• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore to overtake Las Vegas this year

Equalisation

yes! ...

sg is world crass! world bestest! world lumpar 1! ... gambling hub! ...

wen ppl tink about gambling, ppl tink about sg! ... wen ppl tink about sg, ppl tink about gambling! ...

Agree.

Like what the great poet GracyTom says ..... let the good times roll .....:o:biggrin::biggrin:

karmabear

Need someone to explain to me. How does 2 casinos beat the dunno how many donkey casinos in Las Vegas. Macau at least have quite a number of casinos, we only have 2

Hello, I did some research :P For Las Vegas, it is a very mature market.. There is about 41 casinos there of varying sizes. Visitor volume is about 39 million a year, US$5.8 bn generated in the LV strip. Growth there is going to flatline.

When looking at the revenues, you have to calculate number of visitors and total spend as well. In all probability, the average spend per visitor in SG is going to be much higher (high rollers). However, when looking at the SG casino revenues, you have to discount the first year as there is a lot of initial buzz and curiosity. Honestly for MBS, you can't expect steady state revenues until 3-4 years later. So, in a sense, I find the report misleading if they project linear growth. Case in point to remember when punting SG gaming stocks. In time to come, I certainly expect the $100 per head for local gamers to be abolished due to lobbying efforts.

I have been surprised at how prevalent gaming is in local SG culture. Have friends that are now able to park for free in MBS... local singaporeans... really champion. Retirees making regular trips there despite $100/day. Rational being you can go for 2 days if you time it right, so only $50 a day.

Any growth once initial curiousity is over, is gonna stem from the locals. :P The fact that RWS was able to offer free bus rides to the heartlands just shows what a shoddy job MCYS and Vivian Balakrishnan was doing.

You very proud hor? You know at least 50% of our casinos' revenue comes from singaporeans?

Not sure about the percentage or amount. But I know nightlife biz suffering coz the heavy spenders lost big time at the casinos. Once the $$$ is with the casinos, it stays there. A check with liquour suppliers will confirm my observation.

Because any discussion with you is a hopeless waste of time.

I remember Scroobal started a thread to give you advice 2 years ago. Maybe it's time to revisit it.

he kena whack almost every post he posted ....he already kena brain damage liao ( i also pity him ) ...when someone mention about PAP dog he will just go crazy ...like a dog in heat ...:wink:

Varuna

Hello, I did some research :P For Las Vegas, it is a very mature market.. There is about 41 casinos there of varying sizes. Visitor volume is about 39 million a year, US$5.8 bn generated in the LV strip. Growth there is going to flatline.

I think so too. LV strip suffered decline in revenue since the slowdown of US economy. :biggrin:

ballsathome

Shitapore going to beat las vegas?

Did you know our lions are going to beat real madrid too. Amazing.

Please... how can u compare Lions with the Los Blancos? (The Whites).

At least with Real Zaragoza or better known as 3653 to sinkie punters, they might just stand a chance. I cannot imagine what the scoreline would be like if RM were to play with Lions. :biggrin:

11343779b86e4e8e2da0f91a1e67ce1cd5aba1ee.jpg

propagnada piece, self inflated and self denial piece of leeport. 2 years of casino to overtake decades history of las vegas. some of ou may flame me for putting our own casinos down but i am just stating the fact.

Please... how can u compare Lions with the Los Blancos? (The Whites).

At least with Real Zaragoza or better known as 3653 to sinkie punters, they might just stand a chance. I cannot imagine what the scoreline would be like if RM were to play with Lions. :biggrin:

11343779b86e4e8e2da0f91a1e67ce1cd5aba1ee.jpg

Do you think you could apply this logic to the sg casinos beating las vegas. U say las vegas everyone knows where it is. You say singapore ppl go ah china?

It's not even westerners. Ppl from our SEA countries don't know where it is. There are ppl in the backwoods of say thailand going huh singapore? Umm in china?

ballsathome

Do you think you could apply this logic to the sg casinos beating las vegas. U say las vegas everyone knows where it is. You say singapore ppl go ah china?

It's not even westerners. Ppl from our SEA countries don't know where it is. There are ppl in the backwoods of say thailand going huh singapore? Umm in china?

You know how shameless these por lumpars can be. Any polices their masters implement they will sell their souls and agree. They have to agree. For the sake of balls carrying and being a yes man or yes woman. Profit making over social ills. GDP comes first above everything else. :biggrin:

karmabear

I think it's official that gaming revenues are larger than LV. But please bear in mind that a lot of this is due to the "new" factor. Besides it's not exactly a good thing given that a significant amount stems from our citizens. It's like saying your daughter is the most popular whore in Geylang. Not exactly a champagne popping moment...

i have been to las vegas 3 times, and no way singaore can beat las vegas, someone is cooking the numbers.
this is ridiculous to say that if you seen las vegas before.

TOTAL rubbish.

hairylee

Need someone to explain to me. How does 2 casinos beat the dunno how many donkey casinos in Las Vegas. Macau at least have quite a number of casinos, we only have 2

Las Vegas does not have MIWs, Straits Times and Sinkies.
It takes these three combinations for any political bullshit to work.

straits times should really have to check their facts before they print garabage and become laughing stock of the world.

The scums of the universe disgust me with their journalism.

Char_Azn

i have been to las vegas 3 times, and no way singaore can beat las vegas, someone is cooking the numbers.
this is ridiculous to say that if you seen las vegas before.

Precisely. Same reason why I found it ridiculous and ask the same question

i think they meant las vegas strip versus singapore, not whole las vegas

I assume you have never been to Vegas before.

Here's a picture of the Las Vegas Strip
las-vegas-skyline.jpg

See all those big buildings down there, those are hotels. ALL of them have casinos. See those smaller buildings? They are probably occupied by small shops or food courts which themselves also probably have a few gaming tables. And I seriously don't think the picture shows the entire strip btw.

To put it in local terms, just imagine all the shopping malls in Orchard Rd were resorts/hotels and all of them have a casino inside or at the very least, a few gaming tables and some slot machines.

U think the 2 IR can beat that?

*Update* Just recognize Ceasar's Palace in there, that means the pic is only about 50% of the strip