there are willing buyers and willing sellers. Nothing more to say.

graveyard

if you have read my post, my point is about why i dont consider malysian ppty as being investment grade.
And the reason ive come to such a conclusion is the way the country is run and how their leaders are chosen.
Malaysia has openly admitted that their policies are racially biased, with the pp admitting it.
And once you have such people with such an agenda in charge, you can be assured that the country will not thrive economically.
Like what you said, its their country and their land so they may do as they please. You are right and i have no objection.

It is upon this basis and attitudes that i conclude it will be very risky investment wise.

Have you ever been to JB or been there recently? If not, u may consider taking a round there. Many in this forum have been there, some regularly while a handful is staying there permanently. Hence, they know what they are talking about

Yes, I agree Msia is not run optimally and quality of its leaders is not impressive, yes the policies may be racist. But all these have already been factored into the pricing though the gap is slowly closing. You want a freehold landed in a corruption-free, top notch country with the highest integrity and superb economics growth - sure, pay SGD 2M and leave the rest here to invest in similar ppty in Msia at 1/5 that price

JB ppty market has been stagnant way too long and with all the highways, malls, infrastructure, it seems to be growing exponentially – it may be a bubble but it may also be just catching up with ppty market in KL. People here are just trying to put their hand in while the ppty market blossom. The economy may become stagnant after reaching the potential but by then, investors have already flipped or collected enough rents to offset potential loss or may be sitting on big capital gain so its not “very risky”

Investing in ppty in msia is risky when you fail to do proper homwwork like researching background of developers and going onsite to survey the location, showroom etc like what the investors in the article failed to do, buy at overvalued price, lousy locations with high crime rate. Investing in ppty in msia is not risky when you have done the research, buy at a fair value, buy good locations. A sweeping statement that all ppty in msia is not worth investing in is not going to convince many of us here.

Chocolate

a country that openly practices racially biased policies will never succeed economically, hence their currency or properties or education will never be investment grade.

They are linked.

It appears though that many invstors, many of high net worth, not only from SG but also Japan, PRC etc are disagreeing with you. The figures show that Malaysia is one of the most popular countries fro investment right now. many factors determine 'investment grade' not just politics.

Chocolate

to pay for a new development in the middle of a vibrant and established city is one thing.

To pay for one in the middle of an oil palm plantation in malaysia is madness!

I think you need to make a trip to Nusajaya to see for yourself how much of the oil palm plantation is left. Once upon a time Singapore was a fishing village, then a hub for gangsters but see where it is today. One of the hallmarks of a good investor is being able to see'potential'. You want to invest in city that has already arrived-'vibrant adn established'- then you will be paying a premium and even then you can buy into a bubble and make losses.
Investment is about timing.You're right, many who invest in Iskandar mised the boar here and are now priced out, so they go there. But you fail to realise that there is a 2nd group who is more experienced and savvy and they know its about timing, not juts loctaion. You hit the best loctaion in the worst time, you will lose money. Singapoe was a greta place to invets in 2006, I did and properties I bought then have gone up as much as 4 times. But now, if you're hoping to even double your money in a few years, think again. Moreover the crippling cooling measures emans for Residential and Industrial you have to hold for at least 4 years. Also IRAS will label you a trader if you do quick flips. I am not criticising the govt for their measures. They gotta do what they gotta do. But as an Investor you got to go with the tide. Perhaps you invested in Malaysia and lost money, if so I can oly say for those who invested sometime back , even 7 years back, timing wasnt right.But now the tide has changed.many on this forum have already made money.

1nottiboy

hockbeng,

i like you. you made the forum so lively. so many things to read. so many things to write abt. I have become addicted to this forum. its fun mixing my nonsense among the serious stuff.

you are rite that malaysia is risky investment. and that has been reflected in the price. it has all been priced in. thats why the risk-reward ratio is so exciting.

now for the really safe stuff - SGD FD... OMG... really safe... and really boring and some might even say stupid. FD interest rate 1.9%... inflation 5%... I am sure you can do the math... IMO, this is a really safe way to lose money/value and die of boredom along the way. to me, its like watching toe nails grow after cutting the wrists.

anyway, why dun u give JB a shot? go look at the surroundings. the quality of women in JB is increasing. go enjoy their company and sensual touches at half the cost in SG. (of cos, u can also continue to use the wife, but so boring rite? after so many years, not fresh anymore.)

btw, u seem to have a lot of time on your hands. so quick to reply. no need work?

if you have read my post, my point is about why i dont consider malysian ppty as being investment grade.
And the reason ive come to such a conclusion is the way the country is run and how their leaders are chosen.
Malaysia has openly admitted that their policies are racially biased, with the pp admitting it.
And once you have such people with such an agenda in charge, you can be assured that the country will not thrive economically.
Like what you said, its their country and their land so they may do as they please. You are right and i have no objection.

1nottiboy

I know you were referring to losing investment money. But where on earth is there a 100% sure win investment??? I would really like to know. even my inheritence is not a sure thing. know what i mean?

have some fun. losing money can be fun too. look at the ppl going to casinos everyday and all those day-trading punters. and the good thing abt casinos, it functions almost like a pub. find a table where there are hot chicks playing too. it usually is quite easy to chat them up... and bring them up to the MBS or Venitian room upstairs. Sometimes they want payment but sometimes its free! when i used to day trade, i tried bedding my trader... too bad she didnt bite. i stopped aft she quit and assigned an auntie trader to me. That sucked.

Besides, unlike SGD govt bonds or FD, JB properties are not a sure-lose (SGD FD is a 100% sure lose aft taking into account inflation). You might even come out on top; both financially and physically/sexually.

the danger i was referring to is losing your investment money. Definitely not fun.

TrulyAsia

Hi nottiboy, pardon my ignorance...what is PRC SYTs?

What's life without a little danger?

This is where the fun is. And I have PRC SYTs to keep me company on this little adventure of mine.

So come join me.

Bro, i read your comments about Malaysia, Australia etc and your reasoning behind some comments. I think you juggling to many things. You are also confusing investment with purchases that serve other purposes. Malaysia is a pressure relief valve for many Singaporeans. It is convenient, next door, more space, more fresh air, etc and have similar background in many respects.

People will accept that you do not like Malaysia as it is not your cup of tea. And thats fine. But going on about "investment grade" when it is full fledged economy doing pretty well with many Malaysians becoming millionaires suggest that you mixing up too many things. If I say day I don't like mutton soup as it is not to my liking is quite acceptable but going on to say that the stallholder looks funny does not appear cogent.

U see. Sinke r being brought up tat way. Read the news on Malay wedding at void deck. And some woman fm NTUC passed some uncalled remark abt the malays. Tere r so many examples. Of course, to hockbeng, tat women is not racist lah. And yes. My wife oso regretted renouncing her MY status! Tide can change overnight. Better to have PR status (like most of the Chinese SPr) did. They may complain Msian run by racist garment. But wat stopping them fm exchanging their MY for pink ic?

Hello, Bro Whoami, that woman who made remarks about Malays wedding is not a Singaporean but "Malaysian born Australian citizen". Lucky for her as a foreigner, case closed with just a warning letter, not even need to go police station. If she's a Singaporean, already charged under sedition act lah.

I think Singaporean Chinese got more sense and are more tolerant towards other religion/race, unlike these foreigners who are used to living in their own enclaves. Since when before her incident did we ever hear any Singaporean Chinese making such an offensive remark on Malay wedding? Never before in my decades of life in SG haha..

http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/a/-/wa/15088384/wa-woman-in-racism-storm/

I am not a Malay but let me say this. One reason why Singaporeans are Not welcome in MY especially Chinese is because they express ideas like Malays are lazy, slow etc. I would caution agianst that kind of sentiment, ........

I used to read Msia chinese renovation forum last time and have come across Malaysian chinese who made the same or even worse remarks about Malays. Going by your logic, Msian chinese are also not welcome in Malaysia.

potter

Is king sultan project, iskandar. Dun play play.:biggrin:

Nusajaya

Bro, i read your comments about Malaysia, Australia etc and your reasoning behind some comments. I think you juggling to many things. You are also confusing investment with purchases that serve other purposes. Malaysia is a pressure relief valve for many Singaporeans. It is convenient, next door, more space, more fresh air, etc and have similar background in many respects.

People will accept that you do not like Malaysia as it is not your cup of tea. And thats fine. But going on about "investment grade" when it is full fledged economy doing pretty well with many Malaysians becoming millionaires suggest that you mixing up too many things. If I say day I don't like mutton soup as it is not to my liking is quite acceptable but going on to say that the stallholder looks funny does not appear cogent.

Wisely put! I am not sure hockbeng has the wisdom to digest that otherwise he will kick your balls! Watch out, I can see the leg coming....Opps!

Cheers
N

Nusajaya

Sad that we have gone down a racist track. Uncalled for.

If I may say, where men exist, there will always be discrimination. Whether we discriminate against race, religion, dialect, FT, rank, education, wealth, shades of skin colour among the same race, etc. A better word for it, our "bias" view, which is a collection of our background and influences.

If you want a non discriminate environment, try migrating to the moon.